DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 11, 13-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wada et al (Pub. No.: US 2006/0044924).
3. Regarding independent claim 11, Wada et al teaches a memory system (Fig. 1) comprising: a plurality of memory cells including a first group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory), a second group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory), a third group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory), and a fourth group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory); a first sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) configured to apply a first control signal (Fig. 1, #51 and #59, where each 1st-4th sub wordline driver has at least one #59 send control signal to #50) to the first group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory); a second sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) configured to apply a second control signal (Fig. 1, #51 and #59, where each 1st-4th sub wordline driver has at least one #59 send control signal to #50) to the second group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory); a third sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) to apply a third control signal (Fig. 1, #51 and #59, where each 1st-4th sub wordline driver has at least one #59 send control signal to #50) to the third group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory); and a fourth sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) to apply a fourth control signal (Fig. 1, #51 and #59, where each 1st-4th sub wordline driver has at least one #59 send control signal to #50) to the fourth group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory); a common word line driver (Fig. 1, #52) configured to apply a common control signal (Fig. 1, #60 where #60 send control signal to each #51 to apply to plurality memory cells) to the plurality of memory cells through a common word line (Fig. 1, #60) extending along a lateral direction (see Fig. 1); wherein the common word line driver (Fig. 1, #52) is disposed opposite (see Fig. 1) the first sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) from the first group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory) along the lateral direction (see Fig. 1).
4. Regarding claim 13, Wada et al teaches a first word line strap (see Fig. 3) disposed between the first group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory) and the second group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory); and a second word line strap (see Fig. 3) disposed between the third group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory) and the fourth group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory).
5. Regarding claim 14, Wada et al teaches a first sub-word line (Fig. 1, #59) configured to electrically couple the first sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) to the first group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory); a second sub-word line (Fig. 1, #59) configured to electrically couple the second sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) to the second group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory); a third sub-word line (Fig. 1, #59) configured to electrically couple the third sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) to the third group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory); and a fourth sub-word line (Fig. 1, #59) configured to electrically couple the fourth sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) to the fourth group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory).
6. Regarding claim 15, Wada et al teaches each of the first to fourth sub-word lines (Fig. 1, #59) is shorter than (see Fig. 1) the common word line (Fig. 1, #60).
7. Regarding claim 16, Wada et al teaches the first sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) includes a first interface circuit (Fig. 1, #511) configured to protect the first group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory) and abutting the first group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory), the second sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) includes a second interface circuit (Fig. 1, #511) configured to protect the second group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory) and abutting the second group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory), the third sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) includes a third interface circuit (Fig. 1, #511) configured to protect the third group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory) and abutting the third group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory), and the fourth sub-word line driver (Fig. 1, #51, there are at least four #51 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th sub-wordline driver) includes a fourth interface circuit (Fig. 1, #511) configured to protect the fourth group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory) and abutting the fourth group of memory cells (Fig. 1, #50, there are at least four groups #50 from left to right corresponding to 1st-4th group memory).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim(s) 1-10, 17-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. With respect to claim 1, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation for combination in the prior art to a second group of memory cells abutted to the first group of memory cells; a first sub-word line driver disposed opposite the first group of memory cells from the second group of memory cells; a second sub-word line driver disposed opposite the second group of memory cells from the first group of memory cells.
10. With respect to dependent claims 2-10, since these claims are depending on claim 1, therefore claims 2-10 are allowable subject matter.
11. With respect to independent claims 17, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation for combination in the prior art to the first group of memory cells and the second group of memory cells are disposed next to each other, with the first sub-word line driver separated from the second group of memory cells by the first group of memory cells, and with the second sub-word line driver separated from the first group of memory cells by the second group of memory cells.
12. With respect to dependent claims 18-20, since these claims are depending on claim 17, therefore claims 18-20 are allowable subject matter.
13 Claim 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
13. With respect to claim 12, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation for combination in the prior art to wherein the common word line driver, the first sub-word line driver, the first group of memory cells, the second group of memory cells, the second sub-word line driver, the third sub-word line driver, the third group of memory cells, the fourth group of memory cells, and the fourth sub-word line driver are disposed next to one another in such a sequence along the lateral direction.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, Kang (Pub. No: US 2005/0024915).
Kang (Pub. No: US 2005/0024915) shows global and local word line drivers.
15. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Han Yang whose telephone is (571) 270-3048. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8am-5pm with alternate Friday off. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Richard Elms can be reached on (571) 272-1869. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
HY
09/02/2026
/HAN YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824