DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 07/27/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
The newly prior art Sturm et al [US 2019/0132929 A1] discloses the amended limitations as explain below in combination with Peting et al [US 2012/0299480 A1] in view of Pan [US 2018/0114800 A1].
Peting discloses a light emitting diode (LED) package (Fig. 2, 750), comprising: a plurality of LED chips (Fig. 2a, 250-1 to 250-N) that form a plurality of LED pixels (Paragraph [0206]); and an active electrical element (Fig 2, 250-1)
Peting does not specify the active electrical element configured to independently alter a driving condition of each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips according to an input signal.
Using the teachings of Pan discloses the active electrical element (Fig. 2b, 232) configured to independently alter (Paragraph [0102 & 0113] “Thus, each LED can be individually or independently selected or controlled by a corresponding scanning driver 408 and a corresponding data driver 410”) a driving condition of each LED chip (Fig. 5I-J, 510 and 512) of the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 5I-J, 510 and 512) according to an input signal (Paragraph [0102 & 0113] “Thus, each LED can be individually or independently selected or controlled by a corresponding scanning driver 408 and a corresponding data driver 410”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Pan with Peting with the active electrical element configured to independently alter a driving condition of each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips according to an input signal for purpose of independently controlled to emit light with brightness corresponding to the image/video data, thus to display the image/video as disclosed by Pan (Paragraph [0108 & 0113])
Peting does not specify in details an active electrical element that comprises four or five input electrical connections
Sturm discloses an active electrical element that comprises four or five input electrical connections (Sturm: Fig. 1 and 2a, 11 and 20 have Ground, VS, VSV, AIN, COM_P and COM_N)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Sturm with Peting in view of Pan to discloses or teaches an active electrical element that comprises four or five input electrical connections for purpose of showing details of electrical connection and allowing each addressed driving unit to decode which action is required by the master control unit, using an command bit, performing a length decoding step, for including information in the ID field regarding the type of instructions included in the data frame, using an F function bit, and assigning data bits to different electronic units or indicating in the length of the bit string in the data field, using a second bit sub-string as disclosed by Sturm (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peting et al [US 2012/0299480 A1] in view of Pan [US 2018/0114800 A1] and further in view of Sturm et al [US 2019/0132929 A1]
In regards to claims 1. Peting discloses a light emitting diode (LED) package (Fig. 2, 750), comprising: a plurality of LED chips (Fig. 2a, 250-1 to 250-N) that form a plurality of LED pixels (Paragraph [0206]); and an active electrical element (Fig 2, 250)
Peting does not specify the active electrical element configured to independently alter a driving condition of each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips according to an input signal.
Using the teachings of Pan discloses the active electrical element (Fig. 2b, 232) configured to independently alter (Paragraph [0102 & 0113] “Thus, each LED can be individually or independently selected or controlled by a corresponding scanning driver 408 and a corresponding data driver 410”) a driving condition of each LED chip (Fig. 5I-J, 510 and 512) of the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 5I-J, 510 and 512) according to an input signal (Paragraph [0102 & 0113] “Thus, each LED can be individually or independently selected or controlled by a corresponding scanning driver 408 and a corresponding data driver 410”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Pan with Peting with the active electrical element configured to independently alter a driving condition of each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips according to an input signal for purpose of independently controlled to emit light with brightness corresponding to the image/video data, thus to display the image/video as disclosed by Pan (Paragraph [0108 & 0113])
Peting does not specify in details an active electrical element that comprises four or five input electrical connections
Sturm discloses an active electrical element that comprises four or five input electrical connections (Sturm: Fig. 1 and 2a, 11 and 20 have Ground, VS, VSV, AIN, COM_P and COM_N)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Sturm with Peting in view of Pan to discloses or teaches an active electrical element that comprises four or five input electrical connections for purpose of showing details of electrical connection and allowing each addressed driving unit to decode which action is required by the master control unit, using an command bit, performing a length decoding step, for including information in the ID field regarding the type of instructions included in the data frame, using an F function bit, and assigning data bits to different electronic units or indicating in the length of the bit string in the data field, using a second bit sub-string as disclosed by Sturm (Abstract).
In regards to claims 3. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein the input electrical connections (Sturm: Fig. 1 and 2a, 11 and 20 have Ground, VS, VSV, AIN, COM_P and COM_N) comprise a supply voltage (Sturm: Fig. 2, VS), a ground (Sturm: Fig. 2, GND), an encoded device select signal (Sturm: Fig. 2, Com_P and COM_N Paragraph [0208 & 0160]), and a brightness level signal (Sturm: Fig. 2, AIN1 & Paragraph [0238 & 0228]).
In regards to claims 4. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein the input electrical connections (Sturm: Fig. 1 and 2a, 11 and 20 have Ground, VS, VSV, AIN, COM_P and COM_N) comprise a supply voltage (Sturm: Fig. 2, VS), a ground (Sturm: Fig. 2, GND), a digital signal (Sturm: Fig. 2, Com_P and Com_N), and a clock signal (Sturm: Paragraph [0052]).
In regards to claims 5. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein the input electrical connections (Sturm: Fig. 1 and 2a, 11 and 20 have Ground, VS, VSV, AIN, COM_P and COM_N) comprise a first supply voltage (Sturm: Fig. 2, VS), a second supply voltage (Sturm: Fig. 2, VSV), a ground (Sturm: Fig. 2, GND), and a digital signal (Sturm: Fig. 2, Com_P and Com_N).
In regards to claims 6. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 5, wherein the first supply voltage (Sturm: Fig. 2a, VS) is configured to drive one or more red LED chips (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404b) of the plurality of LED chips (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404b) and the second supply voltage (Sturm: Fig. 2, VSV) is configured to drive one or more blue (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404a) and green LED chips (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404c) of the plurality of LED chips (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404b).
In regards to claims 8. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein the input electrical connections (Sturm: Fig. 1 and 2a, 11 and 20 have Ground, VS, VSV, AIN, COM_P and COM_N) comprise a first supply voltage (Sturm: Fig. 2, VS), a second supply voltage (Sturm: Fig. 2, VSV), a ground (Sturm: Fig. 2, GND), a brightness level signal (Sturm: Fig. 2, AIN1 & Paragraph [0238]), and an encoded device select signal (Sturm: Fig. 2, Com_P and COM_N Paragraph [0208 & 0160 & 0121]).
In regards to claims 9. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein each LED pixel of the plurality of LED pixels comprises at least one of a red LED chip (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404b), a green LED chip (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404c), and a blue LED chip (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404a).
In regards to claims 10. Peting discloses a light emitting diode (LED) package (Fig. 2, 250), comprising:
A plurality of LED chips (Fig. 2a, 250-1 to 250-N) that form a plurality of LED pixels (Paragraph [0253 & 0005]); and an active electrical element (Fig 2, 250) comprising a serial communication element (Paragraph [0056]) that is configured for a digital input or output signal (Fig. 2a, 221) and
Peting does not specify a driver element that is configured to independently alter a driving condition of the plurality of LED chip, wherein electrical connections for the active electrical element are arranged below the active electrical element relative to a primary emission face of the LED package.
Using the teachings of Pan discloses a driver element (Fig. 2b, 232) that is configured to independently alter (Paragraph [0102 & 0113] “Thus, each LED can be individually or independently selected or controlled by a corresponding scanning driver 408 and a corresponding data driver 410”) a driving condition of the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 5I-J, 510 and 512), wherein electrical connections (Fig. 5I, 560) for the active electrical element (Fig. 5I, 522 and 524) are arranged below the active electrical element (Fig. 5I, 522 and 524) relative to a primary emission face of the LED package (Fig. 5I, 512).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Pan with Peting with a driver element that is configured to independently alter a driving condition of the plurality of LED chip, wherein electrical connections for the active electrical element are arranged below the active electrical element relative to a primary emission face of the LED package for purpose of independently controlled to emit light with brightness corresponding to the image/video data, thus to display the image/video as disclosed by Pan (Paragraph [0108 & 0113])
Peting does not specify in details an active electrical element that comprises four or five input electrical connections
Sturm discloses an active electrical element that comprises four or five input electrical connections (Sturm: Fig. 1 and 2a, 11 and 20 have Ground, VS, VSV, AIN, COM_P and COM_N)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Sturm with Peting in view of Pan to discloses or teaches an active electrical element that comprises four or five input electrical connections for purpose of showing details of electrical connection and allowing each addressed driving unit to decode which action is required by the master control unit, using an command bit, performing a length decoding step, for including information in the ID field regarding the type of instructions included in the data frame, using an F function bit, and assigning data bits to different electronic units or indicating in the length of the bit string in the data field, using a second bit sub-string as disclosed by Sturm (Abstract).
In regards to claims 11. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 10, wherein the driver element comprises a pulsed width modulated driver element (Pan: Fig. 1b, 127) that is configured to independently drive (Pan: Paragraph [0102 & 0113] “Thus, each LED can be individually or independently selected or controlled by a corresponding scanning driver 408 and a corresponding data driver 410”) the each LED chip (Pan: Fig. 5I-J, 510 and 512) of the plurality of LED chips based on the digital input signal (Pan: Paragraph [0097]).
In regards to claims 12. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 10, wherein the plurality LED chip (Pan: Fig. 5I-J, 510 and 512) comprises a first LED chip (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404a), a second LED chip (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404b), and a third LED chip (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404c) and the active electrical element further comprises one or more digital-to-analog converters (Pan: Fig. 1a, 110 & Paragraph [0016]) configured to provide independent drive signals to the first LED chip (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404a), the second LED chip (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404b), and the third LED chip (Pan: Fig. 4a, 404c).
In regards to claims 13. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 10, wherein the digital input or output signal comprises a self-clocking signal (Sturm: Paragraph [0120]) and the active electrical element further comprises a decoder element that is configured to encode or decode the self- clocking signal (Sturm: Paragraph [0120]).
In regards to claims 14. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 13, wherein the self-clocking signal comprises at least one of an 8b/10b code, a Manchester code (Peting: Paragraph [0067]), a phase code, a pulse counting code, an isochronous signal, or an anisochronous signal.
In regards to claims 16. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 10, wherein the active electrical element is configured to send or receive differential signaling (Peting: Paragraph [0066]).
In regards to claims 17. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 16, wherein the active electrical element is further configured to send or receive low voltage differential signaling (Peting: Paragraph [0066]).
In regards to claims 18. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 16, wherein the active electrical element (Peting Fig. 7, 760) is further configured to send or receive (Peting Fig. 7, 721 and 722 & Paragraph [0068-69]) current mode logic (Peting Paragraph [0144]).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peting et al [US 2012/0299480 A1] in view of Pan [US 2018/0114800 A1] in view of Sturm et al [US 2019/0132929 A1]and further in view of Vahid Far et al [US 2018/0247586 A1]
In regards to claims 7. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 1,
Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm does not specify wherein the input signal comprises an asynchronous data signal
Vahid Far discloses wherein the input signal comprises an asynchronous data signal (Paragraph [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Vahid Far with Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm with wherein the input signal comprises an asynchronous data signal for purpose of allowing displays to operate independently without a real-time computer connection as disclosed by Vahid Far (Paragraph [0067]).
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peting et al [US 2012/0299480 A1] in view of Pan [US 2018/0114800 A1] in view of Sturm et al [US 2019/0132929 A1] and further in view of Pulestron et al [US 2010/0134257 A1]
In regards to claims 15. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 10, wherein the active electrical element is configured to send or receive at least a signals (Peting: Fig. 2a, 229 and 221)
Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm does not specify at least a subset of signals that are compatible with an 12C protocol.
Pulestron discloses at least a subset of signals that are compatible with an 12C protocol (Paragraph [0106])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Pulestron with Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm to discloses or teach at least a subset of signals that are compatible with an 12C protocol for purpose of variant of the SMBus which is targeted at digital management of power supplies as disclosed by Pulestron (Paragraph [0106]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peting et al [US 2012/0299480 A1] in view of Pan [US 2018/0114800 A1] in view of Sturm et al [US 2019/0132929 A1] and further in view of Kumar et al [US 2018/0033768 A1].
In regards to claims 19. Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm discloses the LED package of claim 10,
Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm does not specify wherein the electrical connections for the active electrical element comprises a plurality of contact pads on a side of the active electrical element that is opposite the primary emission face of the LED package.
Kumar discloses wherein the electrical connections (Fig. 6b, 622 & Paragraph [0061]) for the active electrical element (Fig. 6e, 610) comprises a plurality of contact pads (Fig. 6e, 621) on a side of the active electrical element (Fig. 6e, 610) that is opposite the primary emission face of the LED package (Fig. 6e, 610).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of Kumar with Peting in view of Pan and further in view of Sturm to discloses or teach wherein the electrical connections for the active electrical element comprises a plurality of contact pads on a side of the active electrical element that is opposite the primary emission face of the LED package for purpose of for purpose of achieves a solder interconnection that is strong, robust and electrical interconnections between the chip terminals against the glass backplane as disclosed by Kumar (Paragraph [0058]).
In regards to claims 20. Peting in view of Pan in view of Sturm and further in view of Kumar discloses the LED package of claim 19, wherein a first contact pad (Kumar Fig. 6e, 621) of the plurality contact pads (Kumar Fig. 6e, 621) is configured to receive the digital input (Peting: Fig. 2a, 221) signal, and a second contact pad (Kumar Fig. 6e, 621) of the plurality of contact pads (Kumar Fig. 6e, 621) is configured to output a drive signal to the plurality of LED chip (Kumar Fig. 6e, 610).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845