DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8-24-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9 and 14 remain are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wachsman et al. (US 2014/0287305) in view of He et al. (US 2022/0263070) remains because Wachsman et al. teaches in [0096], that porous 3-dimensionally networked solid- state electrolyte (SSE) scaffolds allows electrode materials to fill volume with a smaller change transfer resistance-increasing mass percentage of active electrode materials [teaching a positive electrode active material in pores, claim 1 and/or negative material in pores of claim 7]. Wachsman et al. teaches a battery comprising a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode plate where positive active material particles are positioned in the porous region of the solid electrolyte layer where the solid electrolyte layer comprising the porous region on the cathode side / a dense region / porous region on the anode side. In addition, Wachsman et al. teaches it is known to also have a negative electrode plate where negative active material particles are positioned in the porous region of the solid electrolyte layer where the solid electrolyte layer comprising the porous region on the anode side. He et al. teaches a graphene shell on the surface of the positive active material particle is a well-known concept. The rejection of claim(s) 12-13 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wachsman et al. (US 2014/0287305) in view of He et al. (US 2022/0263070) and further in view of Hong et al. (US 11,545,659) because Hong et al. teaches in claim 1, a negative electrode comprising a negative current collector and a primer layer positioned on the current collector where the primer layer comprises graphene and has a thickness of 0.1-10 um. Hong et al. teaches in that a primer layer is used to allow for better adhesiveness.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, drawn to a secondary battery comprising a negative electrode plate comprising a negative electrode current collector and a primer layer disposed thereon a solid electrolyte layer comprising a compact layer and a porous layer positioned on one side of the compact layer wherein positive active material comprising a polyanionic compound comprising particles coated with a coating layer comprising ZrO2 located in the pores of the porous layer and a negative electrode active material comprising sodium metal particles located in the pores of the porous layer in the reply filed on 6-6-2025 and 9-5-2025 are acknowledged.
Claims 3, 8 and 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9-5-2025.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6-6-2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 is objected to because the claim should cite wherein the negative electrode plate further comprises a primer layer disposed on the surface of the negative electrode current collector and faces the compact layer; wherein the primer layer is selected from the group consisting of…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wachsman et al. (US 2014/0287305) in view of He et al. (US 2022/0263070). Wachsman et al. teaches in claim 1, a battery comprising a cathode material or anode material; a solid-state electrolyte layer comprising a porous region having a plurality of pores [porous layer] and a dense region [compact layer], wherein the cathode material or the anode material is disposed on at least a portion of the porous region [teaching a positive electrode active material in pores, claim 1 and/or negative material in pores of claim 7] and the dense region is free of the cathode material and the anode material and a current collector disposed on at least a portion of the cathode material or the anode material. Wachsman et al. teaches in [0096], that porous 3-dimensionally networked solid- state electrolyte (SSE) scaffolds allows electrode materials to fill volume with a smaller change transfer resistance-increasing mass percentage of active electrode materials [teaching a positive electrode active material in pores, claim 1 and/or negative material in pores of claim 7]. Wachsman et al. teaches in claim 3, where the cathode material particles can be a lithium-containing material or a sodium-containing cathode material and teaches in claim 5, that the positive active material particles can comprise lithium-containing cathode material comprising LiCoO2, LiFePO4, Li2MMn3O8 where M can be Fe and/or Co [teaching a positive electrode material of claim 4]. Wachsman et al. teaches in claim 6, that the sodium-containing cathode material can comprise Na2V2O5, NaNi1/3Fe1/3Mn1/3PO4, Na3V2(PO4)3, etc. [teaching a positive electrode material of claim 4]. Wachsman et al. teaches in claim 8, that the anode material can be a lithium-containing or sodium-containing anode material and teaches in claim 10, wherein the anode material is a sodium-containing anode material comprising sodium metal, etc. [teaching a negative electrode material of claim 9]. Wachsman et al. shows in Figure 3, an Al current collector/positive active materials in the pores of the porous layer of the solid electrolyte/a compact layer/negative active materials in the pores of the porous layer/current collector. Wachsman et al. discloses the claimed invention as explained above except does not teach that a coating layer is provided on the surface of the positive electrode active material particles. He et al. teaches in Example 1, that it is known to have graphene encapsulated particles of a cathode active materials comprising LiCoO2, LiMn2O4, lithium iron phosphate, etc. He et al. teaches in [0089], that the graphene layer has a thickness of 1 nm to 50 um [teaching a thickness coating of 2 mm-1000 nm, claim 6]. He et al. teaches in [0012], that using the cathode in a battery provides a safe, flame/fire-resistant, solid-state lithium ion-transporting medium which is capable of storing a higher amount of charge per unit battery weight or volume. He et al. teaches in the abstract, a rechargeable lithium battery comprising an anode, a cathode comprising active materials and a porous separator [0103], where a lithium ion transporting medium comprising graphite, graphene, carbon, etc. and particles of the cathode active material are combined to form a cathode active material composite. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coat the cathode active material particles of Wachsman et al. with graphene because He et al. teaches that using cathode active material particles comprising a core comprising LiCoO2 having a graphene coating layer or a core comprising lithium iron phosphate having a graphene coating layer in a battery provides a safe, flame/fire-resistant, solid-state lithium ion-transporting medium which is capable of storing a higher amount of charge per unit battery weight or volume. Wachsman et al. discloses the claimed invention except for specifically teaching that the coating layer has a thickness of 2-1000 nm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a coating layer of graphene having a thickness of 2-1000 nm because He et al. teaches that this is known, since it has been held that where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wachsman et al. (US 2014/0287305) in view of He et al. (US 2022/0263070) and further in view of Hong et al. (US 11,545,659). Wachsman et al. in view of He et al. discloses the claimed invention as explained above but does not specifically teach that the negative electrode current collector contains a primer layer comprising graphene on the current collector and that the primer layer has a thickness of 2 um to 10 um. Hong et al. teaches in claim 1, a negative electrode comprising a negative current collector and a primer layer positioned on the current collector where the primer layer comprises graphene and has a thickness of 0.1-10 um. Hong et al. teaches in that a primer layer is used to allow for better adhesiveness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a primer layer on a negative current collector in a thickness of 0.1-10 um because Hong et al. teaches the benefits and since it has been held that where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA S. WEINER/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Laura Weiner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723