Mira123
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites “wherein the afterimage compensation data is generated by Equations 4 to 6:
CD[i] =B*MaxCompN*DDI[i], DDI[i]> 0,
CD[i] = C*MaxCompP*DDI[i], DDI[i] < 0, and
CD[i] = 0, DDI[i] = 0 “ although it is clear that 3 equations are listed to perform the afterimage compensation the claim language or the specification do not specify which is equation 4, equation 5, equation 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akutsu (US 2007/0164946) in view of Shiomi (US 2008/0158443).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Akutsu teaches A display device comprising: a display panel including pixels; a data driving circuit which provides a data signal to the display panel; a scan driving circuit which provides a scan signal to the display panel (Fig. 16, data driver 3, scan driver 4, pixels ); a data compensation circuit which compensates input image data and generates output image data corresponding to the data signal (Fig. 1 data compensation unit), the data compensation circuit including: a reference frame data generating block which generates (i)th reference frame data (current frame data), where i is an integer greater than or equal to 2, based on (i-1)th reference frame data that is generated in an (i-1)th display frame (previous frame data) and (i)th output image data that is generated based on the (i-1)th reference frame data in an (i)th display frame (current frame data that updated/compensated from previous frame data);a reference frame memory device which stores reference frame data (frame memory 115); and a compensating block which generates the (i)th output image data by generating (i)th conversion image data based on (i)th input image data that is input in the (i)th display frame, by generating afterimage compensation data for each of the pixels based on the (i)th conversion image data and the (i-1)th reference frame data, and by compensating the (i)th input image data based on the afterimage compensation data (114a uses a previous frame data and a current frame data to create compensation and conversion data); and a timing control circuit which controls the data driving circuit, the scan driving circuit, and the data compensation circuit (Fig. 16, control circuit 12). Although Akutsu teaches the limitations as discussed above, he does not explicitly teach a reference frame memory device which stores the (i)th reference frame data when the (i)th reference frame data is generated in the (i)th display frame and provides the (i)th reference frame data in an (i+l)th display frame; a memory control block which controls the reference frame memory device.
However in the field of compensating image data Shiomi teaches teach a reference frame memory device which stores the (i)th reference frame data when the (i)th reference frame data is generated in the (i)th display frame and provides the (i)th reference frame data in an (i+l)th display frame; a memory control block which controls the reference frame memory device ([0238]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill it the art to combine the method as taught by Akutsu with the method as taught by Shiomi. This combination would provide an improved view experience for a user as taught by Shiomi (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Akutsa teaches wherein the compensating block determines a luminance compensation amount of the afterimage compensation data based on a difference between a reference gray scale value according to the (i-I )th reference frame data and a gray scale value according to the (i)th conversion image data ([0297-0302]).
Regarding claim 5, Akusta teaches when the gray scale value is greater than the reference gray scale value, the compensating block generates the afterimage compensation data which performs a compensation of decreasing a luminance of the (i)th input image data, when the gray scale value is smaller than the reference gray scale value, the compensating block generates the afterimage compensation data which performs a compensation of increasing the luminance of the (i)th input image data, and when the gray scale value is equal to the reference gray scale value, the compensating block generates the afterimage compensation data which does not perform a compensation of adjusting the luminance of the (i)th input image data ([0299][0301][0303]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621