DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 6/22/26 has been considered and entered. Claim 9 has been canceled. Claim 21 has been added. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Considering the response filed 6/22/26, the 35 USC 112 and 103 rejections have been withdrawn, however, the following rejection has been necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 8, the claim is confusing as to how the formation of SixNy would prevent the formation of SixNy? Is this the prevention of another Si?N? layer? Is this prevention of the same SixNy layer? Clarification is requested.
Regarding clam 21, the claims is unclear and confusing as to how exposing a silicon precursor layer with hydrogen would produce a SixNy layer as the other components are recited as “optional” as well as if Ar or He were chosen, no nitrogen would be present and therefore formation of SixNy is questioned. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,5-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark (2008/0242116) in combination with Sharma et al. (2020/0286725).
Clark (2008/0242116) teaches a method of forming strained silicon nitride films and device containing such films. Clark (2008/0242116) teaches exposing the substrate to a gas including s silicon precursor, exposing the substrate to a gas containing a nitrogen precursor activated by a plasma source at a first level of power configured to react with the silicon precursor (claimed first silicon nitride (SixNy) layer) and exposing the substrate to a gas containing a nitrogen precursor activated by the plasma source at a second level of power and configured to react with the silicon precursor reacted with the first nitrogen source to provide a strained silicon nitride film (claimed first treated silicon nitride (SixNy) layer) (abstract and [0009]). Clark (2008/0242116) teaches repeating the steps a number of times which would meet the claimed second SiNy layer and teaches using PEALD ([0003],[0010] and [0019]). Clark (2008/0242116) teaches using ammonia (NH3) and (N2) in the first and second plasma steps [0022]. Clark (2008/0242116) teaches a PEALD process and exposes substrate to silicon precursor, exposing the silicon precursor to a plasma mixture including NH3, N2 and Ar and/or He and a second plasma including N2 and Ar and/or He or a first plasma of N2 and Ar and/or He and a second plasma including NH3, N2 and Ar and/or He.
Clark (2008/0242116) fails to teach the specific atomic percentage of ammonia in the plasma to be 0.1 atomic% to 25 atomic percent.
Sharma et al. (2020/0286725) teaches forming a silicon-based film including SiN whereby a reactive species generated by a plasma from nitrogen whereby the plasma includes 25 atomic % nitrogen or less. The nitrogen plasma can also include hydrogen (H2) and/or nitrogen (N2) as well as ammonia (NH3) [0046],[0095].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Clark (2008/0242116) process to include using a nitrogen plasma having 25 atomic percent or less of ammonia as evidenced by Sharma et al. (2020/0286725) with the expectation f producing the desired SiN film.
Regarding claim 2, the substrate for depositing the SiN film thereon includes Si, Ge or SiGe [0023].
Regarding claim 5, the pressure in the process chamber is from 0.1 Torr to 100 Torr which fully encompasses the claimed 0.1-20 Torr [0037].
Regarding claim 6, the substrate temperature control for the process includes from room temperature to approximately 350C-550C or from 150-C to 350C which encompasses most of the claimed temperature of 100C-600C [0035].
Regarding claim 7, Clark (2008/0242116) fails to teach the claimed thickness, however, Clark (2008/0242116) uses a PEALD process which forms atomic layers and hence would be suggestive of forming within the claimed range of 0 angstroms to 15 angstroms.
Regarding claim 8, the claim inherently meets the “preventing formation of the one or more” as Clark (2008/0242116) teaches forming SiN on the same substrate materials of Si, Ge or SiGe by similar process PEALD and hence would possess the same characteristics of “prevention”.
Regarding claims 10 and 13, Clark (2008/0242116) teaches using N2 and NH3 and combination thereof [0039] as well as including inert gas such as argon (Ar) [0054],[0069].
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Clark (2008/0242116) teaches using in addition to the gases a dilution gas including helium (He) [0069].
Regarding claim 14, Sharma et al. (2020/0286725) teaches forming a silicon-based film including SiN whereby a reactive species generated by a plasma from nitrogen whereby the plasma includes 25 atomic % nitrogen or less. The nitrogen plasma can also include hydrogen (H2) and/or nitrogen (N2) as well as ammonia (NH3) [0046],[0095].
Regarding claims 15-20, Clark (2008/0242116) teaches a PEALD process and exposes substrate to silicon precursor, exposing the silicon precursor to a plasma mixture including NH3, N2 and Ar and/or He and a second plasma including N2 and Ar and/or He or a first plasma of N2 and Ar and/or He and a second plasma including NH3, N2 and Ar and/or He.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark (2008/0242116) in combination with Sharma et al. (2020/0286725) further in combination with either Alokozai et al. (9,605,342) or Swaminathan et al. (8,956,983).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Clark (2008/0242116) in combination with Sharma et al. (2020/0286725) are incorporated here.
Clark (2008/0242116) in combination with Sharma et al. (2020/0286725) teaches remote plasma [0003],[0016],[0044]; ICP [0041] or microwave [0042],[0044] as the plasma generation sources but fails to teach the first plasma, second plasma and the plasma for PEALD are all independently generated.
Alokozai et al. (9,605,342) teaches a process gas management for inductively coupled plasma deposition reactor whereby using a ICP system (104) may include a plurality of independent ICP coils and associated power supplies capable of independently varying the plasma density with the plasma zones (col. 11, lines 4-11).
Swaminathan et al. (8,956,983) teaches plasma activated atomic layer deposition whereby in certain embodiments, RF power may include independently controlled high-frequency RF power and low-frequency RF power generated by RF power sources which may be operated independently of one another (col. 14, lines 20-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Clark (2008/0242116) in combination with Sharma et al. (2020/0286725) SiN PEALD process to include independently controlling the first plasma, second plasma and the plasma of the PEALD process as evidenced by Alokozai et al. (9,605,342) or Swaminathan et al. (8,956,983) with the expectation of more control of the process in forming SiN layers.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,8-12,14,15 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,626,281 in combination with Sharma et al. (2020/0286725). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in the instant application the claims recite forming SixNy films and using NH3 and N2 while 11,626,281 teaches forming reactive species and using NH* radicals and N* radicals but both formed SiN films by forming a precursor layer and treating with a first and second plasma to form the SiN films and repeating. Sharma et al. (2020/0286725) teaches forming a silicon-based film including SiN whereby a reactive species generated by a plasma from nitrogen whereby the plasma includes 25 atomic % nitrogen or less. The nitrogen plasma can also include hydrogen (H2) and/or nitrogen (N2) as well as ammonia (NH3) [0046],[0095].
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 10-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that claim 8 is not confusing but argues that the SixNy prevent formation of “non-stoichiometric nitridation layer”, however, the claim does not refer to the SixNy as being “non-stoichiometric”. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argued Clark (2008/0242116) fails to tecah the plasma to include a range from 0.1 atomic % to 25 atomic % of ammonia or nitrogen.
Sharma et al. (2020/0286725) teaches this as detailed above.
Applicant argued the nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,8-12,14,15 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,626,281 should be withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
The Examiner disagrees. Sharma et al. (2020/0286725) teaches the claimed atomic percentage of nitrogen precursor.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712