CTFR 19/072,784 CTFR 81599 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tung et al . (US Pre-Grant Publication 2014/0229511), in view of Eberlein et al . (US Pre-Grant Publication 2010/0161648), and further in view of Kozina et al . (US Patent 9,075,860) . As to claim 1, Tung teaches a system for automatic generation of data models using data introspection and curation, comprising: a computer including one or more processors, that provides access by an analytic applications environment to a data warehouse for storage of data by a plurality of tenants (see Tung paragraphs [0014]-[0017] and Figure 1. A plurality of servers and clients, representing tenants, exist), wherein data associated with a tenant is provisioned in a data warehouse instance associated with the tenant and populated with data received from the tenant's source data environment (see paragraphs [0014]-[0016] and Figure 1. Clients are provided access to a data warehouse via a data collection server and ETL server. As noted in paragraph [0017], once the data is loaded into the data warehouse, future analytics may occur), as defined by a combination of: … a customer schema associated with the tenant (see Tung paragraph [0018]. Tenant data that has been transformed may be stored in a data warehouse. This is provisioning tenant data in a data warehouse instance associated with the tenant. As noted in paragraphs [0018] and [0020], the star schema is defined according to a metadata manager. The data is stored according to the star schema, which appears to be defined by tenant data types and is thus stored in accordance with a “customer schema.” Also see paragraph [0026] for the tenant having control over the star schema. It is also noted that the star schema of Tung is used for “analytics” on the server, see paragraph [0026]. Thus it is “an analytic applications schema” that takes into account data from the “customer schema” of the customer’s source data. The data is provisioned in a warehouse in accordance with a star schema at a server that takes into account an analytical application environment and a source customer schema); wherein the analytic applications environment provides a semantic layer that includes data defining a semantic model of the tenant's data (see paragraphs [0018], [0020], [0023] and [0026]. As noted in paragraph [0023], a schema defining a semantic model of a tenant’s data may be different for each tenant); wherein the system provides a generator framework and semantic model extension process operable to generate automatically one or more data maps associated with the tenant's source data environment (see Tung paragraph [0020]-[0023]. The system uses a metadata manager to manage semantic information and update models of a tenant’s data and schema), by reference to a combination of: a seed repository that includes curated artifacts including basic dimensions associated with the source data environment (see Tung paragraph [0025]-[0026], metadata updates are identified by a user associated with the source data environment. This metadata includes curated artifacts such as columns. Columns are basic dimensions associated with the environment. These columns also have interpreted variables such as names), and automatically-determined or interpreted variables provided by introspection of the source data environment and an associated source model (see Tung paragraph [0025]-[0028], metadata updates are identified by a user associated with the source data environment. Monitoring the source data environment for updates is “data introspection” of the source environment); said process comprising generating or updating the semantic model of the tenant's data for transaction types associated with the tenant's source data environment (see Tung paragraph [0025]-[0028] and the following explanation), including: determining, based on the introspection of the source data environment, dimensions and facts associated with the source data to include in the semantic model (see Tung paragraph [0025]-[0028], metadata updates are identified by a user associated with the source data environment. This metadata includes curated artifacts such as columns. Columns are basic dimensions associated with the environment. These columns also have interpreted variables such as names. Monitoring the source data environment for updates is “data introspection” of the source environment, such as monitoring for new fields of data to collect, as described in paragraph [0027]); and Tung does not explicitly teach: Wherein data associated with a tenant is … defined by a combination of: an analytic applications schema shared by the plurality of tenants; and a customer schema associated with the tenant; associating the generated semantic model with security artifacts that control data visibility. Eberlein teaches: Wherein data associated with a tenant is … defined by a combination of: an analytic applications schema shared by the plurality of tenants (see Eberlein paragraphs [0022]-[0026]. A base object model is used by all tenants and may be modified); and a customer schema associated with the tenant (see Eberlein paragraphs [0022]-[0026]. Individual tenants may provide modifications in the form of extensions to the base model. The tenant’s data model then incorporates the extensions into the base model. Thus, the data accessed by any particular tenant is a combination of a base schema shared by all tenants and a customer schema provided by each particular tenant); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Tung by the teachings of Eberlein because Eberlein provides the benefit of increased flexibility to the individual tenants of Tung by allowing them to customize objections. This will help users of Tung to change objects to suit their individual needs. Kozina teaches associating the generated semantic model with security artifacts that control data visibility (see 11:1-21 and 25:21-29. Security artifacts are attached to the data models that control user visibility). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Tung by the teachings of Kozina because Kozina provides the benefit of ensuring security such that only users with certain access rights can access certain objects. This will provide an additional level of data security to the tenant protections of Tung . As to claim 2, Tung teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the system performs an extract, transform, load data pipeline or process in accordance with the analytic applications schema and the customer schema associated with the tenant, to receive data from the tenant's enterprise software application or source data environment, for loading into the data warehouse instance associated with the tenant (see Tung paragraphs [0017] and [0029]. Data is collected from the tenant’s data environment via an ETL process according to a customer schema that also serves as an analytic applications schema). As to claim 3, Tung teaches the system of claim 1, wherein generation of one or more extract, transform, load (ETL) maps includes receiving from the seed repository the curated artifacts, including basic dimensions associated with the source data environment (see Tung paragraphs [0017] and [0029]. A tenant repository submits curated data including columns); and wherein additional transaction dimensions, columns, or security artifacts, are then automatically generated by the generator framework (see Tung paragraphs [0021]-[0023] and [0026]. Additional data mapping columns may be generated). As to claim 5, Tung teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the source data environment is one of a NetSuite, business intelligence (BI), enterprise resource planning (ERP), cloud computing, enterprise computing, or other computing environment (see Tung paragraph [0015]). As to claims 6 and 11, see the rejection of claim 1. As to claims 7 and 12, see the rejection of claim 2. As to claims 8 and 13, see the rejection of claim 3. As to claims 10 and 15, see the rejection of claim 5. As to claim 16, Tung as modified by Eberlein teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each tenant instance of the data warehouse is populated with data received from an enterprise software application or source data environment (see Tung paragraphs [0014]-[0016] and Figure 1), wherein data associated with a particular tenant of the analytic applications environment is provisioned in the data warehouse instance associated with, and accessible to, the particular tenant, in accordance with the analytic applications schema and the customer schema associated with the particular tenant (see Eberlein paragraphs [0022]-[0026]). As to claim 17, Tung as modified by Eberlein teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the curated artifacts are provided within a curated data model and first data pipeline or process that publishes a customer data to the analytic applications schema (see Tung paragraph [0025]-[0026]), while an external or custom data is onboarded to the customer schema using a second data pipeline or process (see Eberlein paragraphs [0022]-[0026]). As to claim 18, see the rejection of claim 16. As to claims 19 and 20, see the rejection of claim 17 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tung et al . (US Pre-Grant Publication 2014/0229511), in view of Eberlein et al . (US Pre- Grant Publication 2010/0161648), in view of Kozina et al . (US Patent 9,075,860), and further in view of Wan et al . (US Pre-Grant Publication 2017/0116295) . As to claim 4, Tung as modified teaches the system of claim 1. Tung does not clearly teach wherein the semantic model as generated is stored as a business intelligence (BI) Repository (RPD) file. Wan teaches wherein the semantic model as generated is stored as a business intelligence (BI) Repository (RPD) file (see paragraphs [0059] and [0064]. As noted in Wan , RPD is a standard format for storing ETL logic). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Tung by the teachings of Wan because Wan appears to provide Tung the benefit of standard techniques in ETL metadata management. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to ensure that file formats conform to a desired type. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLES D ADAMS whose telephone number is (571)272-3938. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9-5:30 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aleksandr Kerzhner can be reached at 5712701760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHARLES D ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/072,784 Page 2 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/072,784 Page 3 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/072,784 Page 4 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/072,784 Page 5 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/072,784 Page 6 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/072,784 Page 7 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/072,784 Page 8 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/072,784 Page 9 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/072,784 Page 10 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/072,784 Page 11 Art Unit: 2165