DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, 12-13, and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 12, 14, and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,424,751. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 8, 12-13, and 17-20 of the instant application are merely broad presentations of claims 1, 8, 12, 14, and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,424,751.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-13, and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-13, and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,764,794. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-13, and 17-20 of the instant application are merely broad presentations of claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-13 and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,764,794.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,116. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are merely broad presentations of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,116.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Familia et al. (US 2016/0087641; “Familia”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, Familia (figures 1 and 5-10) teaches a method comprising:
controlling operation of a ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5) by a first signal (VCCPLL) that is based on a comparison signal (from 871) and that is generated by a resistor bank array (851/951); and
realigning a phase of a waveform (See phase-locked loop 110 in figure 1 and para. [0017].) of a ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5) with a first clock signal (fREF; para. [0015]) based on a realigned signal (CODE).
Regarding claim 8, Familia teaches a device (figures 1 and 5-10) comprising:
a first transistor (872) coupled to a resistor bank array (851/951) and a ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5) and configured to generate a first signal (VCCPLL) that is based on a comparison signal (from 871) to control the ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5), wherein a phase of a waveform of the ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5) is configured to align (See phase-locked loop 110 in figure 1 and para. [0017].) with a first clock signal (fREF; para. [0015]) based on a realigned signal (CODE).
As for claim 13, Familia teaches wherein the resistor bank array (851/951; details in figure 10) includes a plurality of resistors (R0-R4) coupled together in parallel.
As for claim 14, Familia teaches a second transistor (843; figure 8) coupled between the first transistor (872) and the resistor bank array (851).
Regarding claim 17, Familia teaches a system (figures 1 and 5-10) comprising:
a regulator (120; details in figure 8) comprising a resistor bank array (851) and configured to generate a first signal (VCCPLL); and
a ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5) responsive to the first signal (VCCPLL), wherein a phase of a waveform of the ring oscillator (111) is configured to align (See phase-locked loop 110 in figure 1 and para. [0017].) with a clock signal (fREF; para. [0015]) based on a realigned signal (CODE).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s comments directed to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Familia, Applicant argues, “However, paragraph [0016] of Familia states that "PLL 110 can generate information CODE to control the frequency of the fout signal …” That is, the CODE of Familia is for controlling frequency of a signal, not for "realigning a phase of a waveform of the ring oscillator with a first clock signal," as claimed.” See top of page 3 of Applicant’s remarks.
Familia teaches realigning a phase of a waveform of a ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5) with a first clock signal (fREF; para. [0015]) based on a realigned signal (CODE) using a phase-locked loop (110).
Para. [0017] of Familia: “PLL 110 can be deemed to be locked (e.g., to be in a locked state) when the phase (e.g., a rising edge) of the fOUT signal matches the phase (e.g., a rising edge) of the fREF signal within a specified (e.g., predetermined) value. PLL 110 can be deemed to be unlocked (e.g., to be in an unlocked state) when the phase of the fOUT signal and the phase of the fOUT signal is not within the specified value.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 June 22, 2026