DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 04/24/2026 and 10/14/2025 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 02/28/2025 and 05/05/2025, has been accepted for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a higher-level signal evaluation unit in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morino et al. (2019/0101375 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Morino teaches of a distance measuring method using the principle of chromatic confocal distance measurement is included in confocal measurement device (fig. 1), light source 10 emit white light emitting light with a polychromatic light source (see abstract) [pars. 0006, 0008, 0038] comprising
white light is a polychromatic light source "many colors" or consisting of multiple different wavelengths of light comprises a plurality of single-mode or multi-mode, pulsed or continuously powered laser diodes (see abstract) [pars. 0006, 0008, 0038, 0043],
the optical fiber 11 focusing the light thus obtained into a multi-mode "Y"- or "X"-shaped splice fiber coupler (optical coupler 20) with a fiber core diameter of at least 50µm [pars. 0032, 0039-40, 0043], preferably designed as a "multi-mode circulator",
wherein an output fiber of the fiber coupler is introduced into a chromatic objective (130) [par. 0034-35] via an FC/APC fiber connector [pars. 0005, 0032-34], and
the optical fiber 11 focusing the white light consisting of multiple different wavelengths of light wavelengths of the light of the light source light source 10 into distinct focal points on the optical axis at different distances according to a longitudinal chromatic aberration characteristic curve of the objective (see abstract) [pars. 0008, 0034-35] such that
a resulting back-reflection reflected light from an optical, at least partially reflective, surface of the object 200 is measured, which lies at 90%arctan (NA), approximately perpendicular to the optical axis between the foci of the shortest and longest laser diode wavelengths used (depicted drawing (fig. 1, shows the object 200 surface to be measure is perpendicular to the optical axis) [pars. 0008, 0034, 0044, 0048-49, 0051, 0053],
the back-reflection returns the reflected light into the fiber coupler the optical coupler 20 via the chromatic objective 130 and is fed via a measurement output fiber of the fiber coupler to a spectral-resolving light power measuring device the combination of a spectroscope 30 and a measuring unit 40, which measures each of the monochromatic wavelengths in the white light multiple different wavelengths of light used separately [pars. 0031-32, 0034-0037, 0040-42].
As to claim 3, Morino also discloses a structure (fig. 1) that is use in a method/system that is implementing limitations such as, wherein the procedure is carried out as part of an interferometric measurement procedure included in the spectroscope 30.
For the purposes of clarity, in spectrometers (like an FTIR spectrometer)/spectroscopic, an interferometer—typically a Michelson interferometer is use instead of a traditional dispersive prism or grating, as (i.e. the core engine inside a spectrometer).
As to claim 9, Morino also discloses a structure (fig. 1) that is use in a method/system that is implementing limitations such as, wherein a broadband beam from the light source 10 splitter (optical coupler 20) is used in the beam path between the objective (130) [par. 0034-35] and the lens and the chromatic unit for the simultaneous detection of an object color, wherein the broadband beam splitter (optical coupler 20) deflects a part of the light reflected by the surface of the object being measured in the direction of a color measuring device spectroscope 30.
As to claim 11, Morino also discloses a structure (fig. 1) that is use in a method/system that is implementing limitations such as, further including: feeding the light reflected back from the surface of the object being measured reflected light reflected by the measurement object, without passing through a limiting aperture, to a spectral-resolving measuring device a spectroscope 30 which supplies an intensity signal to a higher-level signal evaluation unit a measuring unit 40 for each wavelength used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morino et al. (2019/0101375 A1).
As to claim 10, Morino teaches of the features of claim 9, comprising optical coupler 20 that function as a beam splitter, as can be seen in the depicted drawing (fig. 1).
Morino fails to specify wherein the beam splitter is a wedge-shaped beam splitter, with a wedge angle of substantially 0.50, in order to avoid at least one of reflections or etalon effects, however, since Morino teaches of splitter substituting any desired beam splitter to replace Morino splitter is considered obvious design.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Morino splitter as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant's claim 10, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-8, 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 2, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a method for selecting the suitable laser diodes or their wavelengths for implementing the chromatic confocal distance measurement method according to claim 1,
wherein a sensor includes the polychromatic light source, the fiber coupler the fiber connector, the chromatic lens and at least one photodiode,
wherein the sensor detects the confocal back-reflection for each laser diode wavelength with the form of a right-skewed intensity distribution over the optical axis of the sensor and with the maximum value in the coaxial focus of the sensor for the selected wavelength,
wherein the smallest and the largest wavelengths are selected such that a desired distance measurement range lies between the foci of the smallest and largest wavelengths in accordance with the chromatic characteristic curve of the objective, and, for gapless measurement of the distance within the distance measurement range,
selecting a minimum number of additional laser diodes, whose emission wavelengths lie between the smallest and largest selected wavelengths, such that resulting back-reflection bell curves of two neighboring wavelengths intersect in each case at an intensity value which is greater than 1/e2 = 0.13533 of an intensity maximum of one of these wavelengths, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim. Claims 12-17 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed in the attached form PTO-892 teach of other prior art a distance measuring method using the principle of chromatic confocal distance measurement emitting light with a polychromatic light source.
Conclusion
/ISIAKA O AKANBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877