DETAILED ACTION
Mueller et al. (US 20150382442)
Kaneko et al. (US 20190148112)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10-12,15,19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaneko et al. (US 20190148112)
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kaneko et al. teach A system comprising:
an RF power source configured to provide a pulsing RF signal to a plasma chamber (12);
[0064] The microwave output device 16 may include a pulse generator, and may pulse-modulate and output power of a microwave.
a first sensor; ([0097] The first wave detection unit 168 detects a measured value corresponding to travelling wave power of a microwave in the wave guide tube.) and
a control circuit configured to:
store pulse information indicative of an intended value of a parameter of the pulsing RF signal, wherein the parameter of the pulsing RF signal is a pulsing frequency, a duty cycle, or a pulse shape; Suggested by (The measurement control unit 167 may refer to a threshold value set in advance for a pulse frequency or a duty ratio measured by the first wave detection unit 168.) [par. 0160]
receive one or more sensor signals from the first sensor indicative of an actual value of the parameter of the pulsing RF signal; ( [0099] The measurement control unit 167 acquires a frequency and a duty ratio of travelling wave power on the basis of a measured value detected by the first wave detection unit 168.)
compare a first value derived from the pulse information to a second value derived from the one or more sensor signals; and based on the comparison, generate a fault signal indicative of an inconsistency between the intended value and the actual value of the parameter of the pulsing RF signal. (The measurement control unit 167 compares a pulse frequency or a duty ratio which is being monitored with a predetermined threshold value. The measurement control unit 167 outputs a warning on the basis of a comparison result., par.0160)
Regarding claim 20, Kaneko et al. teach A matching circuit configured to be operably coupled to an RF power source ([0064] The microwave output device 16 may include a pulse generator, and may pulse-modulate and output power of a microwave ) and a plasma chamber (12) , the RF power source providing a pulsing RF signal to a plasma chamber, ([0058] The radio frequency power supply 58 may have a pulse generator, and may pulse-modulate radio frequency power (RF power) which is then output to the base 14a.)
the matching circuit comprising:
a first sensor; ([0097] The first wave detection unit 168 detects a measured value corresponding to travelling wave power of a microwave in the wave guide tube.)and
a control circuit configured to:
store pulse information indicative of an intended value of a parameter of the pulsing RF signal, wherein the parameter of the pulsing RF signal is a pulsing frequency, a duty cycle, or a pulse shape; Suggested by (The measurement control unit 167 may refer to a threshold value set in advance for a pulse frequency or a duty ratio measured by the first wave detection unit 168.) [par. 0160]
receive one or more sensor signals from the first sensor indicative of an actual value of the parameter of the pulsing RF signal; ( [0099] The measurement control unit 167 acquires a frequency and a duty ratio of travelling wave power on the basis of a measured value detected by the first wave detection unit 168.)
compare a first value based on the pulse information to a second value based on the one or more sensor signals; and based on the comparison, generate a fault signal indicative of an inconsistency between the intended value and the actual value of the parameter of the pulsing RF signal. (The measurement control unit 167 compares a pulse frequency or a duty ratio which is being monitored with a predetermined threshold value. The measurement control unit 167 outputs a warning on the basis of a comparison result., par.0160)
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kaneko et al. teach wherein the first value is the intended value of the parameter (The measurement control unit 167 may refer to a threshold value set in advance for a pulse frequency or a duty ratio measured by the first wave detection unit 168.) [par. 0160]
and the second value is the actual value of the parameter. ( [0099] The measurement control unit 167 acquires a frequency and a duty ratio of travelling wave power on the basis of a measured value detected by the first wave detection unit 168.)
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kaneko et al. teach wherein the control circuit receives the pulse information from the RF power source. (Note [0079] FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating an example of the microwave output device. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the microwave output device 16 is connected to a calculation device 100a. The calculation device 100a includes a controller 100, a waveform generator 101, a first pulse generator 102, a second pulse generator 103, a third pulse generator 104, and a fourth pulse generator 105.)
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Kaneko et al. teach wherein the plasma chamber is coupled to a semiconductor processing tool, and wherein the fault signal is transmitted to the semiconductor processing tool. The measurement control unit 167 outputs a warning on the basis of a comparison result. The type of warning is not limited. For example, a warning screen may be displayed on a monitor screen, and an alarming sound may be output.[par.0160] Note the monitor screen is broadly interpreted as a semiconductor processing device since it interacts with the plasma processing device for semiconductors. (Note par. 0003)
Claims 6, 9, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (US 20190148112) in view Mueller et al. (US 20150382442).
Kaneko et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, wherein the RF power source comprises an RF generator and a pulse source external from an RF generator, and the control circuit receives the pulse information from the external pulse source.
Mueller et al. teach wherein the RF power source comprises an RF generator (power source 110, par. 0025) and a pulse source external from an RF generator (116 pulses the RF power, par. 0025), and the control circuit receives the pulse information from the external pulse source. (The frequency of the RF, the frequency of the pulses, and a duty cycle of the pulses, among other things, can be controlled by a controller 114 (e.g., via one or more logical blocks). Further, the controller 114 can carry out frequency tuning of the pulsed RF power during each pulse.)[Note par. 0025]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaneko et al. to include the teaching of RF power source comprises an RF generator and a pulse source external from an RF generator, and the control circuit receives the pulse information from the external pulse source to allow tuning of the initial RF frequency between two or more consecutive pulses results in an insignificant improvement in the difference between the characteristic of the pulsed RF power and the desired characteristic of the pulsed RF power. (Note Mueller et al. par. 0004)
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Kaneko et al. teach wherein the pulsing RF signal comprises a plurality of pulses;(Note Fig. 5) and
Kaneko et al. does not teach wherein, for each pulse of the pulsing RF signal, the control circuit repeats the steps of receiving the one or more sensor signals and comparing the first and second values.
Mueller et al. teach wherein, for each pulse of the pulsing RF signal, the control circuit repeats the steps of receiving the one or more sensor signals and comparing the first and second values. (The initial frequency comparison module 120 can compare the samples of the characteristic of the pulsed RF power at a start of each of a plurality of RF pulses to a desired characteristic of the pulsed RF power at a start of each of the plurality of pulses and via this comparison, the initial frequency comparison module 120 can determine an error value.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaneko et al. to include the teaching of teach wherein, for each pulse of the pulsing RF signal, the control circuit repeats the steps of receiving the one or more sensor signals and comparing the first and second values to allow tuning of the initial RF frequency between two or more consecutive pulses results in an insignificant improvement in the difference between the characteristic of the pulsed RF power and the desired characteristic of the pulsed RF power. (Note Mueller et al. par. 0004)
Claim 3,7,8,13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (US 20190148112) in view Huang et al. (US 20200083022).
Kaneko et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Kaneko et al. does not teach wherein the system further comprises a matching circuit positioned between the RF power source and the plasma chamber, and wherein the first sensor is positioned between the RF power source and the matching circuit, between the matching circuit and the plasma chamber, or internal to the matching circuit.
Huang et al. teach wherein the system further comprises a matching circuit (11, Fig. 2) positioned between the RF power source (15, Fig. 2) and the plasma chamber (19, Fig. 2), and wherein the first sensor (21, Fig. 2) is positioned between the RF power source and the matching circuit, between the matching circuit and the plasma chamber, or internal to the matching circuit.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaneko et al. to include the teaching of wherein the system further comprises a matching circuit positioned between the RF power source and the plasma chamber, and wherein the first sensor is positioned between the RF power source and the matching circuit, between the matching circuit and the plasma chamber, or internal to the matching circuit to perform diagnostics on a matching network.
Regarding claim 8, Kanelo et al. does not teach wherein the control circuit forms part of the matching circuit.
Huang et al. teach wherein the control circuit (45, Fig. 2) forms part of the matching circuit (11, Fig. 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaneko et al. to include the teaching of wherein the control circuit forms part of the matching circuit to make the control circuit a more compact device with increased functionality.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kaneko et al. does not teach wherein the control circuit calculates the intended value from the pulse information, and calculates the actual value from voltage or current measurements provided by the sensor signals.
Huang et al. teach wherein the control circuit (45, Fig. 2) calculates the intended value from the pulse information, and calculates the actual value from voltage or current measurements provided by the sensor signals. (If the unit has a large signal at the input, it could calculate what the output voltage should be based on the input V/I-sensor and the measured S-parameters stored in the unit. Since the units have an output voltage measurement, the unit could compare the calculated value to the measured. If there is too much of a discrepancy, the unit would trigger an alarm.) (Note par. 0216)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanko et al. to include the teaching of wherein the control circuit calculates the intended value from the pulse information, and calculates the actual value from voltage or current measurements provided by the sensor signals to trigger an alarm if there is too much of a discrepancy. (Note Huang et al. par. 0216)
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (US 20190148112) in view Fang et al. (US 20080026133).
Kaneko et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kaneko et al. does not teach wherein the first value is a first range of values, and the comparison of the first and second values comprises a determination that the second value is outside the first range of values.
Fang et al. teach wherein the first value is a first range of values, and the comparison of the first and second values comprises a determination that the second value is outside the first range of values. (Thus, multiple samples of each implant pulse are acquired, even for implant pulses as short as one microsecond. The process parameters, such as voltage overshoot, pulse rise time, pulse fall time and voltage variation, are extracted from the high speed data using digital signal processing or equivalent techniques. Data is analyzed in real time and is marked as falling inside or outside normal operating ranges.)[par. 0046]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include the teaching of the first value is a first range of values, and the comparison of the first and second values comprises a determination that the second value is outside the first range of values to indicate a fault condition.
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858