DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-8, 14, and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/08/2026. Therefore, claims 1-20 remain pending and claims 1-5, 9-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 are treated on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ams et al. (DE 10039066; attached with machine translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Ams discloses a valve comprising: a valve body (including electromagnet 17 and housing portion 10) having a port section 10 and a coil support section (electromagnet 17 supports coil 22) extending along a longitudinal axis (vertical axis through the center of the device); a plunger 19 within the valve body and extending at least partially through the coil support section (coil support section including anchor sleeve 20); and a poppet 303 press-fit onto the plunger 19 (via a barb connection 32 in the same manner as achieved by applicant’s device) and configured to selectively open and close at least one flow path through the port section 10 of the valve body (flow path through the seat 14).
Regarding Claim 2, Ams further discloses the plunger 19 includes a stem (the lower portion of 19 defines a stem) extending into the port section 10 of the valve body; and wherein the poppet 303 is press-fit onto the stem (press-fit via the barb connection 32 in the same manner as achieved by applicant’s device).
Regarding Claim 3, Ams further discloses the stem (lower end of 19) includes an annular barb 32 configured to engage an interior of the poppet 303 to hold the poppet in place on the stem (19 is fixed in head 303 by means of a barb connection 32).
Regarding Claim 9, Ams further discloses the poppet 303 is configured to selectively engage a valve seat 14 to selectively open and close the flow path through the port section 10 of the valve body (via elastomer seal 31).
Regarding Claim 10, Ams further discloses the valve seat 14 is integral with the valve body (as shown in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Ams further discloses the poppet 303 includes a seal 31 configured to selectively engage a valve seat 14 to selectively open and close the flow path through the port section 10 of the valve body.
Regarding Claim 13, Ams further discloses the poppet 303 includes a first seal 31 configured to selectively engage a first valve seat 14 to selectively open and close a normally closed flow path through the port section 10 of the valve body (as shown in Figure 3); and wherein the poppet includes a second seal 50 (as shown in Figure 4; it is noted that the second seal is part of the poppet as these elements are coupled via pins 43) configured to selectively engage a second valve seat 48 to selectively open and close a normally open flow path through the port section 10 of the valve body (as shown in Figure 3; the two valve members 15 and 49 are alternately seated and therefore a first valve is normally closed while a second valve is normally open).
Regarding Claim 15, Ams discloses a valve comprising: a valve body (including electromagnet 17 and housing portion 10) having a port section 10 and a coil support section (electromagnet 17 supports coil 22) extending along a longitudinal axis (vertical axis through the center of the device); a plunger 19 within the valve body and extending at least partially through the coil support section (coil support section including anchor sleeve 20), wherein the plunger 19 includes a stem (the lower portion of 19 defines a stem) extending into the port section 10 of the valve body; and a poppet 303 including a resilient portion 31 configured to selectively engage a rigid valve seat 14 to open and close at least one flow path through the port section 10 of the valve body (flow path through the seat 14); wherein the stem (lower end of 19) includes at least one annular barb 32 configured to engage an interior of the poppet 303 to hold the poppet in place on the stem (19 is fixed in head 303 by means of a barb connection 32).
Regarding Claim 18, Ams further discloses the valve seat 14 is integral with the valve body (as shown in Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ams et al. (DE 10039066) in view of Bennett (GB 2109900).
Regarding Claim 4, Ams further discloses the stem includes an annular barb 32 configured to engage an interior of the poppet 303 to hold the poppet in place on the stem (19 is fixed in head 303 by means of a barb connection 32).
Ams does not disclose the stem includes a plurality of annular barbs.
Bennett teaches a valve head (Figure 4) and further teaches a stem 49 includes a plurality of annular barbs (as shown in Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Ams to include a plurality of annular barbs as taught by Bennett for the purpose of providing a stronger connection between the stem and the poppet. Furthermore, it is noted that providing an additional barb merely requires a duplication of parts and it has been generally held that a duplication of parts is within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 5, Ams further discloses the poppet 303 includes a rigid portion 303 configured to engage the barb on the stem 19 and a resilient portion 31 configured to selectively engage a valve seat 14 to selectively open and close the flow path through the port section 10 of the valve body (as shown in Figure 2).
Ams is silent on the particular materials of the poppet and therefore does not disclose the rigid portion is harder than the resilient portion.
Bennett teaches a valve head (Figure 4) and further teaches a poppet includes a rigid portion (wedge member 48) which is harder than a resilient portion 47 (resilient O-ring 47; page 2, lines 34-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Ams such that the rigid portion of the poppet is harder than the resilient portion as taught by Bennett for the purpose of ensuring the elastomer seal deforms as desired to provide a sufficient seal with the seat.
Regarding Claim 16, Ams further discloses the poppet 303 comprises a rigid portion 303 configured to engage the barb on the stem 19.
Ams is silent on the particular materials of the poppet and therefore does not disclose the rigid portion is harder than the resilient portion.
Bennett teaches a valve head (Figure 4) and further teaches a poppet includes a rigid portion (wedge member 48) which is harder than a resilient portion 47 (resilient O-ring 47; page 2, lines 34-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Ams such that the rigid portion of the poppet is harder than the resilient portion as taught by Bennett for the purpose of ensuring the elastomer seal deforms as desired to provide a sufficient seal with the seat.
Regarding Claim 20, Ams discloses a valve comprising: a valve body (including electromagnet 17 and housing portion 10) having a port section 10 and a coil support section (electromagnet 17 supports coil 22) extending along a longitudinal axis (vertical axis through the center of the device); a plunger 19 within the valve body and extending at least partially through the coil support section (coil support section including anchor sleeve 20), wherein the plunger 19 includes a stem (the lower portion of 19 defines a stem) extending into the port section 10 of the valve body, and wherein the stem includes an annular barb 32; and a poppet 303 configured to selectively engage a valve seat 14 to open and close at least one flow path through the port section 10 of the valve body (flow path through the seat 14); wherein the barb 32 is configured to engage an interior of the poppet 303 to hold the poppet in place on the stem (19 is fixed in head 303 by means of a barb connection 32).
Ams does not disclose the stem includes a plurality of annular barbs.
Bennett teaches a valve head (Figure 4) and further teaches a stem 49 includes a plurality of annular barbs (as shown in Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Ams to include a plurality of annular barbs as taught by Bennett for the purpose of providing a stronger connection between the stem and the poppet. Furthermore, it is noted that providing an additional barb merely requires a duplication of parts and it has been generally held that a duplication of parts is within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Claims 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ams et al. (DE 10039066) in view of Dick et al. (US Patent 11,761,547).
Regarding Claim 11, Ams does not disclose the valve seat is integral with a cap press-fit into one end of the valve body.
Dick teaches a valve seat device such that a valve seat (seat surface 30) is integral with a cap 10 press-fit into one end of a valve body 100 (via circumferential protrusion 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Ams such that the valve seat is integral with a cap press-fit into one end of the valve body as taught by Dick for the purpose of utilizing a plastic valve seat insert to protect the seat against corrosion.
Regarding Claim 19, Ams does not disclose the valve seat is integral with a cap that is press-fit at least partially into one end of the valve body.
Dick teaches a valve seat device such that a valve seat (seat surface 30) is integral with a cap 10 press-fit into one end of a valve body 100 (via circumferential protrusion 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Ams such that the valve seat is integral with a cap press-fit into one end of the valve body as taught by Dick for the purpose of utilizing a plastic valve seat insert to protect the seat against corrosion.
Conclusion
The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hoehn (US Patent 5,419,531) teaches a valve having a stem with barbs 19. Engle (US Patent 4,074,700) teaches a valve having a poppet which alternately closes two separate valve seats.
/KEVIN F MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753