Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 01/20/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 and 14 have been amended. Claims 1-21 remain pending in the application.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 112
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “communication module” in claim 12.
Because the claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 12 is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in [0172] of the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
If applicant does not wish to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), applicant may amend the claim so that it will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 5, 10-11, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CHANG (US 20130127606 A1) in view of LIM (US 20160196774 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CHANG (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 6; Fig. 3 is reproduced for reference) discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (flexible display panel 111) comprising pixels and a strain sensor (strain sensor 113; [0027]-[0028]);
a signal detector (strain sensor 113) configured to detect a first characteristic value, and to generate stretch-sensing data ([0027]-[0028] and [0034]-[0035]), the first characteristic value indicating a degree of stretching of the strain sensor ([0027]);
a memory configured to store a stress-strain profile divided into operation sections (Fig. 3 and [0029]-[0030]; operation sections S1, S2, and S3); and
a signal processor configured to compare a rate of change of the first characteristic value indicating a rate of change of the degree of stretching of the strain sensor with a threshold value of a current operation section by using the stretch-sensing data and the stress-strain profile, to determine a corresponding operation section among the operation sections, and to generate a control signal according to the corresponding operation section (Figs. 3-4 and [0029]-[0030], [0034]-[0035]; according to the stress-strain profile shown in Fig. 3, when an applied force is greater than Y but less than U, a rate of change of the degree of stretching R=(Y3-Y2)/(X3-X2), a threshold value Rth=(Y2-Y1)/(X2-X0), and R>Rth, the display is determined to be operated in an elastic deformation range, and a warning signal is output).
Chang also suggests the stretch-sensing data comprising a stretch time ([0034]). The examiner further cites LIM as a reference. LIM (e.g., Fis. 1 and 4-7) discloses a display apparatus similar to that disclosed by CHANG, a signal detector configured to detect a first characteristic value (e.g., Figs. 4 and 7; detection of degree of display expansion), and generate stretch-sensing data comprising a stretch time ([0049]-[0050]; expansion time). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIM to the flexible display device of CHANG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a control and protection of a stretchable display device.
Regarding claim 5, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, CHANG (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 6) discloses wherein the display panel further comprises sub-areas, wherein the signal detector is further configured to detect first characteristic values for the sub-areas, and to generate the stretch-sensing data, and wherein the signal processor is further configured to generate sub-control signals for the sub-areas (Figs. 2 and 4; [0027]-[0028] and [0034]-[0035], [0031]; each strain sensor corresponds to a display sub-area and detects stretching of the sub-area, a warning signal is generated in response to the stretching detection of the sub-area).
Regarding claim 10, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, CHANG (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 6) discloses wherein the control signal comprises a display control signal for displaying protection operation activation information on the display panel (e.g., Fig. 4, step 129).
Regarding claim 11, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, CHANG (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 6) discloses the display apparatus further comprising a driving circuit configured to control the display panel, and configured to, based on the control signal, display protection operation information on the display panel (e.g., Fig. 4, step 129), reduce light emission of the display panel (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional), or block a driving voltage supplied to the display panel (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
Regarding claim 14, CHANG (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 6; Fig. 3 is reproduced for reference) discloses a method of operating a display apparatus comprising a display panel (flexible display panel 111), the method comprising: detecting a first characteristic value indicating a degree of stretching of the display panel using a strain sensor (strain sensor 113; [0027]-[0028] and [0034]-[0035]); and detecting a rate of change of the first characteristic value indicating a rate of change of the degree of stretching of the display panel, generating stretch-sensing data; determining, using the stretch-sensing data and a stress-strain profile pre-stored in a memory, a corresponding operation section among operation sections in the stress-strain profile (Fig. 3 and [0029]-[0030]; operation sections S1, S2, and S3); and controlling the display panel according to the corresponding operation section (Figs. 3-4 and [0029]-[0030], [0034]-[0035]; according to the stress-strain profile shown in Fig. 3, when an applied force is greater than Y but less than U, a rate of change of the degree of stretching R=(Y3-Y2)/(X3-X2), a threshold value Rth=(Y2-Y1)/(X2-X0), and R>Rth, the display is determined to be operated in an elastic deformation range, and a warning signal is output).
Chang also suggests the stretch-sensing data comprising a stretch time ([0034]). The examiner further cites LIM as a reference. LIM (e.g., Fis. 1 and 4-7) discloses a display apparatus similar to that disclosed by CHANG, a signal detector configured to detect a first characteristic value (e.g., Figs. 4 and 7; detection of degree of display expansion), and generate stretch-sensing data comprising a stretch time ([0049]-[0050]; expansion time). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIM to the flexible display device of CHANG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a control and protection of a stretchable display device.
Regarding claim 18, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the method of claim 14, CHANG (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 6) discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the display panel comprises sub-areas, wherein the strain sensor is configured to detect first characteristic values for the sub-areas, and wherein the determining of the corresponding operation section comprises determining operation sections for the sub-areas (Figs. 3 and 4; [0027]-[0028] and [0034]-[0035], [0031]; each strain sensor corresponds to a display sub-area and detects stretching degree of the sub-area).
Regarding claim 19, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the method of claim 14, CHANG (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 6) discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the controlling of the display panel comprises controlling the sub-areas according to the operation sections (Figs. 2 and 4; [0027]-[0028] and [0034]-[0035], [0031]; each strain sensor corresponds to a display sub-area and detects stretching of the sub-area, a warning signal is generated in response to the stretching detection of the sub-area).
Regarding claim 20, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the method of claim 14, CHANG (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 6) discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the controlling of the display panel according to the corresponding operation section comprises at least one of: displaying protection operation information on the display panel (e.g., Fig. 4, step 129); reducing light emission of the display panel (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional); or blocking a driving voltage supplied to the display panel (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
7. Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CHANG (US 20130127606 A1) in view of LIM (US 20160196774 A1) and further in view of ZHAI (US 20190107911 A1).
Regarding claim 6, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the display panel further comprises a touch sensor above the pixels, and integral with the strain sensor. However, ZHAI (Figs. 1-10) discloses a stretchable display device similar to that disclosed by CHANG, comprising: a touch sensor above the pixels, and integral with the strain sensor (touch electrodes 20 and 21 form a touch sensor and a strain sensor; [0053], [0062], and [0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ZHAI to the flexible display device of CHANG or incorporate the teaching from CHANG to the flexible display device of ZHAI. The combination/motivation would be to simplify the design of a flexible display panel having a touch function and a stretching sensing function and to provide a protection and prevent a stretching damage of the flexible display device.
Regarding claim 7, CHANG in view of LIM and further in view of ZHAI discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, ZHAI (Figs. 1-10) discloses wherein the touch sensor comprises touch electrodes (touch electrodes 20 and 21), and wherein the first characteristic value indicates an amount of change in capacitance of the touch electrodes (Abstract, [0037], and [0071]; capacitance detection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ZHAI to the flexible display device of CHANG or incorporate the teaching from CHANG to the flexible display device of ZHAI for the same reason above.
8. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CHANG (US 20130127606 A1) in view of LIM (US 20160196774 A1) and further in view of KIM (US 20220231104 A1).
Regarding claim 8, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the control signal comprises a first emission control signal configured to turn off a voltage supplied to the pixels. However, KIM (Figs. 6-12) discloses a stretchable display device, wherein the control signal comprises a first emission control signal configured to turn off a voltage supplied to the pixels (Figs. 6-7 and [0118]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the flexible display device of CHANG or incorporate the teaching from CHANG to the flexible display device of KIM. The combination/motivation would be to provide a protection of a stretchable display device depending on a stretching degree.
9. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CHANG (US 20130127606 A1) in view of LIM (US 20160196774 A1) and further in view of KIM (US 20220231104 A1) and/or WU (US 20200286410 A1).
Regarding claim 9, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the control signal comprises a second emission control signal configured to turn off transistors included in the pixels. However, KIM (Figs. 6-10) discloses a stretchable display device, wherein the control signal comprises a second emission control signal configured to turn off transistors included in the pixels (Figs. 6-7 and 13-14). As another reference, WU discloses a stretchable display device, wherein the control signal comprises a second emission control signal configured to turn off transistors included in the pixels ([0071]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM/WU to the flexible display device of CHANG or incorporate the teaching from CHANG to the flexible display device of KIM/WU. The combination/motivation would be to provide a protection of a stretchable display device depending on a stretching degree.
10. Claims 12-13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CHANG (US 20130127606 A1) in view of LIM (US 20160196774 A1) and further in view of KIM (US 20250265956 A1).
Regarding claim 12, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose the display apparatus further comprising a communication module configured to transmit a signal to a stretching mechanism configured to stretch the display panel, and wherein the control signal comprises a mechanism control signal transmitted through the communication module for controlling an operation of the stretching mechanism. However, KIM (Figs. 1-3 and 6-14) discloses a stretchable display device, comprising a communication module configured to transmit a signal to a stretching mechanism configured to stretch the display panel (a stretch driver supplies a stretch driving signal to a stretch panel 100; e.g., [0094], [0096], [0104], [0175]-[0176], [0179], [0266]-[0269], and [0347]-[0348]), and wherein the control signal comprises a mechanism control signal transmitted through the communication module for controlling an operation of the stretching mechanism ([0066]; stretch control signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the flexible display device of CHANG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a stretching control of a stretchable display device.
Regarding claim 13, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, CHANG (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 6) discloses the display apparatus comprising a stretching mechanism configured to, based on the control signal, stop a stretching operation of the display panel or perform a shrinking operation (Fig. 4, step 131, and [0036]), but does not disclose the display apparatus further comprising a stretching mechanism configured to stretch the display panel, and configured to, based on the control signal, perform a shrinking operation. However, KIM (Figs. 1-3 and 6-14) discloses a stretchable display device, comprising a stretching mechanism (e.g., Fig. 6; stretch panel 100) configured to stretch the display panel (e.g., Fig. 6; display panel 200), and configured to, based on the control signal, stop a stretching operation of the display panel, or perform a shrinking operation (e.g., Figs. 11 and 13 show stretching or shrinking in X and Y directions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the flexible display device of CHANG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a stretching control of a stretchable display device.
Regarding claim 21, CHANG in view of LIM discloses the method of claim 14, CHANG (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and 6; Fig. 3 is reproduced for reference) discloses the method further comprising, when a rate of change in the first characteristic value is greater than a threshold value of a current operation section, controlling a stretching mechanism according to the corresponding operation section, the stretching mechanism being configured to stretch the display panel (Fig. 4, steps 123-129; and [0029]-[0030], [0034]-[0035]). The examiner further cites KIM as a reference. KIM (Figs. 1-3 and 6-14) discloses a stretchable display device, comprising a stretching mechanism being configured to stretch the display panel (e.g., Figs. 11 and 13 show stretching or shrinking in X and Y directions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the flexible display device of CHANG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a stretching control of a stretchable display device.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 2-4 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to a stretchable display device. The closet prior arts, CHANG (US 20130127606 A1), LIM (US 20160196774 A1), and KIM (US 20250265956 A1) disclose a stretchable display device and a method for operating the display device, the display device comprising: a display panel comprising pixels and a strain sensor; a signal detector configured to detect a first characteristic value, and to generate stretch-sensing data comprising a stretch time, the first characteristic value indicating a degree of stretching of the strain sensor; a memory configured to store a stress-strain profile divided into operation sections; and a signal processor configured to compare a rate of change of the first characteristic value indicating a rate of change of the degree of stretching of the strain sensor with a threshold value of a current operation section by using the stretch-sensing data and the stress-strain profile, to determine a corresponding operation section among the operation sections, and to generate a control signal according to the corresponding operation section, but fail to teach wherein the operation sections comprise a first operation section, a second operation section, and a third operation section, wherein a threshold value of the first operation section corresponds to a boundary point between the first operation section and the second operation section in the stress-strain profile, wherein a threshold value of the second operation section corresponds to a boundary point between the second operation section and the third operation section in the stress-strain profile, and wherein a threshold value of the third operation section corresponds to an end point of the third operation section in the stress-strain profile.
Response to Arguments
6. Regarding claims 1 and 14, applicant’s amendments and arguments have been considered. In view of amendments, the reference of LIM (US 20160196774 A1) has been used for new ground rejection.
Regarding the new limitations “a rate of change of the first characteristic value indicating a rate of change of the degree of stretching of the strain sensor …” recited in claims 1 and 14, Chang (Figs. 3-4 and [0029]-[0030], [0034]-[0035]) discloses, according to the stress-strain profile shown in Fig. 3, when an applied force is greater than Y but less than U, a rate of change of the degree of stretching R=(Y3-Y2)/(X3-X2), a threshold value Rth=(Y2-Y1)/(X2-X0), and R>Rth, the display is determined to be operated in an elastic deformation range, and a warning signal is output.
Annotated version of Chang’s Fig. 3
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623