DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first circuit" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the realignment circuit" in line 10 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, 12-13, and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 12, 14, and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,424,751. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 8, 12-13, and 17-20 of the instant application are merely broad presentations of claims 1, 8, 12, 14, and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,424,751.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-13, and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-13, and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,764,794. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-13, and 17-20 of the instant application are merely broad presentations of claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-13 and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,764,794.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,116. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are merely broad presentations of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,116.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Familia et al. (US 2016/0087641; “Familia”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, Familia (figures 1 and 5-10) teaches a method comprising:
controlling operation of a ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5) by a first signal (VCCPLL) that is based on a comparison signal (from 871) and that is generated by a resistor bank array (851/951); and
realigning the ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5) with a first clock signal (fREF; para. [0015]) based on a realigned signal (CODE).
Regarding claim 8, Familia teaches a device (figures 1 and 5-10) comprising:
a first transistor (872) coupled to a resistor bank array (851/951) and a ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5) and configured to generate a first signal (VCCPLL) that is based on a comparison signal (from 871) to control the ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5), wherein the ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5) is configured to align with a first clock signal (fREF; para. [0015]) based on a realigned signal (CODE).
As for claim 13, Familia teaches wherein the resistor bank array (851/951; details in figure 10) includes a plurality of resistors (R0-R4) coupled together in parallel.
As for claim 14, Familia teaches a second transistor (843; figure 8) coupled between the first transistor (872) and the resistor bank array (851).
Regarding claim 17, Familia teaches a system (figures 1 and 5-10) comprising:
a regulator (120; details in figure 8) comprising a resistor bank array (851) and configured to generate a first signal (VCCPLL); and
a ring oscillator (111 in figure 1; details in figure 5) responsive to the first signal (VCCPLL), wherein the ring oscillator (111) is further configured to align with a clock signal (fREF; para. [0015]) based on a realigned signal (CODE).
Conclusion
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849 February 19, 2026