DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 11-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2022/0382394 A1) in view of Riggs et al (US 2005/0255915 A1).
Claim 1, Wang (Fig. 1-11) discloses a user input device (100; Fig. 1, 2, 6, 7, and 11) for a medical system (1100; Fig. 11; wherein discloses an ultrasonic imaging apparatus), comprising:
an input module (100; Fig. 1 and 2) comprising a body portion (102; Fig. 1 and 2; wherein discloses a housing), a first fixing portion (1013; Fig. 1 and 2; wherein discloses an engaging portions), and a first electrical connection portion (1021; Fig. 2; wherein discloses a socket structure); and
an operation panel (601; Fig. 6-10) comprising an accommodation portion (602; Fig. 6-10; Paragraph [0063]; wherein discloses a shape to match the trackball apparatus) for accommodating the body portion (102; Fig. 1 and 2), and a second fixing portion (603 and 604; Fig. 6-10),
wherein the input module (100; Fig. 1 and 2) rotates relative (Paragraph [0033]; wherein discloses “the rotational force can be applied to the cover plate, so as to engage or disengage the trackball apparatus conveniently, thereby further facilitating mounting or detachment of the trackball apparatus”) to the operation panel (601; Fig. 6-10) along a first rotation path (Fig. 6-10: wherein figure shows applying a clockwise rotation path to provide the mounting of the trackball apparatus) and is detachably connected (Paragraph [0033]; wherein discloses “detachment”) to the operation panel (601; Fig. 6-10), the first fixing portion (1013; Fig. 1 and 2) is connected to the second fixing portion (603 and 604; Fig. 6-10) when the input module (100; Fig. 6) is located at a first position on the first rotation path (Paragraph [0074]; wherein discloses “When the trackball apparatus 100 is mounted in the frame 602, the guiding member 604 contacts the cut-out portion 404 of the engaging portion 1013 to guide the engaging portion 1013, such that the position-limiting portion 603 can be easily inserted into the recess 403 of the engaging portion 1013”; therefore at the start of engaging (first position) the two elements are in contact to guide the trackball apparatus into the proper position).
Wang does not expressly disclose an operation panel comprising an accommodation portion for accommodating the body portion, a second fixing portion, and a second electrical connection portion, and
the first electrical connection portion is connected to the second electrical connection portion when the input module is located at a second position on the first rotation path.
Riggs (Fig. 1-12) discloses an operation panel (12; Fig. 1 and 2; wherein discloses a control pad) comprising an accommodation portion (32, 34, 36, and 38; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0033-0034]; wherein discloses substantially circular input control slots) for accommodating the body portion (50; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0041]; wherein discloses outer surface), a second fixing portion (46; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0034]; wherein discloses “each slot or input location 32, 34, 36 and 38 is preferably substantially circular and has three protrusions or locking mechanisms 46”), and a second electrical connection portion (Fig. 10 and 11; Paragraph [0035]; wherein discloses pins 40a-h make electrical contact with elements shown in figure 10 connected to the printed circuit board 45), and
the first electrical connection portion (40a-h; Fig. 10 and 11) is connected to the second electrical connection portion (Fig. 10 and 11; Paragraph [0035]; wherein discloses pins 40a-h make electrical contact with elements shown in figure 10 connected to the printed circuit board 45) when the input module (Fig. 4-7) is located at a second position (Fig. 10; wherein figure shows input module inserted to a second position in which the electrical pins (40a and 40h) are in contact with the printed circuit board 45) to on the first rotation path (Paragraph [0041]; wherein discloses modules are a twist and lock connection).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang’s user input device by applying an electrical connection, as taught by Riggs, so to use a user input device with an electrical connection for provide a controller that allows a user to configure the control pad in a desired manner (Paragraph [0009]).
Claim 2, Wang (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the first position (Paragraph [0074]; wherein discloses “When the trackball apparatus 100 is mounted in the frame 602, the guiding member 604 contacts the cut-out portion 404 of the engaging portion 1013 to guide the engaging portion 1013, such that the position-limiting portion 603 can be easily inserted into the recess 403 of the engaging portion 1013”; therefore at the start of engaging (first position) the two elements are in contact to guide the trackball apparatus into the proper position) and the second position (6031 and 6032; Fig. 6-10; Paragraphs [0065-0068]; wherein protrusions 6031 and 6032 are engaged with the engaging portion 1013 to restrict movement and hold trackball apparatus in place (second position)) on the first rotation path (Paragraph [0033]; wherein discloses “the rotational force can be applied to the cover plate, so as to engage or disengage the trackball apparatus conveniently, thereby further facilitating mounting or detachment of the trackball apparatus”) refer to an end point (6031 and 6032; Fig. 6-10; Paragraphs [0065-0068]; wherein protrusions 6031 and 6032 are engaged with the engaging portion 1013 to restrict movement and hold trackball apparatus in place (second position)) of the first rotation path (Paragraph [0033]; wherein discloses “the rotational force can be applied to the cover plate, so as to engage or disengage the trackball apparatus conveniently, thereby further facilitating mounting or detachment of the trackball apparatus”).
Claim 3, Riggs (Fig. 1-12) discloses wherein the first electrical connection portion (20a-20h; Fig. 9-11) is connected to the second electrical connection portion (Fig. 10 and 11; Paragraph [0035]; wherein discloses pins 40a-h make electrical contact with elements shown in figure 10 connected to the printed circuit board 45) in a non-pluggable manner (Fig. 10; wherein figure shows contact of pins in a non-pluggable manner), and when the input module (Fig. 4-7) is located at the end point of the first rotation path (Fig. 10; wherein figure shows input module fully inserted into an opening as a result of the twist and lock connection disclosed in Paragraph [0041]), the first electrical connection portion (20a-20h; Fig. 9-11) and the second electrical connection portion Fig. 10 and 11; Paragraph [0035]; wherein discloses pins 40a-h make electrical contact with elements shown in figure 10 connected to the printed circuit board 45) abut against each other (Fig. 10).
Claim 5, Wang (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the first position on the first rotation path is an end point of the first rotation path (6031 and 6032; Fig. 6-10; Paragraphs [0065-0068]; wherein protrusions 6031 and 6032 are engaged with the engaging portion 1013 to restrict movement and hold trackball apparatus in place (first position)), and the second position on the first rotation path is a start point of the first rotation path (Paragraph [0074]; wherein discloses “When the trackball apparatus 100 is mounted in the frame 602, the guiding member 604 contacts the cut-out portion 404 of the engaging portion 1013 to guide the engaging portion 1013, such that the position-limiting portion 603 can be easily inserted into the recess 403 of the engaging portion 1013”; therefore at the start of engaging (second position) the two elements are in contact to guide the trackball apparatus into the proper position).
Claim 11, Wang (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the input module (100; Fig. 1 and 2) performs a rotational downward movement (604; Fig. 9 and 10; Paragraph [0075]) or a rotational upward movement (604; Fig. 9 and 10; Paragraph [0075]) along at least part of the first rotation path Fig. 6-10: wherein figure shows applying a clockwise rotation path to provide the mounting of the trackball apparatus).
Claim 12, Wang (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein based on the input module (100; Fig. 6) being located at a start point (Fig. 6; wherein figure shows module 100 separated from panel 601) of the first rotation path (Fig. 6-10: wherein figure shows applying a clockwise rotation path to provide the mounting of the trackball apparatus), an upper end face (1011; Fig. 1) of the input module (100; Fig. 1 and 6) is located at a position higher than an upper end face of the operation panel (601; Fig. 6; Paragraph [0062]); and/or
based on the input module (100; Fig. 1) being located at an end point (6031 and 6032; Fig. 6-10; Paragraphs [0065-0068]; wherein protrusions 6031 and 6032 are engaged with the engaging portion 1013 to restrict movement and hold trackball apparatus in place) of the first rotation path (Fig. 6-10: wherein figure shows applying a clockwise rotation path to provide the mounting of the trackball apparatus), the upper end face (1011; Fig. 1) of the input module (100; Fig. 7 and 11) is flush with the upper end face of the operation panel (601; Fig. 7 and 11; Paragraph [0062]).
Claim 18, Wang (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the operation panel (601; Fig. 6-10) further comprises:
a step portion (604; Fig. 8-10) extending in a circumferential direction (Paragraph [0076]; wherein discloses the guiding member 604 is a slope shape) and a position-limiting portion (6032; Fig. 6-10; Paragraph [0068]; wherein discloses a second protrusion portion which can block movement), the position-limiting portion (6032; Fig. 6-10) and the step portion (604; Fig. 8-10) being located at upper and lower sides of the second fixing portion (602; Fig. 6-10), respectively;
in a state where the input module (100; Fig. 1 and 2) is mounted to (Fig. 7 and 11) the operation panel (601; Fig. 6-10), the first fixing portion (1013; Fig. 1) is connected to (Paragraph [0068]; wherein discloses “the second protrusion portion 6032 can block movement of the engaging portion 1013 in the axial direction”) the second fixing portion (6032; Fig. 6-10), and the first fixing portion (1013; Fig. 1) abuts against the position-limiting portion (6032; Fig. 6-10) and the step portion (604; Fig. 8-10) in an up-down direction (Paragraph [0074]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2022/0382394 A1) in view of Riggs et al (US 2005/0255915 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Garthwaite (US 5,268,675).
Claim 4, Wang in view of Riggs discloses the apparatus according to claim 3.
Wang in view of Riggs does not expressly disclose wherein the first electrical connection portion and the second electrical connection portion are spring-loaded pin interfaces.
Garthwaite (Fig. 1-8) discloses wherein the first electrical connection portion (22; Fig. 2A) and the second electrical connection portion (52; Fig. 5A) are spring-loaded pin interfaces (Fig. 3; Col. 4, Lines 20-23; wherein discloses “Each of the electrical connector pins 25a to 25e in the electrical connector 22 is spring-loaded to facilitate electrical coupling between the apparatus 10 and the computer 1 (see FIG. 1).”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang in view of Riggs’s input device by applying spring loaded connector pins, as taught by Garthwaite, so to use a input device with spring loaded connector pins for providing tight mechanical connection of the apparatus to the computer, but permits the disconnection of the apparatus if excessive shearing force is applied (Col. 2, Lines 10-20).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2022/0382394 A1) in view of Riggs et al (US 2005/0255915 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ganthier et al (US 5,865,546).
Claim 13, Wang (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the input module (100; Fig. 1 and 2) comprises one of a trackball module (100; fig. 1 and 2; Paragraph [0029]; wherein discloses a trackball apparatus) and a touchpad module.
Wang in view of Riggs does not expressly disclose the input module comprises a trackball module and a touchpad module, the trackball module and the touchpad module being alternately connected to the operation panel.
Ganthier (Fig. 1-3) discloses the input module (140; Fig. 1) comprises a trackball module (140; Fig. 1; wherein discloses a trackball module) and a touchpad module (Col. 3, Lines 40-60; wherein discloses “For example, the trackball module 140 can be replaced with other display pointing and selection devices such as a roller ball or touch pad and a joystick module can be used in place of the keypad module 150”), the trackball module (140; Fig. 1) and the touchpad module (Col. 3, Lines 40-60) being alternately (Fig. 1; wherein figure clearly shows the switching of different modules) connected (131 and 106; Fig. 1) to the operation panel (102; Fig. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang in view of Riggs’s input device by applying a module switching method, as taught by Ganthier, so to use an input device with a module switching method for providing flexibility to the keyboard manufacturer and user, as well as minimizing the amount of cabling that typically confronts the user (Col. 2, Lines 49-64).
Claim 14, Wang (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein a body portion (100; Fig. 1 and 2) of the trackball module (100; Fig. 1 and 2) comprises a base assembly (102; Fig. 1 and 2) and a trackball assembly (103 and 101; Fig. 1 and 2), the base assembly (102; Fig. 1 and 2) being detachably assembled (Fig. 3-5; wherein figure shows part 101 being detached) with the trackball assembly (103 and 101; Fig. 1 and 2).
Claim 15, Wang (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the trackball assembly (103 and 101; Fig. 1 and 2) comprises a ball (103; Fig. 1) and a cover plate (101; Fig. 3-5), the cover plate (101; Fig. 3-5) comprises a first surface (1011; Fig. 3-5) and a second surface (1012; Fig. 3-5), an opening portion (301; Fig. 3-5) passing through the first surface (1011; Fig. 3-5) and the second surface (1012; Fig. 3-5) is provided at the center of the cover plate (101; Fig. 3-5), and a claw portion (302; Fig. 3-5) is provided at a side of the second surface (1012; Fig. 3-5);
part of the ball (103; Fig. 1) is exposed from the opening portion (301; Fig. 3-5), and the ball (103; Fig. 1) is retained by the claw portion (302; Fig. 3-5) in a freely rotatable state (Paragraph [0029]; wherein discloses a “freely rotatable state”).
Claim 16, Wang (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein the base assembly (102; Fig. 1 and 2) and the trackball assembly (103 and 101; Fig. 1 and 2) are each detachably connected (Fig. 6 and 7) to the operation panel (102; Fig. 6 and 7);
the first fixing portion (1013; Fig. 1) comprises a fifth fixing portion (1013; Fig. 1; wherein figure shows more than one engaging portion) provided on the base assembly (103; Fig. 1) and a sixth fixing portion (1013; Fig. 1; wherein figure shows more than one engaging portion) provided on the trackball assembly (101; Fig. 1 and 2);
the second fixing portion (603; Fig, 6-10) comprises a seventh fixing portion (603; Fig. 8-10; wherein figures show more than one position limiting portions) and an eighth fixing portion (603; Fig. 8-10; wherein figures show more than one position limiting portions) that are provided in the accommodation portion (602; Fig. 6);
in a state where the trackball module (100; Fig. 1 and 1) is mounted to the operation panel (601; Fig. 7 and 11), the fifth fixing portion (1013; Fig. 1; wherein figure shows more than one engaging portion) is connected to the seventh fixing portion (603; Fig. 8-10; wherein figures show more than one position limiting portions), and the sixth fixing portion (1013; Fig. 1; wherein figure shows more than one engaging portion) is connected to the eighth fixing portion (603; Fig. 8-10; wherein figures show more than one position limiting portions).
Claim 17, Wang (Fig. 1-11) discloses further comprising a plurality of first fixing portions (1013; Fig. 1; wherein figure shows more than one engaging portion) and a plurality of second fixing portions (603; Fig. 8-10; wherein figures show more than one position limiting portions), and the plurality of first fixing portions (1013; Fig. 1; wherein figure shows more than one engaging portion) and the plurality of second fixing portions (603; Fig. 8-10; wherein figures show more than one position limiting portions) are provided non-uniformly (Paragraph [0048]) in a circumferential direction of the body portion (103; Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 6, the claim is directed to the Applicant’s figures 14, 16, and 17 which contains the element 27. The Examiner believes the claim limitation “a retaining portion that is fixedly connected to the second electrical connection portion and that rotates along a second rotation path parallel to the first rotation path” is not specifically taught or disclosed by the cited prior art references.
With respect to claims 7-10, the claims dependent from the objected claim 6 and therefore allowable based on that dependency.
Conclusion
/Adam J Snyder/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 01/23/2026