DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 2, 2026 has been entered. Claims 30 – 48 are pending in the application with claims 1 – 29 being cancelled and claims 30 – 48 being newly added. The amendment to the claims has overcome the claim objections and 35 USC 112 rejections set forth in the last Final Action mailed October 3, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 30, 31 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Garrison et al. (US 2025/0122866 – herein after Garrison).
Under 1st interpretation of Garrison
In reference to claim 30, Garrison discloses a high-pressure pump (100, see fig. 1), comprising:
a fluid end body (104, see figs. 1-2), comprising:
a first section (210, see fig. 2) defining an internal flow bore (for instance, bore in which 214 is installed), the internal flow bore comprising an internally threaded portion (see fig. A below);
a second section (37+35, see fig. 2) defining a plunger bore (bore with component 37 and bore 208+212 within component 35), the second section having an exterior surface (outer circumferential surface) comprising an externally threaded portion (see fig. A below) and a locating shoulder (see fig. A below);
wherein the externally threaded portion of the second section (37+35) engages the internally threaded portion of the first section (210) such that (in view of fig. A below) the second section (component 37 of the asserted second section) is threaded into the first section (210) to an assembled condition in which the locating shoulder of the second section abuts the first section;
a plunger (202) disposed at least partially within the plunger bore (as evident from fig. 2);
a fluid routing plug (214; see fig. 2, ¶4 and ¶30) disposed at least partially within the internal flow bore, the fluid routing plug (214) having a suction side (see fig. A below) opening into the plunger bore (opening into portion 212 of the plunger bore), and a discharge side (see fig. A below) opening into the internal flow bore;
a suction valve (51, see fig. 2 and ¶31-¶32) configured to (see fig. A below) seat against the fluid routing plug (214) at the suction side and within the second section (35); and
a discharge valve (52, see fig. 2 and ¶31-¶32) configured to (see fig. A below) seat against the fluid routing plug (214) at the discharge side and within the first section (210);
wherein, in the assembled condition, the plunger bore is aligned with the internal flow bore (as evident from fig. A below).
Fig. A: Edited fig. 2 of Garrison to show claim interpretation.
In reference to claim 31, Garrison discloses the high-pressure pump, wherein the locating shoulder (see bottom image in fig. A above) comprises an annular surface, and wherein, in the assembled condition, the annular surface abuts an end surface of the first section (see bottom image in fig. A above), the end surface surrounding an opening (left opening) of the internally threaded portion (as evident from the bottom image of fig. A above).
In reference to claim 45, Garrison discloses the high-pressure pump, wherein the second section (37+35, see fig. 2) comprises a front section (35) extending into the first section (210) further than the externally threaded portion (see fig. A above) of the second section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30, 32 – 35, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrison et al. (US 2025/0122866 – herein after Garrison) in view of Gable et al. (US 2019/0331245 – herein after Gable) and further in view of Breen et al. (US 2012/0055224 – herein after Breen).
Under 2nd interpretation of Garrison
In reference to claim 30, Garrison teaches a high-pressure pump (100, see fig. 1), comprising:
a fluid end body (104, see figs. 1-2), comprising:
a first section (210, see fig. 2) defining an internal flow bore (for instance, bore in which 214 is installed); and
a second section (35, see fig. 2) defining a plunger bore (208+212), the second section having an exterior surface (see fig. B below);
wherein the second section (35) engages the first section (210) such that the second section is inserted into the first section to an assembled condition in which the second section abuts the first section;
a plunger (202) disposed at least partially within the plunger bore (208+212) [as seen in fig. 2: plunger 202 is disposed within portion 208 of the asserted plunger bore];
a fluid routing plug (214; see fig. 2, ¶4 and ¶30) disposed at least partially within the internal flow bore (bore corresponding to 210), the fluid routing plug (214) having a suction side (see fig. B below) opening into the plunger bore (opening into portion 212 of the plunger bore 208+212), and a discharge side (see fig. B below) opening into the internal flow bore (bore corresponding to 210);
a suction valve (51, see fig. 2 and ¶31-¶32) configured to (see fig. B below) seat against the fluid routing plug (214) at the suction side and within the second section (35); and
a discharge valve (52, see fig. 2 and ¶31-¶32) configured to (see fig. B below) seat against the fluid routing plug (214) at the discharge side and within the first section (210);
wherein, in the assembled condition, the plunger bore is aligned with the internal flow bore (as evident from fig. B below).
Fig. B: Edited fig. 2 of Garrison to show claim interpretation.
Garrison remains silent on the high-pressure pump, wherein the internal flow bore comprising “an internally threaded portion”, wherein the second section having the exterior surface comprising “an externally threaded portion”; wherein the externally threaded portion of the second section engages the internally threaded portion of the first section such that the second section is threaded into the first section.
However, Gable teaches a high-pressure pump (10, see fig. 1A and ¶24), comprising:
a fluid end body (12; see fig. 1A and ¶26), comprising:
a first section (1912, see fig. 3) defining an internal flow bore (see fig. 3: “internal flow bore” = vertical bore, i.e. bore with features such as 1916, 1924), the internal flow bore comprising an internally threaded portion [the asserted “internal flow bore” has internal threads; for instance (in view of disclosure in ¶33), internally threaded portion = portion with threads 1988 that couples with outer threads of cylinder housing 1704]; and
a second section (1704, see fig. 3) defining a plunger bore (1788, see fig. 3), the second section having an exterior surface comprising an externally threaded portion (portion with threads 1796; see fig. 3 and ¶33) and a locating shoulder (defined at the top end of the cylinder housing 1704);
wherein (in view of fig. 3 and disclosure in ¶33) the externally threaded portion of the second section engages the internally threaded portion of the first section such that the second section is threaded into the first section to an assembled condition in which the locating shoulder of the second section abuts the first section;
wherein, in the assembled condition, the plunger bore is aligned with the internal flow bore (as evident from fig. 3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute a connection between the first and second sections in the high-pressure pump of Garrison for a threaded connection as taught by Gable in order to obtain the predictable result of coupling/attaching the second section to the first section in the fluid end. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Garrison remains silent on the high-pressure pump, wherein the second section having the exterior surface comprising “a locating shoulder”.
However, Breen teaches a first section (3) and a second section (8), wherein the second section is threadably coupled with the first section (as evident from fig. 3), and wherein the second section having the exterior surface comprises an externally threaded portion (14) and a locating shoulder (46, see ¶37).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a locating shoulder as taught by Breen in the second section in the modified high-pressure pump of Garrison for the purpose of accurately locating the second section in the first section, as evidenced by Breen (see ¶37).
In reference to claim 32, Garrison, as modified, teaches the high-pressure pump, wherein the internally threaded portion (per Gable) is formed in a counterbore (labeled “c.b.” in fig. B above; in Garrison) of the first section (210; of Garrison), and wherein, in the assembled condition, the locating shoulder (per Breen; see Breen’s fig. 8: shoulder being 46) abuts a shoulder surface (see Breen’s fig. 3: surface in the first section 3 that is abutted by shoulder 46) of the counterbore.
In reference to claim 33, Garrison teaches the high-pressure pump, wherein the suction valve (51) is disposed in the plunger bore (208+212), and the discharge valve (52) is disposed in the internal flow bore (right portion of the bore corresponding to section 210).
In reference to claim 34, Garrison, as modified, teaches the high-pressure pump, wherein each of the internally threaded portion and the externally threaded portion are coaxial about a longitudinal axis (↨ axis in view of Gable’s fig. 3 or ↔ axis in view of fig. B above), and wherein, in the assembled condition, each of the plunger bore (208+212; of Garrison) and the internal flow bore (bore corresponding to section 210; of Garrison) are coaxial about the longitudinal axis.
In reference to claim 35, Garrison teaches the high-pressure pump, further comprising:
a packing (36, see ¶33 and fig. 2);
a threaded packing nut (37, see ¶33) disposed about the plunger (202) and configured to retain the packing within the plunger bore.
In reference to claim 39, Garrison teaches the high-pressure pump, further comprising:
an inlet manifold (in a piping system 106, see fig. 1 and ¶29) in communication with the internal flow bore (bore in which 214 is installed) of the first section (210);
an outlet manifold (in a piping system 106, see fig. 1 and ¶29) in communication with the internal flow bore of the first section (210); and
wherein the fluid routing plug (214) defines:
a first fluid flow path (path between suction valve 51 and intake portion 2124; in view of fig. 2 and ¶30, this path is viewed as being indicated by arrow 218) from the inlet manifold, through the fluid routing plug, to the suction side (see fig. B above); and
a second fluid flow path (in view of fig. 2 and ¶30, this path is viewed as being indicated by arrow 220) from the suction side (see fig. B above) to the discharge side (see fig. B above).
In reference to claim 40, Garrison teaches the high-pressure pump, wherein (see fig. 2 and fig. B above):
the suction valve (51) is configured to cover the first fluid flow path at the suction side; and
the discharge valve (52) is configured to cover the second fluid flow path at the discharge side.
Claims 36 – 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrison in view of Gable and further in view of Breen and Thomas et al. (US 2022/0099073 – herein after Thomas).
Regarding claim 36,
Garrison remains silent on the high-pressure pump, further comprising a retainer affixed to the second section and configured to retain the threaded packing nut within the plunger bore.
However, Thomas teaches a high-pressure pump, (see fig. 20) comprising: a packing (224, see fig. 20 and ¶326) disposed within the plunger bore (viewed as bore in which plunger reciprocates) about the plunger (290); a threaded packing nut (276, see ¶323-¶324 and fig. 20) disposed about the plunger and configured to retain the packing within the plunger bore; and a retainer (232, see ¶313 and fig. 20) affixed (via fasteners) to a section (viewed as section 110, see fig. 20) and configured to retain the threaded packing nut within the plunger bore (viewed as bore in which plunger reciprocates).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the packing assemblies of the high-pressure pumps are subjected to extreme cyclical vibrations and pressure surges (for instance, extreme, unidirectional axial thrust against the plunger and the packing assembly during the discharge stroke) which can cause directly threaded packing components to back off, loosen, or fail under pressure. It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the high-pressure pump of Garrison for including a retainer as taught by Thomas that is affixed to the second section of Garrison for the purpose of using robust mechanical locking and specialized asymmetrical thread configurations (such as buttress-type that are configured to handle a large amount of load using a low amount of threads), as recognized by Thomas (see ¶324-¶325).
Regarding claim 37,
Garrison, as modified, teaches the high-pressure pump, in which the retainer (232; of Thomas) is affixed to the second section (35; of Garrison) by a plurality of studs (250, see figs. 20-21 and ¶316 of Thomas).
Regarding claim 38,
Garrison, as modified, teaches the high-pressure pump (see Thomas), in which the threaded packing nut (276) is threaded (see figs. 20-21 and ¶324) to an internal surface of the retainer (232).
Claims 41 – 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrison in view of Thomas et al. (US 2022/0099073 – herein after Thomas).
Regarding claim 41,
Garrison teaches the high-pressure pump, further comprising a discharge manifold (see fig. C below), the discharge manifold attached to the first section (see fig. C below: first section, as a whole, is considered to be formed by each of the shaded components) and comprising:
a first discharge conduit (see fig. C below: inherent feature so that fluid is discharged; note that 106 is a suction manifold), the first discharge conduit extending from the first section and comprising:
a first flange (see fig. C below).
Fig. C: Edited fig. 1 of Garrison to show claim interpretation.
Garrison remains silent on further claimed details of the discharge manifold such as the discharge manifold comprising “a boss” and “a second flange”.
However, Thomas teaches a similar high-pressure pump, further comprising: a discharge manifold (176, see fig. 7 and ¶288 OR 167, see fig. 7B and ¶285), the discharge manifold attached to the first section (viewed as 102 in fig. 7B or 112 in fig. 8) and comprising:
a first discharge conduit (174, see fig. 8 and ¶288), the first discharge conduit extending from the first section and comprising:
a first flange (171, see fig. 19);
a boss (see fig. D below: labeled “b”; “boss” = protrusion) extending from the first flange; and
a second flange (see fig. D below: labeled “f2”), disposed on the first discharge conduit (174) at an end opposite the first flange, in which:
the boss extends into a counterbore (173, see ¶291) formed on the first section (104); and
the first flange (171) is attached to the first section (104) with a plurality of bolts (186, see fig. 19 and ¶295).
Fig. D: Edited fig. 19 of Thomas to show claim interpretation.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the high-pressure pump of Garrison to substitute the discharge manifold of Garrison for the discharge manifold of Thomas in order to obtain the predictable result of allowing the fluid from the pumping chamber to be discharged to a desired location. KSR Int'l V. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). Furthermore, Thomas’s discharge manifold arrangement provides advantages such as (see ¶293) allowing the gases to escape naturally and easier replacement of discharge conduit and corresponding discharge piping due to wear caused by the rising gas.
Regarding claim 42,
Garrison, as modified, teaches the high-pressure pump, in which the discharge manifold further comprises (see Thomas):
a manifold body (176, see fig. 7) having a plurality of inlet ports (port corresponding to conduit labelled “c” in fig. E below), the manifold body comprising a plurality of third flanges [this flange being of conduit “c” that is threadably coupled to the second flange {labelled “f2” in fig. D above}], each third flange disposed about each of the plurality of inlet ports; and
a clamp joint (labelled in fig. E below), joining one of the plurality of third flanges to the second flange of the first discharge conduit (174).
Fig. E: Edited fig. 7 of Thomas to show claim interpretation.
Regarding claim 43,
Garrison teaches the high-pressure pump, in which the first section comprises five internal flow bores (see fig. D above: these bores are within shaded components).
Regarding claim 44,
Garrison teaches the high-pressure pump, wherein five second sections are threaded to the first section at corresponding internal flow bores (inherent feature in view of figs. 1-2: each second section corresponding internal flow bore of the five internal flow bores; see fig. D above).
Claims 46 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrison in view of Moe et al. (US 7,296,591 – herein after Moe).
Regarding claim 46,
Garrison teaches the high-pressure pump, comprising a front surface of the front section (35 in fig. 2 or see fig. F below).
Fig. F: Edited fig. 2 of Garrison to show claim interpretation.
Garrison remains silent on the high-pressure pump, comprising “an axial face seal disposed in the first section and contacting” the front surface of the front section of the second section.
However, Moe teaches a similar high-pressure pump comprising an axial face seal (see fig. G below; in view of disclosure in col. 2, lines 13-27 and col. 4- col. 5: gaskets are shown in the form of dark thick regions in the figures) disposed in the first section (8) and contacting a front surface (see fig. G below) of the front section of the second section (3).
Fig. G: Edited fig. 1 of Moe to show claim interpretation.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an axial face seal as taught by Moe in Garrison’s first section such that it contacts Garrison’s front surface in order to improve overall sealing performance and preventing a leakage along the axial interface between Garrison’s first section and Garrison’s second/front section.
Regarding claim 48,
Garrison, as modified, teaches the high-pressure pump, wherein the front section of the second section comprises a chamfered nose (in circled region; see fig. F above).
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrison in view of Moe and further in view of Thomas et al. (US 2022/0099073 – herein after Thomas).
Garrison, as modified, teaches the high-pressure pump, further comprising an outside surface (see fig. F above) of the front section.
Garrison, as modified, remains silent on the high-pressure pump, further comprising “at least one radial seal disposed in the first section and contacting” the outside surface of the front section of the second section.
However, Thomas teaches a similar high-pressure pump comprising at least one radial seal (260, see fig. 20 and ¶318) disposed in the first section (labelled “S1” in fig. H below) and contacting an outside surface (outer circumferential surface) of the front section (212) of the second section (labelled “S2” in fig. H below).
Fig. H: Edited fig. 20 of Thomas to show claim interpretation.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a radial seal as taught by Thomas in the bore of Garrison’s first section such that it contacts Garrison’s outside surface of the front section in order to improve overall sealing performance and preventing a leakage along the radial interface between Garrison’s first section and Garrison’s second/front section.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 04/02/2026, with respect to newly added claim 30 have been considered.
The arguments presented under points D and E are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on (i) anticipation or combination of Gable or Whaley and (ii) obvious over the combination of Thomas and Gable.
The arguments presented under point F are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of Garrison and Gable. Garrison and Gable have re-evaluated and re-applied to the claims in view of newly found reference of Breen.
Conclusion
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746