Procedural Summary
This is responsive to the claims filed 4/7/2025.
Claims 2-21 are pending.
Signed copies of the IDS’ are attached.
The Drawings filed 2/26/2025 are noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saucedo (U.S. Patent No.: 10,661,169 B1) in view of Chimes et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2019/0255440 A1).
Regarding Claims 2, 9 & 16: Saucedo discloses a system (Abstract), comprising: one or more processors, (Fig. 1); and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions (Fig. 2, 200 and related descriptions), that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations, (Fig. 2, 200 and related descriptions).
Saucedo discloses receiving simulation state data of a video game previously rendered as one or more rendered views, (Fig. 3, 302-310); receiving a request to generate a replay, (Fig. 3, 310); generating simulation state data; generating replay data based on the simulation state data; rendering, based on the replay data, one or more replay views of the replay; and outputting the one or more replay views to a display of a computing device, (Fig. 4.)
Saucedo discloses the replay mechanisms substantially as claimed but does not make explicit, the request including at least one modification to the simulation state data from which the replay view is generated. However, in a related invention, Chimes teaches a replay system permitting a viewer to modify simulation state data, (Chimes, e.g., Fig. 2, 202-208 and related descriptions). Further, Chimes makes explicit a user interface for supplying replay modification requests, (Chimes, e.g., Fig. 6 and related descriptions.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Chimes’ replay modification components in Saucedo’s system for the purpose of expanding access to game state data while making replaying easier via a convenient GUI. (Chimes, e.g., ¶¶ 10-12.)
Regarding Claims 3, 4, 10, 11 & 17: Saucedo discloses wherein the simulation state data includes at least object data of an object in the simulation state data, the object data of the object includes at least one of a model of the object, a position of the object, or a pose of the object, (Saucedo, e.g., Col. 5. Lines 18-37, Fig. 5 and related descriptions
Regarding Claims 5-7, 12-14 & 18-20: Saucedo discloses: wherein at least one replay view of the one or more replay views at least partially differs from a corresponding one of the one or more rendered views, wherein the at least one modification to the simulation state data includes at least one of: a modification to or addition of a camera in the simulation state data; or an addition of a visualization in the simulation state data, the visualization having a position relative to an object in the replay data, wherein the simulation state data is a subset of full game state data generated based on a location of a player during gameplay, (Saucedo, Fig. 3, 314-316 and related descriptions, Col. 5. Lines 18-37, Fig. 5 and related descriptions).
Regarding Claims 8, 15 & 21: Saucedo in view of Chimes teaches: the operations further comprising: receiving additional simulation state data of a previously rendered view in one or more of a different video game or during a different time period from the simulation state data; wherein the modifying the simulation state data to generate the modified simulation state data further includes at least partially merging the additional simulation state data with the simulation state data, (Chimes, e.g., Fig. 2, 202-208 and related descriptions, Fig. 6.).
Conclusion
Additional Relevant References: See 892
/OMKAR A DEODHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715