DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Claims 1-12 currently recite: “A computer program product comprising: a set of one or more computer-readable storage media ….” Applicants at par [0016] of specification as filed: “…A computer-readable storage medium, as that term is used in the present disclosure, is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se, such as radio waves or other freely propagating electromagnetic waves, electromagnetic waves propagating through a waveguide, light pulses passing through a fiber optic cable, electrical signals communicated through a wire, and/or other transmission media…” (emphasis added). Thus, the claimed “a set of one or more computer-readable storage media” is/are being interpreted as non-transitory storage. Applicants are encouraged to amend claims 1-12 to include “non-transitory”.
Claims 3-4, 8-9, 15-16, and 19-20 are dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims AND overcome the current 35 U.S.C. 101 obvious-double patenting rejection below.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over a least claim 1 of co-pending U.S. Application No. 19/065391. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the co-pending applications anticipates all of the limitations of the instant application and only recites obvious differences (see table below)
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
U.S. AP No. 19/065391
U.S. AP No. 19/065344 (Instant Application)
A computer program product comprising:
a set of one or more computer-readable storage media, wherein the set of one or more computer-readable storage media is not a transitory signal per se; and program instructions, collectively stored in the set of one or more computer-readable storage media, for causing at least one device to perform computer operations including:
obtaining, by a receiving network device, a command built to enable a control program of a device coupled to the receiving network device to request removal of a network device, the command including an indication of the network device;
initiating, by the receiving network device, removal of the network device indicated by the command, the initiating removal of the network device including initiating removal of one or more paths of the network device; and
providing, by the receiving network device, a response to the request for removal of the network device.
A computer program product comprising:
a set of one or more computer-readable storage media; and program instructions, collectively stored in the set of one or more computer- readable storage media, for causing at least one device to perform computer operations including:
obtaining, by a receiving network device, a command built to enable a control program of a device coupled to the receiving network device to request removal of a node from a network fabric, the command including an indication of the node;
performing, by the receiving network device, removal processing to remove the node indicated by the command from the network fabric; and providing, by the receiving network device, a response to the request for removal of the node from the network fabric.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to remove one or more paths of the network device. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to improve the network to facilitate communication and/or processing within the computing environment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin (US 11,516,725 B1) (hereinafter as Martin).
Regarding Claim 1. Martin teaches a computer program product comprising:
a set of one or more computer-readable storage media (col.6, lines 1-45 and col.9, lines 5-29); and
program instructions, collectively stored in the set of one or more computer- readable storage media (col.6, lines 1-45 and col.9, lines 5-29); for causing at least one device to perform computer operations including:
obtaining, by a receiving network device, a command built to enable a control program of a device coupled to the receiving network device to request removal of a node from a network fabric, the command including an indication of the node (After installation of the network 120 (for example, installation of the devices acting as nodes 125 in a facility), a node 125 may be known to the network management server 110 by its MAC address or other type of address or ID. The gateway 115 conducts a process of identifying the node 125 to be part of the network and associating the node at the server with its unique identifier, such process being referred to herein as an automated topological discovery process. The discovery may also be performed at other times, e.g., upon request of a network management device or administrator, after network maintenance is conducted, when devices are added, removed, or change location, or otherwise periodically or as scheduled. The topological discovery process is intended to identify all or a subset of the nodes on the network (or subnetwork) specified by the parameters included in the discovery request, col. 9, lines 30-53);
performing, by the receiving network device, removal processing to remove the node indicated by the command from the network fabric (gateway removes node, col.14, lines 59-64); and
providing, by the receiving network device, a response to the request for removal of the node from the network fabric (responses are sent unicast/multicast to the gateway, along with status of links and neighbors, col.12, lines 20-67).
Regarding Claim 2. Martin teaches the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the performing removal processing includes removing the node from one or more routing data structures of the network fabric (when the link quality does not meet the threshold value, the edge is added to the list of bad edges, the query node is removed from the list of unlinked nodes (if still there), but the neighboring node is retained in the list of unlinked nodes (if still there), col.4, lines 35-56).
Regarding Claim 5. Martin teaches the computer program product of claim 2, wherein the performing removal processing further includes removing the node from the one or more routing data structures based on ascertaining that a last path situation is undetected, wherein the removing the node from the one or more routing data structures includes removing from the one or more routing data structures at least one identifier of the node (remove nodes from list that are not responding, which includes information pertaining to the nodes and link.14, lines 17-56)..
Regarding Claim 6. Martin teaches the computer program product of claim 5, wherein the ascertaining that the last path situation is undetected is performed based on an indicator of the command indicating a last path check is to be performed (must find the path for each node, including bad nodes that are not responding (undetected) , col.14, lines 17-56).
Regarding Claim 7. Martin teaches the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the response includes status of the removal of the node (nodes are removed, and information received from neighboring nodes of the remove(d) node at the gateway, col. 14, lines 17-66).
Regarding Claim 10. The computer program product of claim 1, wherein the receiving network device is a same device as the node(node N1 collects information about link status between the source node (node N7) and itself (node N1), such as an indicator of link quality, the gateway waits for responses from nodes, including neighboring nodes and information about the links, col.14, lines 17-56 ).
Regarding Claim 11. Martin teaches the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the receiving network device is a different device than the node (node N1 collects information about link status between the source node (node N7) and itself (node N1), such as an indicator of link quality, the gateway waits for responses from nodes, including neighboring nodes and information about the links, col.14, lines 17-56 ).
Regarding Claim 12. Martin teaches the computer program product of claim 11, wherein the performing removal processing includes initiating removal of the node from the network fabric by forwarding at least an indication of the command towards the node, the node to perform the removal of the node from the network fabric (a multicast message does not follow a single path defined by routing tables to a destination node, but is instead “forwarding” by nodes that receive the message regardless of the message's destination or destinations. A multicast message is typically retransmitted by each node that receives it, and a node that receives a multicast message usually does not return an acknowledgment to the sender. A multicast message includes a header and a payload portion that includes the intended content data, if any. Nodes process, retransmit, and/or broadcast the message through the network based on the information, (col.9, lines 30-53).
Regarding Claims 13-14, these system claims comprise limitations substantially the same, as those discussed in claims 1-2 above, same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding Claims 17-18, these system claims comprise limitations substantially the same, as those discussed in claims 1-2 above, same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY MEJIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451