DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 15, 18-19, 21-22, 24, 26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10,330,593 to Dobler et al.
Regarding claims 1, 21 and 30, Dobler discloses and shows in Figures 1-15, a laser fencing system and method (Figures 1-2) for determining gas emission from a facility (col. 3, ll. 36-65), the laser fencing system comprising:
a first laser emitter (205) to emit a first laser (col. 4, ll. 1-20; col. 9, ll. 31-56);
a plurality of reflectors (215a-z) to reflect the first laser (col. 8, ll. 59 to col. 9, ll. 30);
a detector (205) to receive and detect the first laser (col. 6, ll. 35-54);
a second laser emitter (210) to emit a second laser (col. 4, ll. 1-20; col. 9, ll. 31-56);
a retroreflector (215a-z) to reflect the second laser back to a direction of the second laser emitter (col. 10, ll. 45-58) (col. 8, ll. 59 to col. 9, ll. 30);
a second detector (210) positioned proximate to the second laser emitter and configured to receive and detect the second laser (col. 6, ll. 35-54); and
a computer processor (110) comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium (col. 14, ll. 52 to col. 15, ll. 68), storing instructions to:
perform a series of optical measurements with each of the first and second lasers (col. 3, ll. 36 to col. 4, ll. 20); and
determine an emission of a fugitive gas from an area of interest based on the series of optical measurements using a flux mapping form (col. 3, ll. 36 to col. 4, ll. 20; col. 11, ll. 46-68; col. 14, ll. 1-18; wherein a plurality of gas concentration flux maps may be calculated in real-time by using various derivatives or gradients of the measured signals).
Dobler differs from the limitations in that it is silent to explicitly utilizing “a flux form of Green's theorem”.
However, Green’s theorem is a fundamental principle of calculus and is therefore understood to be well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Dobler to include using a flux form of Green’s theorem for the advantage of using a well-known and fundamental principle of calculus to obtain real-time gas concentration mapping of an environment, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 2-13, 15, 18-19, 22, 24, 26, 29, Dobler discloses and shows in Figures 1-15, a laser fencing system and method (Figures 1-2) for determining gas emission from a facility (col. 3, ll. 36-65), the laser fencing system comprising:
[claim 2] wherein the series of optical measurements is based on infrared absorption measurements, the fugitive gas mixture has absorption at a wavelength used in the infrared absorption measurements, the absorption by the fugitive gas mixture is indicative of the total emission of the fugitive gas mixture (col. 2, ll. 42 to col. 5, ll. 59; wherein a plurality of measurements are made at a plurality of individual wavelengths, which may each be tailored and adjusted to investigate the presence of specific gases within an environment);
[claim 3] wherein the series of optical measurements is performed using a single wavelength (col. 2, ll. 42 to col. 5, ll. 59; wherein each light source may provide one or more wavelengths of light);
[claim 4] wherein the series of optical measurements is a first series of optical measurements performed at a first wavelength, the method further comprising performing a second series of optical measurements at a second wavelength, wherein the total emission of a fugitive gas mixture is determined based on both of the first and second series of optical measurements (col. 2, ll. 42 to col. 5, ll. 59; wherein a plurality of measurements are made at a plurality of different wavelengths);
[claim 5] wherein the first series of optical measurements provides at least information about an emission of a first component of the fugitive gas mixture, and the second series of optical measurements provides at least information about an emission of a second component of fugitive gas mixture (col. 2, ll. 42 to col. 5, ll. 59; wherein a plurality of measurements are made at a plurality of individual wavelengths, which may each be tailored and adjusted to investigate the presence of specific gases within an environment);
[claim 6] further comprising scanning a wavelength of the laser during the series of optical measurements (col. 2, ll. 42 to col. 5, ll. 59; wherein a plurality of measurements are made at a plurality of individual wavelengths, which may each be tailored and adjusted to investigate the presence of specific gases within an environment);
[claim 7] wherein the fugitive gas mixture comprises methane (col. 3, ll. 36-65);
[claim 8] wherein the fugitive gas mixture comprises at least one of Ci-C5 hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide (CO), carbon dioxide (CO2), benzene, toluene, xylene, or hydrogen disulfide (H2S) (col. 3, ll. 36-65);
[claim 9] wherein a single optical path of the series of optical measurements forms a loop that defines the area of interest (col. 8, ll. 59 to col. 9, ll. 30; col. 10, ll. 45-59; wherein each optical path may be defined by an optical loop between the light source, a retroreflector and a detector);
[claim 10] wherein two or more optical paths of the series of optical measurements collectively form a loop the defines the area of interest (col. 8, ll. 59 to col. 9, ll. 30; col. 10, ll. 45-59; wherein a plurality of retroreflectors may form a plurality of optical path loops within an area of interest);
[claim 11] wherein the series of optical measurements is performed along an array of parallel optical paths (col. 8, ll. 59 to col. 9, ll. 30; col. 10, ll. 45-59; wherein a plurality of retroreflectors may form a plurality of parallel optical path loops within an area of interest);
[claim 12] wherein the laser emitter and the detector are positioned proximate to each other (100), and the reflector comprises a retroreflector to reflect back the laser to a direction of the laser emitter (col. 4, ll. 1-40; col. 10, ll. 45-58);
[claim 13] wherein the series of optical measurements laser comprises spatially scanning the laser emitter (col. 4, ll. 1-40; col. 6, ll. 55-68; wherein a scanning mount (105) with a plurality of degrees-of-freedom may be utilized);
[claim 15] wherein the series of optical measurements laser comprises changing a steering angle of the laser emitter for angular scanning (col. 4, ll. 1-40; col. 6, ll. 55-68; wherein a scanning mount (105) with a plurality of degrees-of-freedom may be utilized);
[claim 18] further comprising: monitoring an environmental condition proximate to the area of interest (col. 7, ll. 35 to col. 8, ll. 30); and updating the emission of the fugitive gas based on the environmental condition (col. 7, ll. 35 to col. 8, ll. 30; wherein transmission parameters may be updated and tailored in real-time, based upon specific weather or atmospheric conditions);
[claim 19] wherein the environmental condition comprises wind speed, wind direction, humidity, atmospheric pressure, solar radiation, or precipitation (col. 7, ll. 35 to col. 8, ll. 30; col. 14, ll. 18-30; wherein transmission parameters may be updated and tailored in real-time, based upon specific weather or atmospheric conditions);
[claim 22] wherein the reflector is a first mirror, the laser fencing system further comprising a second mirror to reflect the laser, wherein an optical path of the laser defined by the laser emitter, the first and second mirrors, and the detector forms a loop that defines the area of interest (col. 8, ll. 59 to col. 9, ll. 30; col. 10, ll. 45-59; wherein a plurality of retroreflectors may form a plurality of optical path loops within an area of interest; and each retroreflector may be understood to contain a plurality of mirrors);
[claim 24] wherein the reflector is a first reflector (215a-z) (col. 8, ll. 59 to col. 9, ll. 30), the laser emitter is a first laser emitter (205) (col. 4, ll. 1-20; col. 9, ll. 31-56), the laser is a first laser, and the detector is a first detector (205) (col. 6, ll. 35-54), the laser fencing system further comprising: a second laser emitter to emit a second laser (210) (col. 4, ll. 1-20; col. 9, ll. 31-56); a second reflector (215a-z) to reflect back the second laser to a direction of the second laser emitter (col. 8, ll. 59 to col. 9, ll. 30); and a second detector (210) proximate to the second laser emitter and configured to receive and detect the second laser reflected by the second reflector (col. 6, ll. 35-54), wherein an optical path of the first laser and an optical path of the second laser are parallel (col. 8, ll. 59 to col. 9, ll. 30; col. 10, ll. 45-59; wherein a plurality of retroreflectors may form a plurality of parallel optical path loops within an area of interest), and the non-transitory computer readable medium stores further instructions to perform another series of optical measurements with the second laser along one or more optical paths (col. 3, ll. 36 to col. 4, ll. 20);
[claim 26] wherein the reflector is a retroreflector (col. 8, ll. 59 to col. 9, ll. 30; col. 10, ll. 45-59; wherein a plurality of retroreflectors may form a plurality of optical path loops within an area of interest), the laser fencing system further comprising a gimbal mounting (105) the laser emitter to angularly scan the laser (col. 4, ll. 1-40; col. 6, ll. 55-68; wherein a scanning mount (105) with a plurality of degrees-of-freedom may be utilized);
[claim 29] further comprising a sensor to monitor an environmental condition proximate to the area of interest, wherein the non-transitory computer readable medium stores further instructions to update the emission of the fugitive gas based on the environmental condition (col. 7, ll. 35 to col. 8, ll. 30; col. 14, ll. 18-30; wherein transmission parameters may be updated and tailored in real-time, based upon specific weather or atmospheric conditions).
Claim(s) 14, 16-17, 25 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobler, in view of US Publication 2025/0052677 to Copper et al.
Regarding claims 14, 16-17, 25 and 27-28, Dobler differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system and method further comprising:
[claim 14] wherein the series of optical measurements laser comprises spatially scanning the reflector;
[claim 16] wherein the series of optical measurements laser comprises changing a location of the reflector;
[claim 17] wherein the laser system further comprises a multicopter carrying the reflector;
[claim 25] wherein the reflector is a retroreflector, the laser fencing system further comprising: a laser slider mounting the laser emitter to slide the laser emitter; and a reflector slider mounting the retroreflector to slide the retroreflector;
[claim 27] further comprising a multicopter mounting the retroreflector;
[claim 28] wherein the reflector is positioned on a roof of the facility.
However, Cooper teaches and shows in Figures 1b and 3-4, a laser spectroscopy system for monitoring gas emissions from a worksite comprising: at least one laser sensor (160); a mobile platform (170) with a retroreflector; and a fixed platform (180) with a retroreflector; wherein the mobile platform may be an aerial vehicle (applicant’s multicopter) and the fixed platform may be a roof of the facility (par. 54, 61, 64, 77, 85, 87-88). Further, sliding mounting rails are well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Dobler to include a retroreflector or laser on a scannable mount, a movable aerial vehicle or a fixed roof location for the advantage of providing continuous enhanced fugitive gas coverage of an industrial facility, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobler, in view of US Publication 2024/0202404 to Bin Zainal Abidin et al.
Regarding claim 20, Dobler differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system and method further comprising:
[claim 20] further comprising: training a machine-learning model using a set of training data set comprising historical data of environmental conditions and historical data of emissions of the fugitive gas from the area of interest; and using the trained machine-learning model to updating the emission of the fugitive gas.
However, Bin Zainal Abidin teaches and shows in Figures 1-3, an apparatus and method for predicting fugitive gas leaks comprising: one or more sensors (120); an operations processing system (140) (par. 36, 42); a processor (200) which may include AI learning circuitry (210) and a fugitive leak prediction model (302); wherein the prediction model includes historical leak data (349), historical operations data (350), simulated data (353) and current conditions data (356) (par. 62-68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Dobler to include the machine-learning model discussed above for the advantage of enhancing detection and prediction of fugitive gas leaks, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobler, in view of US Publication 2024/0053265 to Alden et al.
Regarding claim 23, Dobler differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system and method further comprising:
[claim 23] wherein the reflector is a retroreflector, the laser fencing system further comprising:
a beam splitter to receive and split the laser from the laser emitter, forming a first laser and a second laser;
a first mirror positioned to reflect the first laser to the retroreflector; and
a second mirror positioned to reflect the second laser to the retroreflector,
wherein the retroreflector is configured to reflect the first laser back to the first mirror and reflect the second laser back to the second mirror, and optical paths of the first laser and the second laser collectively form a loop that defines the area of interest.
However, Alden teaches and shows in Figures 1, 4 and 7, a system and method for characterizing fugitive gas emissions further comprising: a spectrometer (302), which simultaneously emits two laser beams (406); a first mirror (402(1)) and a first retroreflector (304(1)), which define a plurality of optical legs of a perimeter of a sensing area; and a second mirror (402(2)) and a second retroreflector (304(2)), which define a plurality of optical legs of a perimeter of a sensing area (706) (par. 54, 58, 62-64). Further, beam splitters are well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Dobler to include the laser fencing configuration discussed above for the advantage monitoring a full perimeter area and simultaneously monitoring inflows and outflows of the area, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
JONATHAN M. HANSEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2877
/JONATHAN M HANSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877