DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 8/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/26/2026.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,271,231 in view of Wurzel (US 8,797,474). U.S. Patent No. 12,271,231 teaches everything except the display panel which comprises an alignment mark; a notch extending in a thickness direction of the display panel is defined in the panel support member; the notch has a shape of a groove or a ditch recessed from a side surface of the panel support member; wherein the alignment mark overlaps the notch in the thickness direction of the display panel; an optical device which senses light, wherein the display panel comprises a light transmitting area which overlaps the optical device in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the panel support member comprises a through hole which overlaps the light transmitting area in the thickness direction of the display panel. However, Wurzel teaches a display panel (LCD, Fig. 9) which comprises an alignment mark (104, Fig. 9); a notch (116, Figs. 10-12) extending in a thickness direction of the display panel is defined in a panel support member (same as BLU, Fig. 9); the notch has a shape of a groove or a ditch recessed from a side surface of the panel support member (as shown in Figs. 10-12); wherein the alignment mark overlaps the notch in the thickness direction of the display panel (as shown in Figs. 9 and 11); an optical device (96, Fig. 9) which senses light, wherein the display panel comprises a light transmitting area (38, Fig. 9; note 38 is transparent) which overlaps the optical device in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the panel support member comprises a through hole (102, Fig. 9) which overlaps the light transmitting area in the thickness direction of the display panel; wherein the area of the light transmitting area is larger than the area of the through hole (as shown in Fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the display panel which comprises an alignment mark; a notch extending in a thickness direction of the display panel is defined in the panel support member; the notch has a shape of a groove or a ditch recessed from a side surface of the panel support member; wherein the alignment mark overlaps the notch in the thickness direction of the display panel; an optical device which senses light, wherein the display panel comprises a light transmitting area which overlaps the optical device in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the panel support member comprises a through hole which overlaps the light transmitting area in the thickness direction of the display panel in US Patent No. 12,271,231, as taught by Wurzel, in order to prevent misalignment of the display panel with the panel support member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et a. (US 9,639,121; hereinafter “Min”) in view of Wurzel (US 8,797,474).
Regarding claims 1-4, Min teaches a foldable display device (Figs. 1A-8) comprising:
a display panel (DD, Figs. 1B, 1C); and
a panel support member (BS, Figs. 1A-1C) which is disposed on a surface (see surface of DD on BS in Figs. 1A-1C) of the display panel, the panel support member comprising:
a first layer (layer of ACL1 in the D1 direction only, Fig. 6) which has a first fiber yarn (fiber yarns of ACL1 in the D1 direction only in Fig. 6) extending in a second direction (D1, Fig. 6) intersecting a first direction (D2, Fig. 6);
a second layer (layer of ACL1 in the D2 direction only, Fig. 6) which has a second fiber yarn extending in the first direction (D2); and
a third layer (CL, Fig. 6) which has a third fiber yarn (fiber yarn of CL in the D1 direction only in Fig. 6) extending in the second direction.
Min does not teach the display panel comprises an alignment mark; a notch extending in a thickness direction of the display panel is defined; wherein the alignment mark overlaps the notch in the thickness direction of the display panel; an optical device which senses light, wherein the display panel comprises a light transmitting area which overlaps the optical device in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the panel support member comprises a through hole which overlaps the light transmitting area in the thickness direction of the display panel. However, Wurzel teaches a display panel (LCD, Fig. 9) which comprises an alignment mark (104, Fig. 9); a notch (116, Figs. 10-12) extending in a thickness direction of the display panel is defined in a panel support member (same as BLU, Fig. 9); the notch has a shape of a groove or a ditch recessed from a side surface of the panel support member (as shown in Figs. 10-12); wherein the alignment mark overlaps the notch in the thickness direction of the display panel (as shown in Figs. 9 and 11); an optical device (96, Fig. 9) which senses light, wherein the display panel comprises a light transmitting area (38, Fig. 9; note 38 is transparent) which overlaps the optical device in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the panel support member comprises a through hole (102, Fig. 9) which overlaps the light transmitting area in the thickness direction of the display panel; wherein the area of the light transmitting area is larger than the area of the through hole (as shown in Fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the display panel which comprises an alignment mark; a notch extending in a thickness direction of the display panel is defined in the panel support member; the notch has a shape of a groove or a ditch recessed from a side surface of the panel support member; wherein the alignment mark overlaps the notch in the thickness direction of the display panel; an optical device which senses light, wherein the display panel comprises a light transmitting area which overlaps the optical device in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the panel support member comprises a through hole which overlaps the light transmitting area in the thickness direction of the display panel in Min, as taught by Wurzel, in order to prevent misalignment of the display panel with the panel support member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hamburgen (US 2020/0171784) and Wilenski et al. (US 2013/0337222) discloses a foldable display device comprising: a display panel; and a panel support member which is disposed on a surface of the display panel, the panel support member comprising: a first layer which has a first fiber yarn extending in a second direction intersecting a first direction; a second layer which has a second fiber yarn extending in the first direction; and a third layer which has a third fiber yarn extending in the second direction.
/JAMES WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841