DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is in response to application number 19/069,845 filed on 03/04/2025, in
which the amendments and arguments filed on 07/24/2026.
Claims 1, 7, and 9-12 has been amended.
No claims have been added.
Claims 2-3 and 13 have been cancelled.
Claims 1 and 4-12 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C 119
(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE10 2024 202 438.4 filed on 03/15/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2025 has been received
and considered.
Response to Amendment
5. Applicant' s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection
previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/01/2026. Applicants arguments, see page 9-14 filed on 07/24/2026, with respect to the objections and rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. A new grounds for rejection is made under 35 USC 103 as necessitated by amendment over Ling (US 20220077518 A1) in view of Deflorio (DE 102012210668 A) further in view of Sato (US 20220255481 A1) and further in view of Akaboshi (JP 2021092198 A).
Claim Objections
6. Claim 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 reads “for controlling thee electric machine” but should read “for controlling the electric machine” .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 1, 8, and 9-10 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over (US 20220077518 A1) to Ling et al. (hereinafter Ling) in view of Deflorio (DE 102012210668 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ling discloses A method for controlling an electric machine of an electric axle drive system in an at least partially electrified vehicle, wherein the electric axle drive system has a converter configured as an inverter unit and arranged upstream of the electric machine for voltage conversion, the method comprising: (Ling Paragraph 0013: “a three-phase inverter, connected to a positive electrode and a negative electrode of a heating energy source configured to provide heating energy;”) (Note: A three-phase inverter is a converter configured as an inverter) detecting a standstill of the vehicle; (Ling Paragraph 0088: “In this implementation, when it is detected, in a parking state, that gear position information, motor speed information, and temperature information of the power battery meet a preset condition, the three-phase inverter 11 is controlled to cause the three-phase alternating current motor 12 to heat a coolant flowing through the power battery according to heating energy, to heat the power battery when the vehicle is in the parking state,”) receiving a heat requirement signal of the vehicle, which is at a standstill, wherein the heat requirement signal indicates a heat requirement of at least one vehicle component of the vehicle; (Ling Paragraph 0008: “obtaining a current temperature value of the power battery, and determining, when the current temperature value of the power battery is lower than a preset temperature value, whether a heating condition of the power battery meets a preset condition;”) (Ling Paragraph 0042: “In the embodiments of the present disclosure, when it is determined that the heating condition of the power battery meets the preset condition, that is, the power battery may be heated, heating power of the power battery needs to be obtained. The heating power refers to power required for heating the power battery.”) (Ling Paragraph 0066: “In this implementation, required heating power of the power battery is obtained in real time in the heating process, and the preset direct-axis current id and the preset quadrature-axis current iq are adjusted according to the required heating power, to effectively avoid overheating of the power battery, and avoid a damage to the power battery,”) actuating the converter to energize the electric machine such that a total thermal load of the electric axle drive system corresponds to a predefined reference value and a thermal load difference between individual phases of the electric axle drive system is minimized; (Ling Paragraph 0065: “In the embodiments of the present disclosure, the adjusting a value of the preset direct-axis current according to the required heating power refers to adjusting heating power according to a difference between a preset target heating temperature and a current temperature of the power battery, where a larger difference indicates larger heating power, and larger power indicates a larger amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current. Specifically, when relatively large power is required, that is, a current battery temperature of the power battery is relatively low, for example, when a difference between the current temperature and a target temperature that needs to be reached during heating exceeds 10° C., heating is performed by using relatively large power. In this case, an amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current id is increased. When relatively low power is required, that is, a current battery temperature of the power battery is relatively large, for example, when a difference between the current temperature and a target temperature that needs to be reached during heating is less than 10° C., heating is performed by using relatively low power. In this case, an amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current id is reduced.”)
Ling does not disclose […] detecting thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; controlling the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; determining a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; and minimizing the thermal load difference to zero by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated.
However, Deflorio teaches […] detecting thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; (Deflorio Page 2, Paragraph 6: “Since the, in particular thermal, load of individual power semiconductor switches of the inverter is dependent on a phase angle of the provided Stromraumzeer or individual power semiconductor switches of the inverter for different phase angles of the provided”) controlling the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; (Deflorio Page 3, Paragraph 7: “As a result, a predefined angular range can be positioned with control technology simple means such that a thermal overload of one of the components is avoided and the permanent switching on of the one component is particularly effective.”) (Deflorio Page 4, Paragraph 9: “It is further preferred if a maximum permissible temperature difference of the components is defined and the controllable switches are switched such that the maximum permissible temperature difference is not exceeded.”) (Deflorio Page 4, Paragraph 10: “As a result, the thermal load of the components can be limited.”) (Deflorio Page 5, Paragraph 6: The inverter has three half-bridges,) (Note: Inverter that has three bridges is considered a converter) (Deflorio Page 8, Paragraph 3: “ In the intermediate angle areas 44 becomes the inverter 10 controlled such that a maximum temperature difference between the maximum loaded components S, D of the upper and lower sides remains constant, or preferably is reduced.”) determining a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 1: “Thereby, on the basis of the measured or estimated temperature of the switch S and / or the freewheeling diodes D for each pulse width modulation period T, a new load setpoint m or lsm be determined to evenly load the corresponding switches S and freewheeling diodes D. Thus, by comparing the temperature of the upper side and lower side components and comparing the temperature difference with the maximum temperature difference ΔT .sub.M and adjusting the load value m, lsm, the temperature difference ΔT .sub.M of the upper side components relative to the components of FIGS bottom side are kept constant.”) and minimizing the thermal load difference to zero (Deflorio Page 3, Paragraph 11: “Thereby, an existing uneven loading of the components can be limited and a temperature difference, which is caused by the permanent keeping closed of the one component, can be reduced.”) (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 2: “Alternatively, it is also possible to predefine a course for the temperature difference dT, the load setpoint m, lsm correspondingly being determined by means of the process 50 is set to adjust the course of the temperature difference dT or increase the temperature difference accordingly or drop.”) (Deflorio Page 6, Paragraph 5: “The load value m can thus be set between the value 1 and the value 0, with a value 1, the upper switch SHA, SHB, SHC or the upper freewheeling diodes DHA, DHB, DHC of the inverter 10 more heavily loaded and at a value 0,”) (Note: load setpoint is determined to adjust the temperature difference when the load value is 0 and temp difference can be reduced to the same value of 0) by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, (Deflorio Page 5, Paragraph 3: “7 shows in schematic form a complex phasor diagram for setting a plurality of angular ranges as a function of the temperature;”) (note: A three phase voltage motor vehicle that has a phasor uses a dq coordinate system)
which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated. (Deflorio Page 7, Paragraph 7: “In order to avoid overloading one of the components S, D, the angular range is dependent on the temperature of one of the components or depending on a temperature difference of two of the components S, D. 22 or the angle ranges 22 . 24 rotated by a rotational angle δ in the negative direction of rotation of the current space pointer I * or in mathematically negative direction. Thereby, a device S can be switched through in a region in which the current I is generally low, whereby the total losses can be reduced. As a result, the through-connected switch S can be relieved.”) (Deflorio Page 8, Paragraph 2:“Between the angle ranges 30 . 32 , are by the displacement of the respective boundaries intermediate angle ranges 34 formed in which the controllable switch S of the inverter 10 be controlled such that a temperature difference within the inverter 10 or reached maximum temperature difference between two of the components S, D remains constant, or is preferably reduced. This can be done by specific choice of one of the zero voltage vectors V0, V7”) (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 5: “loss values are used which are obtained by integrating the power loss of the respective component S, D or by integrating the electrical current I in the respective component S, D and / or by integrating the Squares of the electrical current I in the respective component S, D are determined or determined over a predefined period of time.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ling to include […] detecting thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; controlling the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; determining a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; and minimizing the thermal load difference to zero by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated taught by Deflorio. This would have been for the benefit to provide a method for driving an inverter by means of space vector modulation of the aforementioned type is provided, wherein the angular range is set as a function of a temperature of at least one of the components to solve the problem of in certain driving situations, especially at low rotational speeds of the Stromraumze, individual components by the permanently closed power semiconductor switch and the resulting increased line losses can heat very strong and exceed a critical temperature thus overloading the components in certain driving situations. [Deflorio Page 2, Paragraph 8-9]
Regarding claim 8, Ling discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising supplying the heat created when energizing the electric machine to the at least one vehicle component, wherein the at least one vehicle component comprises a drive battery and/or a vehicle interior heating device. (Ling Paragraph 0007: “The present disclosure is implemented as follows. A first aspect of the present disclosure provides a power battery heating method.”)
Regarding claim 9, Ling discloses An apparatus, configured as a control device, for controlling an electric machine of an electric axle drive system in an at least partially electrified vehicle, wherein the electric axle drive system has a converter device, configured as an inverter unit and arranged upstream of the electric machine for voltage conversion, wherein the apparatus is configured to: (Ling Paragraph 0002: “This application relates to the field of vehicle technologies, and in particular, to a vehicle and a power battery heating apparatus”) (Ling Paragraph 0013: “a three-phase inverter, connected to a positive electrode and a negative electrode of a heating energy source configured to provide heating energy;”) (Note: A three-phase inverter is a converter configured as an inverter) detect a standstill of the vehicle; (Ling Paragraph 0088: “In this implementation, when it is detected, in a parking state, that gear position information, motor speed information, and temperature information of the power battery meet a preset condition, the three-phase inverter 11 is controlled to cause the three-phase alternating current motor 12 to heat a coolant flowing through the power battery according to heating energy, to heat the power battery when the vehicle is in the parking state,”) receive a heat requirement signal of the vehicle, which is at a standstill, wherein the heat requirement signal indicates a heat requirement of at least one vehicle component of the vehicle; (Ling Paragraph 0008: “obtaining a current temperature value of the power battery, and determining, when the current temperature value of the power battery is lower than a preset temperature value, whether a heating condition of the power battery meets a preset condition;”) (Ling Paragraph 0042: “In the embodiments of the present disclosure, when it is determined that the heating condition of the power battery meets the preset condition, that is, the power battery may be heated, heating power of the power battery needs to be obtained. The heating power refers to power required for heating the power battery.”) (Ling Paragraph 0066: “In this implementation, required heating power of the power battery is obtained in real time in the heating process, and the preset direct-axis current id and the preset quadrature-axis current iq are adjusted according to the required heating power, to effectively avoid overheating of the power battery, and avoid a damage to the power battery,”) actuate the converter device to energize the electric machine such that a total thermal load of the electric axle drive system corresponds to a predefined reference value and a thermal load difference between individual phases of the electric axle drive system is minimized; (Ling Paragraph 0065: “In the embodiments of the present disclosure, the adjusting a value of the preset direct-axis current according to the required heating power refers to adjusting heating power according to a difference between a preset target heating temperature and a current temperature of the power battery, where a larger difference indicates larger heating power, and larger power indicates a larger amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current. Specifically, when relatively large power is required, that is, a current battery temperature of the power battery is relatively low, for example, when a difference between the current temperature and a target temperature that needs to be reached during heating exceeds 10° C., heating is performed by using relatively large power. In this case, an amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current id is increased. When relatively low power is required, that is, a current battery temperature of the power battery is relatively large, for example, when a difference between the current temperature and a target temperature that needs to be reached during heating is less than 10° C., heating is performed by using relatively low power. In this case, an amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current id is reduced.”)
Ling does not disclose […] detect thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; control the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; determine a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; and minimize the thermal load difference to zero by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated.
However, Deflorio teaches […] detect thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; (Deflorio Page 2, Paragraph 6: “Since the, in particular thermal, load of individual power semiconductor switches of the inverter is dependent on a phase angle of the provided Stromraumzeer or individual power semiconductor switches of the inverter for different phase angles of the provided”) control the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; (Deflorio Page 3, Paragraph 7: “As a result, a predefined angular range can be positioned with control technology simple means such that a thermal overload of one of the components is avoided and the permanent switching on of the one component is particularly effective.”) (Deflorio Page 4, Paragraph 9: “It is further preferred if a maximum permissible temperature difference of the components is defined and the controllable switches are switched such that the maximum permissible temperature difference is not exceeded.”) (Deflorio Page 4, Paragraph 10: “As a result, the thermal load of the components can be limited.”) (Deflorio Page 5, Paragraph 6: The inverter has three half-bridges,) (Note: Inverter that has three bridges is considered a converter) (Deflorio Page 8, Paragraph 3: “ In the intermediate angle areas 44 becomes the inverter 10 controlled such that a maximum temperature difference between the maximum loaded components S, D of the upper and lower sides remains constant, or preferably is reduced.”) determine a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 1: “Thereby, on the basis of the measured or estimated temperature of the switch S and / or the freewheeling diodes D for each pulse width modulation period T, a new load setpoint m or lsm be determined to evenly load the corresponding switches S and freewheeling diodes D. Thus, by comparing the temperature of the upper side and lower side components and comparing the temperature difference with the maximum temperature difference ΔT .sub.M and adjusting the load value m, lsm, the temperature difference ΔT .sub.M of the upper side components relative to the components of FIGS bottom side are kept constant.”) and minimize the thermal load difference to zero (Deflorio Page 3, Paragraph 11: “Thereby, an existing uneven loading of the components can be limited and a temperature difference, which is caused by the permanent keeping closed of the one component, can be reduced.”) (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 2: “Alternatively, it is also possible to predefine a course for the temperature difference dT, the load setpoint m, lsm correspondingly being determined by means of the process 50 is set to adjust the course of the temperature difference dT or increase the temperature difference accordingly or drop.”) (Deflorio Page 6, Paragraph 5: “The load value m can thus be set between the value 1 and the value 0, with a value 1, the upper switch SHA, SHB, SHC or the upper freewheeling diodes DHA, DHB, DHC of the inverter 10 more heavily loaded and at a value 0,”) (Note: load setpoint is determined to adjust the temperature difference when the load value is 0 and temp difference can be reduced to the same value of 0) by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, (Deflorio Page 5, Paragraph 3: “7 shows in schematic form a complex phasor diagram for setting a plurality of angular ranges as a function of the temperature;”) (note: A three phase voltage motor vehicle that has a phasor uses a dq coordinate system)
which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated. (Deflorio Page 7, Paragraph 7: “In order to avoid overloading one of the components S, D, the angular range is dependent on the temperature of one of the components or depending on a temperature difference of two of the components S, D. 22 or the angle ranges 22 . 24 rotated by a rotational angle δ in the negative direction of rotation of the current space pointer I * or in mathematically negative direction. Thereby, a device S can be switched through in a region in which the current I is generally low, whereby the total losses can be reduced. As a result, the through-connected switch S can be relieved.”) (Deflorio Page 8, Paragraph 2:“Between the angle ranges 30 . 32 , are by the displacement of the respective boundaries intermediate angle ranges 34 formed in which the controllable switch S of the inverter 10 be controlled such that a temperature difference within the inverter 10 or reached maximum temperature difference between two of the components S, D remains constant, or is preferably reduced. This can be done by specific choice of one of the zero voltage vectors V0, V7”) (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 5: “loss values are used which are obtained by integrating the power loss of the respective component S, D or by integrating the electrical current I in the respective component S, D and / or by integrating the Squares of the electrical current I in the respective component S, D are determined or determined over a predefined period of time.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ling to include […] detect thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; control the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; determine a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; and minimize the thermal load difference to zero by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated taught by Deflorio. This would have been for the benefit to provide a method for driving an inverter by means of space vector modulation of the aforementioned type is provided, wherein the angular range is set as a function of a temperature of at least one of the components to solve the problem of in certain driving situations, especially at low rotational speeds of the Stromraumze, individual components by the permanently closed power semiconductor switch and the resulting increased line losses can heat very strong and exceed a critical temperature thus overloading the components in certain driving situations. [Deflorio Page 2, Paragraph 8-9]
Regarding claim 10, Ling discloses An electric axle drive system for an at least partially electrified vehicle comprising: an electric machine; a converter device, configured as an inverter unit and arranged upstream of the electric machine for voltage conversion; and an apparatus configured as a control device, for controlling thee electric machine of the electric axle drive system in an at least partially electrified vehicle, wherein the electric axle drive system has a converter device, configured as an inverter unit and arranged upstream of the electric machine for voltage conversion, wherein the apparatus is configured to: (Ling Paragraph 0002: “This application relates to the field of vehicle technologies, and in particular, to a vehicle and a power battery heating apparatus”) (Ling Paragraph 0013: “a three-phase inverter, connected to a positive electrode and a negative electrode of a heating energy source configured to provide heating energy;”) (Note: A three-phase inverter is a converter configured as an inverter) detect a standstill of the vehicle; (Ling Paragraph 0088: “In this implementation, when it is detected, in a parking state, that gear position information, motor speed information, and temperature information of the power battery meet a preset condition, the three-phase inverter 11 is controlled to cause the three-phase alternating current motor 12 to heat a coolant flowing through the power battery according to heating energy, to heat the power battery when the vehicle is in the parking state,”) receive a heat requirement signal of the vehicle, which is at a standstill, wherein the heat requirement signal indicates a heat requirement of at least one vehicle component of the vehicle; (Ling Paragraph 0008: “obtaining a current temperature value of the power battery, and determining, when the current temperature value of the power battery is lower than a preset temperature value, whether a heating condition of the power battery meets a preset condition;”) (Ling Paragraph 0042: “In the embodiments of the present disclosure, when it is determined that the heating condition of the power battery meets the preset condition, that is, the power battery may be heated, heating power of the power battery needs to be obtained. The heating power refers to power required for heating the power battery.”) (Ling Paragraph 0066: “In this implementation, required heating power of the power battery is obtained in real time in the heating process, and the preset direct-axis current id and the preset quadrature-axis current iq are adjusted according to the required heating power, to effectively avoid overheating of the power battery, and avoid a damage to the power battery,”) and actuate the converter device to energize the electric machine such that a total thermal load of the electric axle drive system corresponds to a predefined reference value and a thermal load difference between individual phases of the electric axle drive system is minimized; (Ling Paragraph 0065: “In the embodiments of the present disclosure, the adjusting a value of the preset direct-axis current according to the required heating power refers to adjusting heating power according to a difference between a preset target heating temperature and a current temperature of the power battery, where a larger difference indicates larger heating power, and larger power indicates a larger amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current. Specifically, when relatively large power is required, that is, a current battery temperature of the power battery is relatively low, for example, when a difference between the current temperature and a target temperature that needs to be reached during heating exceeds 10° C., heating is performed by using relatively large power. In this case, an amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current id is increased. When relatively low power is required, that is, a current battery temperature of the power battery is relatively large, for example, when a difference between the current temperature and a target temperature that needs to be reached during heating is less than 10° C., heating is performed by using relatively low power. In this case, an amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current id is reduced.”)
Ling does not disclose […] detect thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; control the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; determine a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; and minimize the thermal load difference to zero by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated.
However, Deflorio teaches […] detect thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; (Deflorio Page 2, Paragraph 6: “Since the, in particular thermal, load of individual power semiconductor switches of the inverter is dependent on a phase angle of the provided Stromraumzeer or individual power semiconductor switches of the inverter for different phase angles of the provided”) control the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; (Deflorio Page 3, Paragraph 7: “As a result, a predefined angular range can be positioned with control technology simple means such that a thermal overload of one of the components is avoided and the permanent switching on of the one component is particularly effective.”) (Deflorio Page 4, Paragraph 9: “It is further preferred if a maximum permissible temperature difference of the components is defined and the controllable switches are switched such that the maximum permissible temperature difference is not exceeded.”) (Deflorio Page 4, Paragraph 10: “As a result, the thermal load of the components can be limited.”) (Deflorio Page 5, Paragraph 6: The inverter has three half-bridges,) (Note: Inverter that has three bridges is considered a converter) (Deflorio Page 8, Paragraph 3: “ In the intermediate angle areas 44 becomes the inverter 10 controlled such that a maximum temperature difference between the maximum loaded components S, D of the upper and lower sides remains constant, or preferably is reduced.”) determine a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 1: “Thereby, on the basis of the measured or estimated temperature of the switch S and / or the freewheeling diodes D for each pulse width modulation period T, a new load setpoint m or lsm be determined to evenly load the corresponding switches S and freewheeling diodes D. Thus, by comparing the temperature of the upper side and lower side components and comparing the temperature difference with the maximum temperature difference ΔT .sub.M and adjusting the load value m, lsm, the temperature difference ΔT .sub.M of the upper side components relative to the components of FIGS bottom side are kept constant.”) and minimize the thermal load difference to zero (Deflorio Page 3, Paragraph 11: “Thereby, an existing uneven loading of the components can be limited and a temperature difference, which is caused by the permanent keeping closed of the one component, can be reduced.”) (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 2: “Alternatively, it is also possible to predefine a course for the temperature difference dT, the load setpoint m, lsm correspondingly being determined by means of the process 50 is set to adjust the course of the temperature difference dT or increase the temperature difference accordingly or drop.”) (Deflorio Page 6, Paragraph 5: “The load value m can thus be set between the value 1 and the value 0, with a value 1, the upper switch SHA, SHB, SHC or the upper freewheeling diodes DHA, DHB, DHC of the inverter 10 more heavily loaded and at a value 0,”) (Note: load setpoint is determined to adjust the temperature difference when the load value is 0 and temp difference can be reduced to the same value of 0) by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, (Deflorio Page 5, Paragraph 3: “7 shows in schematic form a complex phasor diagram for setting a plurality of angular ranges as a function of the temperature;”) (note: A three phase voltage motor vehicle that has a phasor uses a dq coordinate system)
which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated. (Deflorio Page 7, Paragraph 7: “In order to avoid overloading one of the components S, D, the angular range is dependent on the temperature of one of the components or depending on a temperature difference of two of the components S, D. 22 or the angle ranges 22 . 24 rotated by a rotational angle δ in the negative direction of rotation of the current space pointer I * or in mathematically negative direction. Thereby, a device S can be switched through in a region in which the current I is generally low, whereby the total losses can be reduced. As a result, the through-connected switch S can be relieved.”) (Deflorio Page 8, Paragraph 2:“Between the angle ranges 30 . 32 , are by the displacement of the respective boundaries intermediate angle ranges 34 formed in which the controllable switch S of the inverter 10 be controlled such that a temperature difference within the inverter 10 or reached maximum temperature difference between two of the components S, D remains constant, or is preferably reduced. This can be done by specific choice of one of the zero voltage vectors V0, V7”) (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 5: “loss values are used which are obtained by integrating the power loss of the respective component S, D or by integrating the electrical current I in the respective component S, D and / or by integrating the Squares of the electrical current I in the respective component S, D are determined or determined over a predefined period of time.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ling to include […] detect thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; control the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; determine a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; and minimize the thermal load difference to zero by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated taught by Deflorio. This would have been for the benefit to provide a method for driving an inverter by means of space vector modulation of the aforementioned type is provided, wherein the angular range is set as a function of a temperature of at least one of the components to solve the problem of in certain driving situations, especially at low rotational speeds of the Stromraumze, individual components by the permanently closed power semiconductor switch and the resulting increased line losses can heat very strong and exceed a critical temperature thus overloading the components in certain driving situations. [Deflorio Page 2, Paragraph 8-9]
8. Claim 4, 6-7, and 12 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over (US 20220077518 A1) to Ling et al. (hereinafter Ling) in view of Deflorio (DE 102012210668 A) and further in view of (US 20220255481 A1) to Sato et al. (hereinafter Sato).
Regarding claim 4, Ling in view of Deflorio teaches claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Ling in view of Deflorio does not teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the converter is actuated to generate a stator magnetic field which has a first rotational frequency which lies below a predefined first threshold frequency.
However, Sato does teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the converter is actuated to generate a stator magnetic field which has a first rotational frequency which lies below a predefined first threshold frequency. (Sato Paragraph 0030: “The rotating coordinate system rotates with respect to a coordinate system fixed to the fixed element (a stator) of the electric motor 3 (hereinafter referred to as a “fixed coordinate system”).”) (Sato Paragraph 0060: “In this profile, the gain when the frequency is higher than the frequency threshold ft (when the rotational speed of the electric motor 3 is the second speed) is smaller than the gain when the frequency is lower than the frequency threshold ft (when the rotational speed of the electric motor 3 is the first speed). For example, a gain K2 corresponding to a frequency f2 larger than the frequency threshold ft is smaller than a gain K1 corresponding to a frequency f1 smaller than the frequency threshold ft. ”) (Sato Paragraph 0061: “Since the rotational speed of the electric motor 3 is substantially proportional to the frequency command, being based on the frequency command corresponds to being based on the rotational speed of the electric motor 3.”) (Sato Paragraph 0079: “The command generator 151 is configured to calculate the voltage command based on the frequency command,”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ling in view of Deflorio to include The method according to claim 1, wherein the converter is actuated to generate a stator magnetic field which has a first rotational frequency which lies below a predefined first threshold frequency taught by Sato. This would have been for the benefit to provide a device that performs power conversion between a three-phase AC power supply and an electric motor in order to control the power conversion circuitry to generate the driving voltage corresponding to the updated voltage command having the corrected command phase. [Sato Paragraph 0004 and 0018]
Regarding claim 6, Ling in view of Deflorio teaches claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Ling in view of Deflorio does not teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the converter is actuated to generate an AC output voltage based on a DC input voltage, which AC output voltage corresponds to a voltage phasor rotating relative to a rotor coordinate system with a second rotational frequency, wherein the second rotational frequency lies below a predefined second threshold frequency.
However, Sato does teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the converter is actuated to generate an AC output voltage based on a DC input voltage, which AC output voltage corresponds to a voltage phasor rotating relative to a rotor coordinate system with a second rotational frequency, wherein the second rotational frequency lies below a predefined second threshold frequency. (Sato Paragraph 0030: “The rotating coordinate system rotates with respect to a coordinate system fixed to the fixed element (a stator) of the electric motor 3 (hereinafter referred to as a “fixed coordinate system”).”) (Sato Paragraph 0060: “In this profile, the gain when the frequency is higher than the frequency threshold ft (when the rotational speed of the electric motor 3 is the second speed) is smaller than the gain when the frequency is lower than the frequency threshold ft (when the rotational speed of the electric motor 3 is the first speed). For example, a gain K2 corresponding to a frequency f2 larger than the frequency threshold ft is smaller than a gain K1 corresponding to a frequency f1 smaller than the frequency threshold ft. ”) (Sato Paragraph 0061: “Since the rotational speed of the electric motor 3 is substantially proportional to the frequency command, being based on the frequency command corresponds to being based on the rotational speed of the electric motor 3.”) (Sato Paragraph 0079: “The command generator 151 is configured to calculate the voltage command based on the frequency command,”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ling in view of Deflorio to include The method according to claim 1, wherein the converter is actuated to generate an AC output voltage based on a DC input voltage, which AC output voltage corresponds to a voltage phasor rotating relative to a rotor coordinate system with a second rotational frequency, wherein the second rotational frequency lies below a predefined second threshold frequency taught by Sato. This would have been for the benefit to provide a device that performs power conversion between a three-phase AC power supply and an electric motor in order to control the power conversion circuitry to generate the driving voltage corresponding to the updated voltage command having the corrected command phase. [Sato Paragraph 0004 and 0018]
Regarding claim 7, Ling in view of Deflorio teaches claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Ling in view of Deflorio does not teach The method according to according to claim 1, wherein the converter is actuated to generate a plurality of AC phase currents based on a DC input voltage, which AC phase currents correspond to a current phasor rotating relative to the dq coordinate system with a third rotational frequency, wherein the third rotational frequency lies below a predefined third threshold frequency.
However, Sato teaches The method according to according to claim 1, wherein the converter is actuated to generate a plurality of AC phase currents based on a DC input voltage, which AC phase currents correspond to a current phasor rotating relative to the dq coordinate system with a third rotational frequency, wherein the third rotational frequency lies below a predefined third threshold frequency. (Sato Paragraph 0041: “The current acquisition unit 114 is configured to acquire the current information from the current sensor 14. For example, the current acquisition unit 114 performs three-phase to two-phase conversion and rotational coordinate conversion on the current information acquired from the current sensor 14 to calculate the γ-axis current iγ and the δ-axis current iδ.”) (Sato Paragraph 0060: “In this profile, the gain when the frequency is higher than the frequency threshold ft (when the rotational speed of the electric motor 3 is the second speed) is smaller than the gain when the frequency is lower than the frequency threshold ft (when the rotational speed of the electric motor 3 is the first speed). For example, a gain K2 corresponding to a frequency f2 larger than the frequency threshold ft is smaller than a gain K1 corresponding to a frequency f1 smaller than the frequency threshold ft. ”) (Sato Paragraph 0114: “For example, the current correction unit 162 adds or subtracts the first phase compensation value and the second phase compensation value to or from the phase of the output current so that the phase of the output current detected by the current sensor 14 approaches (for example, substantially matches) the phase of the current flowing through the secondary side of the step-up transformer 5 (for example, the output current from the step-up transformer 5 to the electric motor 3). For example, the current correction unit 162 corrects the output current vector calculated by the current acquisition unit 114 based on the first phase compensation value and the second phase compensation value.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ling in view of Deflorio to include The method according to according to claim 1, wherein the converter is actuated to generate a plurality of AC phase currents based on a DC input voltage, which AC phase currents correspond to a current phasor rotating relative to the dq coordinate system with a third rotational frequency, wherein the third rotational frequency lies below a predefined third threshold frequency taught by Sato. This would have been for the benefit to provide a device that performs power conversion between a three-phase AC power supply and an electric motor in order to control the power conversion circuitry to generate the driving voltage corresponding to the updated voltage command having the corrected command phase. [Sato Paragraph 0004 and 0018]
Regarding claim 12, Ling discloses […] detect a standstill of the vehicle; (Ling Paragraph 0088: “In this implementation, when it is detected, in a parking state, that gear position information, motor speed information, and temperature information of the power battery meet a preset condition, the three-phase inverter 11 is controlled to cause the three-phase alternating current motor 12 to heat a coolant flowing through the power battery according to heating energy, to heat the power battery when the vehicle is in the parking state,”) receive a heat requirement signal of the vehicle, which is at a standstill, wherein the heat requirement signal indicates a heat requirement of at least one vehicle component of the vehicle; (Ling Paragraph 0008: “obtaining a current temperature value of the power battery, and determining, when the current temperature value of the power battery is lower than a preset temperature value, whether a heating condition of the power battery meets a preset condition;”) (Ling Paragraph 0042: “In the embodiments of the present disclosure, when it is determined that the heating condition of the power battery meets the preset condition, that is, the power battery may be heated, heating power of the power battery needs to be obtained. The heating power refers to power required for heating the power battery.”) (Ling Paragraph 0066: “In this implementation, required heating power of the power battery is obtained in real time in the heating process, and the preset direct-axis current id and the preset quadrature-axis current iq are adjusted according to the required heating power, to effectively avoid overheating of the power battery, and avoid a damage to the power battery,”) and actuate the converter device to energize the electric machine such that a total thermal load of the electric axle drive system corresponds to a predefined reference value and a thermal load difference between individual phases of the electric axle drive system is minimized; (Ling Paragraph 0065: “In the embodiments of the present disclosure, the adjusting a value of the preset direct-axis current according to the required heating power refers to adjusting heating power according to a difference between a preset target heating temperature and a current temperature of the power battery, where a larger difference indicates larger heating power, and larger power indicates a larger amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current. Specifically, when relatively large power is required, that is, a current battery temperature of the power battery is relatively low, for example, when a difference between the current temperature and a target temperature that needs to be reached during heating exceeds 10° C., heating is performed by using relatively large power. In this case, an amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current id is increased. When relatively low power is required, that is, a current battery temperature of the power battery is relatively large, for example, when a difference between the current temperature and a target temperature that needs to be reached during heating is less than 10° C., heating is performed by using relatively low power. In this case, an amplitude value of the preset direct-axis current id is reduced.”)
Ling does not disclose […] detect thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; control the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; determine a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; and minimize the thermal load difference to zero by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated.
However, Deflorio teaches […] detect thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; (Deflorio Page 2, Paragraph 6: “Since the, in particular thermal, load of individual power semiconductor switches of the inverter is dependent on a phase angle of the provided Stromraumzeer or individual power semiconductor switches of the inverter for different phase angles of the provided”) control the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; (Deflorio Page 3, Paragraph 7: “As a result, a predefined angular range can be positioned with control technology simple means such that a thermal overload of one of the components is avoided and the permanent switching on of the one component is particularly effective.”) (Deflorio Page 4, Paragraph 9: “It is further preferred if a maximum permissible temperature difference of the components is defined and the controllable switches are switched such that the maximum permissible temperature difference is not exceeded.”) (Deflorio Page 4, Paragraph 10: “As a result, the thermal load of the components can be limited.”) (Deflorio Page 5, Paragraph 6: The inverter has three half-bridges,) (Note: Inverter that has three bridges is considered a converter) (Deflorio Page 8, Paragraph 3: “ In the intermediate angle areas 44 becomes the inverter 10 controlled such that a maximum temperature difference between the maximum loaded components S, D of the upper and lower sides remains constant, or preferably is reduced.”) determine a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 1: “Thereby, on the basis of the measured or estimated temperature of the switch S and / or the freewheeling diodes D for each pulse width modulation period T, a new load setpoint m or lsm be determined to evenly load the corresponding switches S and freewheeling diodes D. Thus, by comparing the temperature of the upper side and lower side components and comparing the temperature difference with the maximum temperature difference ΔT .sub.M and adjusting the load value m, lsm, the temperature difference ΔT .sub.M of the upper side components relative to the components of FIGS bottom side are kept constant.”) and minimize the thermal load difference to zero (Deflorio Page 3, Paragraph 11: “Thereby, an existing uneven loading of the components can be limited and a temperature difference, which is caused by the permanent keeping closed of the one component, can be reduced.”) (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 2: “Alternatively, it is also possible to predefine a course for the temperature difference dT, the load setpoint m, lsm correspondingly being determined by means of the process 50 is set to adjust the course of the temperature difference dT or increase the temperature difference accordingly or drop.”) (Deflorio Page 6, Paragraph 5: “The load value m can thus be set between the value 1 and the value 0, with a value 1, the upper switch SHA, SHB, SHC or the upper freewheeling diodes DHA, DHB, DHC of the inverter 10 more heavily loaded and at a value 0,”) (Note: load setpoint is determined to adjust the temperature difference when the load value is 0 and temp difference can be reduced to the same value of 0) by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, (Deflorio Page 5, Paragraph 3: “7 shows in schematic form a complex phasor diagram for setting a plurality of angular ranges as a function of the temperature;”) (note: A three phase voltage motor vehicle that has a phasor uses a dq coordinate system)
which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated. (Deflorio Page 7, Paragraph 7: “In order to avoid overloading one of the components S, D, the angular range is dependent on the temperature of one of the components or depending on a temperature difference of two of the components S, D. 22 or the angle ranges 22 . 24 rotated by a rotational angle δ in the negative direction of rotation of the current space pointer I * or in mathematically negative direction. Thereby, a device S can be switched through in a region in which the current I is generally low, whereby the total losses can be reduced. As a result, the through-connected switch S can be relieved.”) (Deflorio Page 8, Paragraph 2:“Between the angle ranges 30 . 32 , are by the displacement of the respective boundaries intermediate angle ranges 34 formed in which the controllable switch S of the inverter 10 be controlled such that a temperature difference within the inverter 10 or reached maximum temperature difference between two of the components S, D remains constant, or is preferably reduced. This can be done by specific choice of one of the zero voltage vectors V0, V7”) (Deflorio Page 9, Paragraph 5: “loss values are used which are obtained by integrating the power loss of the respective component S, D or by integrating the electrical current I in the respective component S, D and / or by integrating the Squares of the electrical current I in the respective component S, D are determined or determined over a predefined period of time.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ling to include […] detect thermal loads of the individual phases on a machine side and/or on a converter side or an inverter side; control the total thermal load with the predefined reference value by switching a plurality of power switches of the converter; determine a difference between the detected thermal loads of the individual phases on the machine side and/or converter side or inverter side as the thermal load difference; and minimize the thermal load difference to zero by a controlled rotation of a current phasor in a dq coordinate system, which current phasor corresponds to the phase currents of the electric machine, wherein copper losses for machine-side thermal loads and/or switching losses and/or conduction losses for converter-side or inverter-side thermal loads of the individual phases are measured and/or calculated taught by Deflorio. This would have been for the benefit to provide a method for driving an inverter by means of space vector modulation of the aforementioned type is provided, wherein the angular range is set as a function of a temperature of at least one of the components to solve the problem of in certain driving situations, especially at low rotational speeds of the Stromraumze, individual components by the permanently closed power semiconductor switch and the resulting increased line losses can heat very strong and exceed a critical temperature thus overloading the components in certain driving situations. [Deflorio Page 2, Paragraph 8-9]
Deflorio does not teach A nontransitory machine-readable storage medium comprising commands which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to:
However, Sato does teach A nontransitory machine-readable storage medium comprising commands which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to: (Sato Paragraph 0063: “FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating a hardware configuration of the control circuitry 100. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the control circuitry 100 includes at least one a processor 191, a memory 192, storage 193, and switching control circuitry 194. The storage 193 includes a computer-readable storage medium, such as a hard disk.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ling in view of Deflorio to include A nontransitory machine-readable storage medium comprising commands which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to taught by Sato. This would have been for the benefit to provide a device that performs power conversion between a three-phase AC power supply and an electric motor in order to control the power conversion circuitry to generate the driving voltage corresponding to the updated voltage command having the corrected command phase. [Sato Paragraph 0004 and 0018]
9. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over (US 20220077518 A1) to Ling et al. (hereinafter Ling) in view of Deflorio (DE 102012210668 A) further in view of (US 20220255481 A1) to Sato et al. (hereinafter Sato) and further in view of Akaboshi (JP 2021092198 A).
Regarding claim 5, Ling in view of Deflorio and further in view of Sato teaches claim 4, accordingly, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated above.
Ling in view of Deflorio and further in view of Sato does not teach The method according to claim 4, wherein the first threshold frequency is less than at least one of: 1 Hz, 0.5 Hz, 0.1 Hz, 0.01 Hz, and 0.005 Hz.
However, Akaboshi does teach The method according to claim 4, wherein the first threshold frequency is less than at least one of: 1 Hz, 0.5 Hz, 0.1 Hz, 0.01 Hz, and 0.005 Hz. (Akaboshi Page 15, Paragraph 1: “And in the case of a low load of medium rotation, the frequency threshold is 0.1 (10%).”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ling in view of Deflorio further in view of Sato to include The method according to claim 4, wherein the first threshold frequency is less than at least one of: 1 Hz, 0.5 Hz, 0.1 Hz, 0.01 Hz, and 0.005 Hz taught by Akaboshi. This would have been for the benefit to provide a control device of an engine that is used to set ignition timing in accordance with the octane value of the fuel and advance the ignition timing. [Akaboshi Page 1, Paragraph 1]
Conclusion
/K.J.H./Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664