DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, corresponding to originally filed Claims 1-3, in the reply filed on 19 May 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Claims 4-5, 7, and 11-16, corresponding to Species II, III, V, VIII, IX, and X, “all relate to the embodiment illustrated in Figure 8 of the present application,” “are not patentably distinct,” and, therefore, should be examined together without “any serious or undue search burden on the Examiner.” This is found persuasive.
Therefore, Claims 4-5, 7, and 11-16 are rejoined with Species I and Claims 1-3.
The restriction requirement with respect to Claims 6, 8-10, and 17-20 has not been traversed.
Thus, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL with respect to Species IV, VI, VII, XI, XII, and XIII, corresponding to originally filed Claims 6, 8-10, and 17-20.
Claims 6, 8-10, and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 19 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim” US 2023 / 0217693) in view of An et al. (hereinafter “An” US 2018 / 0143717).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, and Fig. 7A) a display device (DD; see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0059] and [0068]), comprising:
a display panel (DM; see Page 5, Para. [0075] and [0081]-[0084]; and Page 6, Para. [0089]-[0090] and [0092]) comprising an organic layer (BS; see Page 6, Para. [0095]), a light emitting element (see (OL1, OL2, OL3); see Page 6, Para. [0098]-[0099]) disposed on the organic layer (BS), and a thin-film encapsulation layer (EN2; see Page 7, Para. [0108]) sealing the light emitting element (OL1, OL2, OL3); and
an input sensor (i.e., an input sensing module, not shown, disposed on the display panel (DM); see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0072]-[0073]) comprising a sensing electrode (i.e., a capacitive, resistive, infrared, or pressure electrode implicit in the input sensor) disposed on the display panel (DM),
wherein the light emitting element (OL1, OL2, OL3) comprises:
a first light emitting element (OL1) configured to provide a first light emitting area (i.e., a central area of (OL1) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) having a first surface area (i.e., as defined by the corresponding flat portion of (EN1)); and
a second light emitting element (OL2) configured to provide a second light emitting area (i.e., a central area of (OL2) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) having a second surface area (i.e., as defined by the corresponding flat portion of (EN1)) that is greater than the first surface area (i.e., as defined by the corresponding flat portion of (EN1); note that as shown in Fig. 7A, the surface area of (OL1) is smaller than the surface area of (OL2), and the surface area of (OL2) is smaller than the surface area of (OL3); also see Fig. 4), and
wherein a first distance (TH1) between the first light emitting element (OL1) and the input sensor (i.e., the input sensing module, not shown, disposed on the display panel (DM)) is less than a second distance (TH2) between the second light emitting element (OL2) and the input sensor (i.e., the input sensing module, not shown, disposed on the display panel (DM)) in a thickness direction (i.e., a vertical direction of Fig. 7A) of the display device (DD; see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0187]-[0191]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the structural features of the input sensor. That is, Kim does not explicitly disclose that the input sensor comprises a sensing electrode comprising a line element defining an opening area corresponding to the light emitting element. However, this structure is well-known in the art.
In fact, in the same field of endeavor, An discloses (see Fig. 4, Fig. 7, Fig. 10, and Fig. 19) that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a display device comprising an input sensor (TS), wherein the input sensor (TS) comprises a sensing electrode (see Fig. 7 and (Tx, Rx) in Fig. 10) disposed on a display panel (see (E2, EL, E1) in Fig. 4; see Page 4, Para. [0112]-[0116]), wherein the sensing electrode (TS) comprises a line element (see Fig. 7) defining an opening area corresponding to a light emitting element (EL) of the display panel (see Page 5, Para. [0132]-[0135] and [0137]; also see Page 6, Para. [0164]; Page 7, Para. [0183]-[0184] and [0196]-[0200]; and Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0210]-[0212]). It is a goal of An to provide a display device structure comprising an input sensor in which a sensing electrode is disposed on a display panel in a manner that allows for improved touch sensitivity, simple fabrication, and reduced thickness (see Page 1, Para. [0017]-[0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of An, such that the input sensor comprises a sensing electrode comprising a line element defining an opening area corresponding to the light emitting element, in the manner suggested by An, in order to provide a display device and input sensor structure that allows for improved touch sensitivity, simple fabrication, and reduced thickness.
As pertaining to Claim 2, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, and Fig. 7A) that the organic layer (BS) comprises:
a first area (i.e., an area corresponding to the central area of (OL1) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) overlapping the first light emitting element (OL1); and
a second area (i.e., an area corresponding to the central area of (OL2) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) overlapping the second light emitting element (OL2),
wherein a thickness (i.e., a width) of the first area is greater than a thickness (i.e., a width) of the second area (see Fig. 7A; and see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0187]-[0191]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, and Fig. 7A) that the first area (i.e., the area corresponding to the central area of (OL1) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) and the second area (i.e., the area corresponding to the central area of (OL2) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) of the organic layer (BS) together have a single integrated body (see Fig. 7A), and
wherein a step (i.e., a difference in width) is defined between the first area (i.e., the area corresponding to the central area of (OL1) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) and the second area (i.e., the area corresponding to the central area of (OL2) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) of the organic layer (BS; again, see Fig. 7A; and see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0187]-[0191]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, and Fig. 7A) that an electrode (AE1) of the first light emitting element (OL1) is in contact (i.e., via layer (DP-CL)) with the first area (i.e., the area corresponding to the central area of (OL1) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) of the organic layer (BS), and an electrode (AE2) of the second light emitting element (OL2) is in contact (i.e., via layer (DP-CL)) with the second area (i.e., the area corresponding to the central area of (OL2) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) of the organic layer (BS; see Fig. 7A and Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0100]-[0101]).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, and Fig. 7A) that the thin-film encapsulation layer (EN2) comprises:
a first area (i.e., an area corresponding to the central area of (OL1) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) overlapping the first light emitting element (OL1); and
a second area (i.e., an area corresponding to the central area of (OL2) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) overlapping the second light emitting element (OL2),
wherein a thickness (i.e., a width or a height) of the first area of the thin-film encapsulation layer (EN2) is less than a thickness (i.e., a width or a height) of the second area of the thin-film encapsulation layer (EN2; see Fig. 7A; and see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0187]-[0191]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, and Fig. 7A) a pixel defining layer (DP-OL) disposed on the organic layer (BS),
wherein each of the first light emitting element (OL1) and the second light emitting element (OL2) comprises a first electrode (AE1, AE2), a second electrode (CE), and a light emitting layer (EM1, EM2) disposed between the first electrode (AE1, AE2) and the second electrode (CE),
wherein a first opening (i.e., spacing) exposing the first electrode (AE1) of the first light emitting element (OL1) and a second opening (i.e., spacing) exposing the first electrode (AE2) of the second light emitting element (OL2) are defined in the pixel defining layer (DP-OL),
wherein the first electrode (AE1) of the first light emitting element (OL1), which is exposed by the first opening (i.e., the first spacing), is defined as the first light emitting area (i.e., the central area of (OL1) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)), and the first electrode (AE2) of the second light emitting element (OL2), which is exposed by the second opening (i.e., the second spacing), is defined as the second light emitting area (i.e., the central area of (OL2) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1); again, see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0187]-[0191]).
As pertaining to Claim 11, An discloses (see Fig. 19) that the input sensor (TS) further comprises a first insulation layer (400), a second insulation layer (1120) disposed on the first insulation layer (400), and a third insulation layer (1900) disposed on the second insulation layer (1120), and
wherein the sensing electrode (see (Tx, Rx)) comprises first sensing portions (i.e., first arbitrary electrode portions), a bridge pattern (Br) connecting adjacent portions (i.e., arbitrary portions) of the first sensing portions (i.e., the first arbitrary electrode portions), second sensing portions (i.e., second arbitrary electrode portions), and an intermediate portion (i.e., an arbitrary portion) disposed between adjacent portions (i.e., arbitrary portions) of the second sensing portions (i.e., the second arbitrary electrode portions),
wherein the bridge pattern (Br) is disposed between the first insulation layer (400) and the second insulation layer (1120),
wherein the first sensing portions (i.e., the first arbitrary electrode portions), the intermediate portion (i.e., the arbitrary portion), and the second sensing portions (i.e., the second arbitrary electrode portions) are disposed between the second insulation layer (1120) and the third insulation layer (1900; again, see Page 7, Para. [0183]-[0184] and [0196]-[0200]; and Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0210]-[0212]).
As pertaining to Claim 12, An discloses (see Fig. 19) that the first insulation layer (400) comprises an inorganic material (see Page 4, Para. [0115]); and
the second insulation layer (1120) provides a flat surface (see Fig. 19).
An does not explicitly disclose the material composition of the second insulation layer (1120). That is, An does not disclose that the second insulation layer comprises an organic material.
However, Kim discloses that the implementation of a second insulation layer comprising an organic material can be effective in both improving light emission efficiency of a display module and simultaneously protecting elements from foreign matter such as dust (see Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0110]-[0113]).
Therefore, again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the combined teachings of Kim and An suggest the implementation of a second insulation layer that comprises an organic material in order to effectively improve light emission efficiency of the display device while simultaneously protecting elements from foreign matter.
As pertaining to Claim 13, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, and Fig. 7A) that the light emitting element (OL1, OL2, OL3) further comprises a third light emitting element (OL3) configured to provide a third light emitting area (i.e., a central area of (OL3) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) having a third surface area (i.e., as defined by the corresponding flat portion of (EN1)) that is greater than the second surface area (i.e., the surface area of (OL2) as defined by the corresponding flat portion of (EN1); again, note that as shown in Fig. 7A, the surface area of (OL1) is smaller than the surface area of (OL2), and the surface area of (OL2) is smaller than the surface area of (OL3); also see Fig. 4), and
wherein a third distance (TH3) between the third light emitting element (OL3) and the input sensor (i.e., the input sensing module, not shown, disposed on the display panel (DM)) is greater than the second distance (TH2) between the second light emitting element (OL2) and the input sensor (i.e., the input sensing module, not shown, disposed on the display panel (DM); again, see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0187]-[0191]).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, and Fig. 7A) that the third light emitting element (OL3) is spaced apart from the first light emitting element (OL1) and the second light emitting element (OL2) in a first direction (i.e., a vertical or horizontal direction; see Fig. 4), and
wherein the first light emitting element (OL1) and the second light emitting element (OL2) are spaced apart from each other in a second direction (i.e., a horizontal or vertical direction; again, see Fig. 4) crossing the first direction (i.e., the vertical or horizontal direction; see Page 5, Para. [0081]-[0084]; and Page 6, Para. [0089]-[0090] and [0092]).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, and Fig. 7A) an electronic device (DD; see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0059] and [0068]), comprising:
a display panel (DM; see Page 5, Para. [0075] and [0081]-[0084]; and Page 6, Para. [0089]-[0090] and [0092]) comprising an organic layer (BS; see Page 6, Para. [0095]), a light emitting element (see (OL1, OL2, OL3); see Page 6, Para. [0098]-[0099]) disposed on the organic layer (BS), and a thin-film encapsulation layer (TFE; see Page 7, Para. [0108]) sealing the light emitting element (OL1, OL2, OL3); and
an input sensor disposed on the display panel (DM; i.e., an input sensing module, not shown, disposed on the display panel (DM); see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0072]-[0073]), the input sensor (i.e., input sensing module) comprising a sensing electrode (i.e., a capacitive, resistive, infrared, or pressure electrode implicit in the input sensor) disposed on the display panel (DM); and
a processor (i.e., an electronic and/or function module) configured to control the display panel (DM) and the input sensor (i.e., the input module; see Page 5, Para. [0074]),
wherein the light emitting element (OL1, OL2, OL3) comprises a first light emitting element (OL1) configured to provide a first light emitting area (i.e., a central area of (OL1) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) having a first surface area (i.e., as defined by the corresponding flat portion of (EN1)), and a second light emitting element (OL2) configured to provide a second light emitting area (i.e., a central area of (OL2) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) having a second surface area (i.e., as defined by the corresponding flat portion of (EN1)) that is greater than the first surface area (i.e., as defined by the corresponding flat portion of (EN1); note that as shown in Fig. 7A, the surface area of (OL1) is smaller than the surface area of (OL2), and the surface area of (OL2) is smaller than the surface area of (OL3); also see Fig. 4; and see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0187]-[0191]),
wherein the organic layer (BS) comprises a first area (i.e., an area corresponding to the central area of (OL1) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) overlapping the first light emitting element (OL1), and a second area (i.e., an area corresponding to the central area of (OL2) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) overlapping the second light emitting element (OL2), and
wherein a thickness (i.e., a width) of the first area is greater than a thickness (i.e., a width) of the second area (see Fig. 7A; and see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0187]-[0191]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the structural features of the input sensor. That is, Kim does not explicitly disclose that the input sensor comprises a sensing electrode comprising a line element defining an opening area corresponding to the light emitting element. However, this structure is well-known in the art.
In fact, in the same field of endeavor, An discloses (see Fig. 4, Fig. 7, Fig. 10, and Fig. 19) that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a display device comprising an input sensor (TS), wherein the input sensor (TS) comprises a sensing electrode (see Fig. 7 and (Tx, Rx) in Fig. 10) disposed on a display panel (see (E2, EL, E1) in Fig. 4; see Page 4, Para. [0112]-[0116]), wherein the sensing electrode (TS) comprises a line element (see Fig. 7) defining an opening area corresponding to a light emitting element (EL) of the display panel (see Page 5, Para. [0132]-[0135] and [0137]; also see Page 6, Para. [0164]; Page 7, Para. [0183]-[0184] and [0196]-[0200]; and Page 7 through Page 8, Para. [0210]-[0212]). It is a goal of An to provide a display device structure comprising an input sensor in which a sensing electrode is disposed on a display panel in a manner that allows for improved touch sensitivity, simple fabrication, and reduced thickness (see Page 1, Para. [0017]-[0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of An, such that the input sensor comprises a sensing electrode comprising a line element defining an opening area corresponding to the light emitting element, in the manner suggested by An, in order to provide a display device and input sensor structure that allows for improved touch sensitivity, simple fabrication, and reduced thickness.
As pertaining to Claim 16, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 4, and Fig. 7A) that the thin-film encapsulation layer (TFE) comprises inorganic encapsulation layers (EN1, EN3) and an organic encapsulation layer (EN2) disposed between the inorganic encapsulation layers (i.e., (EN1, EN3); see Page 7, Para. [0109]-[0110]),
wherein the organic encapsulation layer (EN2) comprises:
a first area (i.e., an area corresponding to the central area of (OL1) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) overlapping the first light emitting element (OL1); and
a second area (i.e., an area corresponding to the central area of (OL2) corresponding to the flat portion of (EN1)) overlapping the second light emitting element (OL2), and
wherein a thickness (i.e., a width or a height) of the first area of the organic encapsulation layer (EN2) is less than a thickness (i.e., a width or a height) of the second area of the organic encapsulation layer (EN2; see Fig. 7A; and see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0187]-[0191]).
Conclusion
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623