DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8 and 13- 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 7 and 20, lines 2-3, “the curvature” should read “a curvature”.
In claim 8, line 2, “the height” should read “a height”.
In claim 13, line 3, “the couplant coating mechanism” should read “a couplant coating mechanism”.
In claim 13, line 4, “a scanning probe” should read “the scanning probe”.
In claim 14, line 3, “driving” should read “configured to drive”.
In claims 15-20, line 1, the “couplant coating mechanism” should read the “ultrasonic imaging system”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the "two extension portions” in line 2. It is unclear whether or not the two extension portions are in addition to the “extension portion” in claim 2. For examination purposes, Examiner of record takes the “extension portion” to be one of the two extension portions.
Claims 5 and 18 recite "there are a plurality of first channels”. However, claims 4 and 17 recite the “each wall portion is provided with the first channel” in line 5. It is unclear whether or not the plurality of first channels refers to the first channels, with one per each wall portion, as recited in claims 4 and 17. For examination purposes, Examiner of record takes this to be “the two first channels”.
Claim 11 recites the "two internal spaces” in line 2. It is unclear whether or not the two internal spaces correspond to the two parts in claim 10. For examination purposes, Examiner of record takes this to be “the two parts of the internal space”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a driving device… driving” in claim 14, line 3. Interpreted as a motor [0080].
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bambot (US 20220192632), hereinafter Bambot, in view of Arant et al (US20190150890), hereinafter Arant.
Regarding claim 1, Bambot teaches a couplant coating mechanism (Figs. 1-2 and 6-7A-H), comprising:
an engagement portion (618, 718A-H) engaging with a scanning probe (612, 712A-H), the engagement portion being provided with a first channel (611, 711A) (“the imaging system 600 includes numerous compression elements 718A-H that compress the breast tissue 604, 704A-H where each compression element 618, 718A-H includes a region opening 710A-H for direct contact of an ultrasound transducer 612, 712A-H to the tissue of the breast tissue 604, 704A-H.” [0052]; “In the embodiment of FIG. 6, the compression paddle 608 includes a compression element 618 that includes plural movable elements 650 that are slidable coupled within the compression paddle 608. The plural movable elements can include a first movable element 650a, a second movable element 650b, etc. where region opening can be disposed within the moveable elements…each movable element is spaced apart from an adjacent movable element 650 to form plural channels 611 across the compression element 618.” [0053]; “the gel is applied through channels between the movable elements, such as movable elements, or apertures within the moveable elements.” [0074]).
While teaching an accommodation portion comprising a main body portion (implicit) for accommodating a couplant ("the ultrasound gel" [0045]. A container is required to hold "the ultrasound gel" [0045] before applying the gel), the couplant flowing out along the first channel (“the gel is applied through channels between the movable elements, such as movable elements, or apertures within the moveable elements.” [0074]), Bambot does not teach an accommodation portion connected to the engagement portion, an internal space of the main body portion being in communication with the first channel, and the couplant accommodated in the main body portion flowing out along the first channel.
However, in the medical ultrasound field of endeavor, Arant discloses a gel application system, which is analogous art. Arant teaches an accommodation portion (102) connected to the engagement portion (108), an internal space of the main body portion being in communication with the first channel (“the container 102 further includes a section having a channel 110.” [0432]; Fig. 1A), and the couplant (“gel or fluid” [0432]) accommodated in the main body portion flowing out along the first channel (110) (“the container 102 further includes a section having a channel 110. The channel 110 has a first end in gel or fluid flow communication with the interior volume of the pocket of the container 102. The channel 110 has a second end that is open to (or in gel or fluid flow communication with) an outlet port through which gel may flow from the channel to the applicator 108 or to the environment external to the container 102, to discharge the gel 104 from the gel application system 100.” [0432]; Fig. 1A).
Therefore, based on Arant’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Bambot to have an accommodation portion connected to the engagement portion, an internal space of the main body portion being in communication with the first channel, and the couplant accommodated in the main body portion flowing out along the first channel, as taught by Arant, in order to improve tissue lubrication for higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 9, Bambot modified by Arant teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 1.
Bambot does not teach that the accommodation portion further comprises:
an extruding portion, the extruding portion being disposed inside the main body portion and being capable of moving to extrude the couplant; and
a driving portion, the driving portion driving the extruding portion to move.
However, in the medical ultrasound field of endeavor, Arant discloses a gel application system, which is analogous art. Arant teaches that the accommodation portion (926) further comprises:
an extruding portion (928), the extruding portion being disposed inside the main body portion and being capable of moving to extrude the couplant (“when the outlet plate and the second plate are rotated to a first state (an open state of the valve), the one or more openings in the respective plates are sufficiently aligned to allow gel to be expelled from the barrel 926, …, to dispense a volume of gel” [0492]; Fig. 9B); and
a driving portion, the driving portion driving the extruding portion to move (“the valve may include an electronic, magnetic, or electromagnetic valve that is operated by an electronic, magnetic or electromagnetic controller, to selectively open” [0434]).
Therefore, based on Arant’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Bambot to employ the accommodation portion that further comprises: an extruding portion, the extruding portion being disposed inside the main body portion and being capable of moving to extrude the couplant; and a driving portion, the driving portion driving the extruding portion to move, as taught by Arant, in order to improve tissue lubrication for a higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 10, Bambot modified by Arant teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 9.
Bambot does not teach that the extruding portion comprises a first flipping plate and a second flipping plate that divide the internal space of the main body portion into two parts, and the driving portion comprises a first motor and a second motor; and
the first motor is configured to drive the first flipping plate to move, so that the couplant on a side of the first flipping plate flows out, and
the second motor is configured to drive the second flipping plate to move, so that the couplant on a side of the second flipping plate flows out.
However, in the medical ultrasound field of endeavor, Arant discloses a gel application system, which is analogous art. Arant teaches that the extruding portion comprises a first flipping plate (“the outlet plate” [0491]) and a second flipping plate (“the second plate” [0491]) that divide the internal space of the main body portion into two parts (“the valve of the applicator includes a second plate arranged against and parallel to the outlet plate, where one or both of the plates are rotatable relative to each other between at least a first relative rotary position and a second relative rotary position of the plates." [0491]), and the driving portion comprises a first motor and a second motor (the two motors to make “both of the plates … rotatable relative to each other” [0491]; “the valve may include an electronic, magnetic, or electromagnetic valve that is operated by an electronic, magnetic or electromagnetic controller, to selectively open” [0434]); and
the first motor is configured to drive the first flipping plate to move (“an electronic, magnetic or electromagnetic controller, to selectively open” [0434]), so that the couplant on a side of the first flipping plate flows out (“to allow gel to be expelled from the barrel 926, …, to dispense a volume of gel” [0492]), and
the second motor is configured to drive the second flipping plate to move (“an electronic, magnetic or electromagnetic controller, to selectively open” [0434]), so that the couplant on a side of the second flipping plate flows out (“both of the plates are rotatable relative to each other…The second plate has an arrangement of openings or other pattern of one or more openings that correspond to or otherwise align with the one or more openings in the outlet plate to allow the passage of gel through the plates when the second plate and the outlet plate are in the first rotational position relative to each other, ” [0491]; “to allow gel to be expelled from the barrel 926, …, to dispense a volume of gel” [0492]).
Therefore, based on Arant’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Bambot to employ the extruding portion that comprises a first flipping plate and a second flipping plate that divide the internal space of the main body portion into two parts, and the driving portion comprises a first motor and a second motor; and the first motor that is configured to drive the first flipping plate to move, so that the couplant on a side of the first flipping plate flows out, and the second motor that is configured to drive the second flipping plate to move, so that the couplant on a side of the second flipping plate flows out, as taught by Arant, in order to improve tissue lubrication for a higher quality ultrasound imaging. A flipping plate rather than a rotatable plate is a device improvement with a predictable result of an easily controllable gel flow.
Regarding claim 11, Bambot modified by Arant teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 9.
Bambot does not teach that the main body portion is provided with two openings, the two openings being in communication with two internal spaces, respectively, which are separated by the first flipping plate and the second flipping plate.
However, in the medical ultrasound field of endeavor, Arant discloses a gel application system, which is analogous art. Arant teaches that the main body portion is provided with two openings (“openings” [0491]), the two openings being in communication with two internal spaces, respectively (first internal space is between the two plates and second internal space is above the second plate in Fig. 9B), which are separated by the first flipping plate and the second flipping plate (“the one or more openings in the respective plates" [0492]. Each opening in the respective plate is in communication with a respective internal space that is adjacent to the opening).
Therefore, based on Arant’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Bambot to employ the main body portion that is provided with two openings, the two openings being in communication with two internal spaces, respectively, which are separated by the first flipping plate and the second flipping plate, as taught by Arant, in order to improve tissue lubrication for a higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 12, Bambot modified by Arant teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 9.
Bambot does not teach that the main body portion further comprises:
an electrical connection portion, the electrical connection portion being connected to the driving portion to transmit electrical energy to the driving portion,
and the electrical connection portion comprising at least one of:
an electrical receiving terminal, the electrical receiving terminal being disposed on an inner side of the main body portion or the engagement portion, and cooperating with a power supply terminal of the scanning probe to receive the electrical energy; and
a cable, the cable receiving electrical energy from outside the couplant coating mechanism.
However, in the medical ultrasound field of endeavor, Arant discloses a gel application system, which is analogous art. Arant teaches that the main body portion further comprises:
an electrical connection portion, the electrical connection portion being connected to the driving portion to transmit electrical energy to the driving portion,
and the electrical connection portion comprising at least one of:
an electrical receiving terminal, the electrical receiving terminal being disposed on an inner side of the main body portion or the engagement portion, and cooperating with a power supply terminal of the scanning probe to receive the electrical energy; and
a cable, the cable receiving electrical energy from outside the couplant coating mechanism (“the valve may include an electronic, magnetic, or electromagnetic valve that is operated by an electronic, magnetic or electromagnetic controller, to selectively open” [0434]. A cable is required to operate an electronic, magnetic, or electromagnetic valve as disclosed in [0434]).
Therefore, based on Arant’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Bambot to employ the main body portion that further comprises: an electrical connection portion, the electrical connection portion being connected to the driving portion to transmit electrical energy to the driving portion, and the electrical connection portion comprising at least one of: an electrical receiving terminal, the electrical receiving terminal being disposed on an inner side of the main body portion or the engagement portion, and cooperating with a power supply terminal of the scanning probe to receive the electrical energy; and
a cable, the cable receiving electrical energy from outside the couplant coating mechanism, as taught by Arant, in order to improve tissue lubrication thereby achieving a higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 13, Bambot teaches an ultrasonic imaging system (100) (600) (“The imaging system 100” [0039], Fig. 1; “the imaging system 600” [0052]; Figs. 6 and 7A-7H), characterized by comprising:
a scanning assembly, comprising a scanning probe (612, 712A-H); and
a couplant coating mechanism (Figs. 6-7A-H), comprising:
an engagement portion (618, 718A-H) engaging with a scanning probe (612, 712A-H), the engagement portion being provided with a first channel (611, 711A) (“the imaging system 600 includes numerous compression elements 718A-H that compress the breast tissue 604, 704A-H where each compression element 618, 718A-H includes a region opening 710A-H for direct contact of an ultrasound transducer 612, 712A-H to the tissue of the breast tissue 604, 704A-H.” [0052]; “In the embodiment of FIG. 6, the compression paddle 608 includes a compression element 618 that includes plural movable elements 650 that are slidable coupled within the compression paddle 608. The plural movable elements can include a first movable element 650a, a second movable element 650b, etc. where region opening can be disposed within the moveable elements…each movable element is spaced apart from an adjacent movable element 650 to form plural channels 611 across the compression element 618.” [0053]; “the gel is applied through channels between the movable elements, such as movable elements, or apertures within the moveable elements.” [0074]).
While teaching an accommodation portion comprising a main body portion (implicit) for accommodating a couplant ("the ultrasound gel" [0045]. A container is required to hold "the ultrasound gel" [0045] before applying the gel), the couplant flowing out along the first channel (“the gel is applied through channels between the movable elements, such as movable elements, or apertures within the moveable elements.” [0074]), Bambot does not teach an accommodation portion connected to the engagement portion, an internal space of the main body portion being in communication with the first channel, and the couplant accommodated in the main body portion flowing out along the first channel.
However, in the medical ultrasound field of endeavor, Arant discloses a gel application system, which is analogous art. Arant teaches an accommodation portion (102) connected to the engagement portion (108), an internal space of the main body portion being in communication with the first channel (“the container 102 further includes a section having a channel 110.” [0432]; Fig. 1A), and the couplant (“gel or fluid” [0432]) accommodated in the main body portion flowing out along the first channel (110) (“the container 102 further includes a section having a channel 110. The channel 110 has a first end in gel or fluid flow communication with the interior volume of the pocket of the container 102. The channel 110 has a second end that is open to (or in gel or fluid flow communication with) an outlet port through which gel may flow from the channel to the applicator 108 or to the environment external to the container 102, to discharge the gel 104 from the gel application system 100.” [0432]; Fig. 1A).
Therefore, based on Arant’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Bambot to have an accommodation portion connected to the engagement portion, an internal space of the main body portion being in communication with the first channel, and the couplant accommodated in the main body portion flowing out along the first channel, as taught by Arant, in order to improve tissue lubrication for higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 14, Bambot modified by Arant teaches the ultrasonic imaging system according to claim 13, wherein Bambot teaches that the scanning assembly further comprises a frame (106), the frame accommodating the scanning probe and a driving device (“to robotically control the movement” [0043]) (“The FIGS. 1-5 illustrate an example imaging system 100. The imaging system 100 includes a compression and scanning assembly 102 for compressing breast tissue 104. The compression and scanning assembly 102 includes a stationary frame 106” [0039]; “the compression surface 108 with the open region 110 may be occupied by an ultrasound transducer 112 that can move over the breast tissue 104 for scanning the breast tissue 104 without the transducer losing contact with the breast tissue.” [0040]), the driving device driving the scanning probe to move within the frame to perform ultrasonic scanning (“the frame 106 of the compression and scanning assembly is equipped with the capability to robotically control the movement, orientation, and local pressure of the ultrasound transducer.” [0043]).
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bambot and Arant as applied to claim 1 and 13, and further in view of Lang et al (CN 209091424), hereinafter Lang.
Regarding claim 2, Bambot modified by Arant teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 1.
Bambot as modified by Arant does not teach that the accommodation portion further comprises an extension portion connected to the main body portion, the extension portion is provided with a second channel that is in communication with the internal space of the main body portion, and the internal space of the main body portion is in communication with the first channel via the second channel.
However, in the medical diagnostic ultrasound field of endeavor, Lang discloses an ultrasonic detection device, which is analogous art. Lang teaches that the accommodation portion further comprises an extension portion (11) connected to the main body portion, the extension portion is provided with a second channel (11) that is in communication with the internal space of the main body portion (12), and the internal space of the main body portion is in communication with the first channel (9-10) via the second channel (“Referring to FIG. 1~2, … an ultrasonic detection device, comprising a handle 1, …, coating the mesh enclosure 4, an ultrasonic probe 5, … a connecting pipe 9. coupling a discharging pipe 10, coupling the delivery tube 11, a coupling agent storage tank 12, through hole 13 and the internal thread 14, the agent storage tank 12 is provided with a coupler feeding pipe 11, a couplant delivery tube 11 the other end installed with a sleeve 7. the other end of sleeve is fixedly connected 7 with a connecting pipe 9, the connecting pipe 9 is internally and glidingly connected with the couplant to the discharge pipe 10, and one end of couplant discharging pipe 10 is a closed pipeline, coupling agent discharging pipe in the other end 10 is provided with an internal screw thread 14, discharging pipe, the other end of the coupling agent 10 by 14 screw thread of the inner screw thread is connected with a coating mesh enclosure 4, coating the outer surface of the mesh enclosure 4 fixedly connected with an ultrasonic probe 5, an ultrasonic probe 5 with an oscilloscope through electric control connecting wires to a multiple number of 3, the sleeve 7 close to the inside of one end of the coupler feeding tube 11 is provided with a mounting rod 2, coupling the discharge pipe 10 seals one end of the reset spring 8 is fixedly connected with the mounting rod 2 of the lower side wall,”; p. 3).
Therefore, based on Lang’ teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined invention of Bambot and Arant to have the accommodation portion that further comprises an extension portion connected to the main body portion, the extension portion being provided with a second channel that is in communication with the internal space of the main body portion, and the internal space of the main body portion being in communication with the first channel via the second channel, as taught by Lang, in order to improve tissue lubrication for higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 15, Bambot modified by Arant teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 13.
Bambot as modified by Arant does not teach that the accommodation portion further comprises an extension portion connected to the main body portion, the extension portion is provided with a second channel that is in communication with the internal space of the main body portion, and the internal space of the main body portion is in communication with the first channel via the second channel.
However, in the medical diagnostic ultrasound field of endeavor, Lang discloses an ultrasonic detection device, which is analogous art. Lang teaches that the accommodation portion further comprises an extension portion (11) connected to the main body portion, the extension portion is provided with a second channel (11) that is in communication with the internal space of the main body portion (12), and the internal space of the main body portion is in communication with the first channel (9-10) via the second channel (“Referring to FIG. 1~2, … an ultrasonic detection device, comprising a handle 1, …, coating the mesh enclosure 4, an ultrasonic probe 5, … a connecting pipe 9. coupling a discharging pipe 10, coupling the delivery tube 11, a coupling agent storage tank 12, through hole 13 and the internal thread 14, the agent storage tank 12 is provided with a coupler feeding pipe 11, a couplant delivery tube 11 the other end installed with a sleeve 7. the other end of sleeve is fixedly connected 7 with a connecting pipe 9, the connecting pipe 9 is internally and glidingly connected with the couplant to the discharge pipe 10, and one end of couplant discharging pipe 10 is a closed pipeline, coupling agent discharging pipe in the other end 10 is provided with an internal screw thread 14, discharging pipe, the other end of the coupling agent 10 by 14 screw thread of the inner screw thread is connected with a coating mesh enclosure 4, coating the outer surface of the mesh enclosure 4 fixedly connected with an ultrasonic probe 5, an ultrasonic probe 5 with an oscilloscope through electric control connecting wires to a multiple number of 3, the sleeve 7 close to the inside of one end of the coupler feeding tube 11 is provided with a mounting rod 2, coupling the discharge pipe 10 seals one end of the reset spring 8 is fixedly connected with the mounting rod 2 of the lower side wall,”; p. 3).
Therefore, based on Lang’ teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined invention of Bambot and Arant to have the accommodation portion that further comprises an extension portion connected to the main body portion, the extension portion being provided with a second channel that is in communication with the internal space of the main body portion, and the internal space of the main body portion being in communication with the first channel via the second channel, as taught by Lang, in order to improve tissue lubrication for higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bambot, Arant, and Lang as applied to claims 2 and 15, and further in view of Brocardo et al (US20130211250), hereinafter Brocardo.
Regarding claim 3, Bambot modified by Arant and Lang teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 2.
Bambot as modified by Arant and Lang does not teach that there are two extension portions oppositely disposed, and each extension portion is provided with the second channel.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Brocardo discloses ultrasound coupling liquid and container, which is analogous art. Brocardo teaches that there are two extension portions oppositely disposed (corresponding to 5,6) (“FIG. 2 shows an exemplary embodiment of a container of the present invention in exploded view. The container 10 comprises a first frame element 1 and a second frame element 2. In this embodiment, the frame elements 1,2 are generally of rectangular shape. On both sides of the frame elements 1,2 two wall elements 3,4 are affixed. Preferably, the frame elements 1,2 provide passages 11 for the insertion of tubes 5,6 into the cavity formed between the two walls 3,4... Between the walls 12 a cavity is formed.” [0061]), and each extension portion is provided with the second channel (“tubes 5,6” [0061]; Fig. 3a).
Therefore, based on Brocardo’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined invention of Bambot, Arant, and Lang to have two extension portions oppositely disposed, each extension portion being provided with the second channel, as taught by Brocardo, in order to improve tissue lubrication for higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 16, Bambot modified by Arant and Lang teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 15.
Bambot as modified by Arant and Lang does not teach that there are two extension portions oppositely disposed, and each extension portion is provided with the second channel.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Brocardo discloses ultrasound coupling liquid and container, which is analogous art. Brocardo teaches that there are two extension portions oppositely disposed (corresponding to 5,6) (“FIG. 2 shows an exemplary embodiment of a container of the present invention in exploded view. The container 10 comprises a first frame element 1 and a second frame element 2. In this embodiment, the frame elements 1,2 are generally of rectangular shape. On both sides of the frame elements 1,2 two wall elements 3,4 are affixed. Preferably, the frame elements 1,2 provide passages 11 for the insertion of tubes 5,6 into the cavity formed between the two walls 3,4... Between the walls 12 a cavity is formed.” [0061]), and each extension portion is provided with the second channel (“tubes 5,6” [0061]; Fig. 3a).
Therefore, based on Brocardo’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined invention of Bambot, Arant, and Lang to have two extension portions oppositely disposed, each extension portion being provided with the second channel, as taught by Brocardo, in order to improve tissue lubrication for higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Claims 4-5 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bambot and Arant as applied to claims 1 and 13, and further in view of Brocardo et al (US20130211250), hereinafter Brocardo.
Regarding claim 4, Bambot modified by Arant teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 1, wherein Bambot teaches that the engagement portion comprises two wall portions (the walls of the frame 106 on the left and right side in Fig. 2; [0047]), and a connection portion connecting the two wall portions (horizontal portions in Fig. 2); and
a gap (120) between the two wall portions is used for accommodating the scanning probe (“The frame 106 also includes a slot 120 that receives a rock and tilt assembly 122. In one example the slot 120 continuously extends about the perimeter of the frame 106. Optionally, the slot 120 comprises multiple slots disposed about the perimeter of the frame. In particular, the rock and tilt assembly 122 includes a subframe 124 that receives the ultrasound transducer 112,” [0047]).
Bambot as modified by Arant does not teach that each wall portion is provided with the first channel.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Brocardo discloses ultrasound coupling liquid and container, which is analogous art. Brocardo teaches that each wall portion (1,2) (3,4) is provided with the first channel (5,6) (“FIG. 2 shows an exemplary embodiment of a container of the present invention in exploded view. The container 10 comprises a first frame element 1 and a second frame element 2. In this embodiment, the frame elements 1,2 are generally of rectangular shape. On both sides of the frame elements 1,2 two wall elements 3,4 are affixed. Preferably, the frame elements 1,2 provide passages 11 for the insertion of tubes 5,6 into the cavity formed between the two walls 3,4… Between the walls 12 a cavity is formed.” [0061] “FIG. 3a shows a top view of an assembled container 10. Both wall elements 3,4 are fixed on the frame elements 1,2. This creates a border 8 at the edges of the wall elements 3,4… Between the wall elements 3,4 cavity 9 is formed. Tubes 5,6 are inserted into cavity 9 through passages 11. By means of the tubes 5,6 the container 10 may be connected to an ultrasound device or to a liquid circuit of an ultrasound device” [0062]).
Therefore, based on Brocardo’s, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined invention of Bambot and Arant to have each wall portion that is provided with the first channel, as taught by Brocardo, in order to improve tissue lubrication for higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 5, Bambot modified by Arant and Brocardo teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 4.
Bambot as modified by Arant does not teach that there are a plurality of first channels disposed extending from top to bottom.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Brocardo discloses ultrasound coupling liquid and container, which is analogous art. Brocardo teaches the first channels (5, 6) disposed extending from top to bottom (Fig. 5a)
Therefore, based on Brocardo’s, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined invention of Bambot and Arant to employ a plurality of first channels disposed extending from top to bottom, as taught by Brocardo, in order to improve tissue lubrication for a higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 17, Bambot modified by Arant teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 13, wherein Bambot teaches that the engagement portion comprises two wall portions (the walls of the frame 106 on the left and right side in Fig. 2; [0047]), and a connection portion connecting the two wall portions (horizontal portions in Fig. 2); and
a gap (120) between the two wall portions is used for accommodating the scanning probe (“The frame 106 also includes a slot 120 that receives a rock and tilt assembly 122. In one example the slot 120 continuously extends about the perimeter of the frame 106. Optionally, the slot 120 comprises multiple slots disposed about the perimeter of the frame. In particular, the rock and tilt assembly 122 includes a subframe 124 that receives the ultrasound transducer 112,” [0047]).
Bambot as modified by Arant does not teach that each wall portion is provided with the first channel.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Brocardo discloses ultrasound coupling liquid and container, which is analogous art. Brocardo teaches that each wall portion (1,2) (3,4) is provided with the first channel (5,6) (“FIG. 2 shows an exemplary embodiment of a container of the present invention in exploded view. The container 10 comprises a first frame element 1 and a second frame element 2. In this embodiment, the frame elements 1,2 are generally of rectangular shape. On both sides of the frame elements 1,2 two wall elements 3,4 are affixed. Preferably, the frame elements 1,2 provide passages 11 for the insertion of tubes 5,6 into the cavity formed between the two walls 3,4… Between the walls 12 a cavity is formed.” [0061] “FIG. 3a shows a top view of an assembled container 10. Both wall elements 3,4 are fixed on the frame elements 1,2. This creates a border 8 at the edges of the wall elements 3,4… Between the wall elements 3,4 cavity 9 is formed. Tubes 5,6 are inserted into cavity 9 through passages 11. By means of the tubes 5,6 the container 10 may be connected to an ultrasound device or to a liquid circuit of an ultrasound device” [0062]).
Therefore, based on Brocardo’s, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined invention of Bambot and Arant to have each wall portion that is provided with the first channel, as taught by Brocardo, in order to improve tissue lubrication for higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 18, Bambot modified by Arant and Brocardo teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 17.
Bambot as modified by Arant does not teach that there are a plurality of first channels disposed extending from top to bottom.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Brocardo discloses ultrasound coupling liquid and container, which is analogous art. Brocardo teaches the first channels (5, 6) disposed extending from top to bottom (Fig. 5a)
Therefore, based on Brocardo’s, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined invention of Bambot and Arant to employ a plurality of first channels disposed extending from top to bottom, as taught by Brocardo, in order to improve tissue lubrication for a higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Claims 6-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bambot, Arant, and Brocardo as applied to claims 4 and 17, and further in view of Stopek et al (US 20230218930), hereinafter Stopek.
Regarding claim 6, Bambot modified by Arant and Brocardo teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 4.
Bambot as modified by Arant and Brocardo does not teach that extending ends of the two wall portions each have a couplant outlet in communication with the first channel.
However, in the ultrasonic-wave treatments field of endeavor, Stopek discloses histotripsy acoustic and patient coupling systems and methods, which is analogous art. Stopek teaches that extending ends of the two wall portions (342, 344) each have a couplant outlet (seen between frame 342 and frame 344) in communication with the first channel (328) (“FIG. 3A is a detailed view of a coupling assembly or UMC 312 configured to couple the therapy and imaging system to a patient P. Also shown in FIG. 3A, the coupling assembly 312 can include … an ultrasound therapy transducer 302, a fluid 322 disposed within the membrane, an ultrasound imaging transducer 304, …, a fluidic inlet/outlet 328, …, a probe rotation handle 334, an air vent/fluidic tube 336, …, an upper UMC frame 342 and a lower UMC frame 344, a transducer assembly 346, and an ultrasound coupling medium 348, such as a gel or oil. It can be seen from FIG. 3A how the robotic arm and transducer assembly are able to move freely with respect to the coupling assembly and membrane.” [0150]).
Therefore, based on Stopek’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined invention of Bambot, Arant, and Brocardo to have extending ends of the two wall portions that each have a couplant outlet in communication with the first channel, as taught by Stopek, in order to improve tissue lubrication for a higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 7, Bambot modified by Arant, Brocardo, and Stopek teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 6.
Bambot as modified by Arant and Brocardo does not teach that the couplant outlet is an integral structure formed along the extending end, and the curvature of the couplant outlet matches that of an extending end of the scanning probe.
However, in the ultrasonic-wave treatments field of endeavor, Stopek discloses histotripsy acoustic and patient coupling systems and methods, which is analogous art. Stopek teaches that the couplant outlet is an integral structure formed along the extending end (the end structure in upper UMC frame 342 and a lower UMC frame 344), and the curvature of the couplant outlet (rectangular) matches that of an extending end of the scanning probe (leftmost or rightmost end of the probe 302, 304) (“Also shown in FIG. 3A, the coupling assembly 312 can include … an ultrasound therapy transducer 302, a fluid 322 disposed within the membrane, an ultrasound imaging transducer 304, …, a fluidic inlet/outlet 328, …, a probe rotation handle 334, an air vent/fluidic tube 336, …, an upper UMC frame 342 and a lower UMC frame 344, a transducer assembly 346, and an ultrasound coupling medium 348, such as a gel or oil.” [0150]).
Therefore, based on Stopek’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined invention of Bambot, Arant, and Brocardo to employ the couplant outlet that is an integral structure formed along the extending end, and the curvature of the couplant outlet that matches that of an extending end of the scanning probe, as taught by Stopek, in order to improve tissue lubrication for a higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 8, Bambot modified by Arant, Brocardo, and Stopek teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 6.
Bambot as modified by Arant and Brocardo does not teach that the height of the couplant outlet is higher than the height of an extending end of the scanning probe.
However, in the ultrasonic-wave treatments field of endeavor, Stopek discloses histotripsy acoustic and patient coupling systems and methods, which is analogous art. Stopek teaches that the height of the couplant outlet is higher than the height of an extending end of the scanning probe (leftmost or rightmost end of the probe 302, 304) (It can be seen from FIG. 3A how the robotic arm and transducer assembly are able to move freely with respect to the coupling assembly and membrane.” [0150]. The height of the couplant outlet can be higher than the height of the extending end because the transducer assembly is able to move freely).
Therefore, based on Stopek’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined invention of Bambot, Arant, and Brocardo to employ the height of the couplant outlet that is higher than the height of an extending end of the scanning probe, as taught by Stopek, in order to improve tissue lubrication for a higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 19, Bambot modified by Arant and Brocardo teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 17.
Bambot as modified by Arant and Brocardo does not teach that extending ends of the two wall portions each have a couplant outlet in communication with the first channel.
However, in the ultrasonic-wave treatments field of endeavor, Stopek discloses histotripsy acoustic and patient coupling systems and methods, which is analogous art. Stopek teaches that extending ends of the two wall portions (342, 344) each have a couplant outlet (seen between frame 342 and frame 344) in communication with the first channel (328) (“FIG. 3A is a detailed view of a coupling assembly or UMC 312 configured to couple the therapy and imaging system to a patient P. Also shown in FIG. 3A, the coupling assembly 312 can include … an ultrasound therapy transducer 302, a fluid 322 disposed within the membrane, an ultrasound imaging transducer 304, …, a fluidic inlet/outlet 328, …, a probe rotation handle 334, an air vent/fluidic tube 336, …, an upper UMC frame 342 and a lower UMC frame 344, a transducer assembly 346, and an ultrasound coupling medium 348, such as a gel or oil. It can be seen from FIG. 3A how the robotic arm and transducer assembly are able to move freely with respect to the coupling assembly and membrane.” [0150]).
Therefore, based on Stopek’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined invention of Bambot, Arant, and Brocardo to have extending ends of the two wall portions that each have a couplant outlet in communication with the first channel, as taught by Stopek, in order to improve tissue lubrication for a higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Regarding claim 20, Bambot modified by Arant, Brocardo, and Stopek teaches the couplant coating mechanism according to claim 19.
Bambot as modified by Arant and Brocardo does not teach that the couplant outlet is an integral structure formed along the extending end, and the curvature of the couplant outlet matches that of an extending end of the scanning probe.
However, in the ultrasonic-wave treatments field of endeavor, Stopek discloses histotripsy acoustic and patient coupling systems and methods, which is analogous art. Stopek teaches that the couplant outlet is an integral structure formed along the extending end (the end structure in upper UMC frame 342 and a lower UMC frame 344), and the curvature of the couplant outlet (rectangular) matches that of an extending end of the scanning probe (leftmost or rightmost end of the probe 302, 304) (“Also shown in FIG. 3A, the coupling assembly 312 can include … an ultrasound therapy transducer 302, a fluid 322 disposed within the membrane, an ultrasound imaging transducer 304, …, a fluidic inlet/outlet 328, …, a probe rotation handle 334, an air vent/fluidic tube 336, …, an upper UMC frame 342 and a lower UMC frame 344, a transducer assembly 346, and an ultrasound coupling medium 348, such as a gel or oil.” [0150]).
Therefore, based on Stopek’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined invention of Bambot, Arant, and Brocardo to employ the couplant outlet that is an integral structure formed along the extending end, and the curvature of the couplant outlet that matches that of an extending end of the scanning probe, as taught by Stopek, in order to improve tissue lubrication for a higher quality ultrasound imaging.
Conclusion
/ALEXEI BYKHOVSKI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798