DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action on the merits in response to communications on 7/17/2026. Claim 15 is cancelled. Claim 9 is amended. Claim 22 is new. Claims 1-14, 16-22 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/17/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Non-English documents have been considered in as much as the drawings and translated portions provided therein (See MPEP 609).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/17/20026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Starting on page 1 of Remarks, applicant is arguing:
Filho, however, does not disclose multiple cycles as claimed in applicant’s claim 1, wherein in each cycle there is a first sub-cycle with a reduction of the generator braking moment and a second sub-cycle with an increase of the generator braking moment:
“wherein within one of the plurality of cycles changing of the generator braking moment provided by the electric drive is effected;
wherein each of the plurality of cycles includes a first sub-cycle and a second sub-cycle; and,
wherein in the first sub-cycle the changing includes reducing the generator braking moment, and in the second sub-cycle the changing includes increasing the generator braking moment.” (emphasis added)
However, at least in fig. 6 it can be seen that there are two cycles within each cycle is a sub-cycle of reducing and a second sub-cycle of increasing. See annotated fig. 6 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14, 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by ROTILLI FILHO et al. (US 20200094683 a reference in IDS 2/26/2025).
Regarding claims 1, 17, 20, 22, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
A vehicle comprising:
an electric drive;
a control device including a processor and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having program code stored thereon for regulating a generator braking moment of said electric drive for the vehicle;
said program code being configured, when executed by said processor, to:
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times; [0075]-[0076]);
sense a call for braking for the purposes of braking the vehicle using a setpoint braking moment; and,
regulate the generator braking moment in dependence upon the setpoint braking moment and on a trigger condition;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120)
wherein said regulating is effected within a plurality of cycles;
wherein within one of the plurality of cycles changing of the generator braking moment provided by said electric drive is effected;
wherein each of the plurality of cycles includes a first sub-cycle and a second sub-cycle and,
wherein in the first sub-cycle the changing includes reducing the generator braking moment, and in the second sub-cycle the changing includes increasing the generator braking moment
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7);
Regarding claim 2, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein the generator braking moment is changed such that the generator braking moment does not change sign within one of the plurality of cycles;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7);
Regarding claim 3, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein a new one of the plurality of cycles begins upon the trigger condition being fulfilled;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; [0075]-[0076] discussed traction loss);
Regarding claim 4, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein the changing is effected according to a variable rate of change;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times);
Regarding claim 5, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein the variable rate of change is dependent upon at least one of a roadway characteristic and a driving status;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times; [0080]))
Regarding claim 6, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein the rate of change is limited such that the trigger condition is not fulfilled within a predefined cycle segment;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times);
Regarding claim 7, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein, within one of the plurality of cycles, the reducing is effected at a first rate of change and the increasing at a second rate of change; and, the first rate of change is different in amount from the second rate of change;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times);
Regarding claim 8, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein a change in braking moment relating to the generator braking moment is effected within one of the plurality of cycles; and, the regulating is effected in consideration of a previous change in braking moment of a previous cycle;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times);
Regarding claim 9, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein the change in the braking moment is selected in consideration of a first threshold-value condition relating to the previous change in the braking moment;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times);
Regarding claim 10, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein the trigger condition is dependent upon at least one of a wheel acceleration, a change in the wheel acceleration over time, a slip, a total braking moment, and a change over time in the total braking moment;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times; [0075]-[0076]);
Regarding claim 11, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
regulating a friction-braking moment, provided by a friction-braking system, in dependence upon a second threshold-value condition relating to the generator braking moment;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times; [0087]);
Regarding claim 12, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein slip-based regulating of the generator braking moment is effected between two of the plurality of cycles;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times; [0075]-[0076]);
Regarding claim 13, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein, upon the trigger condition being fulfilled, reducing of the generator braking moment is effected to a predefined proportion of the generator braking moment upon the fulfilling of the trigger condition;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times; [0075]-[0076]);
Regarding claim 14, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein the vehicle is a utility vehicle;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times; [0075]-[0076]);
Regarding claim 16, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
A computer readable medium comprising:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having program code stored thereon; and,
said program code being configured, when executed by a processor, to perform the method of claim 1;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times; [0075]-[0076]);
Regarding claim 18, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
An electric drive for a vehicle, the electric drive comprising the control device of claim 17;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times; [0075]-[0076]);
Regarding claim 19, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
An electric braking system for a vehicle comprising the control device of claim 17;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times; [0075]-[0076]);
Regarding claim 21, ROTILLI FILHO et al. teaches:
wherein the vehicle is a utility vehicle;
(at least figs. 1, 6-7, 8-11 [0044]-[0051] [0074]-[0099] [0100]-[0121] discussed electric vehicle, motors, controller 800, regenerative braking, braking torque/regen level, discussed applying regenerative braking at an initial level then modify level based on vehicle motion parameter; in particular fig. 1 [0044]-[0051] boxes 105-120, fig. 6 [0074]-[0087] t0-t7; amount of change differs at different times; [0075]-[0076]);
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO LONG T. NGUYEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3656
/BAO LONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656