DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species A shown in figures 1A-1F in the reply filed on 10/6/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no serious search burden on the species. This is not found persuasive because each of the patentable distinct header requires different text search queries. For example, the search for two constriction passages with narrow areas in species F is not required for species A. Therefore, there is a serious search and/or examination burden for the examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The examiner further withdraw claims 3, 9, 10, 12 and 18-19 from consideration since they do not direct to the elected species A shown in figures 1A-1F.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the first direction " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the plurality of microchannel tubes " in lines 5 and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the first direction " and “the second direction” in line 3. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4,8, 11, 13, 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Omura et al. (JP 2020173071A). Regarding claim 1, Omura discloses (figure 7) a laminated header for a microchannel heat exchanger, the laminated header comprising a distribution plate (VII-2) comprising a first cut-out section (23) of a first shape extending along a longitudinal axis of the distribution plate, wherein a width of the first cut-out section at least partially decreases along the longitudinal axis; (the width of the cut-out section 23 partially decreases at the inlet 21-1, see figure 7) a hole plate (VII-3) comprising a plurality of bore holes (22-1) formed therein and separated by a distance therebetween; a section plate (Vii-4) comprising a plurality of second cut-out sections (23-2) of a second shape different from the first shape; and wherein the hole plate (Vii-3) is parallelly stacked between the distribution plate and the section plate. Regarding the limitation of “for microchannel heat exchanger”, it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Krobpa v. Robie, 88 USPQ478.
Regarding claim 2, Omura et al. further discloses (figure 7) an inlet plate (VII-1) having an inlet bore-hole (21) defined at one end of the inlet plate, and wherein a width of the first cut-out section (23) decreases from a bottom end toward a top end of the distribution plate. (the limitation of top and bottom is a relative term and it depends on the orientation of the plate, in this case, the top bottom end of the plate is located in the upper end and the top end is located at the lower end as the plate is rotated in 180 degrees).
Regarding claim 4, Omura et al. further discloses (figure 7) an inlet plate (Vii-1) having an inlet bore-hole (21) defined at a top end of the inlet plate, and wherein the width of the first cut-out section decreases from a top end toward a bottom end of the distribution plate. (the limitation of top and bottom is a relative term and it depends on the orientation of the plate, in this case, the top bottom end of the plate is located in the upper end and the top end is located at the lower end as the plate is rotated in 180 degrees. Therefore, the either end of the plate is called top or bottom end depending on how the plate is viewed).
Regarding claim 8, Omura et al. discloses (figure 7) a distribution plate (Vii-4) comprises a first cut-out section (23-2) has a trapezoidal shape with the width decreasing from a bottom end toward a top end of the distribution plate; a hole plate (VII-5) comprising a plurality of bore-holes (22-2) formed therein and separated by a distance therebetween; a section plate (VII-6) comprising a plurality of cut-out sections (112) of a second shape different from the first shape; and wherein the hole plate (VII-5) is parallelly stacked between the distribution plate (VII-4) and the section plate (VII-6).
Regarding claim 11, with the same interpretation as claim 8 about the distribution plate, hole plate and section plate, Omura further discloses (figure 7) that the plurality of second cut-out section (112) associated with the section plate (VII-6) has a rectangular or square profile.
Regarding claim 13, Omura et al. further discloses (figure 6) an inlet plate (110P) having an inlet bore hole (21-1), a hole plate (110R) with a plurality of bore-holes (22-2); a section plate (110S) with second cut-outs (23-3) and wherein a distribution plate (110Q), that has first cut-out section (23-1) has a thickness that is greater than a thickness of each of the inlet plate (110P) defining the inlet bore-hole (21-1) and the hole plate (110R); and a width of the first cut-out section (23-1) at least partially decreases along the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 14, Omura et al. further discloses (figure 7) the laminated header is configured to allow a fluid from an inlet bore-hole (21) defined on an inlet plate (VII-1) to flow within the first cut-out section (23) of the distribution plate (VII-2) in along the longitudinal axis, between a top end and a bottom end, of the distribution plate.
Regarding claim 16, with the same interpretation as claim 8 about the distribution plate, hole plate and section plate, Omura et al. further discloses (figure 7) adjacent second cutout sections (112) among the plurality of second cut-out sections of the section plate (VII-6) are separated by a baffle extending in a direction, orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction along a width of the section plate. (the baffle is a horizontal divider separates the two cutouts 112)
Regarding claim 17, Omura et al. further discloses (figure 7) the distribution plate(VII-2), the hole plate (VIII-3), and the section plate (VII-4) are parallelly stacked between an inlet plate (VII-1) and a tube plate (VII-7), and wherein an inlet bore-hole (21) of the inlet plate (VII-1) is formed at a corresponding widthwise center of the inlet plate; the plurality of bore holes (22-1) are formed at a corresponding widthwise center of the hole plate (Vii-2); a plurality of slots (110Y) of the tube plate (110X) are formed at a corresponding width-wise center of a width of a tube plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura et al. (JP 2020173071A) in view of Sathyamurthi (CA 3025537A1).
Regarding claim 5, Omura et al. further discloses (figure 7) a tube plate (Vii-7) comprising a plurality of slots (110Y), wherein the laminated header is configured to receive and secure, within the plurality of slots (110Y), an end of a plurality of tubes (31) of the heat exchanger. Omura does not disclose that the tube are microchannel tubes. Sathyamurthi discloses (figures 2, 3a and 3b) a heat exchanger that has a plurality of heat exchanger tubes are microchannel tubes for a purpose of increasing the heat transfer coefficient of the tube. (page 11, lines 2-6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Sathyamurthi’s teaching in Omura’s device for a purpose of increasing the heat transfer coefficient of the tubes.
Regarding claim 6, Omura further discloses (figure 7) that the distribution plate (VII-2), the hole plate (VII-3), and the section plate (VII-4) are parallelly stacked between an inlet plate (VII-1) and a tube plate (VII-7), and are brazed together to form the laminated header, and wherein an end of a plurality of tubes (31) of the heat exchanger is inserted within a plurality of slots (110Y) of the tube plate (110X) and brazed to create a leak-proof connection between the laminated header and the plurality of tubes. Omura does not disclose that the tube are microchannel tubes. Sathyamurthi discloses (figures 2, 3a and 3b) a heat exchanger that has a plurality of heat exchanger tubes are microchannel tubes for a purpose of increasing the heat transfer coefficient of the tube. (page 11, lines 2-6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Sathyamurthi’s teaching in Omura’s device for a purpose of increasing the heat transfer coefficient of the tubes.
Regarding claim 7, Omura et al. further discloses (figure 7) that the laminated header form a fluidic passage extends from an inlet bore-hole (21) towards the plurality of slots (110X) while extending in a first direction along the longitudinal axis, and further extending from the first cut-out section (23) into each of the second cut-out sections (23-2) and the plurality of slots, via the plurality of bore-holes (22-1), in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and extending towards the plurality of slots.
Regarding claim 15, Omura et al. further discloses (figures 1 and 7) that the laminated header is further configured to allow uniform flow of the fluid from the first cut-out section (23) into each of the second cut-out sections (23-2) of the section plate (VII-4) via the plurality of bore-holes (22-1) of the hole plate, in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and extending towards the plurality of tubes (31), and wherein the laminated header further allows uniform flow of the fluid from the plurality of second cut-out sections (23-2) into one or more ports associated with each of the tubes (31) via a plurality of slots (110Y) of a tube plate (VII-7). Omura does not disclose that the tube are microchannel tubes. Sathyamurthi discloses (figures 2, 3a and 3b) a heat exchanger that has a plurality of heat exchanger tubes are microchannel tubes for a purpose of increasing the heat transfer coefficient of the tube. (page 11, lines 2-6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Sathyamurthi’s teaching in Omura’s device for a purpose of increasing the heat transfer coefficient of the tubes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hirokawa et al. (US 11,549,733B2) discloses a heat exchanger and heat pump device.
Akaiwa et al. (US 20200018528A1) discloses a distribution and heat exchanger.
Demuth et al. (US 7,650,935B2) discloses a heat exchanger.
Dong et al. (CN 202885598U) discloses a heat exchanger.
Hayashi et al. (WO 2018116413A1) discloses a distributor for a heat exchanger.
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763