DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant’s Communication of application S/N 19/074,051 filed on March 7, 2025. Claims 1 to 20 are currently pending with the application.
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of Application No. 17/877,033, filed on July 29, 2022. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of prior-filed application 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, or 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2026 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “code loaded inside the TEE is protected with integrity” in line 12, which appears to contain a typographical error, and that it should read “code loaded inside the TEE is protected with regard to integrity” OR “code loaded inside the TEE is protected for integrity”.
Same rationale applies to claims 8 and 15, since they recite similar limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 to 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 to 6 of U.S. Patent 12,265,522. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are anticipated by the claims in the U.S. Patent.
Following mapping of claims 1 to 7 of Instant Application to claims 1 to 6 of U.S. Patent 12,265,522. Similar mapping applies to claims 8 to 20 of instant application, since they recite similar limitations.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent 12,265,522
1. An apparatus, comprising: a device including at least one memory having processor-executable code stored therein, and at least one processor that is adapted to execute the processor-executable code, wherein the processor-executable code includes processor-executable instructions that, in response to execution, enable the device to perform actions, including: for each node in a plurality of nodes in a consortium blockchain, verifying, by trusted execution environment (TEE) attestation, that other nodes in the plurality of nodes comply with a governance process of the consortium blockchain that defines code to be run in a TEE of each of the plurality of nodes; for each node in the plurality of nodes, executing, in the TEE of the node, database code and distributed ledger code to respectively implement a distributed database and a distributed ledger on the consortium blockchain, wherein code loaded inside the TEE is protected with integrity, and wherein the TEE comprises a journal of effects that contains commit points; and upon reaching a commit point in the journal of effects, updating the database based on entries associated with a plurality of transactions in the journal of effects since a last commit point.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actions further include persisting changes associated with a first transaction of the plurality of transactions to the distributed ledger by updating the journal of effects to add, for each of the changes, an entry that corresponds to the change.
1. An apparatus, comprising: a device including at least one memory having processor-executable code stored therein, and at least one processor that is adapted to execute the processor-executable code, wherein the processor-executable code includes processor-executable instructions that, in response to execution, enable the device to perform actions, including: verifying, by a first node using trusted execution environment (TEE) attestation, that a plurality of other nodes complies with a governance process defined by a consortium blockchain, wherein the consortium blockchain comprises the first node and the plurality of other nodes; executing, in a TEE of the first node, database code and distributed ledger code, such that the distributed ledger code is distributed among the first node and the plurality of other nodes of the consortium blockchain to provide a distributed ledger, and such that execution of the database code of the first node instantiates a first instance of a database, wherein the database is distributed among the first node and the plurality of other nodes, wherein the TEE comprises a portion of the processor that provides confidentiality and integrity to loaded code and data; receiving a first transaction that is associated with modifying the database; executing the first transaction; receiving a second transaction that is associated with modifying the database; executing the second transaction; persisting changes associated with the first and second transactions to the distributed ledger by updating a journal of effects in the distributed ledger, wherein the journal of effects comprises a first entry generated for the first transaction and a second entry generated for the second transaction, and wherein the journal of effects further comprises a commit point after the first entry and the second entry; and upon reaching the commit point, updating the database based on entries in the journal of effects since a last commit point, wherein the entries in the journal of effects since the last commit point comprise the first entry and the second entry.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actions further include executing, in the TEE of the node, proxy code.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, the actions further including executing, in the TEE of the first node, proxy code.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the distributed database is a relational database.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the database is a relational database.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actions further include providing a universally verifiable receipt for a first transaction of the plurality of transactions, and wherein the universally verifiable receipt includes a Merkle tree proof and a signed root hash.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actions further include providing a universally verifiable receipt for the first transaction, wherein the universally verifiable receipt includes a Merkle tree proof and a signed root hash.
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actions further include using the distributed ledger to recover the distributed database.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actions further include using the distributed ledger to recover the database.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actions further include, responsive to a successful consensus vote within the consortium blockchain, persisting changes associated with a first transaction of the plurality of transactions to the distributed ledger.
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein persisting the changes associated with the first transaction to the distributed ledger is accomplished responsive to a successful consensus vote within the consortium blockchain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 to 8, 10 to 15, and 17 to 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0245117) hereinafter Higgins, in view of Smith et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0014132) hereinafter Smith, and further in view of Vermeulen et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,609,890) hereinafter Vermeulen.
As to claim 1:
Higgins discloses:
An apparatus, comprising: a device including at least one memory having processor-executable code stored therein, and at least one processor that is adapted to execute the processor-executable code, wherein the processor-executable code includes processor-executable instructions that, in response to execution, enable the device to perform actions, including:
for each node in the plurality of nodes, executing, in the TEE of the node, database code and distributed ledger code to respectively implement a distributed database and a distributed ledger on the consortium blockchain [Paragraph 0008 teaches a distributed ledger system configured to create, update and maintain at least one blockchain indicative of transactions performed by a network of users of the system; Paragraph 0009 teaches a network of user nodes; Paragraph 0037 teaches each user node is configured to execute database management software for enabling the node to create, read, update and/or delete one or more blockchain related transactions on the at least one database; Paragraph 0059 teaches each application instance runs a node; Paragraph 0061 teaches synchronizing data between blockchain instances and one or more SQL databases].
Higgins does not appear to expressly disclose for each node in a plurality of nodes in a consortium blockchain, verifying, by trusted execution environment (TEE) attestation, that other nodes in the plurality of nodes comply with a governance process of the consortium blockchain that defines code to be run in a TEE of each of the plurality of nodes; wherein code loaded inside the TEE is protected with integrity, and wherein the TEE comprises a journal of effects that contains commit points; and upon reaching a commit point in the journal of effects, updating the database based on entries associated with a plurality of transactions in the journal of effects since a last commit point.
Smith discloses:
for each node in a plurality of nodes in a consortium blockchain, verifying, by trusted execution environment (TEE) attestation, that other nodes in the plurality of nodes comply with a governance process of the consortium blockchain that defines code to be run in a TEE of each of the plurality of nodes [Paragraph 0094 teaches executing or operating of a trusted execution environment (TEE), where aspects of security hardening, hardware roots-of-trust, and trusted or protected operations may be implemented through the TEE, therefore, including verifying compliance with governance processes; Paragraph 0125 teaches tracking distributed ledger records in the blockchain, which hold individual transactions among blockchain participants];
wherein code loaded inside the TEE is protected with integrity [Paragraph 0126 teaches blockchain records are integrity protected; Paragraph 0094 teaches the TEE operates as a protected area accessible to the processor for secure execution of instructions and secure access to data].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Higgins, by for each node in a plurality of nodes in a consortium blockchain, verifying, by trusted execution environment (TEE) attestation, that other nodes in the plurality of nodes comply with a governance process of the consortium blockchain that defines code to be run in a TEE of each of the plurality of nodes; wherein code loaded inside the TEE is protected with integrity, as taught by Smith [Paragraph 0094, 0125, 0126], because both applications are directed to improved solutions for distributed ledger transactions; incorporating a TEE enhances security of execution and access of data (See Smith Para [0094]).
Neither Higgins nor Smith appear to expressly disclose wherein the TEE comprises a journal of effects that contains commit points; and upon reaching a commit point in the journal of effects, updating the database based on entries associated with a plurality of transactions in the journal of effects since a last commit point.
Vermeulen discloses:
wherein the TEE comprises a journal of effects that contains commit points [Column 6, lines 18 to 27 teach each journal entry includes a commit record entry]; and
upon reaching a commit point in the journal of effects, updating the database based on entries associated with a plurality of transactions in the journal of effects since a last commit point [Column 11, line 54 to Column 12, line 2 teach the journal manager may provide an indication of the latest committed state of the database (such as the highest commit sequence number generated thus far), and determining the most recently applied write at the materialization node (database) based on the commit entry, to perform the writes].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Higgins, by incorporating a TEE comprising a journal of effects that contains commit points; and upon reaching a commit point in the journal of effects, updating the database based on entries associated with a plurality of transactions in the journal of effects since a last commit point, as taught by Vermeulen [Columns 6, 11, 12], because the applications are directed to improved solutions for distributed ledger transactions; updating the database upon committing the changes to the distributed ledger enhances the management of distributed ledger data, while providing a simplified conflict detection, thereby enhancing integrity, consistency, and security (See Vermeulen Cols 3, 7).
As to claim 3:
Higgins discloses:
the database is a relational database [Paragraph 0061 teaches synchronizing data between blockchain instances and one or more SQL databases, hence, relational database].
As to claim 4:
Higgins discloses:
persisting changes associated with a first transaction of the plurality of transactions to the distributed ledger by updating the journal of effects to add, for each of the changes, an entry that corresponds to the change [Paragraph 0022 teaches creating, maintaining and updating at least one blockchain indicative of the one or more transactions in a distributed ledger system via the network of user nodes; Paragraph 0058 teaches transmit said transactions securely across a peer-to-peer network as corresponding blockchain or distributed ledger transactions; Paragraph 0077 teaches writing transactions to the blockchain; Paragraph 0702 teaches blockchains represent a sequential series of records or transactions immutably written to and stored in a sequential chain of blocks].
As to claim 5:
Higgins discloses:
providing a universally verifiable receipt for a first transaction of the plurality of transactions, and wherein the universally verifiable receipt includes a Merkle tree proof and a signed root hash [Paragraph 0443 teaches uses a Merkle Tree to rapidly and efficiently validate a list of transactions within a block; Paragraph 0047 teaches each block has a property of type UPMerkle, which is a hash tree of all the transactions in the Block with binary branches until a single root node hash represents the hash of the entire tree].
As to claim 6:
Higgins discloses:
using the distributed ledger to recover the distributed database [Paragraph 0677 teaches a fresh copy of the database could be recovered at least by replaying the blockchain].
As to claim 7:
Higgins discloses:
responsive to a successful consensus vote within the consortium blockchain, persisting changes associated with a first transaction of the plurality of transactions to the distributed ledger [Paragraph 0127 teaches candidate transaction is sent to each peer, parent and child to validate and adding to their queue; Paragraph 0128 teaches Founder Node writes all valid transactions to a block which is transmitted to each peer, parent and child to validate and if validated adding to their version of the blockchain].
Same rationale applies to claims 8, 10 to 15, and 17 to 20, since they recite similar limitations, and are therefore, similarly rejected.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0245117) hereinafter Higgins, in view of Smith et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0014132) hereinafter Smith, in view of Vermeulen et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,609,890) hereinafter Vermeulen, and further in view of Stamos et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0034606) hereinafter Stamos.
As to claim 2:
Higgins as modified by Smith and Vermeulen discloses all the limitations as set forth in the rejections of claim 1 above, but does not appear to expressly disclose executing, in the TEE of the node, proxy code.
Stamos discloses:
executing, in the TEE of the node, proxy code [Paragraph 0095 teaches each DBMS participant runs a proxy server, which allows DBMS participants to participate securely in a BCA network, by transmitting messages transmitted as part of block apply to the proxy server].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Higgins, by executing, in the TEE of the first node, proxy code, as taught by Stamos [Paragraph 0095], because the applications are directed to improved solutions for distributed ledger transactions; using a proxy server avoids the need for one database to connect to another database directly, which may not be permitted in a deployment with minimal trust (See Stamos [0095]).
Same rationale applies to claims 9, and 16, since they recite similar limitations, and are therefore, similarly rejected.
Conclusion
/RAQUEL PEREZ-ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169