DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In re-claim 3; “trailer in the image and analysing” seems to contain a typographical error. It is suggested that the claim language be changed to recite; “trailer in the image and analyzing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 11-13, 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amar US-10220890-B2 in view of Tenstam US-20220258812-A1.
1. Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
A vehicle [FIG.3; 21] comprising:
a chassis supported by wheels [FIG.1; 27, chassis-type trailer 291];
a cab mounted on the chassis [FIG.3];
a load or a trailer detachably attached to the chassis [FIG.1; 29, 23];
an air deflector panel movably attached to the cab [FIG.3; 33];
an actuator assembly configured to adjust a position of the air deflector panel relative to the cab;
(Amar [col.3; ln.35] Means 39 for selectively deploying and retracting the deflector 33, such as by raising and lowering, relative to the tractor 21, a rear edge 41 of a deflector 33 that is pivotably mounted to the tractor, is also provided. The means 39 for selectively deploying and retracting can comprise at least one (typically only one) of a hydraulically driven, a pneumatically driven, or an electro-mechanically driven piston 43 or rod (hereinafter referred to as a piston). Suitable means for selectively deploying and retracting the rear edge 41 of the deflector 33 may include but are not limited to a piston 43 pivotably mounted between the roof 25 and the rear edge 41 of the deflector 33 as seen in FIG. 2.)
a camera monitoring system mounted on the cab, wherein the camera monitoring system
includes a camera configured to provide a captured image of an area located rearward of the cab;
(Amar [col.5] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force)
(Amar [col.5] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force, …, particularly the height and/or width of the trailer relative to the tractor, warrant deployment of the deflector. The optical sensor 49o can be further arranged to send the loaded signal only when the tractor 21 is connected to the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag source. For example, when the second trailer 29′ is vertically lower than the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag source, an optical sensor can sense that the tractor is connected to the second trailer and send an unloaded signal to the controller 51 to cause the deflector to retract.)
a control unit (controller 51) connected to, or in communication with, the camera monitoring system
(Amar [col.5] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force)
(Amar [col.4; ln.35] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force, in other words, to a height and/or width that is optimal for the trailer in question, not necessarily the same height and/or width as the trailer. )
Tenstam US-20220258812-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a system and method for adjusting an air deflector comprising “…a storage device comprising information of at least one of a different cab, load, and trailer types and a table for at least one of a different cab-load and cab-trailer combinations, the table containing data relative to an optimal position of the air deflector panel for each of at least one of cab-load and cab-trailer combination”;
(Tenstam [0012, 0029, claim.1] In a method for adjusting an air deflector on a roof of a truck cabin to an optimal position when the truck is connected to a trailer, where the truck comprises an air deflector, an electric actuator and an electronic control unit, the steps of; initiating an adjustment cycle by a handheld device; determining a value corresponding to the height of the trailer by using the handheld device; determining a value corresponding to the horizontal distance between the truck and the trailer by using the handheld device; determining a set value for the actuator by using the determined values, the type of truck and a stored table for different truck-trailer combinations; and sending the set value to the control unit, where the control unit adjusts the air deflector to an optimal position by adjusting the actuator in dependency of the set value are comprised.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include a storage device comprising information of at least one of a different cab, load, and trailer types and a table for at least one of a different cab-load and cab-trailer combinations with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Tenstam, for the benefit of providing data relative to the operational relationship between known configurations under expected conditions for system comparison and monitoring.
wherein the control unit is configured to:
determine dimensional values relative to the cab and to the load or trailer by processing the captured image (i.e. sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 );
(Amar [col.5] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force, …, particularly the height and/or width of the trailer relative to the tractor, warrant deployment of the deflector. The optical sensor 49o can be further arranged to send the loaded signal only when the tractor 21 is connected to the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag source. For example, when the second trailer 29′ is vertically lower than the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag source, an optical sensor can sense that the tractor is connected to the second trailer and send an unloaded signal to the controller 51 to cause the deflector to retract.)
determine [col.4]
(Amar [col.3] The trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag is contrasted with trailers 29′ as seen in FIG. 1C of a type that form a different, usually lesser aerodynamic drag, such as flatbed trailers with no loads or with loads that are vertically lower than the roof 25 of the tractor 21 and drayage chassis-type trailers that do not have containers attached thereto.)
(Amar [col.4; ln.10] The sensor 49 can be arranged to sense that the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force is attached to the tractor 21 by one of sensing and calculating a weight of one of the trailer that forms the aerodynamic drag force alone or the tractor with the trailer that forms the aerodynamic drag force, or sensing a height and/or width of a trailer attached to the tractor…
…the sensor or sensors and deflectors may be arranged so that the deflectors deploy only upon detection of a “calibratable” load, e.g., a load that would be expected to reflect the attachment of something to the tractor that would likely form the aerodynamic drag force.)
Tenstam US-20220258812-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a system and method for adjusting an air deflector comprising “…the cab type (i.e. the type of truck) and the load or trailer type by comparing the determined dimensional values with the stored information of the storage device”;
(Tenstam [0012, 0029, claim.1] In a method for adjusting an air deflector on a roof of a truck cabin to an optimal position when the truck is connected to a trailer, where the truck comprises an air deflector, an electric actuator and an electronic control unit, the steps of; initiating an adjustment cycle by a handheld device; determining a value corresponding to the height of the trailer by using the handheld device; determining a value corresponding to the horizontal distance between the truck and the trailer by using the handheld device; determining a set value for the actuator by using the determined values, the type of truck and a stored table for different truck-trailer combinations; and sending the set value to the control unit, where the control unit adjusts the air deflector to an optimal position by adjusting the actuator in dependency of the set value are comprised.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include a storage device comprising information of at least one of a different cab, load, and trailer types and a table for at least one of a different cab-load and cab-trailer combinations with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Tenstam, for the benefit of providing data relative to the operational relationship between known configurations under expected conditions for system comparison and monitoring.
determine an optimal position of the air deflector panel based on the data
control the actuator assembly to adjust the position of the air deflector panel to the
determined optimal position.
(Amar [col.4; ln.10] The sensor 49 can be arranged to sense that the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force is attached to the tractor 21 by one of sensing and calculating a weight of one of the trailer that forms the aerodynamic drag force alone or the tractor with the trailer that forms the aerodynamic drag force, or sensing a height and/or width of a trailer attached to the tractor…
(Amar [col.4; ln.35] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force, in other words, to a height and/or width that is optimal for the trailer in question, not necessarily the same height and/or width as the trailer. )
Tenstam US-20220258812-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a system and method for adjusting an air deflector comprising “…data of the table corresponding to the determined cab type and…”;
(Tenstam [0012, 0029, claim.1] In a method for adjusting an air deflector on a roof of a truck cabin to an optimal position when the truck is connected to a trailer, where the truck comprises an air deflector, an electric actuator and an electronic control unit, the steps of; initiating an adjustment cycle by a handheld device; determining a value corresponding to the height of the trailer by using the handheld device; determining a value corresponding to the horizontal distance between the truck and the trailer by using the handheld device; determining a set value for the actuator by using the determined values, the type of truck and a stored table for different truck-trailer combinations; and sending the set value to the control unit, where the control unit adjusts the air deflector to an optimal position by adjusting the actuator in dependency of the set value are comprised.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include a storage device comprising information of at least one of a different cab, load, and trailer types and a table for at least one of a different cab-load and cab-trailer combinations with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Tenstam, for the benefit of providing data relative to the operational relationship between known configurations under expected conditions for system comparison and monitoring.
2. Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the dimensional values relative to the cab and to the load or trailer comprise the height of the cab
(Amar [col.5] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force, …, particularly the height and/or width of the trailer relative to the tractor, warrant deployment of the deflector. The optical sensor 49o can be further arranged to send the loaded signal only when the tractor 21 is connected to the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag source. For example, when the second trailer 29′ is vertically lower than the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag source, an optical sensor can sense that the tractor is connected to the second trailer and send an unloaded signal to the controller 51 to cause the deflector to retract.)
Tenstam US-20220258812-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a system and method for adjusting an air deflector comprising “…above a reference plane, the height of the load or trailer above the reference plane, and a distance between the cab and the load or trailer along a longitudinal direction”;
(Tenstam [0036] In step 110, a value corresponding to the height of the trailer is determined by using the handheld device. This value may e.g. be the actual height of the trailer, or may be the vertical distance from a reference point of the truck to the upper front edge of the trailer. This value is used as an input value to a stored table.)
(Tenstam [0037] In step 120, a value corresponding to the distance between the truck and the trailer is determined by using the handheld device. This value may e.g. be the horizontal distance from a reference point of the truck to the upper front edge of the trailer, or the distance from the rear wall of the truck to the front wall of the trailer. This value is used as an input value to a stored table.)
(Tenstam [0023, 0029] horizontal distance from the rear rain gutter channel 8 on the truck to the upper front edge 11 of the trailer is used as the distance d between the truck and the trailer. Other measures may also be used. Since this measure is used as a reference value in a table, the actual value is not important, but it is important that the value is measured in the same way every time… the horizontal distance d between the rear rain gutter channel and the upper front edge of the trailer is used as a value corresponding to the distance between the truck and the trailer… These values are used in the truck-trailer combination table to determine the optimal height of the air deflector. The table will give a set value for the actuator in dependence of the determined values.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include a reference plane, the height of the load or trailer above the reference plane, and a distance between the cab and the load or trailer along a longitudinal direction with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Tenstam, for the benefit of providing data relative to the operational relationship(s), references, and known configurations under expected conditions for system comparison and monitoring.
6. Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the camera ([FIG.3] 49a) is disposed at a rear top edge of the cab, wherein the camera is at least partially enclosed by the air deflector panel in a closed position thereof.
Amar: FIG.3
7. Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the air deflector panel has a front end and a rear end and wherein the actuator assembly is configured to adjust a height between the rear end of the air deflector panel and a top surface of the cab ([FIG.3] dashed lines of 33).
Amar: FIG.3
8. Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
The vehicle of claim 7, wherein the actuator
(Amar [col.3; ln.45] The piston 43 may be connected to the deflector 33 so that an end of the piston is held in and slides in a track on an underside of the deflector so that the point at which the piston and the deflector contact can change as the deflector is deployed and retracted…)
(Amar [col.3; ln.35] Means 39 for selectively deploying and retracting the deflector 33, such as by raising and lowering, relative to the tractor 21, a rear edge 41 of a deflector 33 that is pivotably mounted to the tractor, is also provided. The means 39 for selectively deploying and retracting can comprise at least one (typically only one) of a hydraulically driven, a pneumatically driven, or an electro-mechanically driven piston 43 or rod (hereinafter referred to as a piston). Suitable means for selectively deploying and retracting the rear edge 41 of the deflector 33 may include but are not limited to a piston 43 pivotably mounted between the roof 25 and the rear edge 41 of the deflector 33 as seen in FIG. 2.)
Tenstam US-20220258812-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a system and method for adjusting an air deflector comprising “…assembly comprises a slider threadedly connected to a threaded shaft and a motor adapted to rotate the threaded shaft”;
(Tenstam [0022] The actuator may e.g. be a linear actuator where the length of the actuator is adjustable. The actuator is controlled by an electronic control unit 6 mounted somewhere on the cabin. The actuator is in the shown example a linear actuator comprising a rotary motor that drives a threaded shaft. The actuator may be provided with a position sensor that can measure the position and thus the extension of the actuator, or the motor may be provided with a rotary sensor that can measure the rotation of the motor such that the extension of the actuator can be determined.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include an assembly comprises a slider threadedly connected to a threaded shaft and a motor adapted to rotate the threaded shaft with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Tenstam, for the benefit of providing a mechanism for extending/retracting a device component (i.e. deflector).
11. Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
The vehicle of claim 8, wherein the control unit is configured to control
(Amar [col.3; ln.45] The piston 43 may be connected to the deflector 33 so that an end of the piston is held in and slides in a track on an underside of the deflector so that the point at which the piston and the deflector contact can change as the deflector is deployed and retracted…)
(Amar [col.3; ln.35] Means 39 for selectively deploying and retracting the deflector 33, such as by raising and lowering, relative to the tractor 21, a rear edge 41 of a deflector 33 that is pivotably mounted to the tractor, is also provided. The means 39 for selectively deploying and retracting can comprise at least one (typically only one) of a hydraulically driven, a pneumatically driven, or an electro-mechanically driven piston 43 or rod (hereinafter referred to as a piston). Suitable means for selectively deploying and retracting the rear edge 41 of the deflector 33 may include but are not limited to a piston 43 pivotably mounted between the roof 25 and the rear edge 41 of the deflector 33 as seen in FIG. 2.)
Tenstam US-20220258812-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a system and method for adjusting an air deflector comprising “…the motor”;
(Tenstam [0022] The actuator may e.g. be a linear actuator where the length of the actuator is adjustable. The actuator is controlled by an electronic control unit 6 mounted somewhere on the cabin. The actuator is in the shown example a linear actuator comprising a rotary motor that drives a threaded shaft. The actuator may be provided with a position sensor that can measure the position and thus the extension of the actuator, or the motor may be provided with a rotary sensor that can measure the rotation of the motor such that the extension of the actuator can be determined.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include a motor with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Tenstam, for the benefit of providing a mechanism for extending/retracting a device component (i.e. deflector).
20. Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
A camera monitoring system adapted to be mounted on the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the camera monitoring system includes a camera configured to provide a captured image of an area located rearward of the cab of the vehicle.
(Amar [col.5] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force)
(Amar [col.5] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force, …, particularly the height and/or width of the trailer relative to the tractor, warrant deployment of the deflector. The optical sensor 49o can be further arranged to send the loaded signal only when the tractor 21 is connected to the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag source. For example, when the second trailer 29′ is vertically lower than the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag source, an optical sensor can sense that the tractor is connected to the second trailer and send an unloaded signal to the controller 51 to cause the deflector to retract.)
12. The limitations of the method are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re-claim 1.
13. The limitations of the method are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 2 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re-claim 2.
17. The limitations of the method are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 6 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re-claim 6.
18. The limitations of the method are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 7 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re-claim 7.
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amar US-10220890-B2 and Tenstam US-20220258812-A1, as applied to claim 1 and 12 above and further in view of Damon US-20190367104-A1.
3. Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the control unit includes
(Amar [col.5] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force)
Damon US-20190367104-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for vehicle aerodynamic control using “…a software module”;
(Damon [0033] Referring again to FIG. 1, in order to receive and process incoming signals and generate the appropriate device-specific control signals, the illustrative controller 80 includes a logic system. It will be appreciated by one skilled in the art that the logic may be implemented in a variety of configurations, including software, hardware (analog and/or digital), and/or combinations of software and hardware.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include software with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Damon, for the benefit of implementing logic configurations [0033].
14. The limitations of the method are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 3 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re-claim 3.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amar US-10220890-B2, Tenstam US-20220258812-A1, and Damon US-20190367104-A1, as applied to claim 3 and 14 above and further in view of Zimmermann US-20220258800-A1.
4. Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
The vehicle of claim 3,
(Amar [col.5] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force)
Damon US-20190367104-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for vehicle aerodynamic control using “…a software module”;
(Damon [0033] Referring again to FIG. 1, in order to receive and process incoming signals and generate the appropriate device-specific control signals, the illustrative controller 80 includes a logic system. It will be appreciated by one skilled in the art that the logic may be implemented in a variety of configurations, including software, hardware (analog and/or digital), and/or combinations of software and hardware.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include software with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Damon, for the benefit of implementing logic configurations [0033].
Zimmermann US-20220258800-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a method for ascertaining a spatial orientation of a trailer wherein “…an artificial intelligence algorithm, wherein the artificial intelligence algorithm is configured to continuously learn and improve its performance based on feedback from a plurality of images captured by the camera”;
(Zimmermann [0026] In a first step A, the image data recorded by a rear-facing camera 18 (see FIG. 2) are read into a processing unit 22. These image data here contain at least one rear part of trailer 10. In the processing unit, in a next step B the image points are assigned to trailer 10 or to the vehicle surrounding environment. This assignment can be carried out for example via a machine learning model that, on the basis of training data, has learned to distinguish the trailer from the vehicle surrounding environment. In this way, trailer 10 is recognized in the image data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include an artificial intelligence algorithm, wherein the artificial intelligence algorithm is configured to continuously learn and improve its performance based on feedback from a plurality of images captured by the camera with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Zimmermann, for the benefit of carrying out operations on the basis of training data [0026].
5. Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
The vehicle of claim 4,
(Amar [col.5] The sensor may also or alternatively comprise an optical sensor. As seen in FIG. 3, an optical sensor 490 can be arranged on the tractor 21 to sense a height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force relative to the tractor. The controller 51 can be arranged to control the selectively deploying and retracting means 39 to move the deflector 33 to a position corresponding to the height and/or width of the trailer 29 that forms the aerodynamic drag force)
Zimmermann US-20220258800-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a method for ascertaining a spatial orientation of a trailer wherein “…artificial intelligence algorithm is trained to recognize and adapt to … environmental conditions”;
(Zimmermann [0026] In a first step A, the image data recorded by a rear-facing camera 18 (see FIG. 2) are read into a processing unit 22. These image data here contain at least one rear part of trailer 10. In the processing unit, in a next step B the image points are assigned to trailer 10 or to the vehicle surrounding environment. This assignment can be carried out for example via a machine learning model that, on the basis of training data, has learned to distinguish the trailer from the vehicle surrounding environment. In this way, trailer 10 is recognized in the image data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include artificial intelligence algorithm is trained to recognize and adapt to environmental conditions with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Zimmermann, for the benefit of carrying out operations on the basis of training data [0026].
Tenstam US-20220258812-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a system and method for adjusting an air deflector comprising “…various cab and load or trailer shapes, sizes”;
(Tenstam [0012, 0029, claim.1] In a method for adjusting an air deflector on a roof of a truck cabin to an optimal position when the truck is connected to a trailer, where the truck comprises an air deflector, an electric actuator and an electronic control unit, the steps of; initiating an adjustment cycle by a handheld device; determining a value corresponding to the height of the trailer by using the handheld device; determining a value corresponding to the horizontal distance between the truck and the trailer by using the handheld device; determining a set value for the actuator by using the determined values, the type of truck and a stored table for different truck-trailer combinations; and sending the set value to the control unit, where the control unit adjusts the air deflector to an optimal position by adjusting the actuator in dependency of the set value are comprised.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include various cabs with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Tenstam, for the benefit of providing data relative to the operational relationship between known configurations under expected conditions for system comparison and monitoring.
15. The limitations of the method are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 4 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re-claim 4.
16. The limitations of the method are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 5 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re-claim 5.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amar US-10220890-B2 and Tenstam US-20220258812-A1, as applied to claim 8 and 18 above and further in view of Taylor US-20250136197-A1.
9. The vehicle of claim 8, Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
wherein the slider is connected to the air deflector panel
[FIG.2].
Taylor US-20250136197-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for air deflector structure connected “…via a linking element, a first end thereof being pivotally connected to the slider and a second end thereof being pivotally connected to the air deflector panel”;
(Taylor [0022] Actuator assembly 100 also incorporates a linear drive 110, comprising a fixed portion of linear drive 118 and a translating portion 120. Fixed portion of linear drive 118 and translating portion 120 is configured to be coupled to primary vehicle 102 and capable of rotating about a second axis A2. Furthermore, fixed portion of linear drive 118 and translating portion 120 are configured to connect to bracket 108 and rotate with respect to it about a third axis A3. Translating portion 120 is configured to move from a retracted position to an extended position, facilitating the transition of at least air deflector 106 from a non-deployed state to a deployed state.)
Taylor; FIG.2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include a linking element, a first end thereof being pivotally connected to the slider and a second end thereof being pivotally connected to the air deflector panel with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Taylor, for the benefit of connecting functional components such that actuation of mechanisms allows for a retraction or extension of components.
Examiner’s Note: Additionally,/alternatively, it should be noted that “When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process.”. For more information, please see MPEP 2112.02.
10. Amar US-10220890-B2 discloses
The vehicle of claim 9,
[FIG.2].
Taylor US-20250136197-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for air deflector structure connected “…wherein the first end of the linking element pivots about a first axis and the second end of the linking element pivots about a second axis, the second axis being positioned relative to the first axis such that, when the slider moves rearward, the rear end of the air deflector panel moves upward, and, when the slider moves frontward, the rear end of the air deflector panel moves downward”;
(Taylor [0022] Actuator assembly 100 also incorporates a linear drive 110, comprising a fixed portion of linear drive 118 and a translating portion 120. Fixed portion of linear drive 118 and translating portion 120 is configured to be coupled to primary vehicle 102 and capable of rotating about a second axis A2. Furthermore, fixed portion of linear drive 118 and translating portion 120 are configured to connect to bracket 108 and rotate with respect to it about a third axis A3. Translating portion 120 is configured to move from a retracted position to an extended position, facilitating the transition of at least air deflector 106 from a non-deployed state to a deployed state.)
Taylor; FIG.2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Amar to include a linking element, a first end thereof being pivotally connected to the slider and a second end thereof being pivotally connected to the air deflector panel with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Taylor, for the benefit of connecting functional components such that actuation of mechanisms allows for a retraction or extension of components.
Examiner’s Note: Additionally,/alternatively, it should be noted that “When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process.”. For more information, please see MPEP 2112.02.
19. The limitations of the method are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 1, 8, and 9-10 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re-claim 1, 8, and 9-10.
Conclusion
It should be noted that there exists prior art which is pertinent to significant though unclaimed features of the defined invention or directed to the state of art. The following is a brief description of relevant prior art cited but not applied:
Berne (US-20210160433-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… 11. The method according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle is a truck including a trailer and at least one vehicle camera is used to measure a height of the trailer to adjust a roof deflector.”;
See PTO-892: Notice of references cited.
Contact
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30.
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/TYLER J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663