DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
1. Amendment filed on 06/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 13, and 16 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant contends that, “the cited references fail to disclose, teach, or suggest at least "wherein the driver converts the input image data into the image data based on the refresh rate, and applies a weight according to a luminance control signal to adjust data of the first frame of the second period in which the image is displayed at the second refresh rate" as recited in claim 1 and as similarly recited in claims 13 and 16.” Specifically, applicant argues that Lin does not disclose “converting input image data based on the refresh rate and applying a weight according to a luminance control signal to adjust data of the first frame of a second period”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lin teaches “converting input image data based on the refresh rate” As described in paragraph [0025] and illustrated in fig. 5A, the length of L.sub.PG2 is smaller than the length L.sub.PG1 due to refresh rate variation. As a result, the controller adjusts duty ratio of D.sub.ONL (examiner’s note: this is equivalent to converting input image data based on the refresh rate). Applicant further contends that Moon does not teach, “converting input image data based on the refresh rate and applying a weight according to a luminance control signal to adjust data of the first frame of a second period” and “the claimed sequence in which a luminance control
signal is generated for the first frame of the second period and then used to apply a weight to adjust data of that first frame after the transition from the first period to the second period.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The entire paragraphs of [0120], [0125], and [0127] read the claim limitations. For example, paragraph [0120] describes that the refresh rate decreases as the number of reset frame increases, and paragraph [0125] of Moon states that the weight increases as the number of anode reset frame increases. Thus, we can conclude that as the refresh rate lowers, the weight increases. Note: it is well known in the art that luminance is associated with the refresh rate of the display device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US 2021/0201793) in view of Moon et al (US 2023/0178034).
As to claim 1, Lin teaches a display device comprising:
a display panel including a pixel (plurality of pixels 51, fig. 1) and displaying an image (see fig. 1); and
a driver (circuit comprising a processing unit 1, a controller 2, a data driver 3 and a gate driver 4) converting input image data (input signal, IN, fig. 1) into image data (TX, fig. 1), generating a data signal based on the image data (frame data signal DATA, fig. 1), and providing the data signal to the pixel according to a refresh rate (DATA, fig. 1),
wherein when changing the refresh rate from a first refresh rate in a first period to a second refresh rate in a second period to display an image with a first luminance, the driver adjusts a luminance of a first frame of the second period in which the image is displayed at the second refresh rate to a second luminance which is different from the first luminance ([0025] In FIG. 5A, the length LPG2 of the latter programming part is smaller than the length LPG1 of the former programming part due to the refresh rate variation, and thus the length LPWM2 of the latter PWM part is larger than the length LPWM1 of the former PWM part. As a result, in the compensation procedure, the controller 2 adjusts the duty ratio of the PWM part from the initial duty ratio of the former PWM part to the final duty ratio of the latter PWM part, and the final duty ratio is smaller than the initial duty ratio. With the final duty ratio smaller than the initial duty ratio, although the last on-duration DON2 of the latter PWM part is longer than the last on-duration DON1 of the former PWM part, each of the other on-durations DONL of the latter PWM part is shorter than the other on-durations DONF of the former PWM part, thus the increased quantity of light caused by the longer last on-duration of the latter PWM part can be compensated by the decreased quantities of light caused by the shorter other on-durations), and
Lin does not teach wherein the driver as claimed.
However, Moon teaches wherein the driver converts the input image data into the image data based on the refresh rate, and applies a weight according to a luminance control signal to adjust data of the first frame of the second period in which the image is displayed at the second refresh rate ([0108] FIG. 16 is a table illustrating a detailed example where weights reflected in a data voltage of an input gray level are differently set based on a refresh rate, [0120] The refresh rate setting unit 112 (Fig. 17) can adjust the number of anode reset frames disposed between adjacent refresh frames based on the refresh rate variation information to vary a refresh period of the digital video data DATA. As a refresh rate is lowered or becomes slower, the number of anode reset frames disposed between adjacent refresh frames can be increased, and a data refresh period can become longer, [0127] The data modulator 118 can reflect the weight, generated by the weight generator 117, in the current frame data to modulate the current frame data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lin to teach, converting input image data into the image data based on the refresh rate, and applying a weight, as suggested by Moon. The motivation would have been in order adjust “a level of a flicker compensation data voltage” ([0108]).
As to claim 2, Lin in view of Moon teaches the display device, wherein when the second refresh rate is smaller than the first refresh rate, the driver reduces the second luminance to be lower than the first luminance (Lin: [0025] In FIG. 5A, the length LPG2 of the latter programming part is smaller than the length LPG1 of the former programming part due to the refresh rate variation, and thus the length LPWM2 of the latter PWM part is larger than the length LPWM1 of the former PWM part. As a result, in the compensation procedure, the controller 2 adjusts the duty ratio of the PWM part from the initial duty ratio of the former PWM part to the final duty ratio of the latter PWM part, and the final duty ratio is smaller than the initial duty ratio. With the final duty ratio smaller than the initial duty ratio, although the last on-duration DON2 of the latter PWM part is longer than the last on-duration DON1 of the former PWM part, each of the other on-durations DONL of the latter PWM part is shorter than the other on-durations DONF of the former PWM part, thus the increased quantity of light caused by the longer last on-duration of the latter PWM part can be compensated by the decreased quantities of light caused by the shorter other on-durations).
As to claim 3, Lin in view of Moon teaches the display device, wherein in response to a change in the refresh rate, the driver changes an on-duty, which represents a ratio of time the pixel emits light during one frame, and a peak luminance according to the time of the image (Lin: [0025] With the final duty ratio smaller than the initial duty ratio, although the last on-duration DON2 of the latter PWM part is longer than the last on-duration DON1 of the former PWM part, each of the other on-durations DONL of the latter PWM part is shorter than the other on-durations DONF of the former PWM part, thus the increased quantity of light caused by the longer last on-duration of the latter PWM part can be compensated by the decreased quantities of light caused by the shorter other on-durations thereof).
As to claim 4, Lin in view of Moon teaches the display device, wherein the driver adjusts the peak luminance according to the time of the image in the first frame to be between a first peak luminance according to the first refresh rate and a second peak luminance according to the second refresh rate (Lin: [0025] In FIG. 5A, the length LPG2 of the latter programming part is smaller than the length LPG1 of the former programming part due to the refresh rate variation, and thus the length LPWM2 of the latter PWM part is larger than the length LPWM1 of the former PWM part. As a result, in the compensation procedure, the controller 2 adjusts the duty ratio of the PWM part from the initial duty ratio of the former PWM part to the final duty ratio of the latter PWM part, and the final duty ratio is smaller than the initial duty ratio. With the final duty ratio smaller than the initial duty ratio, although the last on-duration DON2 of the latter PWM part is longer than the last on-duration DON1 of the former PWM part, each of the other on-durations DONL of the latter PWM part is shorter than the other on-durations DONF of the former PWM part, thus the increased quantity of light caused by the longer last on-duration of the latter PWM part can be compensated by the decreased quantities of light caused by the shorter other on-durations).
8. (Canceled)
As to claim 9, Lin in view of Moon teaches the display device, wherein the driver drives the display panel to display the image having the first luminance in a second frame after the first frame (paragraph [0025] of Lin discloses that the display adjusts the luminance when the refreshing rate is changed. Examiner’s note: Consequently, it would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that it is unnecessary to change the luminance when the refresh rate remains constant).
As to claim 10, Lin in view of Moon teaches the display device, wherein when a difference between the first refresh rate and the second refresh rate is greater than a reference value, the driver adjusts the luminance of a second frame after the first frame to be between the first luminance and the second luminance (Lin: [0028] Another way performed based on the above illustrated structure is shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B. Among the plurality of frame periods Pf, there is a middle frame period Pfm between the former frame period Pff and the latter frame period Pfl, while the middle frame period Pfm has a PWM part with a middle duty ratio between the initial duty ratio and the final duty ratio as shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B, [0025] With the final duty ratio smaller than the initial duty ratio, although the last on-duration DON2 of the latter PWM part is longer than the last on-duration DON1 of the former PWM part, each of the other on-durations DONL of the latter PWM part is shorter than the other on-durations DONF of the former PWM part, thus the increased quantity of light caused by the longer last on-duration of the latter PWM part can be compensated by the decreased quantities of light caused by the shorter other on-durations).
As to claim 11, Lin in view of Moon teaches the display device, wherein when the second refresh rate is smaller than the first refresh rate, the driver increases the second luminance to be higher than the first luminance (Lin: [0025] in FIG. 5B, the length LPG2 of the latter programming part is larger than the length LPG1 of the former programming part due to the refresh rate variation, and thus the length LPWM2 of the latter PWM part is smaller than the length LPWM1 of the former PWM part. In the compensation procedure, the controller 2 adjusts the duty ratio of the PWM part from the initial duty ratio of the former PWM part to the final duty ratio of the latter PWM part, and the final duty ratio is larger than the initial duty ratio. Thereby, the decreased quantity of light caused by the shorter last on-duration DON2 of the latter PWM part can be compensated by the increased quantities of light caused by the longer other on-durations DONL thereof).
As to claim 12, Lin in view of Moon teaches the display device wherein when a difference or ratio between the first refresh rate and the second refresh rate is outside of a reference range, the driver adjusts the luminance of the first frame to the second luminance (Lin: see entire paragraph [0025]), and wherein when the difference or ratio is within the reference range, the driver maintains the luminance of the first frame at the first luminance (paragraph [0025] of Lin discloses that the display adjusts the luminance when the refreshing rate is changed. Examiner’s note: Consequently, it would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that it is unnecessary to change the luminance when the refresh rate remains constant).
As to claim 13, Lin teaches an electronic device comprising:
a processor providing input image data ([0021] the processing unit 1 can receive the input signal IN); and
a display device displaying an image having a first luminance corresponding to the input image data ([0021] the processing unit 1 can receive the input signal IN to generate an image signal PI and a data enable signal DE based on the input signal IN. The image signal PI includes contents of frames to be displayed by the display panel 5),
wherein when the processor changes a refresh rate of the image from a first refresh rate in a first period to a second refresh rate in a second period, the display device displays the image at a second luminance which is different from the first luminance for at least one frame ([0025] In FIG. 5A, the length LPG2 of the latter programming part is smaller than the length LPG1 of the former programming part due to the refresh rate variation, and thus the length LPWM2 of the latter PWM part is larger than the length LPWM1 of the former PWM part. As a result, in the compensation procedure, the controller 2 adjusts the duty ratio of the PWM part from the initial duty ratio of the former PWM part to the final duty ratio of the latter PWM part, and the final duty ratio is smaller than the initial duty ratio. With the final duty ratio smaller than the initial duty ratio, although the last on-duration DON2 of the latter PWM part is longer than the last on-duration DON1 of the former PWM part, each of the other on-durations DONL of the latter PWM part is shorter than the other on-durations DONF of the former PWM part, thus the increased quantity of light caused by the longer last on-duration of the latter PWM part can be compensated by the decreased quantities of light caused by the shorter other on-durations), and displays the image at the first luminance after the at least one frame (Examiner’s note: if the refreshing rate changes back to the first refresh rate, the luminance also changes from the second luminance to the first luminance), and
Lin does not teach wherein the driver as claimed.
However, Moon teaches wherein the driver converts the input image data into the image data based on the refresh rate, and applies a weight according to a luminance control signal to adjust data of the first frame of the second period in which the image is displayed at the second refresh rate ([0108] FIG. 16 is a table illustrating a detailed example where weights reflected in a data voltage of an input gray level are differently set based on a refresh rate, [0120] The refresh rate setting unit 112 (Fig. 17) can adjust the number of anode reset frames disposed between adjacent refresh frames based on the refresh rate variation information to vary a refresh period of the digital video data DATA. As a refresh rate is lowered or becomes slower, the number of anode reset frames disposed between adjacent refresh frames can be increased, and a data refresh period can become longer, [0127] The data modulator 118 can reflect the weight, generated by the weight generator 117, in the current frame data to modulate the current frame data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lin to teach, converting input image data into the image data based on the refresh rate, and applying a weight, as suggested by Moon. The motivation would have been in order adjust “a level of a flicker compensation data voltage” ([0108]).
As to claim 14, Lin in view of Moon teaches the electronic device, wherein when the second refresh rate is smaller than the first refresh rate, the display device reduces the second luminance to be lower than the first luminance (Lin: [0025] In FIG. 5A, the length LPG2 of the latter programming part is smaller than the length LPG1 of the former programming part due to the refresh rate variation, and thus the length LPWM2 of the latter PWM part is larger than the length LPWM1 of the former PWM part. As a result, in the compensation procedure, the controller 2 adjusts the duty ratio of the PWM part from the initial duty ratio of the former PWM part to the final duty ratio of the latter PWM part, and the final duty ratio is smaller than the initial duty ratio. With the final duty ratio smaller than the initial duty ratio, although the last on-duration DON2 of the latter PWM part is longer than the last on-duration DON1 of the former PWM part, each of the other on-durations DONL of the latter PWM part is shorter than the other on-durations DONF of the former PWM part, thus the increased quantity of light caused by the longer last on-duration of the latter PWM part can be compensated by the decreased quantities of light caused by the shorter other on-durations).
As to claim 15, Lin in view of Moon teaches the electronic device, wherein the display device changes a peak luminance according to a time of the image according to the refresh rate, and adjusts the peak luminance in the at least one frame to be between a first peak luminance according to the first refresh rate and a second peak luminance according to the second refresh rate (Lin: [0028] Another way performed based on the above illustrated structure is shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B. Among the plurality of frame periods Pf, there is a middle frame period Pfm between the former frame period Pff and the latter frame period Pfl, while the middle frame period Pfm has a PWM part with a middle duty ratio between the initial duty ratio and the final duty ratio as shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B, [0025] With the final duty ratio smaller than the initial duty ratio, although the last on-duration DON2 of the latter PWM part is longer than the last on-duration DON1 of the former PWM part, each of the other on-durations DONL of the latter PWM part is shorter than the other on-durations DONF of the former PWM part, thus the increased quantity of light caused by the longer last on-duration of the latter PWM part can be compensated by the decreased quantities of light caused by the shorter other on-durations).
As to claim 16, Lin teaches a display device comprising:
a display panel including a pixel (plurality of pixels 51, fig. 1) and displaying an image (see fig. 1); and
a driver (circuit comprising a processing unit 1, a controller 2, a data driver 3 and a gate driver 4) converting input image data (input signal, IN, fig. 1) into image data (TX, fig. 1), generating a data signal based on the image data (frame data signal DATA, fig. 1), and providing the data signal to the pixel according to a refresh rate (DATA, fig. 1),
wherein when changing the refresh rate from a first refresh rate in a first period to a second refresh rate in a second period to display an image with a first luminance, in a third section between a first section displaying the image at the first refresh rate and a second section displaying the image at the second refresh rate, the driver adjusts a luminance of the image to a second luminance which is different from the first luminance ([0028] Among the plurality of frame periods Pf, there is a middle frame period Pfm between the former frame period Pff and the latter frame period Pfl, while the middle frame period Pfm has a PWM part with a middle duty ratio between the initial duty ratio and the final duty ratio as shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B. Namely, the duty ratio is gradually adjusted during the compensation procedure, [0030] the change in quantity of light due to refresh rate variation can be compensated by the adjustment in duty ratios of PWM parts of frame periods Pf, so as to reduce the brightness change due to refresh rate variation as much as possible, Figs. 7A and 7B), and
Lin does not teach wherein the driver as claimed.
However, Moon teaches wherein the driver converts the input image data into the image data based on the refresh rate, and applies according to a luminance control signal to adjust data of the first frame of the second period in which the image is displayed at the second refresh rate ([0108] FIG. 16 is a table illustrating a detailed example where weights reflected in a data voltage of an input gray level are differently set based on a refresh rate, [0120] The refresh rate setting unit 112 (Fig. 17) can adjust the number of anode reset frames disposed between adjacent refresh frames based on the refresh rate variation information to vary a refresh period of the digital video data DATA. As a refresh rate is lowered or becomes slower, the number of anode reset frames disposed between adjacent refresh frames can be increased, and a data refresh period can become longer, [0127] The data modulator 118 can reflect the weight, generated by the weight generator 117, in the current frame data to modulate the current frame data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lin to teach, converting input image data into the image data based on the refresh rate, and applying a weight, as suggested by Moon. The motivation would have been in order adjust “a level of a flicker compensation data voltage” ([0108]).
As to claim 17, Lin in view of Moon teaches the display device, wherein the driver adjusts the refresh rate of the image to a third refresh rate (Lin: see the PWM part of Pfm frame in fig. 7A) which is different from the first refresh rate (Lin: PWM part of Pff frame in fig. 7A) and the second refresh rate (Lin: PWM part of Pf1 frame in fig. 7A) in the third section (Lin: [0028], figs 7A and 7B).
As to claim 18, Lin in view of Moon teaches the display device, wherein the third refresh rate (Lin: see the PWM part of Pfm frame in fig. 7A) is a value between the first refresh rate (Lin: PWM part of Pff frame in fig. 7A) and the second refresh rate (Lin: PWM part of Pf1 frame in fig. 7A).
As to claim 19, Lin in view of Moon teaches the display device, wherein the driver changes a peak luminance according to a time of the image according to the refresh rate, and adjusts the peak luminance in the third section to be between a first peak luminance according to the first refresh rate and a second peak luminance according to the second refresh rate (Lin: [0028] Another way performed based on the above illustrated structure is shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B. Among the plurality of frame periods Pf, there is a middle frame period Pfm between the former frame period Pff and the latter frame period Pfl, while the middle frame period Pfm has a PWM part with a middle duty ratio between the initial duty ratio and the final duty ratio as shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B, [0025] With the final duty ratio smaller than the initial duty ratio, although the last on-duration DON2 of the latter PWM part is longer than the last on-duration DON1 of the former PWM part, each of the other on-durations DONL of the latter PWM part is shorter than the other on-durations DONF of the former PWM part, thus the increased quantity of light caused by the longer last on-duration of the latter PWM part can be compensated by the decreased quantities of light caused by the shorter other on-durations).
As to claim 20, Lin in view of Moon teaches the display device, wherein the third section includes two or less frames (Lin: [0028] Although FIGS. 7A and 7B only show one middle frame period Pfm between the former frame period Pff and the latter frame period Pfl, there may be more than one middle frame periods Pfm between them, with the middle duty ratios of the PWM parts of these middle frame periods Pfm gradually increased or decreased from the initial duty ratio to the final duty ratio).
4. Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US 2021/0201793) in view of Moon et al (US 2023/0178034) and further in view of Foo et al (US 2022/0270547).
As to claim 5, Lin in view of Moon do not teach the peak luminance as claimed.
However, Foo teaches the display device, wherein the peak luminance of the first frame (90Hz frame, fig. 2C) is within a range of about 85% to about 97% of the second peak luminance (fig. 2C illustrates that the peak luminance of a 90 Hz frame is within a range of about 85% to about 97% the 60Hz frame luminance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lin in view of Moon to teach, wherein the peak luminance of the first frame is within a range of about 85% to about 97% of the second peak luminance, as suggested by Foo. The motivation would have been in order to reduce power consumptions or improve image quality based on the refreshing rate ([0002]).
As to claim 6, Lin in view of Moon does not teach the peak luminance as claimed.
However, Foo teaches the display device, wherein the peak luminance of the first frame (90Hz frame, fig. 2C) is within a range of about +10% of an average of the first peak luminance and the second peak luminance (Fig. 2C illustrates that the peak luminance of a 90 Hz frame is within a range of about +10% of an average luminance 212A or 212B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lin in view of Moon to teach, wherein the peak luminance of the first frame is within a range of about +10% of an average of the first peak luminance and the second peak luminance, as suggested by Foo. The motivation would have been in order to reduce power consumptions or improve image quality based on the refreshing rate ([0002]).
5. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US 2021/0201793) in view of Moon et al (US 2023/0178034) and further in view of Chae et al (US 2022/0223091) and further in view of Jo et al (US 2023/0197000).
As to claim 7, Lin in view of Moon does not teach the display device as claimed.
However, Chae teaches the display device, wherein the driver selects one of gamma voltages based on a grayscale value of the image data for the pixel and outputs the selected one of gamma voltages as the data signal ([0070] the data driver 130 may select one gamma voltage among gamma voltages corresponding to a grayscale in the image data and output the selected one gamma voltage as the data signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lin in view of Moon to teach, wherein the driver selects one of gamma voltages based on a grayscale value of the image data for the pixel and outputs the selected one of gamma voltages as the data signal, as suggested by Chae. The motivation would have been in order to prevent reduction in display quality ([0034]).
Lin in view of Moon and further in view of Chae does not teach sets gamma voltages in the first frame to be different from gamma voltages for the second peak luminance.
However, Jo teaches sets gamma voltages in the first frame to be different from gamma voltages for the second peak luminance ([0093] different gamma voltages are set for the first refresh rate and the second refresh rate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lin, Moon and Chae to teach, wherein gamma voltages in the first frame to be different from gamma voltages for the second peak luminance, as suggested by Jo. The motivation would have been in order to reduce luminance difference during the low grayscale implementation ([0093]).
Conclusion
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628