DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending in the Instant Application.
Claims 1-6 are rejected (Non-Final Rejection).
Priority
The Instant Application does not claim priority to any earlier filed applications, and thus has an effective filing date of 27 February 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the abbreviations ERP and AMQP without first using the full form in the claims, thus making it unclear as to what the abbreviation stands for. In order to avoid being indefinite, please use the unabbreviated form the first time an abbreviation is used in the claims. Claims 2-6 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claims 2-6 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim 1 contains the trademark APACHE ® and SAP ®. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark is used to describe an event bus and, accordingly, the description is indefinite. Claims 2-6 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Specification
The use of the term APACHE ® and SAP ®, which are trademarks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims can be interpreted as non-statutory software per se. Claim 1 recites “A system for real-time integration…,” but does not include may hardware. Without any express hardware, a computer implemented system can be implemented as non-statutory software per se. Applicant is encouraged to add a processor and/or memory to the claim for the claim to become statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by TRAINOR (“Trainor”), United States Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0271726.
As per claim 1, Trainor discloses a system for real-time integration between ERP systems and third-party applications, the system comprising:
a) an event bus utilizing message brokers such as Apache Kafka, AMQP, or SAP Event Mesh ([0056] wherein a Apache® Kafka ecosystem is described that receives events from event producers (See Fig. 4));
b) a real-time data synchronization module that streams events as they occur ([0059] wherein a streaming service is described that ingests data structures event streams (See Fig. 4));
c) an asynchronous processing architecture that decouples ERP processes from third-party applications ([0080] wherein stream processing architecture decouples ERP processes asynchronously by performing pattern recognition resulting in push messages);
d) an intelligent event handling module with filtering, transformation, routing, and AI-driven anomaly detection, ([0066] wherein steam analytics filter and transform the data from the stream, [0021] wherein traffic can be routed to different instances after pattern recognition from the steam and [0053] wherein an AI-driven anomaly detection in stream data can trigger a push message).
As per claim 2, Trainor discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the event bus ensures low-latency, high-throughput communication between ERP systems and external applications ([0056] wherein Kafka ecosystem ensures low latency and high throughput for ERP systems processing streams).
As per claim 3, Trainor discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the real-time data synchronization module eliminates batch dependencies, enabling instant synchronization of orders, inventory, and payments ([0058] wherein real-time transactions are described eliminating batch processing using a streaming service as described in [0059] and [0065] wherein orders are processed and [0102] where inventory and payment gateways are described).
As per claim 4, Trainor discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the asynchronous processing architecture supports high-volume transaction processing with dynamically scalable event consumers ([0056] wherein high throughput, scalable message providing is described).
As per claim 5, Trainor discloses the system as claimed in claim 1,, wherein the intelligent event handling module applies predefined rules for event filtering, transformation, and routing [0080] wherein certain events are filtered based on pattern recognition, [0087] wherein transformation is described, and [0021] wherein rules can be used to route to appropriate channels).
As per claim 6, Trainor discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the intelligent event handling module employs AI- driven anomaly detection to identify and resolve data discrepancies in real time ([0053] wherein AI pattern recognition is described that identifies data discrepancies in real-time in stream data (see [0055])).
Conclusion
/KANNAN SHANMUGASUNDARAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168