DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the RCE received June 22, 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-22, 24-28 and 30-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,242,189 and claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,013,635 in view of MEYERS et al (20107/0102612).
MEYERS et al disclose alcohol solvents with tin alkoxide metal ligands as seen in para. [0042] and [0043] wherein the formation of the hydrolyzed organotin alkoxide release alcohol when hydrolyzed by water and can be dissolved in a protic solvent such as an alcohol as taught to the skilled artisan for the coating composition.
The claims of the current application are generic to the claims of U.S. Patent 12,242,189 and 12,013,635 wherein the other components of the reaction are not recited, but their presence is necessary to form the organotin compound with hydrolyzable groups. The claim is in essence a product-by-process claim wherein the final product of the reaction of the compound of Chemical formula (I) would be the organotin compound with hydrolysable group defined as X.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of metal containing photosensitive compositions to add alcohol as a solvent as taught by MEYERS et al with the reasonable expectation for an organometal tin containing composition having high resolution at a relatively low radiation does and is useful for EUV patterning.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as recited above and would extend the grant to an obvious invention beyond the 20-year term from filing.
The rejection is repeated wherein the ODP continues to extend the grant of the two cited U.S. Patents above due to the product-by-process claims wherein the compounds derived from the reaction of Chemical Formula 2 would yield a product that would be the same as those claimed in the U.S. Patents namely, being Chemical Formula 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-22, 24-28, and 30-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEYERS et al (2017/0102612)).
The claimed invention now recites the following:
MEYERS et al disclose a tin containing composition comprising a precursor as prepared from Example 4, page 15, para. [0122] to [0128] and reported in Example 5 comprising the BuSn (NEt2)3 meeting the claimed Chemical Formula 2 above in claim 19. The composition comprises a solvent, wherein the water would come from the water vapor as reported in para. [0008]:
.
The products from the precursor compound of Chemical Formula 2 would be the same or similar to those disclosed in MEYERS et al whether the water came from vapor or liquid water since the claim recites a derived product from the compound of Chemical Formula 2.
With respect to the method claim 31, Example 5 disclose a patterning process wherein the coating compositions are deposited on a silicon wafers, exposed to EUV light, post-exposure baked and then contacted with 5-heptanone to form a negative image. Applicants are directed to para. [0100] wherein the pattern process can be followed by an etching step to transfer the pattern to the substrate, see below:
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of organometallic compositions having a tin compound derived from t-Bu Sn (Et2 )3 dissolved in a solvent and contacted with water vapor, exposed and developed to have patterned images which can be transferred to the substrate with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for high patterns with low LWR for high-integration and improved circuit function.
The rejection is repeated wherein MEYERS et al disclose alcohol solvents in a reaction with a compound derived from the same organotin precursor, t-Bu Sn (Et2 )3 . This would yield the same product suitable for formation of a photoresist pattern when exposed to deep UV radiation as reported in paras. [0042] and [0043] wherein the formation of the hydrolyzable organotin alkoxide release alcohol when hydrolyzed by water and can be dissolved in a protic solvent such as an alcohol as taught to the skilled artisan for the coating composition.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of metal containing photosensitive compositions to add alcohol as a solvent as taught by MEYERS et al with the reasonable expectation of success for forming an organometal tin containing hydrolyzable ligands having high resolution at a relatively low radiation dose and is useful for EUV patterning.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JIANG et al (2023/0143592) is cited to disclose the stability of an organotin composition with the addition of water a content of 100 ppm to 10000 ppm.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
June 27, 2026