DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, and all dependent claims thereof, recites the limitation “generating a model of the region of interest” where claim 1 sets forth “a model of the region of interest.” It is unclear if the model of the region of interest as recited in claim 2 is the same as or distinct from the model of the region of interest as recited in claim 1. Claims 3 and 6 both recite “the model” and it is unclear if this refers to the model of claim 1 or the model of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mino et al. (US 2024/0197403 A1, Jun. 20, 2024) (hereinafter “Mino”).
Regarding claim 1: Mino discloses a system comprising: a flexible elongate device including an optical imaging device and a working channel wherein the optical imaging device is configured to generate an image of a field of view (figs. 1 and 10, echoendoscope 120, [0070] - "treatment instrument channels…inside insertion portion 111"; [0073] - "image pickup section", “optical image inside a subject” is an image of a field of view, [0075], [0083]); an acoustic imaging device carried by the flexible elongate device, the acoustic imaging device configured to generate a plurality of acoustic images of a region of interest (figs. 2A-2B and 11A-11B, ultrasound transducer section 133, [0074], [0080]); an interventional tool extendable through the working channel of the flexible elongate device ([0070], [0076], [0254]); and a control system configured to: receive the plurality of acoustic images of the region of interest from the acoustic imaging device and provide guidance for inserting the interventional tool along a path through an anatomic orifice and an anatomic passageway of the region of interest, wherein the guidance is generated based on the plurality of acoustic images ([0082]-[0083] - imaging and control system; [0200], fig. 16 and associated description; [0270], [0286] - projected navigation path 518, where the path extends from an anatomic orifice through anatomic passageways as shown in at least figs. 3A and 12A and [0080], [0263]), wherein providing the guidance includes displaying a synthetic endoscopic image generated from a model of the region of interest, the synthetic endoscopic image corresponding to a perspective of the optical imaging device needed to align an interventional tool trajectory along the path ([0270] – “synthetic endoscopic image” is the composite generated by the real-time optical endoscopic image overlaid on virtual EUS image, where the ultrasound image and optical image have "corresponding" perspectives based on their physical structure as shown in figs. 2A-B and 11A-B; additionally, since the virtual EUS image and the real time optical image are superimposed they must have “corresponding” perspectives; “perspective…needed to align an interventional tool trajectory along the path” is considered to be the intended use of the image and the image of Mino would be capable of being used for this function).
Regarding claim 2: Mino discloses the system of claim 1, wherein providing the guidance includes: generating a model of the region of interest from the plurality of acoustic images (0200], fig. 16 and associated description; [0270], [0286] - projected navigation path 518); and displaying the model of the region of interest and a representation of the interventional tool advancing along the path through the anatomic orifice and the anatomic passageway of the region of interest ([0111], [0131], [0202], [0215], [0270], [0310]).
Regarding claim 3: Mino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein providing the guidance further includes: displaying, with the model, a marker illustrating the path through the anatomic orifice and the anatomic passageway of the region of interest ([0295], [0297] - projected navigation path 518, where the path extends from an anatomic orifice through anatomic passageways as shown in at least figs. 3A and 12A and [0080], [0263]; "path 518…can be displayed in one color and overlaid…live navigation path can be displayed in a different color...").
Regarding claim 5: Mino discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the control system is further configured to adjust a position and an orientation of the flexible elongate device until a real-time image of the field of view of the optical imaging device matches the synthetic endoscopic image ([0270] – the synthetic image is made based on the real time position and posture of the probe; [0292]- “one or more operational parameters of the EUS probe can be determined or adjusted…such operational parameters may include a position of the EUS probe to aim a center of the anatomical target, a desired rotating angle of the EUS probe” – aligning the real time position and posture of the probe with the previously acquired images is functionally equivalent to adjusting the position and orientation of the device until the real-time image of the field of view of the optical imaging device matches the synthetic endoscopic image because the optical imaging device is rigidly fixed adjacent to the EUS probe; although Mino describes the performance of this function differently, there is no structural difference between the system of Mino and the claimed system).
Regarding claim 6: Mino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the control system is further configured to register the model to the flexible elongate device and the interventional tool ([0284], [0307] - "alignment"; fig. 16, steps 720-730, [0301]-[0302]).
Regarding claim 7: Mino discloses a system comprising: a flexible elongate device including an optical imaging device and a working channel (figs. 1 and 10, echoendoscope 120, [0070] - "treatment instrument channels…inside insertion portion 111"; [0073] - "image pickup section", [0075], [0083]); an acoustic imaging device carried by the flexible elongate device, the acoustic imaging device configured to generate a plurality of acoustic images of a region of interest (figs. 2A-2B and 11A-11B, ultrasound transducer section 133, [0074], [0080]); an interventional tool extendable through the working channel of the flexible elongate device ([0070], [0076], [0254]); and a control system configured to: receive the plurality of acoustic images of the region of interest from the acoustic imaging device ([0082]-[0083] - imaging and control system; [0200], fig. 16 and associated description; [0270], [0286] - projected navigation path 518, where the path extends from an anatomic orifice through anatomic passageways as shown in at least figs. 3A and 12A and [0080], [0263]); and provide guidance for inserting the interventional tool along a path through an anatomic orifice and an anatomic passageway of the region of interest, wherein the guidance is generated based on the plurality of acoustic images ([0082]-[0083] - imaging and control system; [0200], fig. 16 and associated description; [0270], [0286] - projected navigation path 518, where the path extends from an anatomic orifice through anatomic passageways as shown in at least figs. 3A and 12A and [0080], [0263]), wherein providing the guidance includes: displaying the plurality of acoustic images of the region of interest, the plurality of acoustic images showing a guide device advancing along the path through the anatomic orifice and the anatomic passageway of the region of interest, wherein the interventional tool is configured to advance over the guide device ([0085] - "information used for generating the tissue acquisition plan (e.g., real-time EUS images) can be displayed to the operating physician as a guidance during the procedure", [0114], [0284] - "a real-time perioperative image", [0297] - "or other steerable elongate instrument such as a guidewire", where [0132] - guidewire or guide sheath “guide device” can be the actuated instrument).
Regarding claim 8: Mino discloses The system of claim 7, wherein displaying the plurality of acoustic images includes displaying at least one selected guidance image of the plurality of acoustic images that includes the path ([0270] - "a real-time perioperative endoscopic image (e.g., an EUS image…)" where the navigation plan "includes the path"; [0292], [0295], [0297] - projected navigation path 518, where the path extends from an anatomic orifice through anatomic passageways as shown in at least figs. 3A and 12A).
Regarding claim 9: Mino discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the control system is further configured to align a guide channel of the acoustic imaging device with the path visible in the selected guidance image ([0292]- “one or more operational parameters of the EUS probe can be determined or adjusted…such operational parameters may include a position of the EUS probe to aim a center of the anatomical target, a desired rotating angle of the EUS probe, or a contact force between the EUS probe and a surface of the anatomical target” where the “guide channel” passes through the EUS probe and is therefore aligned to the path).
Regarding claim 10: Mino discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the guide device is a guidewire insertable through the guide channel aligned with the path through the anatomic orifice and the anatomic passageway ([0297] - "or other steerable elongate instrument such as a guidewire"; [0132] - guidewire or guide sheath “guide device” can be the actuated instrument).
Regarding claim 11: Mino discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the optical imaging device is configured to generate an image of a field of view, wherein the region of interest is obscured by tissue surrounding the anatomic orifice while the plurality of acoustic images of the region of interest are received from the acoustic imaging device (figs. 3A-3B and 12A-12B - the region of interest is inside the body and therefore "obscured by tissue surrounding the anatomic orifice"; [0073], [0084], [0256], [0267] - "a field of view" is considered to be an inherent property of an endoscopic optical image acquired using a camera).
Regarding claim 12: Mino discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the flexible elongate device includes an endoscope ([0066]).
Regarding claim 13: Mino discloses the system of claim 1 further comprising a localization device carried by the flexible elongate device and configured to provide the guidance for inserting the interventional tool ([0275]).
Regarding claim 14: Mino discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the localization device includes a localization sensor configured to reference the plurality of acoustic images to a common reference frame ([0275]).
Regarding claim 15: Mino discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the localization sensor is fixed relative to the acoustic imaging device ([0275]).
Regarding claim 16: Mino discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the localization sensor includes an optical fiber sensor ([0275]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mino in view of Gono et al. (US 2023/0148847 A1, May 18, 2023) (hereinafter “Gono”).
Regarding claim 17: Mino discloses the system of claim 13, including that the system is used to perform procedures such as ERCP cannulation ([0078]). While Mino discloses that the system may use a guidewire ([0132], [0277]), Mino does not provide an explicit description of the structural relationship between the guidewire and the flexible elongate device.
Gono, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a system for performing ERCP cannulation ([0090]-[0092]) comprising a flexible elongate device (endoscope 2011) where a guidewire is extendable from the flexible elongate device ([0092]) where the guidewire is visible in a plurality of images acquired by the endoscope and is used as part of the positioning guidance ([0112]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a guidewire with the system of Mino as taught by Gono in view of the teachings of Gono that this is a standard part of the procedure performed by both Mino and Gono.
Regarding claim 18: Mino as modified by Gono discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the acoustic imaging device is integrated with the flexible elongate device and the guide device is a guidewire extendable through the working channel of the flexible elongate device (Mino - figs. 2A-2B, 11A-11B, [0074], [0257]; Gono – the structural arrangement of the guidewire with respect to the endoscope corresponds to the working channel and distal end portion of Mino as shown in at least figs. 2 and 28).
Regarding claim 20: Mino discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the path has a substantially straight trajectory from the anatomic orifice (see the “substantially straight” portion of the esophagus as shown in figs. 3A and 12A) and that the system is used to perform procedures such as ERCP cannulation ([0078]). However, Mino is silent on the structural properties of the endoscope and does not explicitly disclose that the interventional tool is generally rigid for traversing the path having the substantially straight trajectory.
Gono, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a system for performing ERCP cannulation ([0090]-[0092]) comprising a flexible elongate device (endoscope 2011) which “generally rigid” (fig. 23, [0159] - each of bending pieces 2112 would be rigid in order to perform the steering function in response to the pull wires) for traversing a path having a substantially straight trajectory (see the “substantially straight” portion of the esophagus shown in at least figs. 1 and 20).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the flexible elongate device of Mino using the “generally rigid” bending pieces of Gono in order to provide a steering function for performing the ERCP procedure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 1, filed 07/01/2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the “synthetic endoscopic image is tied by the claim language to the optical imaging device” and that the virtual image of Mino is not a “synthetic endoscopic image…corresponding to a perspective of the optical imaging device” because “these are different imaging modalities generating different types of images from different perspectives.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the claim requires that the guidance (where the guidance is “displaying a synthetic endoscopic image” is generated based on the plurality of acoustic images. Applicant’s assertion that the synthetic endoscopic image is “tied by the claim language to the optical imaging device” completely overlooks the link between the plurality of acoustic images used to generate the guidance (which, again, includes displaying the synthetic endoscopic image). Second, Applicant is attempting to force an unreasonably narrow interpretation of “corresponding to a perspective of the optical imaging device.” The fixed structural relationship between the ultrasonic transducer and the optical imaging element (see at least figs. 2A-2B) means that the perspective of these two imaging devices have a correspondence to one another. Applicant notably does not include anything in the claim that defines the content of the synthetic endoscopic image as being solely a synthetic optical image. Furthermore, Mino discloses that the real-time optical image is superimposed on the virtual EUS image. This in itself is sufficient disclosure that the synthetic image (3D composite model generated by the superimposition of the real-time optical image and the virtual EUS image) is “corresponding to a perspective” of the optical imaging device.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 5, filed 07/01/2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Mino does not disclose the features of claim 5.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mino discloses that the synthetic image is made based on the real time position and posture of the probe ([0270]) and that “one or more operational parameters of the EUS probe can be determined or adjusted…such operational parameters may include a position of the EUS probe to aim a center of the anatomical target, a desired rotating angle of the EUS probe” to align the real position of the probe with the acquired images ([0292]). Aligning the real time position and posture of the probe with the acquired images is functionally equivalent to adjusting the position and orientation of the device until the real-time image of the field of view of the optical imaging device matches the synthetic endoscopic image because the optical imaging device is rigidly fixed adjacent to the EUS probe. Although Mino describes the performance of this function differently, there is no structural difference between the system of Mino and the claimed system.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claim 7, filed 07/01/2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the descriptions of the parts of the system of Mino which are found across multiple paragraphs of Mino are not “a single disclosure.” Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that the entirety of Mino is a single disclosure where the description of the complex system is necessarily present across multiple paragraphs.
Examiner notes that the limitations of claim 7 identified by Applicant describe the use of the system rather than the particular structure. In particular, the content of the images is the intended use of the system. The system is at least capable of imaging a guidewire advancing on a path (see at least [0110], [0114], and [0297] which describe multiple devices that may be advanced on a path, including a guidewire, and displaying the navigational images corresponding to the advanced device). Applicant has not provided any evidence that the content of the images results in a structural difference between the system of Mino and the claimed system.
Applicant argues that Mino does not disclose that “the interventional tool is configured to advance over the guide device.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mino discloses a wide variety of possible interventional tools (see at least [0076], [0095], [0126], [0264], [0277]). Many of these tools (e.g. a stent, a balloon, a catheter, etc.) would be capable of advancing over a guidewire. Applicant has claimed no particular interventional tool and any tool disclosed by Mino as being usable with the system of Mino may be used.
Applicants arguments with respect to claim 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 19 is withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLYN A PEHLKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799