DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Mochizuki et al (JP 2004-84970).
As concerns the following claims, Mochizuki et al (JP 2004-84970) discloses:
1. A vehicle front structure comprising:
a dash module (at least 4 / 11) that separates an inside and an outside of a vehicle cabin from each other, the dash module having a channel (3, 13, 16) for a cooling refrigerant ("working fluid", air, etc) extending in a vehicle-width direction; and
at least one heat generating device (incidental light) disposed in contact with or close to the dash module.
3. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein the dash module is mounted on a frame member (2) of a vehicle.
4. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein:
the dash module (at least 4) includes a dash panel (4) having a plate shape (Figure 2); and
the channel is provided inside the dash panel (Figure 2).
6. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein:
the dash module includes a dash panel (4) having a plate shape, and a plate member (15) fixed to the dash panel; and
the channel (16) is provided in the plate member. (Figure 5)
7. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein at least a part of the channel (3, 13, 16) is disposed facing the at least one heat generating device (Sun) in a vehicle front-rear direction.
10. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein the channel has an inflow port and an outflow port, the inflow port and the outflow port being provided on one side in the vehicle-width direction. (Figures 1 and 4)
Claims 1-3, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Lang et al (JP 2013-216313).
As concerns the following claims, Lang et al (JP 2013-216313) discloses:
1. A vehicle front structure comprising:
a dash module (14) that separates an inside and an outside of a vehicle cabin from each other, the dash module having a channel (16) for a cooling refrigerant (air) extending in a vehicle- width direction; and
at least one heat generating device (not shown, accommodated within housing 12) disposed in contact with or close to the dash module.
2. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein the at least one heat generating device (not shown) is directly mounted on the dash module. (Figure 1)
3. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein the dash module (14) is mounted on a frame member (10) of a vehicle.
7. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein at least a part of the channel (16) is disposed facing the at least one heat generating device (within 20, not shown) in a vehicle front-rear direction.
11. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein the at least one heat generating device is an auxiliary battery or an integrated control unit (Claim 14 states that the electronic device is permanently housed in housing 12).
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Veillard (FR 3 086 888).
As concerns the following claims, Veillard (FR 3 086 888) discloses:
1. A vehicle front structure comprising:
a dash module (Fig 3) that separates an inside (2) and an outside of a vehicle cabin from each other, the dash module having a channel (at least 16) for a cooling refrigerant ("refrigerant fluid") extending in a vehicle-width direction; and
at least one heat generating device (20) disposed in contact with or close to the dash module.
2. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein the at least one heat generating device is directly mounted on the dash module. (Figure 3 illustrates the device being located within the dash module)
3. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein the dash module is mounted on a frame member (Figure 1) of a vehicle.
4. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein:
the dash module (Figure 3) includes a dash panel (14) having a plate shape (Figure 2); and
the channel (16) is provided inside the dash panel (Figure 2).
6. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein:
the dash module includes a dash panel (22) having a plate shape, and a plate member (14) fixed to the dash panel; and
the channel (16) is provided in the plate member. (Figure 2)
7. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein at least a part of the channel (16) is disposed facing the at least one heat generating device (24) in a vehicle front-rear direction.
10. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein the channel has an inflow port (16a) and an outflow port (16b), the inflow port and the outflow port being provided on one side in the vehicle-width direction. (Figure 2)
11. The vehicle front structure according to claim 1, wherein the at least one heat generating device is an auxiliary battery or an integrated control unit (24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-9, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As concerns claim 5, Mochizuki et al (JP 2004-84970) was found to most closely resemble Applicant’s claimed invention. What distinguished 5 over this and all other prior art references was that the channel is explicitly defined by the plate member and the dash panel. No such configuration was found in any of the cited prior art.
As concerns claim 8, both Lang, and Veillard disclose the cooling of at least one element. However, neither discloses the placement of a first element and second element with the dash module interposed as claimed.
As concerns claim 9, Veillard disclosed the claimed channel and dash module. However, Veillard and others failed to anticipate the claimed projection that corresponded to the channels, wherein the projection has a flat tip face. The coil of Mochizuki (3a in Figure 2) illustrates a projection as claimed, however not comprising a flat tip.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AARON L LEMBO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679