DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 5-12 and 17-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-4 and 13-16 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4 and 13-16 in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-12 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/22/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the text in Figures 6, 11, 17 and 18 is not legible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11898254. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 6 anticipates claims 1-4.
2. Claims 1-4 and 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 17/955561 in view of Hee et al. (KR-102161704, reference is made to the provided English translation). Claim 4 recites an identical process except for failing to teach that the fluorination target is a yttria coated part. However, Hee teaches a similar process for fluorination wherein the substrate to be fluorinated is a yttria coated part (see Experimental Example 5, page 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Application No. 17/955561’s process by performing it on a yttria coated part as disclosed by Hee. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Hee teaches that these parts can then be protected and used in harsh plasma environments to provide a more durable apparatus (see Technical Field section, page 2).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 13-16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13-16 recite “non-fluorine reactive gas (O2)” and “fluorine-containing reactive gas (CF4)”. However, the parent claims do not require the gases to be O2 and CF4, rather the parent claims only require a generic non-fluorine reactive gas and a reactive gas, and not even a fluorine-containing reactive gas. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claims 13-16 are unclear. It is impossible to determine if the claims require the gases to include O2 and CF4 or rather the claims encompass any generic reactive gas and any generic non-fluorine reactive gas as required by independent claim 1. For examination purposes, any generic reactive gas and any generic non-fluorine gas will be interpreted as reading upon the claims until they are clarified.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the LF plasma generation power". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no initial recitation that the plasma is an LF plasma. Therefore, claim 16 is indefinite as it is unclear whether the plasma must be a generic plasma or an LF plasma. For examination purposes, any plasma will be interpreted as meeting the limitations of the claim until it is clarified. Additionally, claim 16 recites that the ratio between the gases can be 0:100; however, this would be impossible given that the treatment step must include non-fluorine reactive gas as required by parent claim 1. For examination purposes, the range has been interpreted as “between 90:10 and 0:100”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
4. Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hee et al. (KR-102161704, reference is made to the provided English translation).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 13-15, Hee teaches a process for protecting a part coated with yttria for use in semiconductor manufacturing plasma environments (inherently capable of use in a semiconductor dry etching system) comprising: providing a yttria coated part (Experimental Example 6, page 12); placing the part in a process chamber (Experimental Example 6 and Figure 1); introducing a discharge gas, argon, a reactive gas, CF4, and a non-fluorine reactive gas, oxygen, into the process chamber (Experimental Example 6); and performing plasma and heat treating in the process chamber to yield a yttrium oxyfluoride layer on the yttria coated part (Experimental Example 6). Hee further teaches controlling the process by controlling the plasma generation power, the treatment time, a flow rate between the oxygen gas and the CF4 gas, and a distance between plasma and part (Experimental Example 6). Hee teaches all the limitations of claims 1-4 and 13-15; therefore, Hee anticipates the claims.
5. Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0212732).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 13-15, Yu teaches a process comprising: providing a yttria coated part (0130) for a semiconductor dry etching system (0166) comprising: providing a yttria coated part (0130); placing the part in a process chamber (0060, 0130 and Figure 16); introducing a discharge gas, argon, a reactive gas, CF4, and a non-fluorine reactive gas, oxygen, into the process chamber (0064 and 0131); and performing plasma and heat treating (see 0074 and claim 5) in the process chamber to yield a yttrium oxyfluoride layer on the yttria coated part (0160). Yu further teaches controlling the process by controlling the plasma generation power (0075 and claim 4), a flow rate between the oxygen gas and the CF4 gas (0068), treatment time (0131) and a distance between plasma and part (0086). Yu teaches all the limitations of claims 1-4 and 13-15; therefore, Yu anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hee.
Regarding claim 16, Hee teaches all the limitations of claim 13 (see above), but fails to explicitly teach an example with a power, a flow rate, a treatment time and a distance as claimed. However, Hee teaches a plasma power of 0.1-5 kW (bottom of page 7), a flow rate ratio between the oxygen and CF4 in a range overlapping the range as claimed (bottom of page 7), and a distance from the substrate to the top and bottom of the plasma generating electrode is from 3.5 mm-248.5 mm (see Experimental Examples 5 and 6). Hee teaches ranges for the power, flow rate, and distance which overlap with the claimed ranges. Furthermore, overlapping ranges have been held as prima facie evidence of obviousness. Additionally, the treatment time is a result-effective variable as altering the treatment time will alter the thickness of the deposited coating. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed range for treatment time through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
7. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu.
Regarding claim 16, Yu teaches all the limitations of claim 13 (see above), but fails to explicitly teach an example with a power, a flow rate, a treatment time and a distance as claimed. However, Yu teaches a plasma power up to 1 kW (0077), a flow rate ratio between the oxygen and CF4 in a range overlapping the range as claimed (0068), and a distance from the substrate to the plasma is 1-50 mm (0086). Yu teaches ranges for the power, flow rate, and distance which overlap with the claimed ranges. Furthermore, overlapping ranges have been held as prima facie evidence of obviousness. Additionally, the treatment time is a result-effective variable as altering the treatment time will alter the thickness of the deposited coating. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed range for treatment time through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 5-12 and 17-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-4 and 13-16 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
July 1, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717