DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohyama (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0130052) and Walsh (U.S. Patent 6,772,361).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Ohyama discloses a processing system (Figure 1, item 13) comprising:
a reception unit (Figure 3, item 131) configured to receive function selection information of a device (Figure 1, item 12) from a user terminal (Figure 1, item 11/Figure 6, item 22) via a network (Figure 1, item 15, paragraphs 0026, 0028, and 0031-0032; i.e., the subject designation information together with the user selection information indicating the user’s preference for a design is equivalent to the claimed “function selection information”);
a processing unit (Figure 3, item 137, paragraphs 0054-0055) configured to generate, based on the function selection information, information for writing for setting a function of the device (paragraphs 0029 and 0061; i.e., the design information generated by the design information generation unit 137 is equivalent to the “information for writing”); and
a transmission unit (Figure 3, item 131) configured to transmit the information for writing to the user terminal (paragraphs 0029 and 0061-0062; i.e., the design information is generated by the design information generation unit 137 and subsequently transmitted to the user terminal [referred to as terminal 22 in Figure 6]; the user terminal thereafter writes the design information to the subject device 12).
Ohyama does not expressly disclose that the device is a programmable real time clock device.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., configuration of industrial products), Walsh teaches that the device is a programmable real time clock device (Figure 5B, item 56, Column 2, lines 2-5 and Column 12, lines 10-13).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Walsh’s teachings of configuration of industrial products with the teachings of Ohyama, for the purpose of ensuring that the device has a highly accurate time source. This would allow the types of industrial devices disclosed in Ohyama to Industrial controllers and remote telemetry units can execute time-based automation scripts and triggers without needing a constant network connection or manual clock reset.
Regarding Claim 2, Ohyama and Walsh teach wherein the processing unit generates, based on the function selection information, characteristic information of the real time clock device (Walsh, Figure 5B, item 56, Column 2, lines 2-5 and Column 12, lines 10-13) at a time when a function selected by the user is set in the real time clock device (Ohyama, paragraph 0058), and
the transmission unit transmits the characteristic information to the user terminal (Ohyama, paragraphs 0061-0062).
Regarding Claim 3, Walsh teaches wherein the characteristic information is power consumption information (Column 12, lines 28-43; i.e., a more accurate requirement would require higher power consumption).
Regarding Claim 4, Ohyama discloses wherein when the reception unit receives a characteristic information generation instruction from the user terminal via the network (paragraph 0029), the processing unit generates the characteristic information based on the function selection information at a time when the characteristic information generation instruction is performed (paragraphs 0054 and 0058), and
when the reception unit receives an information for writing generation instruction from the user terminal via the network, the processing unit generates the information for writing based on the function selection information at a time when the information for writing generation instruction is performed (paragraph 0058).
Regarding Claim 5, Ohyama discloses wherein the processing unit performs processing of displaying the characteristic information on a display unit (Figure 2, item 112) of the user terminal (paragraph 0032).
Regarding Claim 6, Walsh teaches wherein the real time clock device includes a clock signal generation circuit that generates a clock signal used for clocking (Figure 5B, item 64, Column 13, lines 1-12), and
the function selection information is information for selecting frequency accuracy of the clock signal (Column 12, lines 28-43).
Regarding Claim 9, Walsh teaches wherein the information for writing is information written in a nonvolatile memory of the real time clock device (Figure 5B, item 74, Column 14, lines 33-36).
Regarding Claims 10 and 12, Ohyama and Walsh teach a writing system (Ohyama, Figure 1, item 10) for a real time clock device, comprising:
the processing system according to claim 1 (Ohyama, Figure 1, item 13);
the user terminal (Ohyama, Figure 1, item 11); and
a writing device (Ohyama, Figure 6, item S26; i.e., the component connected to user terminal 11/22 that actually writes the design to the subject device 12) communicably connected to the user terminal and configured to write the information for writing in a nonvolatile memory of the real time clock device (Walsh, Figure 5B, item 74, Column 14, lines 33-36).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohyama and Walsh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0356869).
Regarding Claim 7, Ohyama and Walsh do not expressly disclose wherein the real time clock device includes a power supply control circuit that performs charging control for a backup element by a main power supply voltage, and
the function selection information is operation setting information of the power supply control circuit.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., configuration of industrial products), Kwon teaches wherein the real time clock device (Figure 1, item 10) includes a power supply control circuit (Figure 1, item 400) that performs charging control for a backup element (Figure 1, item 300) by a main power supply voltage (paragraphs 0027 and 0039), and
the function selection information is operation setting information of the power supply control circuit (paragraphs 0044-0045).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kwon’s teachings of configuration of industrial products with the teachings of Ohyama and Walsh, for the purpose of allowing the device to continue to operate even if the main power supply is cut off (i.e., by including a backup rechargeable battery in the device).
Regarding Claim 8, Kwon teaches wherein the power supply control circuit performs the charging control based on comparison of a backup power supply voltage from the backup element and a threshold voltage (paragraph 0043; i.e., the backup battery is used whenever voltage is cutoff [the claimed “threshold voltage”] from the main power supply), and
the operation setting information is setting information of the threshold voltage (paragraphs 0044-0045; i.e., the device is controlled to switch to the backup battery if the main power supply voltage is cut off).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because each reference discloses a system for configuring a real time clock in accordance with user specified requirements.
/FAISAL M ZAMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175