DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,853,599. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the pending claims are almost completely included in patented claims.
Instant Application
US 11,853,599 (for example)
As per claim 1:
An information processing system comprising: a memory system including a non-volatile memory and a controller that includes
a first memory and is configured to write log data to the first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the memory system; and
As per claim 1:
A memory system comprising: a non-volatile memory; and a controller that includes a first memory
… control the non-volatile memory and write log data to the first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the memory system,
…
As per claim 11:
A computer system comprising:
a memory system including a non-volatile memory and
a controller that includes a first memory and is configured to write log data to the first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the memory system; and …
As per claim 1:
A memory system comprising: a non-volatile memory; and a controller that includes a first memory
… control the non-volatile memory and write log data to the first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the memory system, …
As per claim 14:
A method of controlling a memory system including a non-volatile memory, the method comprising:
writing log data to a first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the non- volatile memory;
As per claim 18:
A method of controlling a memory system including a non-volatile memory, the method comprising:
writing log data to a first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the non- volatile memory;
As per claim 1:
A memory system comprising: a non-volatile memory; and a controller that includes a first memory
… control the non-volatile memory and write log data to the first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the memory system,
The US patent 11,853,599 (see in figure 18 and columns 13-14, starting at line 30 of col 18) discloses that as a result of comparison, when the transmitted value and the expected value do not match, the information processing terminal 5 transmits an operation stop signal to the memory system 1. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the method of Patent 11,853,599 of comparing the expected value and transmitted value into the system in order to prevent further transmission in comparison does not match the expected transmission value.
The US patent 11,853,599 (in figure 20 and columns 14-15, starting at line 20) discloses that the external environmental information and error correction code is written … to the NAND flash memory, thereby the failure analysis becomes easier. The NAND flash memory 2 is easily affected by the external environment such as temperature and voltage when writing. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the method of Patent 11,853,599 of writing external environmental information such as temperature and voltage into the system so that to make the failure analysis of input data become easier.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No 18/501,943 (reference application). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application 18/501,943
As per claim 1:
An information processing system comprising: a memory system including a non-volatile memory and a controller that includes
a first memory and is configured to write log data to the first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the memory system; and
As per claim 1:
A method of controlling a non-volatile memory, the method comprising:
writing log data to a first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the non-volatile memory; writing the log data from the first memory…
As per claim 11:
A computer system comprising:
a memory system including a non-volatile memory and
a controller that includes a first memory and is configured to write log data to the first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the memory system; and …
As per claim 1:
A method of controlling a non-volatile memory, the method comprising:
writing log data to a first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the non-volatile memory; writing the log data from the first memory…
As per claim 14:
A method of controlling a memory system including a non-volatile memory, the method comprising:
writing log data to a first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the non- volatile memory;
As per claim 1:
A method of controlling a non-volatile memory, the method comprising:
writing log data to a first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the non-volatile memory; writing the log data from the first memory…
As per claim 18:
A method of controlling a memory system including a non-volatile memory, the method comprising:
writing log data to a first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the non- volatile memory;
As per claim 1:
A method of controlling a non-volatile memory, the method comprising:
writing log data to a first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the non-volatile memory; writing the log data from the first memory…
Co-pending Application (in figure 18 and paragraph 0097-0098) discloses that as a result of comparison, when the transmitted value and the expected value do not match, the information processing terminal 5 transmits an operation stop signal to the memory system 1. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the method of Patent 11,853,599 of comparing the expected value and transmitted value into the system in order to prevent further transmission in comparison does not match the expected transmission value.
Co-pending Application (in figure 20 and paragraph 0102) discloses that the external environmental information and error correction code is written … to the NAND flash memory, thereby the failure analysis becomes easier. The NAND flash memory 2 is easily affected by the external environment such as temperature and voltage when writing. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the method of Co-pending Application of writing external environmental information such as temperature and voltage into the system so that to make the failure analysis of input data become easier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2018/0,239,557), in view of Tousek (US 2006/0,179,380)
As per claim 1:
Yang discloses:
An information processing system comprising:
a memory system including a non-volatile memory and a controller that includes
(Yang, [0074] … controller 1210 may include a host interface unit 1211, a control unit 1212, a random access memory 1213, an error correction code (ECC) unit 1214, and a memory interface unit 1215)
a first memory and is configured to write log data to the first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the memory system; and
(Yang, [0040] The memory cell region 110 may include a user data area UDA, a metadata area MDA and a history data area HDA which may be divided depending on a use or the kind of data to be stored)
(Yang, [0052] At step S110, the nonvolatile memory device 100 may receive a command and an address from the external device, for example, the controller 200 of FIG. 6)
(Yang, [0053] At step S120, the nonvolatile memory device 100 may store the received command and address in the history data area HDA….the nonvolatile memory device 100 may perform … of storing the history data)
Yang does not disclose:
an information processing device configured to store an expected value and to transmit a signal that instructs the memory system to stop when a value of the log data transmitted from the memory system does not match the expected value.
Tousek discloses:
an information processing device configured to store an expected value and
(Tousek [0025] The DBG 13 … support to allow an external debugger 14 to communicate…)
(Tousek [0034] a debugger … may send a memory address and a corresponding expected value to the DBG 300. The DBG 300 .. to receive …the corresponding expected value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
to transmit a signal that instructs the memory system to stop when a value of the log data (Touse, an actual memory value) transmitted from the memory system does not match the expected value. (Tousek, expected value)
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Tousek’s method of sending a stop signal in order to notifying the external system when the actual value does not match the expected value as indicated by the host.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
As per claim 2:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
wherein the information processing device is further configured to compare the expected value and transmitted value.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
As per claim 3:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
wherein the expected value and the transmitted value are based on the log data of the memory system.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
As per claim 4:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
Wherein the information processing device is configured to acquire the log data from the memory system during a normal operation of the memory system.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
As per claim 5:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
wherein the information processing device compares the expected value and transmitted value in response to satisfaction of a first trigger condition.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
As per claim 6:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
wherein the first trigger condition is that a value of a timer is a first value.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
As per claim 7:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
wherein the first trigger condition is a request from the information processing device to the controller.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
As per claim 8:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
wherein the log data is written each time the controller issues a command to the non-volatile memory.
(Yang, [0049], command CMD instructing a read or erase operation and an address ADD where the read)
(Yang, [0040] The memory cell region 110 may include a user data area UDA, a metadata area MDA and a history data area HDA which may be divided depending on a use or the kind of data to be stored)
(Yang, [0052] At step S110, the nonvolatile memory device 100 may receive a command and an address from the external device, for example, the controller 200 of FIG. 6)
(Yang, [0053] At step S120, the nonvolatile memory device 100 may store the received command and address in the history data area HDA….the nonvolatile memory device 100 may perform … of storing the history data)
As per claim 9:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
wherein commands issued by the controller include a command to the non-volatile memory, the command including an instruction of a write operation, an erase operation, or a read operation.
(Yang, [0049], command CMD instructing a read or erase operation and an address ADD where the read)
(Yang, [0040] The memory cell region 110 may include a user data area UDA, a metadata area MDA and a history data area HDA which may be divided depending on a use or the kind of data to be stored)
(Yang, [0052] At step S110, the nonvolatile memory device 100 may receive a command and an address from the external device, for example, the controller 200 of FIG. 6)
(Yang, [0053] At step S120, the nonvolatile memory device 100 may store the received command and address in the history data area HDA….the nonvolatile memory device 100 may perform … of storing the history data)
As per claim 10:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
wherein the expected value is read from the non-volatile memory.
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
Claims 14-17 recite similar limitation as claims 1-10. See rejection above also.
As per claim 14:
Yang discloses:
A method of controlling a memory system including a non-volatile memory, the method comprising:
(Yang, [0074] … controller 1210 may include a host interface unit 1211, a control unit 1212, a random access memory 1213, an error correction code (ECC) unit 1214, and a memory interface unit 1215)
writing log data to a first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the non- volatile memory;
(Yang, [0040] The memory cell region 110 may include a user data area UDA, a metadata area MDA and a history data area HDA which may be divided depending on a use or the kind of data to be stored)
(Yang, [0052] At step S110, the nonvolatile memory device 100 may receive a command and an address from the external device, for example, the controller 200 of FIG. 6)
(Yang, [0053] At step S120, the nonvolatile memory device 100 may store the received command and address in the history data area HDA….the nonvolatile memory device 100 may perform … of storing the history data)
Yang does not disclose:
storing an expected value; determining that a value of the log data does not match the expected value; and in response to determining that the value of the log data does not match the expected value, transmitting a signal that instructs the memory system to stop.
Tousek discloses:
storing an expected value; determining that a value of the log data does not match the expected value; and
(Tousek [0025] The DBG 13 … support to allow an external debugger 14 to communicate…)
(Tousek [0034] a debugger … may send a memory address and a corresponding expected value to the DBG 300. The DBG 300 .. to receive …the corresponding expected value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
in response to determining that the value of the log data does not match the expected value, transmitting a signal that instructs the memory system to stop.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Tousek’s method of sending a stop signal in order to notifying the external system when the actual value does not match the expected value as indicated by the host.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
As per claim 15:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
wherein the expected value and the value of the log data are calculated based on the log data.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
As per claim 16:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
comparing the expected value and the value of the log data in response to satisfaction of a first trigger condition.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
As per claim 17:
Yang-Tousek discloses:
wherein the first trigger condition is that a value of a timer is a first value.
(Tousek [0038] trigger a halt of SUD execution (an execution stop) by sending a logical 1 to a "DBG_STOP" register 318 when there is a mismatch between an expected memory value and an actual memory value)
(Tousek [0039] The "not equal comparator" 310 may show a logical 1 when the data in the DBG_DATA register 308 (the expected value) does not match the data in the MEM_WDATA signal 307 (the actual value))
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13, 18-20 are allowed if Applicant can overcome the rejection above.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior arts of record do not disclose “a computer system comprising:
a memory system including a non-volatile memory and a controller that includes a first memory and is configured to write log data to the first memory, the log data including a history of commands for controlling the memory system; and an information processing device configured to store an expected value and to transmit a signal that instructs the memory system to stop when a value of the log data transmitted from the memory system does not match the expected value, wherein the controller is further configured to write environmental information including at least temperature information and voltage information of the non-volatile memory to the non-volatile memory, user data that is received from a host to the non-volatile memory, and an error correction code correcting the environmental information and the user data to the non-volatile memory” as recited in claim 11 and in similar claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rajbharti (US 2008/0,126,662) in paragraph 0019 discloses a method of a) determining whether a pattern detection is used; b) storing start addresses for a source address and a destination address; c) if a pattern detection is used storing a pattern; …; d) reading data from the source address; e) storing data in the destination address; f) if a pattern detection is used, comparing the data with the pattern and terminating the transmission upon a match…
Li (US 2020/0,322,266) in paragraph [0111] disclose that the first device may report failure of communication of the data and may terminate communications…
Muzzetto et al (US 2024/0,038,301) in paragraph 0067 discloses a method of store different voltage offset values that correspond to different temperature ranges of the memory device.
/Thien Nguyen/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111