DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chua et al. (US 2022/0254641), and further in view of Itoh et al. (US 2021/0249240).
Regarding Claims 1 and 10: Chua teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a chamber (Fig. 3A, element 378);
a lid (Fig. 3D, element 370) that is configured to seal the chamber, wherein the lid comprises:
a dielectric faceplate (element 360); and
a plurality of dielectric resonators (Fig. 3C, elements 366) coupled to the dielectric faceplate.
Chua does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of dielectric resonators are arranged in a ring-like pattern, and a gas line through the lid, wherein the gas line is within an inner perimeter of the ring-like pattern. However, Itoh teaches a chamber lid comprising a plurality of six evenly distributed microwave inlets arranged in a ring-like pattern and a plurality of gas holes inside each of window parts to be arranged in a ring shape outward of the dielectric windows (Fig. 2, [0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chua with the gas line through the lid wherein the gas line is within an inner perimeter of a ring-like pattern to shower the gas within the chamber as taught by Itoh.
Regarding Claims 2-4: Chua and Itoh teach the elements of Claim 1 as discussed above. Itoh is cited for teaching the resonator pattern, and further illustrates a shield as a ring or cylinder (elements 61) within the inner perimeter of the resonator pattern and wherein the gas line passes through the cylinder (at elements 60).
Regarding Claim 5: Chua further teaches that the plurality of dielectric resonators pass through the dielectric faceplate (Fig. 3C).
Regarding Claim 6: Chua further teaches that the dielectric resonators are each coupled to different microwave power sources [0005, 0040].
Regarding Claims 18-20: Chua teaches chamber lid, comprising:
a dielectric faceplate (element 360) with a plurality of openings (element 367); and
Chua teaches dielectric resonators within the openings but does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of openings are arranged in a ring-like pattern, and a gas line through the faceplate, wherein the gas line is within an inner perimeter of ring-like shield on a surface of the face plate. However, Itoh teaches a chamber lid comprising a plurality of six evenly distributed microwave inlets arranged in a ring-like pattern and a plurality of gas holes inside each of window parts to be arranged in a ring shape outward of the dielectric windows (Fig. 2, [0030]). Itoh further illustrates a shield as a ring or cylinder (elements 61) within the inner perimeter of the resonator pattern and wherein the gas line passes through the cylinder (at elements 60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chua with the gas line through the lid wherein the gas line is within an inner perimeter of a ring-like pattern to shower the gas within the chamber as taught by Itoh.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chua et al. (US 2022/0254641) and Itoh et al. (US 2021/0249240) as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Hawrylchak et al. (WO 2019/046000).
Regarding Claim 7: Chua and Itoh teach the elements of Claim 1 as discussed above. Chua further teaches a pedestal within the chamber (element 376) but does not expressly disclose that the pedestal is configured to rotate. However, this feature is well known in the art. For example, Hawrylchak teaches a system comprising a processing chamber having a rotatable pedestal (element 400) to support a substrate during processing [0062]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chua and Itoh with a rotatable pedestal to allow rotation of the substrate for more efficient processing, as suggested by Hawrylchak.
Claims 8 and 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chua et al. (US 2022/0254641) and Itoh et al. (US 2021/0249240) as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Lin (US 2024/0331989).
Regarding Claims 8 and 9: Chua and Itoh teach the elements of Claim 1 as discussed above, but do not expressly disclose an optical measurement assembly coupled to an optical port through the lid. However, Lin teaches sensors integrated with the lid of a process chamber to monitor properties of a plasma formed in the chamber above a pedestal, wherein the sensors include a reflectometer or spectrometer for measuring surfaces or plasma with a chamber (Fig. 3; [0019, 0038, 0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chua and Itoh with the optical measurement assembly in order to monitor properties of a plasma in the chamber, as suggested by Lin.
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawrylchak (WO 2019/046000) and further in view of Itoh et al. (US 2021/0249240).
Regarding Claims 11, 12, and 14: Hawrylchak teaches a semiconductor processing tool comprising:
a transfer chamber (element 904);
a first chamber (element 902a) coupled to the transfer chamber wherein the first chamber is configured to deposit a layer on a substrate supported by a susceptor [00107];
a second chamber (element 902b) coupled to the transfer chamber configured to perform plasma cleaning [00108].
Hawrylchak does not expressly disclose the second chamber is configured to clean the susceptor with a plasma localized over an outer region of the susceptor. However, Itoh teaches a processing chamber configured to produce a cleaning plasma in a plasma region around a ring-like pattern of resonators (see abstract; Figs. 2 and 3). Itoh teaches the chamber having a lid with the plurality of resonators evenly distributed microwave inlets arranged in a ring-like pattern and a plurality of gas holes inside each of window parts to be arranged in a ring shape outward of the dielectric windows (Fig. 2, [0030]). Itoh further illustrates a shield as a ring or cylinder (elements 61) within the inner perimeter of the resonator pattern and wherein the gas line passes through the cylinder (at elements 60) and the resonators form plasma around the shield. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hawrylchak with a chamber having the resonators to localize plasma and with the gas line through the lid wherein the gas line is within an inner perimeter of a ring-like pattern to shower the gas within the chamber as taught by Itoh.
Regarding Claim 13: Hawrylchak further teaches a susceptor comprises a recess for supporting the substrate (see Fig. 3, element 706). Hawrylchak does not expressly disclose a sidewall surface of the shield is configured to be within 10 mm of an edge of the recess when a susceptor is placed in the second chamber. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art as such in order to accommodate the susceptor for cleaning as necessary.
Regarding Claim 15: Hawrylchak and Itoh teach the elements of Claim 12 as discussed above. Itoh is cited for teaching the resonators and further teaches they are electrically coupled to different microwave power sources [0020].
Regarding Claim 16: Hawrylchak further teaches the chamber is configured to rotate the susceptor [0062].
Regarding Claim 17: Hawrylchak further teaches that the second chamber is configured as an etch chamber, and thus fully capable of removing the layer as claimed.
Conclusion
/NATASHA N CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714