DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a media storage” in line 17. It is unclear as to whether the media storage of line 17 is the same or different media storage of line 2. As such, the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention. For purposes of examination, the media storage of line 17 is treated as the same media storage of line 2 as this appears to be Applicant’s intent. Dependent claims 2-11 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on independent claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the media storage,” in lines 7, 8, 9, 10 , and 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims 13 and 14 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on independent claim 12.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the media storage,” in lines 12, 13, and 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims 16-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on independent claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-11 are drawn to a process and claims 12-20 are drawn to machines, each of which is within the four statutory categories (e.g., a process, a machine). (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A – Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claims are analyzed to evaluate whether they recite a judicial exception.
Claim 1 recites/describes the following steps:
“…, an upload URL request;”
“receiving, …, in response to the upload URL request, an upload URL including a key identifying a location…, wherein the upload URL allows for uploading media to the location…;”
“upload, …, using the upload URL, media to the location … indicated by the key in the upload URL, the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement;”
“…, an update request including the key, the update request to store, …, the key in association with a geographic location …;”
“transmitting, …, a geographic location request including an operation identifier;”
“in response to the geographic location request, receiving, … a geographic location and the key based on an association with the geographic location …;”
“…, a download request comprising the presigned URL request including the key;” and
“in response to the download request, receiving,…, …, the media stored in the location… identified by the key.”
Claim 12 recites/describes the following steps:
“receive, … an upload URL request;”
“…in response to the upload URL request, an upload URL including a key identifying a location …, wherein the upload URL allows for uploading media to the location …;”
“store, in response to an upload from the mobile device using the upload URL, media from the mobile device in the location… indicated by the key in the upload URL, the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement;”
“receive, …, an update request including the key;” and
“in response to the update request, store, … the key in association with a geographic location ….”
Claim 15 recites/describes the following steps:
“receive, …, a geographic location request including an operation identifier;”
“in response to the geographic location request, transmit, …, a geographic location corresponding to the operation identifier and a key associated with the geographic location…, wherein the key identifies a location …;”
“receive, …, a presigned URL request including the key;” and
“in response to a download request using the presigned URL … transmit, …, media stored in the location… identified by the key, the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement.”
These steps, under broadest reasonable interpretation, describe or set-forth following received instructions to send and receive media regarding package delivery instructions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). These limitations therefore fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Dependent claim 2 recites the additional limitation “obtaining, by the second mobile device an augmented reality (AR) overlay based on the media” which is analyzed below in Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent claim 3 recites the additional limitation “creating a digital representation of a package having dimensions corresponding to dimensions of a physical package to be delivered and positioning the digital representation within a three- dimensional space corresponding to the delivery location” which is analyzed below in Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent claim 4 recites the additional limitation “overlaying, by the second mobile device, a camera feed of the second mobile device with the AR overlay” which is analyzed below in Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent claim 5 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “comparing the photograph to the AR overlay; and determining whether the physical package placement matches the delivery instructions within a predetermined tolerance” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 5 recites the additional limitation “capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement” which is analyzed below in Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent claim 6 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “comparing a position and orientation of the physical package with a position and orientation of a digital representation of the package” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 6 is rejected due to being abstract and does not recite any additional elements/limitations.
Dependent claim 7 recites the additional limitation “caching, by the second mobile device, the media on the second mobile device” which is analyzed below in Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent claim 8 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “queuing, by the second mobile device, the download request based on limited network connectivity” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 8 is rejected due to being abstract and does not recite any additional elements/limitations.
Dependent claim 9 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “providing, …, real-time feedback regarding alignment between physical package placement and delivery instructions” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 9 is rejected due to being abstract and does not recite any additional elements/limitations.
Dependent claim 10 recites the additional limitation “displaying, by the second mobile device, directional indicators guiding a user of the second mobile device to the geographic location” which is analyzed below in Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent claim 11 recites the additional limitation “capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement; and transmitting, by the second mobile device, the delivery confirmation photograph to the media storage” which is analyzed below in Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent claim 13 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “a proxy, wherein requests and responses between the system and the mobile device are transmitted via the proxy” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 13 is rejected due to being abstract and does not recite any additional elements/limitations.
Dependent claim 14 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “authenticate, by the proxy, the mobile device” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 14 is rejected due to being abstract and does not recite any additional elements/limitations.
Dependent claim 16 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “receive, …, confirmation of delivery” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 16 is rejected due to being abstract and does not recite any additional elements/limitations.
Dependent claim 17 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “wherein the confirmation of delivery includes a delivery photo, and …compare the media comprising the delivery instructions for package placement to the received delivery photo” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 17 is rejected due to being abstract and does not recite any additional elements/limitations.
Dependent claim 18 recites the additional limitation “generate an augmented reality (AR) overlay based on the media” which is analyzed below in Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent claim 19 recites the additional limitation “generate the AR overlay based on the media by creating a digital representation of a package having dimensions corresponding to dimensions of a physical package to be delivered” which is analyzed below in Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent claim 20 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “wherein the media comprises at least one of a photograph of a delivery location, geolocation data, and textual delivery instructions” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 20 is rejected due to being abstract and does not recite any additional elements/limitations.
Step 2A – Prong Two:
The claims recite the additional elements/limitations of: “a first mobile device, to a media storage,” “a geographic location database,” “a second mobile device,” (claim 1); “a system, comprising: a media storage system; a geographic location database; one or more processors; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium,” “the media storage,” “a mobile device,” (claim 12); “a system, comprising: a media storage system; a geographic location database; one or more processors; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium,” “a mobile device,” “the media storage,” (claim 15).
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “a first mobile device, to a media storage,” “a geographic location database,” “a second mobile device,” (claim 1); “a system, comprising: a media storage system; a geographic location database; one or more processors; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium,” “the media storage,” “a mobile device,” (claim 12); “a system, comprising: a media storage system; a geographic location database; one or more processors; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium,” “a mobile device,” “the media storage,” (claim 15), is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See § MPEP 2106.05(f).
The dependent claims also recite the additional elements/limitations of: “obtaining, by the second mobile device an augmented reality (AR) overlay based on the media” (claim 2); “creating a digital representation of a package having dimensions corresponding to dimensions of a physical package to be delivered and positioning the digital representation within a three- dimensional space corresponding to the delivery location” (claim 3); “overlaying, by the second mobile device, a camera feed of the second mobile device with the AR overlay” (claim 4); “capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement” (claim 5); “caching, by the second mobile device, the media on the second mobile device” (claim 7); “displaying, by the second mobile device, directional indicators guiding a user of the second mobile device to the geographic location” (claim 10); “capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement; and transmitting, by the second mobile device, the delivery confirmation photograph to the media storage” (claim 11); “generate an augmented reality (AR) overlay based on the media” (claim 18); “generate the AR overlay based on the media by creating a digital representation of a package having dimensions corresponding to dimensions of a physical package to be delivered” (claim 19).
The recited additional elements of “obtaining, by the second mobile device an augmented reality (AR) overlay based on the media” (claim 2); “creating a digital representation of a package having dimensions corresponding to dimensions of a physical package to be delivered and positioning the digital representation within a three- dimensional space corresponding to the delivery location” (claim 3); “overlaying, by the second mobile device, a camera feed of the second mobile device with the AR overlay” (claim 4); “capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement” (claim 5); “caching, by the second mobile device, the media on the second mobile device” (claim 7); “displaying, by the second mobile device, directional indicators guiding a user of the second mobile device to the geographic location” (claim 10); “capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement; and transmitting, by the second mobile device, the delivery confirmation photograph to the media storage” (claim 11); “generate an augmented reality (AR) overlay based on the media” (claim 18); “generate the AR overlay based on the media by creating a digital representation of a package having dimensions corresponding to dimensions of a physical package to be delivered” (claim 19), simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea; mere post-solution activity in conjunction with an abstract idea). The term “extra-solution activity” is understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. The recited additional elements are deemed “extra-solution” because they are merely presenting data/information to a user. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(g) and (h).
Remaining dependent claims 6, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 20, either recite the same additional elements as noted above or fail to recite any additional elements (in which case, note prong one analysis as set forth above – those claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B:
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2,” the requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “a first mobile device, to a media storage,” “a geographic location database,” “a second mobile device,” (claim 1); “a system, comprising: a media storage system; a geographic location database; one or more processors; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium,” “the media storage,” “a mobile device,” (claim 12); “a system, comprising: a media storage system; a geographic location database; one or more processors; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium,” “a mobile device,” “the media storage,” (claim 15), is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more.” See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the recited additional elements of “obtaining, by the second mobile device an augmented reality (AR) overlay based on the media” (claim 2); “creating a digital representation of a package having dimensions corresponding to dimensions of a physical package to be delivered and positioning the digital representation within a three- dimensional space corresponding to the delivery location” (claim 3); “overlaying, by the second mobile device, a camera feed of the second mobile device with the AR overlay” (claim 4); “capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement” (claim 5); “caching, by the second mobile device, the media on the second mobile device” (claim 7); “displaying, by the second mobile device, directional indicators guiding a user of the second mobile device to the geographic location” (claim 10); “capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement; and transmitting, by the second mobile device, the delivery confirmation photograph to the media storage” (claim 11); “generate an augmented reality (AR) overlay based on the media” (claim 18); “generate the AR overlay based on the media by creating a digital representation of a package having dimensions corresponding to dimensions of a physical package to be delivered” (claim 19), even if considered to be an “additional” element for the purpose of the eligibility analysis, would simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere post-solution activity in conjunction with an abstract idea). These additional elements, taken individually or in combination, additionally amount to well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, appended to the judicial exception. These additional elements, taken individually or in combination, are well-understood, routine and conventional to those in the field of user interfaces. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more.” See MPEP § 2106.05(d). This conclusion is based on a factual determination. The determination that receiving data/messages over a network is well-understood, routine, and conventional is supported by Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362; TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014), and MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), which note the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of receiving data/messages over a network.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer, generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., mere data gathering, post-solution activity), and appended with well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.
Remaining dependent claims 6, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 20, either recite the same additional elements as noted above or fail to recite any additional elements (in which case, note prong one analysis as set forth above – those claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reda (US 2021/0374199 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 11,861,546 B1), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Reda discloses method comprising:
transmitting, by a first mobile device, to a media storage, an upload URL request (Par. [0050], For starting a creation of a new augmented reality content (new augmented reality campaign), the creator may execute the preprogrammed command modules of the inventive data communication system, in particular the content creating unit, user requesting to upload new content or additional content; Par. [0072], When selecting the first and second steps the creator may be enabled, e.g. by a suitable inputting unit 104, to upload or provide access to the respective data sets);
receiving, by the first mobile device, from the media storage, in response to the upload URL request, an upload URL including a key identifying a location in the media storage, wherein the upload URL allows for uploading media to the location in the media storage (Par. [0093], The internet address, preferably the URL address simplifies the step of sharing of the internet-based augmented reality content with potential users… the creator may select to mask the assigned internet address (e.g., www.augmania.co/ . . . , in particular www.augmania.co/redrose) by providing a so called “white labeled” internet address (e.g. www.redrose.com/AR). In the latter case the white labeled internet address, e.g. URL link is redirected, e.g. by DNS, to the assigned internet address of the augmented reality content (augmented reality campaign)); Par. [0177], assigns an internet link, such as a URL address for the created content. The creator may also add a specific name, which can be used to assign the URL address);
upload, by the first mobile device, using the upload URL, media to the location in the media storage indicated by the key in the upload URL (Par. [0074], the creator may be enabled to upload or provide access to an optical information, preferably selected from an image (e.g. as data file extensions jpg, png, jpeg), a 360° image (e.g. as data file extensions jpg, png, jpeg), a video (e.g. as data file extensions mp4, mov, mkv), a 360° video (e.g. as data file extensions mp4, mov, mkv), a three dimensional (3D) image (e.g. as data file extensions gif, Jason, obj, fbx), text information, html5 information, e.g. in form of a web page, a game, and a survey, and a two or a three dimensional (3D) animation (e.g. as data file extensions gif, Jason, obj, fbx), an audio information (mp3). Access may be provided by an internet accessible link to a library database).
Reda discloses using an augmented reality system may be used for mail and packaged delivery purposes (Par. [0202]). Reda dos not explicitly disclose the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement; transmitting by the first mobile device, to a geographic location database, an update request including the key, the update request to store, at the geographic location database, the key in association with a geographic location associated with the mobile device; transmitting, by a second mobile device, to the geographic location database, a geographic location request including an operation identifier; in response to the geographic location request, receiving, by the second mobile device, from the geographic location database, a geographic location and the key based on an association with the geographic location in the geographic location database; transmitting, by the second mobile device, to a media storage, a download request comprising the presigned URL request including the key; and in response to the download request, receiving, by the second mobile device, from the media storage, the media stored in the location in the media storage identified by the key.
Wang teaches the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement; transmitting by the first mobile device, to a geographic location database, an update request including the key, the update request to store, at the geographic location database, the key in association with a geographic location associated with the mobile device (Col. 11, Lines 46-52, the one or more images provided by the customer can be evaluated, associated with indications of approved and restricted delivery locations within the delivery environment, and stored in the delivery location database 214 for utilization by the local recognition algorithm 210);
transmitting, by a second mobile device, to the geographic location database, a geographic location request including an operation identifier (Col. 26, Lines 7-13, identify the delivery environment as an intended delivery environment and a global algorithm configured to verify placement of a package within the intended delivery environment);
in response to the geographic location request, receiving, by the second mobile device, from the geographic location database, a geographic location and the key based on an association with the geographic location in the geographic location database (Col. 26: Lines 30-42, determine whether the delivery environment is the intended delivery environment and generate the set of delivery instructions. Additionally, the set of delivery instructions can include delivery instructions for one or more delivery locations within the delivery environment. Further, the set of delivery instructions can identify approved delivery locations and rejected delivery locations, identified based at least on previous deliveries to the delivery environment and customer feedback, within the delivery environment);
transmitting, by the second mobile device, to a media storage, a download request comprising the request (Col. 23: Lines 3-19, a system can receive an indication that a deliverer has arrived at a delivery location associated with a package. The indication can be manually sent by the deliverer upon arrival to the delivery location or automatically transmitted based upon the user device associated with the deliverer determining that the deliverer has arrived at the delivery location; Col. 23, Lines 22-24, package identification); and
in response to the download request, receiving, by the second mobile device, from the media storage, the media stored in the location in the media storage identified by the key (Col. 24: Lines 63-67, the user device can activate one or more sensors to generate the one or more images, the video, the audio data, and other delivery location information upon arrival to the delivery location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality system of Reda to include the delivery instruction abilities of Wang to teach “the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement; transmitting by the first mobile device, to a geographic location database, an update request including the key, the update request to store, at the geographic location database, the key in association with a geographic location associated with the mobile device; transmitting, by a second mobile device, to the geographic location database, a geographic location request including an operation identifier; in response to the geographic location request, receiving, by the second mobile device, from the geographic location database, a geographic location and the key based on an association with the geographic location in the geographic location database; transmitting, by the second mobile device, to a media storage, a download request comprising the presigned URL request including the key; and in response to the download request, receiving, by the second mobile device, from the media storage, the media stored in the location in the media storage identified by the key,” as need exists to improve customer satisfaction and operational efficiency associated with delivery operations of a service provider (Wang, Col. 8: Lines 39-47). Providing incorporating delivery instructions with an augmented reality system would enable such a system to improve efficiency of deliveries and improve satisfaction of customers of service providers.
Regarding claim 2, Reda discloses further comprising obtaining, by the second mobile device an augmented reality (AR) overlay based on the media (Par. [0018]).
Regarding claim 3, Reda discloses wherein generating the AR overlay includes creating a digital representation of a package having dimensions corresponding to dimensions of a physical package to be delivered and positioning the digital representation within a three- dimensional space corresponding to the delivery location (Par. [0202], the augmented reality show data set A2 may comprise information on the weight, dimensions, handling conditions (cooled storage, careful handling because of glass items etc) and so on of the mailed/delivered envelope/package).
Regarding claim 4, Reda discloses further comprising overlaying, by the second mobile device, a camera feed of the second mobile device with the AR overlay (Par. [0047], taken by a camera of the user device, such as an image or an image sequence (video); Par. [0050], comprising an augmented reality show data set to be overlaid on the reality and thereby augmenting the reality).
Regarding claim 5, Reda discloses using an augmented reality system may be used for mail and packaged delivery purposes (Par. [0202]). Reda dos not explicitly disclose further comprising: capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement; comparing the photograph to the AR overlay; and determining whether the physical package placement matches the delivery instructions within a predetermined tolerance. Wang teaches capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement (Col. 11, Lines 46-52, the one or more images provided by the customer can be evaluated, associated with indications of approved and restricted delivery locations within the delivery environment, and stored in the delivery location database 214 for utilization by the local recognition algorithm 210); comparing the photograph to the AR overlay; and determining whether the physical package placement matches the delivery instructions within a predetermined tolerance (Col. 25: Lines 26-35, the system can determine that the delivery location associated with the one or more images is the intended delivery location of the one or more additional images based at least on the image matching score exceeding a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality system of Reda to include the delivery instruction abilities of Wang to teach “further comprising: capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement; comparing the photograph to the AR overlay; and determining whether the physical package placement matches the delivery instructions within a predetermined tolerance,” as need exists to improve customer satisfaction and operational efficiency associated with delivery operations of a service provider (Wang, Col. 8: Lines 39-47). Providing incorporating delivery instructions with an augmented reality system would enable such a system to improve efficiency of deliveries and improve satisfaction of customers of service providers.
Regarding claim 6, Reda discloses using an augmented reality system may be used for mail and packaged delivery purposes (Par. [0202]). Reda dos not explicitly disclose wherein determining whether the physical package placement matches the delivery instructions includes comparing a position and orientation of the physical package with a position and orientation of a digital representation of the package. Wang teaches wherein determining whether the physical package placement matches the delivery instructions includes comparing a position and orientation of the physical package with a position and orientation of a digital representation of the package (Col. 25: Lines 26-35, the system can determine that the delivery location associated with the one or more images is the intended delivery location of the one or more additional images based at least on the image matching score exceeding a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality system of Reda to include the delivery instruction abilities of Wang to teach “determining whether the physical package placement matches the delivery instructions includes comparing a position and orientation of the physical package with a position and orientation of a digital representation of the package,” as need exists to improve customer satisfaction and operational efficiency associated with delivery operations of a service provider (Wang, Col. 8: Lines 39-47). Providing incorporating delivery instructions with an augmented reality system would enable such a system to improve efficiency of deliveries and improve satisfaction of customers of service providers.
Regarding claim 7, Reda discloses further comprising caching, by the second mobile device, the media on the second mobile device (Par. [0091]).
Regarding claim 8, Reda discloses further comprising queuing, by the second mobile device, the download request based on limited network connectivity (Par. [0093], the internet-based data communication device 12 will push the latest version of the augmented reality content to the user data communication device 11; Par. [0148], no trigger is necessary to push the augmented reality content from the computer 10 to the user data communication device 11).
Regarding claim 9, Reda discloses using an augmented reality system may be used for mail and packaged delivery purposes (Par. [0202]). Reda dos not explicitly disclose further comprising providing, by the second mobile device, real-time feedback regarding alignment between physical package placement and delivery instructions. Wang teaches providing, by the second mobile device, real-time feedback regarding alignment between physical package placement and delivery instructions (Col. 25: Lines 43-56, the package delivery instructions can cause the package to be relocated from a rejected delivery location to an approved delivery location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality system of Reda to include the delivery instruction abilities of Wang to teach “providing, by the second mobile device, real-time feedback regarding alignment between physical package placement and delivery instructions. Wang teaches providing, by the second mobile device, real-time feedback regarding alignment between physical package placement and delivery instructions,” as need exists to improve customer satisfaction and operational efficiency associated with delivery operations of a service provider (Wang, Col. 8: Lines 39-47). Providing incorporating delivery instructions with an augmented reality system would enable such a system to improve efficiency of deliveries and improve satisfaction of customers of service providers.
Regarding claim 10, Reda discloses using an augmented reality system may be used for mail and packaged delivery purposes (Par. [0202]). Reda dos not explicitly disclose displaying, by the second mobile device, directional indicators guiding a user of the second mobile device to the geographic location. Wang teaches displaying, by the second mobile device, directional indicators guiding a user of the second mobile device to the geographic location (Col. 4: Lines 56-65, FIG. 1 depicts a particular delivery environment 104, a package 106, a delivery location indication 114, and a delivery location suggestion 116, the delivery information 108 can include additional images of the delivery environment 104, the package 106, and the area surrounding the delivery environment 104. Similarly, the delivery location indication 114 and the delivery location suggestion 116 can be individually omitted or replaced with alternative delivery location indications and alternative delivery location suggestions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality system of Reda to include the delivery instruction abilities of Wang to teach “displaying, by the second mobile device, directional indicators guiding a user of the second mobile device to the geographic location,” as need exists to improve customer satisfaction and operational efficiency associated with delivery operations of a service provider (Wang, Col. 8: Lines 39-47). Providing incorporating delivery instructions with an augmented reality system would enable such a system to improve efficiency of deliveries and improve satisfaction of customers of service providers.
Regarding claim 11, Reda discloses using an augmented reality system may be used for mail and packaged delivery purposes (Par. [0202]). Reda dos not explicitly disclose further comprising: capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement; and transmitting, by the second mobile device, the delivery confirmation photograph to the media storage. Wang teaches capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement (Col. 11, Lines 46-52, the one or more images provided by the customer can be evaluated, associated with indications of approved and restricted delivery locations within the delivery environment, and stored in the delivery location database 214 for utilization by the local recognition algorithm 210); transmitting, by the second mobile device, the delivery confirmation photograph to the media storage (Col. 27: Lines 9-14, the augmented reality interface can be further configured to identify the package within the delivery environment and provide indications that the package has been placed within the approved delivery location and that the delivery can be completed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality system of Reda to include the delivery instruction abilities of Wang to teach “capturing, by the second mobile device, a delivery confirmation photograph including physical package placement; and transmitting, by the second mobile device, the delivery confirmation photograph to the media storage,” as need exists to improve customer satisfaction and operational efficiency associated with delivery operations of a service provider (Wang, Col. 8: Lines 39-47). Providing incorporating delivery instructions with an augmented reality system would enable such a system to improve efficiency of deliveries and improve satisfaction of customers of service providers.
Regarding claim 12, Reda discloses a system, comprising: a media storage system; a geographic location database; one or more processors; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium including instructions (Par. [0070]) which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive, at the media storage, from a mobile device, an upload URL request (Par. [0050], For starting a creation of a new augmented reality content (new augmented reality campaign), the creator may execute the preprogrammed command modules of the inventive data communication system, in particular the content creating unit, user requesting to upload new content or additional content; Par. [0072], When selecting the first and second steps the creator may be enabled, e.g. by a suitable inputting unit 104, to upload or provide access to the respective data sets);
transmit, by the media storage, in response to the upload URL request, an upload URL including a key identifying a location in the media storage, wherein the upload URL allows for uploading media to the location in the media storage (Par. [0093], The internet address, preferably the URL address simplifies the step of sharing of the internet-based augmented reality content with potential users… the creator may select to mask the assigned internet address (e.g., www.augmania.co/ . . . , in particular www.augmania.co/redrose) by providing a so called “white labeled” internet address (e.g. www.redrose.com/AR). In the latter case the white labeled internet address, e.g. URL link is redirected, e.g. by DNS, to the assigned internet address of the augmented reality content (augmented reality campaign)); Par. [0177], assigns an internet link, such as a URL address for the created content. The creator may also add a specific name, which can be used to assign the URL address);
store, in response to an upload from the mobile device using the upload URL, media from the mobile device in the location in the media storage indicated by the key in the upload URL (Par. [0074], the creator may be enabled to upload or provide access to an optical information, preferably selected from an image (e.g. as data file extensions jpg, png, jpeg), a 360° image (e.g. as data file extensions jpg, png, jpeg), a video (e.g. as data file extensions mp4, mov, mkv), a 360° video (e.g. as data file extensions mp4, mov, mkv), a three dimensional (3D) image (e.g. as data file extensions gif, Jason, obj, fbx), text information, html5 information, e.g. in form of a web page, a game, and a survey, and a two or a three dimensional (3D) animation (e.g. as data file extensions gif, Jason, obj, fbx), an audio information (mp3). Access may be provided by an internet accessible link to a library database).
Reda discloses using an augmented reality system may be used for mail and packaged delivery purposes (Par. [0202]). Reda dos not explicitly disclose the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement; receive, at the geographic location database, an update request including the key; and in response to the update request, store, at the geographic location database, the key in association with a geographic location associated with the mobile device. Wang teaches the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement; receive, at the geographic location database, an update request including the key (Col. 11, Lines 46-52, the one or more images provided by the customer can be evaluated, associated with indications of approved and restricted delivery locations within the delivery environment, and stored in the delivery location database 214 for utilization by the local recognition algorithm 210); and in response to the update request, store, at the geographic location database, the key in association with a geographic location associated with the mobile device (Col. 3: Lines 35-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality system of Reda to include the delivery instruction abilities of Wang to teach “the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement; receive, at the geographic location database, an update request including the key; and in response to the update request, store, at the geographic location database, the key in association with a geographic location associated with the mobile device,” as need exists to improve customer satisfaction and operational efficiency associated with delivery operations of a service provider (Wang, Col. 8: Lines 39-47). Providing incorporating delivery instructions with an augmented reality system would enable such a system to improve efficiency of deliveries and improve satisfaction of customers of service providers.
Regarding claim 13, Reda discloses further comprising a proxy, wherein requests and responses between the system and the mobile device are transmitted via the proxy (Par. [0061]).
Regarding claim 14, Reda discloses wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to authenticate, by the proxy, the mobile device (Par. [0061], stored on or are accessible through the internet-based data processing device, such as an internet-based network, e.g., a cloud network. In case the creator logs into a creator account the inventive data communication system may be configured that the uploaded or accessible data sets may be privately—i.e. third party data communication devices without login data are excluded).
Regarding claim 15, Reda discloses a system, comprising: a media storage system; a geographic location database; one or more processors; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium including instructions (Par. [0070]). Reda does not explicitly disclose receive, at the geographic location database, from a mobile device, a geographic location request including an operation identifier; in response to the geographic location request, transmit, to the mobile device, a geographic location corresponding to the operation identifier and a key associated with the geographic location in the geographic location database, wherein the key identifies a location in the media storage; receive, from the mobile device, at the media storage, a presigned URL request including the key; and in response to a download request using the presigned URL from the mobile device, transmit, from the media storage to the mobile device, media stored in the location in the media storage identified by the key, the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement.
Wang teaches receive, at the geographic location database, from a mobile device, a geographic location request including an operation identifier (Col. 26, Lines 7-13, identify the delivery environment as an intended delivery environment and a global algorithm configured to verify placement of a package within the intended delivery environment);
in response to the geographic location request, transmit, to the mobile device, a geographic location corresponding to the operation identifier and a key associated with the geographic location in the geographic location database, wherein the key identifies a location in the media storage (Col. 26: Lines 30-42, determine whether the delivery environment is the intended delivery environment and generate the set of delivery instructions. Additionally, the set of delivery instructions can include delivery instructions for one or more delivery locations within the delivery environment. Further, the set of delivery instructions can identify approved delivery locations and rejected delivery locations, identified based at least on previous deliveries to the delivery environment and customer feedback, within the delivery environment);
receive, from the mobile device, at the media storage, a presigned URL request including the key (Col. 23: Lines 3-19, a system can receive an indication that a deliverer has arrived at a delivery location associated with a package. The indication can be manually sent by the deliverer upon arrival to the delivery location or automatically transmitted based upon the user device associated with the deliverer determining that the deliverer has arrived at the delivery location; Col. 23, Lines 22-24, package identification); and
in response to a download request using the presigned URL from the mobile device, transmit, from the media storage to the mobile device, media stored in the location in the media storage identified by the key, the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement (Col. 24: Lines 63-67, the user device can activate one or more sensors to generate the one or more images, the video, the audio data, and other delivery location information upon arrival to the delivery location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality system of Reda to include the delivery instruction abilities of Wang to teach “receive, at the geographic location database, from a mobile device, a geographic location request including an operation identifier; in response to the geographic location request, transmit, to the mobile device, a geographic location corresponding to the operation identifier and a key associated with the geographic location in the geographic location database, wherein the key identifies a location in the media storage; receive, from the mobile device, at the media storage, a presigned URL request including the key; and in response to a download request using the presigned URL from the mobile device, transmit, from the media storage to the mobile device, media stored in the location in the media storage identified by the key, the media comprising delivery instructions for package placement,” as need exists to improve customer satisfaction and operational efficiency associated with delivery operations of a service provider (Wang, Col. 8: Lines 39-47). Providing incorporating delivery instructions with an augmented reality system would enable such a system to improve efficiency of deliveries and improve satisfaction of customers of service providers.
Regarding claim 16, Reda discloses using an augmented reality system may be used for mail and packaged delivery purposes (Par. [0202]). Reda dos not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to receive, from the mobile device, confirmation of delivery. Wang teaches wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to receive, from the mobile device, confirmation of delivery (Col. 27: Lines 9-14, the augmented reality interface can be further configured to identify the package within the delivery environment and provide indications that the package has been placed within the approved delivery location and that the delivery can be completed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality system of Reda to include the delivery instruction abilities of Wang to teach “wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to receive, from the mobile device, confirmation of delivery,” as need exists to improve customer satisfaction and operational efficiency associated with delivery operations of a service provider (Wang, Col. 8: Lines 39-47). Providing incorporating delivery instructions with an augmented reality system would enable such a system to improve efficiency of deliveries and improve satisfaction of customers of service providers.
Regarding claim 17, Reda discloses using an augmented reality system may be used for mail and packaged delivery purposes (Par. [0202]). Reda dos not explicitly disclose wherein the confirmation of delivery includes a delivery photo, and wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to compare the media comprising the delivery instructions for package placement to the received delivery photo. Wang teaches wherein the confirmation of delivery includes a delivery photo, and wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to compare the media comprising the delivery instructions for package placement to the received delivery photo (Col. 27: Lines 9-14, the augmented reality interface can be further configured to identify the package within the delivery environment and provide indications that the package has been placed within the approved delivery location and that the delivery can be completed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the augmented reality system of Reda to include the delivery instruction abilities of Wang to teach “wherein the confirmation of delivery includes a delivery photo, and wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to compare the media comprising the delivery instructions for package placement to the received delivery photo,” as need exists to improve customer satisfaction and operational efficiency associated with delivery operations of a service provider (Wang, Col. 8: Lines 39-47). Providing incorporating delivery instructions with an augmented reality system would enable such a system to improve efficiency of deliveries and improve satisfaction of customers of service providers.
Regarding claim 18, Reda discloses wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to generate an augmented reality (AR) overlay based on the media (Par. [0018]).
Regarding claim 19, Reda discloses wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to generate the AR overlay based on the media by creating a digital representation of a package having dimensions corresponding to dimensions of a physical package to be delivered (Par. [0202], the augmented reality show data set A2 may comprise information on the weight, dimensions, handling conditions (cooled storage, careful handling because of glass items etc) and so on of the mailed/delivered envelope/package).
Regarding claim 20, Reda discloses wherein the media comprises at least one of a photograph of a delivery location, geolocation data, and textual delivery instructions (Par. [0074], the creator may be enabled to upload or provide access to an optical information, preferably selected from an image (e.g. as data file extensions jpg, png, jpeg)).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Mishra (US 11,151,509 B1) discloses a system that captures images of delivery locations. One or more classifiers may be utilized to detect and/or identify scene attributes that are depicted in the images and that are associated with the delivery location. One or more correlations between the scene attributes and delivery attributes associated with the delivery location may be determined and used to generate one or more scores for the delivery location. The correlation(s) and/or the score(s) may be utilized to determine delivery instructions that facilitate the delivery of items and/or packages to the delivery location
Conclusion
/Patrick Kim/Examiner, Art Unit 3628