DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blaetz Patent No. US 5,795,176.
Regarding claim 1, Blaetz discloses a portable circuit interrupting device comprising:
a housing [Fig. 3, housing 33] including a bottom portion [Fig. 3, bottom portion 35 of the housing]; and
one or more plugs [Fig. 3, 31, 32; col. 3 lines 25-34];
wherein the bottom portion of the housing includes a threaded portion [Fig. 3, threaded portion 34] configured to receive a cap [Fig. 3, 41; col. 3 lines 48-56], and
an aperture [Fig. 3, aperture 47] configured to receive a power cable [Fig. 3, 51] having a first diameter,
wherein the threaded portion includes a compression tab [Fig. 3, bushing 50] configured to compress the power cable as the threaded portion receives the cap [col. 3 lines 57 – col. 4 lines 12].
Regarding claim 2, Blaetz further comprises a power input within the housing, wherein the power input is configured to electrically connect to the power cable [Fig. 3, the plug/prongs 31 and 2 are connected to the outlet receptacle 11; col. 3 lines 25-34].
Claims1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ronemus et al. Patent No. US 4,567,544.
Regarding claim 1, Ronemus discloses a portable circuit interrupting device comprising:
a housing [abstract] including a bottom portion [Fig. 2, bottom portion of the housing is threaded as shown]; and
one or more plugs [Fig. 2, 98, 102, 100];
wherein the bottom portion of the housing includes
a threaded portion [Fig. 2, threaded portion as shown] configured to receive a cap [Fig. 2, 41; cap 42], and
an aperture [Fig. 2, aperture as shown] configured to receive a power cable [Fig. 2, cable 12] having a first diameter,
wherein the threaded portion includes a compression tab [Fig. 2, 50] configured to compress the power cable as the threaded portion receives the cap].
Regarding claim 2, Ronemus further comprises a power input within the housing, wherein the power input is configured to electrically connect to the power cable [Fig. 2, the plug/prongs 98, 100, 102] are connected to the outlet receptacle].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blaetz Patent No. US 5,795,176 in view of Aromin Publication No. US 2015/0214719.
Regarding claim 3, Blaetz discloses a housing with a threaded bottom and cap inserted in the threaded bottom, wherein the housing encloses prongs/blades/plug and a power cabled inserted in the bottom of the housing. Blaetz also further discloses a ground fault detection circuit [Fig. 11, 95] connected to the housing.
However, Blaetz does not disclose that the ground fault detection circuit is located within the housing.
Aromin discloses a circuit interrupting device, comprising: a housing [Fig. 1, comprising 10A-10C], wherein the GFCI/ALCI is located within the housing [par. 0006, as shown in Fig. 5 to Fig. 10].
Blaetz and Aromin are analogous housing that encloses blades/prongs and power cables connected to the bottom of the housings. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Aromin’s GFCI, into Blaetz’s housing with the threaded bottom, for the benefit of providing a secure mechanical locking action that keeps the cap completely mated to the housing, and securing the power cord firmly to the GFCI housing and ensuring that the internal electrical terminations do not pull loose under pressure.
Regarding claim 4, Aromin discloses that the ground fault detection circuit is configured to detect a ground fault [par. 0006].
Regarding claims 5 and 9-10, Aromin further comprises an interrupting device [Fig. 35, circuit breaker 35] configured to electrically disconnect the power cable from the one or more plugs [par. 0037].
Regarding claim 6, Aromin discloses that the interrupting device electrically disconnects the power cable from the one or more plugs when a ground fault is detected [par. 0040].
Regarding claims 7-8, 10, Aromin further comprises an arc fault detection circuit within the housing [The ground fault detection circuit can inherently detect/trip during an arc that leaks current directly to the ground wire].
Regarding claim 11, Aromin comprises an interrupting device including contact arms [Fig. 21, moveable contact arm 20C, par. 0054; par. 0066, claim 2].
Regarding claim 12, Aromin discloses that an interior wall of the housing is separated from the contact arms [Fig. 20, the contact arms 20C is away from the wall of the housing].
Claims 13-21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronemus et al. Patent No. 4,567,544.
Regarding claim 13, Blaetz discloses a housing with a threaded bottom and a cap that inserts into the threaded bottom and further comprises a first grommet [Fig. 2, 46] that receives the power cable [Fig. 2, 12 as shown]. However, Blaetz does not disclose a second grommet configured to receive a second power cable having a second diameter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an additional grommet to receive a second power cable, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 14, Blaetz does not explicitly disclose that the aperture is further configured to receive the first grommet or the second grommet. It is well known in the art of connectors and housings to have an aperture that is configured to receive a first grommet to receive the first power cable and a second grommet to receive the second power cable.
Regarding claim 15, Blaetz further comprises a power input within the housing [Fig. 2, power input through the prongs connected to the power source/outlet], wherein the power input is configured to electrically connect to at least one selected from a group consisting of the power cable [Fig. 2, cable 12] and the second power cable.
Regarding claim 16, Blaetz further comprises a ground fault configured to detect a ground fault [abstract].
Regarding claims 17, 21, Blaetz further comprises an interrupting device [Fig. 8, electro-mechanical relay assembly 54] configured to electrically disconnect the power cable or the second power cable from the one or more plugs.
Regarding claim 18, Blaetz discloses that the interrupting device electrically disconnects the power cable or the second power cable from the one or more plugs when the ground fault is detected [Fig. 8, 54 disconnects the power cable from the plug].
Regarding claim 19-21, Blaetz further comprises an arc fault detection circuit within the housing [The ground fault detection circuit can inherently detect/trip during an arc that leaks current directly to the ground wire].
Regarding claim 20, Blaetz further comprises an interrupting device configured to electrically disconnect the power cable or the second power cable from the one or more plugs.
Conclusion
DHARTI PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/DHARTI H PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838