Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 14, 2026, was filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on January 14, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment, filed April 14, 2026, has been fully considered and entered. Accordingly, Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 10, 11, 14, 18, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1, 14, and 18 are Independent Claims.
In view of Applicant’s Amendment, the rejection of Claims 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acharya (US Patent No. 12,158,882 B1) and further in view of Malhotra (PG Pub. No. 2021/0103606 A1) and Chen (PG Pub. No. 2022/0058191 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Acharya discloses a method comprising:
receiving a query (see Acharya, Claim 1, where the method comprises receiving, by the processor, an input query from a first user); and
determining whether the query is associated with a current query strand that includes a set of one more related queries, of a set of one or more previously-established query strands (see Acharya, Fig. 3, where determined query types include initial queries, follow up queries and new initial queries).
Acharya does not disclose:
setting a merging mode for the query based on at least one of deriving the merging mode or inferring the merging mode; and
selectively: merging the query with the current query strand comprising the previously-established query strand to form an updated query strand based at least in part on a determination that the query is associated with the current query strand, wherein the merging is based on the merging mode and one or more attributes, one or more operators, or one or more values associated with the query; or
establishing a new query strand based at least in part on a determination that the query does not belong to the current query strand.
Malhotra discloses setting a merging mode for the query based on at least one of deriving the merging mode or inferring the merging mode (see Malhotra, paragraph [0002], where systems and methods are described herein that address the shortcomings in conventional conversation systems via a novel technique for utilizing an artificial neural network to determine whether current and previous queries should be merged, to maintain a context, or replaced, to change a context, of a user's desired search input).
Both Acharya and Malhotra are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Malhotra as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Acharya in view of Malhotra does not disclose:
selectively: merging the query with the current query strand comprising the previously-established query strand to form an updated query strand based at least in part on a determination that the query is associated with the current query strand, wherein the merging is based on the merging mode and one or more attributes, one or more operators, or one or more values associated with the query; or
establishing a new query strand based at least in part on a determination that the query does not belong to the current query strand.
Chen discloses:
selectively: merging the query with the current query strand comprising the previously-established query strand to form an updated query strand based at least in part on a determination that the query is associated with the current query strand (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”), wherein the merging is based on the merging mode (see Malhotra, paragraph [0002], where systems and methods are described herein that address the shortcomings in conventional conversation systems via a novel technique for utilizing an artificial neural network to determine whether current and previous queries should be merged, to maintain a context, or replaced, to change a context, of a user's desired search input) and one or more attributes, one or more operators, or one or more values associated with the query (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”); or
establishing a new query strand based at least in part on a determination that the query does not belong to the current query strand (see Acharya, Fig. 3, where determined query types include initial queries, follow up queries and new initial queries).
Acharya, Malhotra, and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya and Malhotra with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 2, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein receiving the query comprises receiving the query within a natural language input and converting the natural language input to a structured query (see Acharya, column 6, lines 10-12, where the query parsing module 504 receives the input query which it then parses using a natural language function to produce parsed query for subsequent processing).
Regarding Claim 3, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the determination that the query is associated with the current query strand comprises one or more of:
Acharya does not disclose:
identifying an indication of a same data set of the current query strand within the query;
identifying an indication of an attribute associated with the same data set within the query; or
identifying an indication of an attribute value associated with the same data set within the query.
Chen discloses identifying an indication of a same data set of the current query strand within the query (see Chen, Fig. 1, where query 170-1 and query 170-2 are both directed to the “brand sales” table and are merged into query 180).
Both Acharya and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 4, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 3, wherein identifying one or more of the indications of the same data set, identifying the indication of the attribute, or identifying the indication of the attribute value comprises one or more of:
Acharya does not disclose:
identifying an explicit indication; or
identifying a synonym of the data set, the attribute, or the attribute value.
Chen discloses identifying an explicit indication (see Chen, Fig. 1, where query 170-1 and query 170-2 are both directed to the “brand sales” table and are merged into query 180).
Both Acharya and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 5, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the determination that the query is associated with the current query strand comprises one or more of:
Acharya does not disclose:
obtaining contextual information associated with the query; or
obtaining clarifying information from a user.
Chen discloses receiving clarifying information from a user (see Chen, Fig. 1, where second natural language query 170-2 is “how about the average” [it is the position of the Examiner that requesting the average instead of the sum as disclosed in first natural language query 170-1 is not patentably distinguishable from a user clarification]).
Both Acharya and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 7, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein:
Acharya does not disclose the one or more related queries of the set of one or more related queries are associated with a same data set. Chen discloses the one or more related queries of the set of one or more related queries are associated with a same data set (see Chen, Fig. 1, where query 170-1 and query 170-2 are both directed to the “brand sales” table and are merged into query 180).
Both Acharya and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 8, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein merging the query with the current query strand comprises one or more of:
Acharya does not disclose:
refining one or more clauses of the current query strand;
adding one or more clauses of the query to the current query strand; or
replacing one or more parameters of the current query strand with one or more parameters of the query.
Chen discloses replacing one or more parameters of the current query strand with one or more parameters of the query (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”).
Both Acharya and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 9, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 8, wherein:
Acharya does not disclose:
refining the one or more clauses of the current query strand is based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the query being mergeable or compatible with the one or more clauses of the current query strand, wherein adding the one or more clauses of the query to the current query strand comprises:
adding the one or more clauses based at least in part on the current query strand not including a matching clause, wherein replacing the one or more parameters of the current query strand with one or more parameters of the query is based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the current query strand being in conflict with the one or more parameters of the query.
Chen discloses:
refining the one or more clauses of the current query strand is based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the query being mergeable or compatible with the one or more clauses of the current query strand (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”), wherein adding the one or more clauses of the query to the current query strand comprises:
adding the one or more clauses based at least in part on the current query strand not including a matching clause, wherein replacing the one or more parameters of the current query strand with one or more parameters of the query is based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the current query strand being in conflict with the one or more parameters of the query (see Chen, paragraph [0058], where fusion module 230 can determining, from among the first sub-sequence and the second sub-sequence, a pair of segments conflicting with each other; then, fusion module 230 can generate the fused query 180 by performing the fusing operation on the pair of conflicting segments).
Both Acharya and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 10, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 9, wherein:
Acharya does not disclose a determination of whether the one or more parameters of the query are mergeable, compatible, or in conflict with the one or more clauses of the current query strand is based at least in part on the merging mode. Malhotra discloses a determination of whether the one or more parameters of the query are mergeable, compatible, or in conflict with the one or more clauses of the current query strand is based at least in part on the merging mode (see Malhotra, paragraph [0003], guidance application may train the neural network using a training data set having known pairs of first queries, second queries and correct merge or replace outputs. For example, the media guidance application may receive a data set of known correct results (e.g., a correct merge or replace indication for a given first query and second query pair) and may updated values in the neural network based on the data set. For example, the media guidance application may determine that when a query has the terms “what is . . . ” in the first query and “how about . . . ” in the second query that the user is indicating a replace operation (e.g., because the media guidance application determines that a majority of the queries in the data set having “what is . . . ” in the first query and “how about . . . ” in the second query are associated with a replace operation) and may therefore update values in the neural network to produce a “replace” output when those words are input as the first and the second query. After the media guidance application trains the data set, the media guidance application may utilize the neural network to determine whether a current query and a previous query should be merged or replaced).
Both Acharya and Malhotra are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Malhotra as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 12, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 1, comprising: providing a response to the query (see Acharya, column 4, lines 37 – 42, where an employee (employee A) starts a session by making an initial query to the manufacturing insights query tool 103; based on the generated response from the manufacturing insights query tool 103, employee A can ask additional query which could be a follow-up query to the initial query or a new initial query).
Regarding Claim 14, Acharya discloses a computer program product comprising:
one or more computer readable storage media and program instructions collectively stored on one or more computer readable storage media (see Acharya, column 12, lines 2-4, where computer programs may be stored in a computer readable medium, such as a computer readable storage medium), the program instructions comprising program instructions to:
program instructions to receive a query (see Acharya, Claim 1, where the method comprises receiving, by the processor, an input query from a first user); and
program instructions to determine whether the query is associated with a current query strand that includes a set of one more related queries (see Acharya, Fig. 3, where determined query types include initial queries, follow up queries and new initial queries).
Acharya does not disclose:
program instructions to identify one or more attributes, one or more operators, or one or more values associated with the query;
program instructions to determine, based at least in part on the one or more attributes, one or more operators, or one or more values associated with the query, that the query is associated with the current query strand that includes a set of one or more related queries;
program instructions for setting a merging mode for the query based on at least one of deriving a merging mode or inferring the merging mode; and
program instructions to merge, based on the merge mode, the one or more values associated with the query with the current query strand to form an updated query strand based at least in part on a determination that the query is associated with the current query strand.
Malhotra discloses:
program instructions for setting a merging mode for the query based on at least one of deriving a merging mode or inferring the merging mode (see Malhotra, paragraph [0002], where systems and methods are described herein that address the shortcomings in conventional conversation systems via a novel technique for utilizing an artificial neural network to determine whether current and previous queries should be merged, to maintain a context, or replaced, to change a context, of a user's desired search input).
Both Acharya and Malhotra are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Malhotra as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Acharya in view of Malhotra does not disclose:
program instructions to identify one or more attributes, one or more operators, or one or more values associated with the query;
program instructions to determine, based at least in part on the one or more attributes, one or more operators, or one or more values associated with the query, that the query is associated with the current query strand that includes a set of one or more related queries; and
program instructions to merge, based on the merge mode, the one or more values associated with the query with the current query strand to form an updated query strand based at least in part on a determination that the query is associated with the current query strand.
Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses:
program instructions to identify one or more attributes, one or more operators, or one or more values associated with the query (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”);
program instructions to determine, based at least in part on the one or more attributes, one or more operators, or one or more values associated with the query, that the query is associated with the current query strand that includes a set of one or more related queries (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”); and
program instructions to merge (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”), based on the merge mode (see Malhotra, paragraph [0002], where systems and methods are described herein that address the shortcomings in conventional conversation systems via a novel technique for utilizing an artificial neural network to determine whether current and previous queries should be merged, to maintain a context, or replaced, to change a context, of a user's desired search input) the one or more values associated with the query with the current query strand to form an updated query strand based at least in part on a determination that the query is associated with the current query strand (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”).
Acharya, Malhotra, and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya and Malhotra with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 15, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the computer program product of Claim 14, wherein to determine that the query is associated with the current query strand, the one or more program instructions comprise program instructions to:
Acharya does not disclose:
identifying an indication of a same data set of the current query strand within the query;
identifying an indication of an attribute associated with the same data set within the query; or
identifying an indication of an attribute value associated with the same data set within the query.
Chen discloses identifying an indication of a same data set of the current query strand within the query (see Chen, Fig. 1, where query 170-1 and query 170-2 are both directed to the “brand sales” table and are merged into query 180).
Both Acharya and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 16, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the computer program product of Claim 15, wherein, to identify one or more of the indications of the same data set, the indication of the attribute, or the indication of the attribute value, the program instructions comprise program instructions to:
Acharya does not disclose:
identifying an explicit indication; or
identifying a synonym of the data set, the attribute, or the attribute value.
Chen discloses identifying an explicit indication (see Chen, Fig. 1, where query 170-1 and query 170-2 are both directed to the “brand sales” table and are merged into query 180).
Both Acharya and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 17, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the computer program product of Claim 14, wherein, to determine that the query is associated with the current query strand, the program instructions comprise program instructions to:
Acharya does not disclose:
obtaining contextual information associated with the query; or
obtaining clarifying information from a user.
Chen discloses receiving clarifying information from a user (see Chen, Fig. 1, where second natural language query 170-2 is “how about the average” [it is the position of the Examiner that requesting the average instead of the sum as disclosed in first natural language query 170-1 is not patentably distinguishable from a user clarification]).
Both Acharya and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 18, Acharya discloses a system comprising:
a memory comprising one or more instructions (see Acharya, column 10, lines 50 – 52, where computing device 1605 can be used to implement techniques, methods, applications, processes, or computer-executable instructions); and
a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions (see Acharya, column 10, lines 50 – 52, where computing device 1605 can be used to implement techniques, methods, applications, processes, or computer-executable instructions) to:
receive a query (see Acharya, Claim 1, where the method comprises receiving, by the processor, an input query from a first user); and
determine that the query is associated with a current query strand that inlcudes a set of one or more related queries (see Acharya, Fig. 3, where determined query types include initial queries, follow up queries and new initial queries).
Acharya does not disclose:
setting a merging mode for the query based on at least one of deriving the merging mode or inferring the merging mode;
identify one or more clauses of the query that match one or more clauses of the current query strand; and
merge, based on the merging mode, one or more values associated with the one or more clauses of the query with the current query strand to form an updated query strand.
Malhotra discloses:
setting a merging mode for the query based on at least one of deriving the merging mode or inferring the merging mode (see Malhotra, paragraph [0002], where systems and methods are described herein that address the shortcomings in conventional conversation systems via a novel technique for utilizing an artificial neural network to determine whether current and previous queries should be merged, to maintain a context, or replaced, to change a context, of a user's desired search input).
Both Acharya and Malhotra are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Malhotra as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Acharya in view of Malhotra does not disclose:
identify one or more clauses of the query that match one or more clauses of the current query strand; and
merge, based on the merging mode, one or more values associated with the one or more clauses of the query with the current query strand to form an updated query strand.
Chen discloses:
identify one or more clauses of the query that match one or more clauses of the current query strand (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”); and
merge (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”), based on the merging mode (see Malhotra, paragraph [0002], where systems and methods are described herein that address the shortcomings in conventional conversation systems via a novel technique for utilizing an artificial neural network to determine whether current and previous queries should be merged, to maintain a context, or replaced, to change a context, of a user's desired search input), one or more values associated with the one or more clauses of the query with the current query strand to form an updated query strand (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”).
Acharya, Malhotra, and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya and Malhotra with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 19, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the system of Claim 18, wherein merging the one or more values comprises:
Acharya does not disclose maintaining at least one value of the one or more clauses of the current query strand that matches the one or more clauses of the query. Chen discloses maintaining at least one value of the one or more clauses of the current query strand that matches the one or more clauses of the query (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”).
Both Acharya and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 20, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the system of Claim 18, wherein merging the query with the current query strand comprises one or more of:
Acharya does not disclose:
refining one or more clauses of the current query strand;
adding one or more clauses of the query to the current query strand; or
replacing one or more parameters of the current query strand with one or more parameters of the query.
Chen discloses replacing one or more parameters of the current query strand with one or more parameters of the query (see Chen, paragraphs [0029], [0030], where natural language query 170-1 is, for example ‘”show the sum of sales by brand in the year 2018” and the natural language query 170-2 is, for example, “How about the average?” … the converting module 122 may convert the natural language query 170-2 whose semantics are dependent on the natural language query 170-1 into a natural language query 180 corresponding to its semantics, where semantics of the natural language query 180 is independent of the natural language query 170-1; in the example of Fig. 1, the natural language query 180 is, for example “Show the average of sales by brand in the year 2018”).
Both Acharya and Chen are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Chen as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acharya, Malhotra, and Chen as applied to Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, and 14-20 above, and further in view of LaRhette (PG Pub. No. 2024/0281472 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 5, wherein obtaining contextual information associated with the query comprises one or more of:
Acharya does not disclose:
obtaining a location of a cursor relative to a display of the data set associated with the current query strand or a different data set associated with a different previously-established query strand; or
obtaining a location of a focus of the user relative to the display of the data set associated with the current query strand or the different data set associated with the different previously- established query strand.
LaRhette discloses obtaining a location of a cursor relative to a display of the data set associated with the current query strand or a different data set associated with a different previously-established query strand (see LaRhette, paragraph [0046], where the search interface component 126 interprets responsive information from the user (e.g., receiving and/or processing search terms for queries), interprets user inputs related to preferences for searching … interprets other data related to the user interface experience (e.g., where the user focus is, for example, based on cursor locations and/or user eye positioning determined from a camera).
Both Acharya and LaRhette are directed toward processing follow-up queries. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with LaRhette as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acharya, Malhotra, and Chen as applied to Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, and 14-20 above, and further in view of Thakare (PG Pub. No. 2023/0360650 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 1, comprising receiving a non-query command associated with one or more of:
Acharya does not disclose:
removing one or more query classes; or
an indication that a subsequent or current query is to be interpreted as beginning a new query strand.
Acharya in view of Thakare discloses an indication that a subsequent or current query is to be interpreted as beginning a new query strand (see Thakare, paragraph [0108], where follow-up mode component 158f may determine to disable follow-up mode when certain device directives are dispatched).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with Thakare for the benefit of wakeword free natural language interaction (see Thakare, paragraph [0107]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acharya, Malhotra, and Chen as applied to Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, and 14-20 above, and further in view of StackExchange (“How to do a ranked search based on number of multiple columns matched”, https://dba.stackexchange.com/questions/285267/how-to-do-a-ranked-search-based-on-number-of-multiple-columns-matched, February 12, 2021).
Regarding Claim 13, Acharya in view of Malhotra and Chen discloses the method of Claim 12, wherein providing the response to the query comprises:
Acharya does not disclose providing the response with sorted information, wherein the sorted information is sorted based at least in part on a match score associated with operators and values of clauses of the updated query strand with information elements of the sorted information. StackExchange discloses providing the response with sorted information, wherein the sorted information is sorted based at least in part on a match score associated with operators and values of clauses of the updated query strand with information elements of the sorted information (see StackExchange, Akina’s comment, for sample code for creating a score based on matching clauses and ranking the search results by the score).
Both Acharya and StackExchange are directed toward querying. Accordingly, it is the position of the Examiner that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Acharya with StackExchange as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments, filed March 3, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARHAD AGHARAHIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161