DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 9/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/21/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/28/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant is put on notice that all instances of “and/or” can be treated as “or” such that limitations are optional as only one limitation OR another is required by the claims.
Claim Interpretation – 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “measuring device configured to” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schauer (Applicant-cited NPL: “Sensing motion an muscle activity for feedback control of functional electrical stimulation: Ten years of experience in Berlin”).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6 and 12, Schauer discloses a limb muscle rehabilitation system with a controller, a stimulating electrode, and an EMG electrode that, in response to an applied stimulation to a muscle, receives data indicative of muscle movement and determined movement related to volitional muscle force and stimulated muscle force (See section 2.2-2.2.3 and 3.3 and figures 17-19). After the user is instructed to raise their arm, user effort is estimated to correct the expended effort to maximize volitional force while reducing fatigue and achieving a movement goal by altering the stimulation applied, as needed (Section 1.4, 2.4, 3.3 and 4 and figures 17-19).
Regarding claim 7, the instructions on how to perform the exercise must be given by some sort of device, including a human speaker, a display, etc.
Regarding claims 8-9, stimulation intensity is decreased in order to obtain the desired corrected effort expended by a user which maximizes volitional force relative to stimulated force to reduce slacking.
Regarding claim 10, see section 1.3 which discloses modulation of pulse width and/or amplitude.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Schauer in view of Xie et al. (Applicant-cited NPL: “Mean frequency derived via Hilber-Huan transform with application to fatigue EMG signal analysis” hereinafter Xie).
Schauer discloses the applicant’s basic invention, but is silent as to the fatigue be estimated using median frequency of the data. Xie discloses that the mean frequency of EMG signal can be used to indicate muscle fatigue (see abstract) and the mean and median are conventional spectral variables (see introduction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Schauer to determine fatigue using median frequency as Xie teaches this to be a known methodology in the art.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Schauer in view of Abraham et al. (US 2026/0054059, hereinafter Abraham).
Schauer discloses the applicant’s basic invention, but is silent as to how the stimulation parameters are modulated and activated. Abraham discloses an FES system, and thus is analogous art with Schauer. Abraham discloses that the parameters of FES stimulation can be activated/modulated by using the magnetic fields of a magnet (par. 0015, 0070, 0077). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Schauer to utilize a magnet to activate/modulate stimulation as Abraham shows this to be a known methodology in the art that would not have affected to the overall operation or purpose of Schauer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See applicant-cited NPL and attached PTO-892, especially:
“Contributions to muscle force and EMG by combines neural excitation and electrical stimulation” by Crago et al.
“Functional Neuromuscular Stimulation Controlled by Surface Elctromyographic Signals Produced by Volitional Activation of the Same Muscle: Adaptive Removal of the Muscle Response from the Recorded EMG-Signal” by Sennels et al.
“M-wave elimination from surface electromyogram of electrically stimulated muscles using singular value decomposition: Preliminary results” by Tabernig et al.
“Interaction of post-stroke voluntary effort and functional neuromuscular electrical stimulation” by Makowski et al.
“Evaluation of methods for extraction of the volitional EMG in dynamic hybrid muscle activation” by Langzam et al.
All of the NPL disclose systems and methods for isolating volitional EMG from stimulated EMG and/or using that information for feedback-controlled stimulation.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796