DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendment filed on April 27, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2 and 18-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0154411) in view of Sonoda et al. (US 2012/0145881).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display apparatus (Figs 1-2; [0058], e.g., a display device 1) comprising:
a display panel (e.g., display panel 10) comprising a pixel circuit including a light emitting element and a light sensing circuit including a light sensing element ([0059]-[0061], e.g., a pixel circuit includes a light emitting element EL and a photo sensor PS);
a gate driver which outputs a gate signal to the pixel circuit and the light sensing circuit ([0072], [0076], e.g., a scan driver 230 outputs a gate signal to the pixel PX and the photo sensor PS);
a data driver which outputs a data voltage to the pixel circuit ([0075], e.g., a data driver 220 outputs a data voltage to the pixel PX); and
a sensing processor which receives a sensed signal from the light sensing circuit ([0081], e.g., the readout circuit 300 receives sensing data from the photo sensor PS),
wherein a horizontal period of a normal frame, in which the sensed signal is not sensed from the light sensing circuit, is different from a horizontal period of a sensing frame in which the sensed signal is sensed from the light sensing circuit (Fig. 3; [0008], [0068]-[0069], e.g., in a first mode in which the display panel displays an image, a horizontal period of a normal frame FOM1 is about 3.2 µs. In a second mode in which the photo sensor senses a fingerprint, a horizontal period of a sensing frame FOM2 is about 12.8 µs), wherein the sensing frame includes a plurality of horizontal periods (Fig. 3; [0068], e.g., the sensing frame FOM2 comprises a plurality of horizontal periods).
Lee does not specifically disclose wherein at least two horizontal periods among the plurality of horizontal periods are different from each other.
However, Sonoda discloses an image pickup apparatus (Fig. 2; [0026]) wherein a sensing frame comprises a plurality of horizontal periods, and at least two horizontal periods among the plurality of horizontal periods are different from each other ([0030]-[0031], e.g., a row with a different horizontal period is inserted within a frame period .Such a row is referred to as a fraction adjustment period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Sonoda in the invention of Lee for inserting a fraction adjustment period within a sensing frame such that a horizontal period and the fraction adjustment period are different from each other in order to achieve a constant frame rate.
Regarding claim 15, Lee further discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light sensing circuit further (Fig. 5; [0110]-[0121]) comprises:
an eighth transistor including a control electrode connected to a fourth node (e.g., an eighth transistor LT1 includes a control electrode connected to a fourth node N1), a first electrode which receives a first voltage and a second electrode connected to a fifth node (e.g., a first electrode receives a first voltage Vint2 and a second electrode connected to a fifth node and LT2);
a ninth transistor including a control electrode which receives a reset signal (e.g., a control electrode of a ninth transistor LT3 receives a reset signal RSTL), a first electrode which receives a reset voltage and a second electrode connected to the fourth node (e.g., a first electrode receives a reset voltage Vrst and a second electrode connected to the fourth node N1); and
a tenth transistor including a control electrode which receives the gate signal (e.g., a control electrode of a tenth transistor LT2 receives the gate signal GWL1), a first electrode connected to the fifth node and a second electrode connected to a sensing line (e.g., a first electrode connected to the fifth node and a second electrode connected to a sensing line FRL), and wherein the light sensing element includes a first electrode connected to the fourth node and a second electrode which receives a second power voltage (e.g., the photo sensor PD includes a first electrode connected to the fourth node N1 and a second electrode which receives a second power voltage VSSL).
Regarding claim 16, Lee further discloses the display apparatus of claim 15, wherein the pixel circuit (Fig. 5 and [0096]-[0110]) further comprises:
a first transistor including a control electrode connected to a first node (e.g., a control electrode of a first transistor T1 connected to a first node), a first electrode connected to a second node and a second electrode connected to a third node (e.g., a first electrode of the T1 connected to a second node and a second electrode of T1 connected to a third node);
a second transistor including a control electrode which receives the gate signal (e.g., a control electrode of a second transistor T2 receives the gate signal GCL), a first electrode which receives the data voltage and a second electrode connected to the second node (e.g., a first electrode of the T2 receives the data voltage DL and a second electrode connected to the second node);
a third transistor including a control electrode which receives a compensation gate signal (e.g., a control electrode of a third transistor T3 receives a compensation gate signal GCL), a first electrode connected to the first node and a second electrode connected to the third node (e.g., a first electrode of the T3 connected to the first node and a second electrode connected to the third node);
a fourth transistor including a control electrode which receives a data initialization gate signal (e.g., a control electrode of a fourth transistor T4 receives a data initialization gate signal GIL), a first electrode which receives a first initialization voltage and a second electrode connected to the first node (e.g., a first electrode of the T4 receives Vintl and a second electrode connected to the first node);
a fifth transistor (e.g., T5) including a control electrode which receives an emission signal (e.g., EML), a first electrode which receives a first power voltage and a second electrode connected to the second node (e.g., a first electrode of the T5 receives VDD and a second electrode connected to the second node);
a sixth transistor (e.g., T6) including a control electrode which receives the emission signal (e.g., EML), a first electrode connected to the third node and a second electrode connected to a first electrode of the light emitting element (e.g., a first electrode of the T6 connected to the third node and a second electrode connected to the first electrode of EL); and
a seventh transistor (e.g., T7) including a control electrode which receives a light emitting element initialization gate signal (e.g., GWL2), a first electrode which receives a second initialization voltage (e.g., Vint1) and a second electrode connected to the first electrode of the light emitting element (e.g., connected to the first electrode of EL), and
wherein a second electrode of the light emitting element receives the second power voltage (e.g., a second electrode of the EL receives the second power voltage VSSL).
Regarding claim 17, Lee further discloses the display apparatus of claim 15, wherein the sensing processor (Fig. 9; [0163]-[0170]) comprises:
an amplifier (e.g., the amplifier 310) including a first input terminal connected to the sensing line (e.g., first input terminal (-) connected to FRL), a second input terminal which receives a reference voltage (e.g., a second input terminal (+) receives Vin) and an output terminal (e.g., Vout);
a first switch (e.g., the feedback reset switch SWRO) connected between the first input terminal of the amplifier and the output terminal of the amplifier;
a first capacitor (e.g., the feedback capacitor Cfb) connected between the first input terminal of the amplifier and the output terminal of the amplifier;
an analog-to-digital converter (e.g., the AD converter 330) including a first input node and a second input node;
a second switch (e.g., SW1) connected between the output terminal of the amplifier and the first input node of the analog-to-digital converter; and
a third switch (e.g., SW2) connected between the output terminal of the amplifier and the second input node of the analog-to-digital converter.
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses a method of driving a display apparatus (Figs 1-2; [0058], e.g., a display device 1), the method comprising:
outputting a gate signal to a pixel circuit including a light emitting element and a light sensing circuit including a light sensing element ([0059]-[0061], [0072], [0076], e.g., a scan driver 230 outputs a gate signal to a pixel including the pixel PX and the photo sensor PS);
outputting a data voltage to the pixel circuit ([0075], e.g., a data driver 220 outputs a data voltage to the pixel PX); and
receiving a sensed signal from the light sensing circuit ([0081], e.g., the readout circuit 300 receives sensing data from the photo sensor PS),
wherein a horizontal period of a normal frame, in which the sensed signal is not sensed from the light sensing circuit, is different from a horizontal period of a sensing frame in which the sensed signal is sensed from the light sensing circuit (Fig. 3; [0008], [0068]-[0069], e.g., in a first mode in which the display panel displays an image, a horizontal period of a normal frame FOM1 is about 3.2 µs. In a second mode in which the photo sensor senses a fingerprint, a horizontal period of a sensing frame is about 12.8 µs), wherein the sensing frame includes a plurality of horizontal periods (Fig. 3; [0068], e.g., the sensing frame FOM2 comprises a plurality of horizontal periods).
Lee does not specifically disclose wherein at least two horizontal periods among the plurality of horizontal periods are different from each other.
However, Sonoda discloses an image pickup apparatus (Fig. 2; [0026]) wherein a sensing frame comprises a plurality of horizontal periods, and at least two horizontal periods among the plurality of horizontal periods are different from each other ([0030]-[0031], e.g., a row with a different horizontal period is inserted within a frame period .Such a row is referred to as a fraction adjustment period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Sonoda in the invention of Lee for inserting a fraction adjustment period within a sensing frame such that a horizontal period and the fraction adjustment period are different from each other in order to achieve a constant frame rate.
6. Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0154411) in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0326404), and further in view of
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses an electronic apparatus (Figs 1-2; [0058], e.g., an electronic device 1) comprising:
a display panel (e.g., display panel 10) comprising a pixel circuit including a light emitting element and a light sensing circuit including a light sensing element ([0059]-[0061], e.g., a pixel circuit includes a light emitting element EL and a photo sensor PS);
a gate driver which outputs a gate signal to the pixel circuit and the light sensing circuit ([0072], [0076], e.g., a scan driver 230 outputs a gate signal to the pixel PX and the photo sensor PS);
a data driver which outputs a data voltage to the pixel circuit ([0075], e.g., a data driver 220 outputs a data voltage to the pixel PX);
a sensing processor which receives a sensed signal from the light sensing circuit ([0081], e.g., the readout circuit 300 receives sensing data from the photo sensor PS);
a driving controller which controls the gate driver and the data driver ([0072], e.g., the timing controller 210 controls the scan driver 230, the data driver 220); and
a processor which outputs input image data and an input control signal to the driving controller ([0066], e.g., a processor 100 outputs an image signal and control signals to the timing controller 210),
wherein a horizontal period of a normal frame, in which the sensed signal is not sensed from the light sensing circuit, is different from a horizontal period of a sensing frame in which the sensed signal is sensed from the light sensing circuit (Fig. 3; [0008], [0068]-[0069], e.g., in a first mode in which the display panel displays an image, a horizontal period of a normal frame FOM1 is about 3.2 µs. In a second mode in which the photo sensor senses a fingerprint, a horizontal period of a sensing frame is about 12.8 µs), wherein the sensing frame includes a plurality of horizontal periods (Fig. 3; [0068], e.g., the sensing frame FOM2 comprises a plurality of horizontal periods).
Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the driving controller controls the sensing processor, and wherein at least two horizontal periods among the plurality of horizontal periods are different from each other.
However, Park discloses an electronic apparatus (Fig. 3; [0074], e.g., a display device DD) comprising:
a display panel (e.g., display panel DP) comprising a pixel circuit including a light emitting element and a light sensing circuit including a light sensing element (Fig. 6; [0081], e.g., a pixel circuit includes a light emitting element ED and a light sensor FX);
a gate driver which outputs a gate signal to the pixel circuit and the light sensing circuit (Fig. 1; [0077], e.g., a scan driver 300 outputs a gate signal to the pixel PX and the light sensor FX);
a data driver which outputs a data voltage to the pixel circuit ([0076], e.g., a data driver 200 outputs a data voltage to the pixel PX);
a sensing processor which receives a sensed signal from the light sensing circuit ([0089], e.g., the readout circuit 500 receives sensing data from the light sensor FX); and
a driving controller which controls the gate driver, the data driver and the sensing processor ([0075], [0089], e.g., the drive controller 100 controls the scan driver 300, the data driver 200 and the readout circuit 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Park in the invention of Lee for receiving a read control signa from a driving controller in order to read sensing signals from sensing lines in response to the read control signal.
Lee in view of Park does not specifically disclose wherein at least two horizontal periods among the plurality of horizontal periods are different from each other.
However, Sonoda discloses an image pickup apparatus (Fig. 2; [0026]) wherein a sensing frame comprises a plurality of horizontal periods, and at least two horizontal periods among the plurality of horizontal periods are different from each other ([0030]-[0031], e.g., a row with a different horizontal period is inserted within a frame period .Such a row is referred to as a fraction adjustment period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Sonoda in the invention of Lee in view of Park for inserting a fraction adjustment period within a sensing frame such that a horizontal period and the fraction adjustment period are different from each other in order to achieve a constant frame rate.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 2-14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629