DETAILED ACTION
Status
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for Application No. 19072058 on February 04, 2026. Please note claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 3, 10, 11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roh et al. (US 20210132765 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Roh discloses: A display device (See Fig. 2, [0032], discloses display device includes a display panel 100 and a touch sensor 200 provided on the display panel 100) comprising:
a display panel including a first base substrate (see Fig. 2, substrate 110), a second base substrate (see Fig. 2, encapsulation substrate 130), and a seating member positioned at edges of the first base substrate between the first base substrate and the second base substrate (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0039], discloses a sealing member 150 may be further provided between the substrate 110 and the encapsulation substrate 130. The sealing member 150 may be provided in the peripheral area PA. The sealing member 150 may be formed to surround the display area DA in a plan view); and
an input sensor disposed on the display panel and including an active area (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0042]-[0044], touch sensor 200 disposed over the display panel 100 including touch sensing region TA), a pad area adjacent to the active area (see Fig. 1, touch pad 250 provided in peripheral area PA), and a sealing area partially overlapping the pad area and overlapping the sealing member (see Fig. 1, area/region in peripheral area PA overlapping the pad area and overlapping the sealing member 150),
wherein the input sensor (see Fig. 1) includes:
a sensing electrode configured to sense an input (see Fig. 1, [0045], touch sensing electrode 240);
a sensing pad overlapping the pad area (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0054], touch pad 250) and including a first pad (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0060], second touch pad layer 270) and a second pad disposed on a different layer from the first pad and electrically connected to the first pad (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0059]-[0062], discloses first touch pad layer 260 is on the second touch pad layer 270 and electrically connected through conductive bonding member 500); and
a sensing line electrically connecting the sensing electrode and the sensing pad (see Fig. 1, [0053], touch extending wire 245),
wherein the sealing area extends in a first direction parallel to an edge of the display panel and is positioned a predetermined distance from the edge in a second direction intersecting the first direction (see Fig. 1, [0064], sealing member 150 provided in peripheral area PA),
wherein the first pad includes (see annotated Fig. 3 below, second touch pad layer 270) a first portion having a length extending parallel to the second direction and a second portion having a length extending parallel to the first direction, an end of the first portion being connected to an end of the second portion (see annotated fig. 3 below, a first portion having a length extending parallel to the Y direction and a second portion having a length extending parallel to the X direction, and an end of the first portion on the top being connected to an side end of the rectangular shaped second portion at contact point as illustrated in annotated figure 3 below), and
wherein the second portion is disposed at least the predetermined distance from the edge of the display panel (see Fig. 1-2, annotated fig. 3, second portion of touch pad layer 270 of touch pad 250 arranged in the display panel).
Regarding claim 3, Roh teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Roh further teaches wherein the first portion is provided as a plurality of first portions (See Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 3 above, first portions), and wherein at least one first portion among the plurality of first portions extends to the edge of the display panel (see Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 3 above, first portion of the first pad extended along Y-direction to the edge of the display panel as shown in figure).
Regarding claim 10, Roh teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Roh further teaches wherein the second portion is spaced farther apart from the edge than from the sealing area (see Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 3, a second portion touch pad layer 270 spaced farther apart from the edge than from the sealing area 150 as illustrated in figure).
Regarding claim 11, Roh teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Roh further teaches wherein the display panel further (see Fig. 2) includes:
a circuit element layer disposed between the first base substrate and the second base substrate (see Fig. 2, [0037], display panel 100 may include a liquid crystal panel. Examiner reads the backlight/signal lines layer of the display panel 100 read as circuit element layer which is disposed between the substrate 110 and encapsulation substrate 130); and
a display element layer disposed on the circuit element layer (see Fig. 2, [0037], pixel/light emitting layer of the display panel disposed on the circuit element layer).
Regarding claim 14, Roh teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Roh further teaches wherein the first pad is in contact with an upper surface of the second base substrate (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, touch pad layer 270 is in contact with surface of the encapsulation substrate 130).
Regarding claim 15, Roh discloses: An electronic device (See Fig. 2, [0032], discloses display device includes a display panel 100 and a touch sensor 200 provided on the display panel 100) comprising:
an electronic panel (see Fig. 2, display panel in combination with touch sensor 200); and
a window member disposed on the electronic panel (see Fig. 2, [0044], discloses a cover window may be further provided on the touch sensor 200. The cover window may protect the touch sensor 200 and the display panel 100 provided thereunder),
wherein the electronic panel (see Fig. 2) comprises:
a display panel including a first base substrate (see Fig. 2, substrate 110), a second base substrate (see Fig. 2, encapsulation substrate 130), and a seating member positioned at edges of the first base substrate between the first base substrate and the second base substrate (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0039], discloses a sealing member 150 may be further provided between the substrate 110 and the encapsulation substrate 130. The sealing member 150 may be provided in the peripheral area PA. The sealing member 150 may be formed to surround the display area DA in a plan view); and
an input sensor disposed on the display panel and including an active area (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0042]-[0044], touch sensor 200 disposed over the display panel 100 including touch sensing region TA), a pad area adjacent to the active area (see Fig. 1, touch pad 250 provided in peripheral area PA), and a sealing area partially overlapping the pad area and overlapping the sealing member (see Fig. 1, area/region in peripheral area PA overlapping the pad area and overlapping the sealing member 150),
wherein the input sensor (see Fig. 1) includes:
a sensing electrode configured to sense an input (see Fig. 1, [0045], touch sensing electrode 240);
a sensing pad overlapping the pad area (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0054], touch pad 250) and including a first pad (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0060], second touch pad layer 270) and a second pad disposed on a different layer from the first pad and electrically connected to the first pad (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0059]-[0062], discloses first touch pad layer 260 is on the second touch pad layer 270 and electrically connected through conductive bonding member 500); and
a sensing line electrically connecting the sensing electrode and the sensing pad (see Fig. 1, [0053], touch extending wire 245),
wherein the sealing area extends in a first direction parallel to an edge of the display panel and is spaced a predetermined distance from the edge (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0064], sealing member 150 provided in peripheral area PA. Examiner reads x-direction as a first direction), and
wherein the first pad (see annotated Fig. 3 above, Fig. 4, [0060], second touch pad layer 270) includes:
a first portion (see annotated Fig. 3 above, first portion) disposed between the sealing area and the edge and having a length that extends only in a second direction that is nonparallel to the edge (see Fig. 1-2, annotated fig. 3 above, touch pad layer 270 disposed between the sealing area 150 and the edge extends only in a direction that is nonparallel/perpendicular to the edge of the electronic device); and
a second portion having a length parallel to the first direction (see annotated Fig. 3 above, second portion having a length parallel to the X direction), an end of the first portion being connected to an end of the second portion (see annotated fig. 3 below, a first portion having a length extending parallel to the Y direction and a second portion having a length extending parallel to the X direction, and an end of the first portion on the top being connected to an side end of the rectangular shaped second portion at contact point as illustrated in annotated figure 3 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh et al. (US 20210132765 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Roh teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Roh further teaches wherein a distance between the sealing area and the edge of the display panel (see Fig. 1, sealing member 150 around the peripheral area PA of the display panel) but does not explicitly teach the claimed distance is 80 micrometers or less. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to arrange the a distance between the sealing area and the edge of the display panel to 80 micrometers or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Such an arrangement would provide a wider display screen.
Regarding claim 13, Roh teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Roh further teaches a distance between a second portion (i. e, width) of the first touch pad layer 260 extending parallel to the x-direction and the sealing area 150 (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3) but fails to claimed distance is 40 µm or more. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to arrange the a distance between the a second portion and the sealing area is 40 µm or more, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Such an arrangement would provide a wider display screen.
Regarding claim 16: claim 16 recites the similar limitations as in claim 2. Therefore, claim 16 is also rejected on the same ground of obviousness as used above in claim 2.
8. Claims 4-9, 12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh et al. (US 20210132765 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20110134056 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Roh teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Roh further teaches wherein the sensing pad (see Fig. 1- Fig.4, touch pad 250) includes:
the first pad (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, touch pad layer 270);
a first insulating layer disposed on the first pad (see Fig. 4, [0061], passivation layer 280).
Roh further teaches the second touch pad layer 260 (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4), but fails to explicitly teach the second pad disposed on the first insulating layer; and a second insulating layer disposed on the second pad.
However, in the same field of endeavor of the bonding pad connection in touch screen panel, Kim teaches the second pad disposed on the first insulating layer; and a second insulating layer disposed on the second pad (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B, [0085], discloses a bonding pad unit 40 in which first insulating layer 402 having a predetermined open region may be formed on, e.g., directly on, the upper substrate 10, so the transparent conductive pattern 410 may be formed in the open region of the second insulating layer 402. The second insulating layer 404 may be formed on the transparent conductive pattern 410. The second insulating layer 404 may be open in the region that overlaps the transparent conductive pattern 410, so that the transparent conductive pattern 410 may be exposed. The open transparent conductive pattern 410 may electrically contact the FPC on which the external driving circuit is mounted).
Therefore, in view of teachings of Roh and Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bonding pad in display device as taught by Roh with Kim’s teachings of the second pad disposed on the first insulating layer; and a second insulating layer disposed on the second pad in order to provide secure insulation and robust connection of the wires in the touch pad.
Regarding claim 5, Roh in view of Kim teaches the limitations of parent claim 4. Roh further teaches wherein the sensing pad includes: a pad part partially overlapping the sealing area (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, discloses the touch pad 250 partially overlap the sealing member 150 as illustrated in figures); and
an edge part extending from the pad part to the edge of the display panel on a plane (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, edge part of touch pad 250), and
wherein an opening in the first insulating layer is positioned in the edge part and extends to the first pad (see Figs. 1-4, arrangement of the passivation layer 280 of touch pad 250 in touch display device).
Regarding claim 6, Roh in view of Kim teaches the limitations of parent claim 5. Roh further teaches wherein a first contact hole electrically connecting the first pad and the second pad is defined in the first insulating layer overlapping the pad part (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0061]-[0062], discloses a contact hole 285 overlapping at least part of the first touch pad layer 260 is formed in the passivation layer 280. At least part of an upper side of the first touch pad layer 260 may be exposed by the contact hole 285. The second touch pad layer 270 may be provided on the first touch pad layer 260 and the passivation layer 280. The second touch pad layer 270 may be provided on the first touch pad layer 260. Therefore, the second touch pad layer 270 may contact the first touch pad layer 260, and the second touch pad layer 270 may be electrically connected to the first touch pad layer 260).
Regarding claim 7, Roh in view of Kim teaches the limitations of parent claim 5. Kim further teaches wherein a second contact hole exposing the second pad is defined in the second insulating layer overlapping the pad part (see Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B, [0057]-[0058], discloses he second insulating layer 404 may be open in the region that overlaps the transparent conductive pattern 410, so that the transparent conductive pattern 410 may be exposed. The open transparent conductive pattern 410 may electrically contact the FPC on which the external driving circuit is mounted).
Regarding claim 8, Roh in view of Kim teaches the limitations of parent claim 5. Kim further teaches wherein the second insulating layer covers the second pad (see Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B, second insulating layer 404 over the conductive pattern 410).
Regarding claim 9, Roh in view of Kim teaches the limitations of parent claim 5. Roh further teaches wherein the second pad is positioned outside of the edge part (se Fig. 1, Fig. 3, second touch pad layer 270 formed outside the edge part of DA/TA).
Regarding claim 12, Roh teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Roh does not explicitly teach wherein the first pad includes metal, and the second pad includes a transparent conductive oxide.
However, in the same field of endeavor of the bonding pad connection in touch screen panel, Kim teaches wherein the first pad includes metal, and the second pad includes a transparent conductive oxide (see Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B, [0053]-[0055], discloses bonding pad 42 in which first pad (i. e, 420) formed by opaque metal patterns and second pad (i. e., 410) formed by transparent conductive pattern).
Therefore, in view of teachings of Roh and Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of bonding pad in display device as taught by Roh with Kim’s teachings of the first pad includes metal, and the second pad includes a transparent conductive oxide as an alternative design choice such that transparent conductive pattern/oxide layer is exposed.
Regarding claims 17- 20: claims 17-20 each recites the similar limitations as in claims 4-6 and 12 respectively. Therefore, claims 17-20 are also rejected on the same ground of obviousness as used above for claims 4-6 and 12.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments filled on 02/04/2026, with respect to the prior art rejection of claims, specifically regarding the amended portions of claims 1 and 15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically. App applicant argues that Roh does not teach or suggest “wherein the first pad includes a first portion having a length extending parallel to the second direction and a second portion having a length extending parallel to the first direction, an end of the first portion being connected to an end of the second portion”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, Roh teaches secure and reliable electrical connection between a touch pad and a flexible printed circuit pad of the display device in which first pad 270 includes a first portion of the first pad extended in the Y-direction and a second portion of the first pad 270 extended in X-direction as shown in annotated figure 3 above, and the top end region of the first portion of first pad 270 is direct contact with a bottom side end of the rectangular shaped second portion of the first pad 270 at contact point as illustrated in figure 3 above. See above rejection for full detail.
Conclusion
/KRISHNA P NEUPANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629