DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. In addition, acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 19/074,441, filed on March 10, 2025.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as filed on March 10, 2025 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, claims 6 and 8 recite limitations “the first first opening” in seventh line line and second line of the claims respectively, but the limitations are unclear at least because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the above limitations in the claims given that the claims use term “the first first opening” for a first time without previously reciting the terms in the claims, or in a claim from which the claims 6 and 8 depend which even further creates lack of clarity in regard to exactly what first first opening is being referred to. Therefore, Examiner suggests the limitations should be amended, without adding new matter, in a manner that resolves the antecedent basis issues. Accordingly, any claim(s) dependent on claims 6 or 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based on same above reasoning.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, and 3-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174 in view of Zhou et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/018478 A1 (hereinafter Zhou). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the independent claims, mentioned above, are substantially the same.
The following is an example for comparing claim 1 of this application and respective claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No.
12,249,174
Claim 1
Claim 1
A display device comprising: a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.
A display device comprising: a sensor layer comprising photo sensors; a substrate positioned on the sensor layer; a pixel layer positioned on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the substrate is positioned between the sensor layer and the pixel layer, and wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix positioned on the pixel layer, comprising first-set openings respectively overlapping the pixel electrodes, and comprising second-set openings not overlapping any pixel electrodes of the display device
in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, wherein the pixel layer is positioned between the substrate and the black matrix; a color filter set positioned on the black matrix; and a light blocking layer positioned between the substrate and the pixel layer and comprising through holes, wherein at least one of the through holes overlaps the second-set openings, wherein the color filter set includes at least one color filter overlapping one of the first-set openings and one of the second-set openings; wherein the second-set openings entirely pass through the black matrix in the direction, wherein the pixels comprise a first pixel and a second pixel each emitting first color light, a third pixel emitting second color light, and a fourth pixel emitting third color light, wherein the first-set openings comprise a first first-set opening overlapping with the first pixel, a second first-set opening overlapping with the second pixel, a third first-set opening overlapping with the third pixel, and a fourth first-set opening overlapping with the fourth pixel, and wherein at least two of the first first-set opening, the second first-set opening, the third first-set opening, and the fourth first-set opening are spaced from each other, wherein the pixel layer comprises: a circuit element layer comprising transistors that respectively overlap with the first-set openings and comprising an insulating layer that covers the transistors; and a light emitting element layer positioned on the circuit element layer and comprising emitting layers that respectively overlap with the first-set openings, and wherein the circuit element layer comprises light transmission holes that respectively overlap with the second-set openings.
Independent claim 1 of the instant application teaches “A display device comprising: a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes”. The U.S. Patent 12,249,174 does not expressly teach: wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. However, Zhou teaches wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes (205, 206, 203 and 201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, and wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer)). Furthermore, U.S. Patent 12,249,174 and Zhou are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming the display device with a suitable touch sensing layer. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of U.S. Patent 12,249,174 based on Zhou wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. One reason for the modification as taught by Zhou is to provide and OLED display panel having fingerprint recognition (ABSTRACT and paragraph[0004] of Zhou). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 1 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to each respective dependent claim mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection. Moreover, claim 1 is written in the “comprising” format indicating other elements could be added.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174 in view of Zhou. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the independent claims, mentioned above, are substantially the same.
The following is an example for comparing claim 1 of this application and respective claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No.
12,249,174
Claim 1
Claim 12
A display device comprising: a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.
A display device comprising: a sensor layer comprising photo sensors; a substrate positioned on the sensor layer; a pixel layer positioned on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the substrate is positioned between the sensor layer and the pixel layer, and wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix positioned on the pixel layer, comprising first-set openings respectively overlapping with the pixel electrodes, and comprising second-set openings not overlapping with any pixel electrodes of the display device
in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, wherein the pixel layer is positioned between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set positioned on the black matrix, wherein the color filter set includes at least one color filter overlapping one of the first-set openings and one of the second-set openings, wherein the pixels comprise a first pixel and a second pixel each emitting first color light, a third pixel emitting second color light, and a fourth pixel emitting third color light, wherein the first-set openings comprise a first first-set opening overlapping with the first pixel, a second first-set opening overlapping with the second pixel, a third first-set opening overlapping with the third pixel, and a fourth first-set opening overlapping with the fourth pixel, wherein at least two of the first first-set opening, the second first-set opening, the third first-set opening, and the fourth first-set opening are spaced from each other, and wherein the first first-set opening and the second first-set opening are directly connected to one of the second-set openings.
Independent claim 1 of the instant application teaches “A display device comprising: a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.” The U.S. Patent 12,249,174 does not expressly teach: wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. However, Zhou teaches wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes (205, 206, 203 and 201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, and wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer)). Furthermore, U.S. Patent 12,249,174 and Zhou are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming the display device with a suitable touch sensing layer. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of U.S. Patent 12,249,174 based on Zhou wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. One reason for the modification as taught by Zhou is to provide and OLED display panel having fingerprint recognition (ABSTRACT and paragraph[0004] of Zhou). Moreover, claim 12 is written in the “comprising” format indicating other elements could be added.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174 in view of Zhou. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the independent claims, mentioned above, are substantially the same.
The following is an example for comparing claim 1 of this application and respective claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No.
12,249,174
Claim 1
Claim 13
A display device comprising: a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.
A display device comprising: a sensor layer comprising photo sensors; a substrate positioned on the sensor layer; a pixel layer positioned on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the substrate is positioned between the sensor layer and the pixel layer, and wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix positioned on the pixel layer, comprising first-set openings respectively overlapping with the pixel electrodes, and comprising second-set openings not overlapping with any pixel electrodes of the display device in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, wherein the pixel layer is positioned between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set positioned on the black matrix,
wherein the color filter set includes at least one color filter overlapping one of the first-set openings and one of the second-set openings, wherein the pixels comprise a first pixel and a second pixel each emitting first color light, a third pixel emitting second color light, and a fourth pixel emitting third color light, wherein the first-set openings comprise a first first-set opening overlapping with the first pixel, a second first-set opening overlapping with the second pixel, a third first-set opening overlapping with the third pixel, and a fourth first-set opening overlapping with the fourth pixel, wherein at least two of the first first-set opening, the second first-set opening, the third first-set opening, and the fourth first-set opening are spaced from each other, and wherein the color filter set comprises a first color filter overlapping the first pixel and the second pixel, a second color filter overlapping the third pixel, and a third color filter overlapping the fourth pixel.
Independent claim 1 of the instant application teaches “A display device comprising: a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.” The U.S. Patent 12,249,174 does not expressly teach: wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. However, Zhou teaches wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes (205, 206, 203 and 201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, and wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer)). Furthermore, U.S. Patent 12,249,174 and Zhou are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming the display device with a suitable touch sensing layer. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of U.S. Patent 12,249,174 based on Zhou wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. One reason for the modification as taught by Zhou is to provide and OLED display panel having fingerprint recognition (ABSTRACT and paragraph[0004] of Zhou). Moreover, claim 13 is written in the “comprising” format indicating other elements could be added.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174 in view of Zhou. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the independent claims, mentioned above, are substantially the same.
The following is an example for comparing claim 1 of this application and respective claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No.
12,249,174
Claim 1
Claim 15
A display device comprising: a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.
A display device comprising: a sensor layer comprising photo sensors; a substrate positioned on the sensor layer; a circuit element layer positioned on the substrate, comprising transistors, and comprising an insulating layer covering the transistors; a light emitting element layer comprising emitting layers and a bank layer; and a light blocking layer positioned between the substrate and the circuit element layer and comprising through holes, wherein the emitting layers respectively correspond to the transistors, wherein the bank layer comprises first-set openings and second-set openings extending entirely through the bank layer
in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, wherein the first-set openings respectively accommodate the emitting layers, and wherein the second-set openings accommodate no emitting layers, wherein at least one of the through holes overlaps the second-set openings; and wherein the circuit element layer comprises light transmission holes that respectively overlap with the second-set openings.
Independent claim 1 of the instant application teaches “A display device comprising: a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.” The U.S. Patent 12,249,174 does not expressly teach: wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. However, Zhou teaches wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes (205, 206, 203 and 201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, and wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer)). Furthermore, U.S. Patent 12,249,174 and Zhou are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming the display device with a suitable touch sensing layer. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of U.S. Patent 12,249,174 based on Zhou wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. One reason for the modification as taught by Zhou is to provide and OLED display panel having fingerprint recognition (ABSTRACT and paragraph[0004] of Zhou). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 1 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to each respective dependent claim mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection. Moreover, claim 20 is written in the “comprising” format indicating other elements could be added.
Claims 12, and 14-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174 in view of Zhou. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the independent claims, mentioned above, are substantially the same.
The following is an example for comparing claim 12 of this application and respective claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No.
12,249,174
Claim 12
Claim 1
An electronic device comprising: a sensor layer comprising a photo sensor; a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, and wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.
A display device comprising: a sensor layer comprising photo sensors; a substrate positioned on the sensor layer; a pixel layer positioned on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the substrate is positioned between the sensor layer and the pixel layer, and wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix positioned on the pixel layer, comprising first-set openings respectively overlapping the pixel electrodes, and comprising second-set openings not overlapping any pixel electrodes of the display device
in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, wherein the pixel layer is positioned between the substrate and the black matrix; a color filter set positioned on the black matrix; and a light blocking layer positioned between the substrate and the pixel layer and comprising through holes, wherein at least one of the through holes overlaps the second-set openings, wherein the color filter set includes at least one color filter overlapping one of the first-set openings and one of the second-set openings; wherein the second-set openings entirely pass through the black matrix in the direction, wherein the pixels comprise a first pixel and a second pixel each emitting first color light, a third pixel emitting second color light, and a fourth pixel emitting third color light, wherein the first-set openings comprise a first first-set opening overlapping with the first pixel, a second first-set opening overlapping with the second pixel, a third first-set opening overlapping with the third pixel, and a fourth first-set opening overlapping with the fourth pixel, and wherein at least two of the first first-set opening, the second first-set opening, the third first-set opening, and the fourth first-set opening are spaced from each other, wherein the pixel layer comprises: a circuit element layer comprising transistors that respectively overlap with the first-set openings and comprising an insulating layer that covers the transistors; and a light emitting element layer positioned on the circuit element layer and comprising emitting layers that respectively overlap with the first-set openings, and wherein the circuit element layer comprises light transmission holes that respectively overlap with the second-set openings.
Independent claim 12 of the instant application teaches “An electronic device comprising: a sensor layer comprising a photo sensor; a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, and wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.”. The U.S. Patent 12,249,174 does not expressly teach: wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. However, Zhou teaches wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes (205, 206, 203 and 201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, and wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer)). Furthermore, U.S. Patent 12,249,174 and Zhou are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming the display device with a suitable touch sensing layer. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of U.S. Patent 12,249,174 based on Zhou wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. One reason for the modification as taught by Zhou is to provide and OLED display panel having fingerprint recognition (ABSTRACT and paragraph[0004] of Zhou). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 12 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to each respective dependent claim mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection. Moreover, claim 1 is written in the “comprising” format indicating other elements could be added.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174 in view of Zhou. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the independent claims, mentioned above, are substantially the same.
The following is an example for comparing claim 12 of this application and respective claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No.
12,249,174
Claim 12
Claim 12
An electronic device comprising: a sensor layer comprising a photo sensor; a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, and wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.
A display device comprising: a sensor layer comprising photo sensors; a substrate positioned on the sensor layer; a pixel layer positioned on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the substrate is positioned between the sensor layer and the pixel layer, and wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix positioned on the pixel layer, comprising first-set openings respectively overlapping with the pixel electrodes, and comprising second-set openings not overlapping with any pixel electrodes of the display device
in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, wherein the pixel layer is positioned between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set positioned on the black matrix, wherein the color filter set includes at least one color filter overlapping one of the first-set openings and one of the second-set openings, wherein the pixels comprise a first pixel and a second pixel each emitting first color light, a third pixel emitting second color light, and a fourth pixel emitting third color light, wherein the first-set openings comprise a first first-set opening overlapping with the first pixel, a second first-set opening overlapping with the second pixel, a third first-set opening overlapping with the third pixel, and a fourth first-set opening overlapping with the fourth pixel, wherein at least two of the first first-set opening, the second first-set opening, the third first-set opening, and the fourth first-set opening are spaced from each other, and wherein the first first-set opening and the second first-set opening are directly connected to one of the second-set openings.
Independent claim 12 of the instant application teaches “An electronic device comprising: a sensor layer comprising a photo sensor; a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, and wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.” The U.S. Patent 12,249,174 does not expressly teach: wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. However, Zhou teaches wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes (205, 206, 203 and 201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, and wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer)). Furthermore, U.S. Patent 12,249,174 and Zhou are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming the display device with a suitable touch sensing layer. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of U.S. Patent 12,249,174 based on Zhou wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. One reason for the modification as taught by Zhou is to provide and OLED display panel having fingerprint recognition (ABSTRACT and paragraph[0004] of Zhou). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 12 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to each respective dependent claim mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection. Moreover, claim 12 is written in the “comprising” format indicating other elements could be added.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174 in view of Zhou. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the independent claims, mentioned above, are substantially the same.
The following is an example for comparing claim 12 of this application and respective claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No.
12,249,174
Claim 12
Claim 13
An electronic device comprising: a sensor layer comprising a photo sensor; a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, and wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.
A display device comprising: a sensor layer comprising photo sensors; a substrate positioned on the sensor layer; a pixel layer positioned on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the substrate is positioned between the sensor layer and the pixel layer, and wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix positioned on the pixel layer, comprising first-set openings respectively overlapping with the pixel electrodes, and comprising second-set openings not overlapping with any pixel electrodes of the display device
in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, wherein the pixel layer is positioned between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set positioned on the black matrix, wherein the color filter set includes at least one color filter overlapping one of the first-set openings and one of the second-set openings, wherein the pixels comprise a first pixel and a second pixel each emitting first color light, a third pixel emitting second color light, and a fourth pixel emitting third color light, wherein the first-set openings comprise a first first-set opening overlapping with the first pixel, a second first-set opening overlapping with the second pixel, a third first-set opening overlapping with the third pixel, and a fourth first-set opening overlapping with the fourth pixel, wherein at least two of the first first-set opening, the second first-set opening, the third first-set opening, and the fourth first-set opening are spaced from each other, and wherein the color filter set comprises a first color filter overlapping the first pixel and the second pixel, a second color filter overlapping the third pixel, and a third color filter overlapping the fourth pixel.
Independent claim 12 of the instant application teaches “An electronic device comprising: a sensor layer comprising a photo sensor; a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, and wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.” The U.S. Patent 12,249,174 does not expressly teach: wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. However, Zhou teaches wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes (205, 206, 203 and 201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, and wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer)). Furthermore, U.S. Patent 12,249,174 and Zhou are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming the display device with a suitable touch sensing layer. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of U.S. Patent 12,249,174 based on Zhou wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. One reason for the modification as taught by Zhou is to provide and OLED display panel having fingerprint recognition (ABSTRACT and paragraph[0004] of Zhou). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 12 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to each respective dependent claim mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection. Moreover, claim 13 is written in the “comprising” format indicating other elements could be added.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174 in view of Zhou. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the independent claims, mentioned above, are substantially the same.
The following is an example for comparing claim 12 of this application and respective claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,174:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No.
12,249,174
Claim 12
Claim 15
An electronic device comprising: a sensor layer comprising a photo sensor; a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, and wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.
A display device comprising: a sensor layer comprising photo sensors; a substrate positioned on the sensor layer; a circuit element layer positioned on the substrate, comprising transistors, and comprising an insulating layer covering the transistors; a light emitting element layer comprising emitting layers and a bank layer; and a light blocking layer positioned between the substrate and the circuit element layer and comprising through holes, wherein the emitting layers respectively correspond to the transistors, wherein the bank layer comprises first-set openings and second-set openings extending entirely through the bank layer
in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, wherein the first-set openings respectively accommodate the emitting layers, and wherein the second-set openings accommodate no emitting layers, wherein at least one of the through holes overlaps the second-set openings; and wherein the circuit element layer comprises light transmission holes that respectively overlap with the second-set openings.
Independent claim 12 of the instant application teaches “An electronic device comprising: a sensor layer comprising a photo sensor; a substrate; a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, and wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.” The U.S. Patent 12,249,174 does not expressly teach: wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. However, Zhou teaches wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes (205, 206, 203 and 201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, and wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer)). Furthermore, U.S. Patent 12,249,174 and Zhou are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming the display device with a suitable touch sensing layer. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of U.S. Patent 12,249,174 based on Zhou wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. One reason for the modification as taught by Zhou is to provide and OLED display panel having fingerprint recognition (ABSTRACT and paragraph[0004] of Zhou). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 12 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to each respective dependent claim mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection. Moreover, claim 15 is written in the “comprising” format indicating other elements could be added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0104562 A1 (hereinafter Sung I), in view of Zhou, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0184178 A1 (hereinafter Zhou), and Yang et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0278900 A1 (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Sung I teaches a display device (110 FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0104] of Sung I teaches referring to FIGS. 1, 2, 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, 3E, 4, 5A, 5B, 5C, 5D, and 6, the display device 100 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may include at least a display panel 110, and a photo sensor array layer PSL disposed on one surface of the display panel 110; in an exemplary embodiment, the display device 100 may include: a first substrate SUB1; a circuit element layer BPL, a light emitting element layer LDL, a first passivation layer PTL1, a first adhesive layer ADL1, and a window WIN which are successively disposed on a first surface (e.g., an upper surface) of the first substrate SUB1; and a second passivation layer PTL2, a second adhesive layer ADL2, and a photo sensor array layer PSL which are successively disposed on a second surface (e.g., a lower surface) of the first substrate SUB1; ad in an exemplary embodiment, the first substrate SUB1, the circuit element layer BPL, the light emitting element layer LDL, and the first and/or second passivation layers PTL1 and/or PTL2 may form the display panel 110, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0103], [0117], and [0137]-[0143] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I teaches at least a display device that includes a display panel and a photo sensor array layer having a plurality of photo sensors)) comprising:
a substrate (SUB1 FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0143] of Sung I teaches referring to FIG. 9, the circuit element layer BPL may include a first light transmitting hole array layer LTHL1 having a plurality of first light transmitting holes LTH1; a second light transmitting hole array layer LTHL2 overlapping with the first light transmitting hole array layer LTHL1 may be disposed between the first substrate SUB1 and the circuit element layer BPL; in an exemplary embodiment, the second light transmitting hole array layer LTHL2 may have a plurality of second light transmitting holes LTH2 which overlap with the respective first light transmitting holes LTH1; each of the second light transmitting holes LTH2 may have a width different from each of the first light transmitting holes LTH1; for example, the width of each second light transmitting hole LTH2 may be less than that of the corresponding first light transmitting hole LTH1 that overlaps with the second light transmitting hole LTH2; in this case, each pair of first and second light transmitting holes LTH1 and LTH2 may form a pinhole unit PIHU; and furthermore, the first light transmitting array layer LTHL1 may form a light control layer LBL, and the second light transmitting array layer LTHL2 may form a pinhole array layer PHL, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0104], and [0137]-[0143] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I at least in FIG. 8D teaches at least a first substrate disposed on the photo sensor array layer));
a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, (BPL and LDL FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0110] of Sung I teaches the light emitting element layer LDL may be disposed on the first surface of the first substrate SUB1 that includes the circuit element layer BPL; in an exemplary embodiment, the light emitting element layer LDL may include a plurality of light emitting elements LD which are coupled to the circuit elements and/or the lines of the circuit element layer BPL through contact holes or the like; and for example, the light emitting element layer LDL may include a plurality of light emitting elements LD at least one of which is disposed in each pixel area PXA, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0111], and [0137]-[0143] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I at least in FIG. 8D teaches a light emitting element layer coupled to a circuit element layer, which are disposed on the substrate that is on the photo sensor array layer));
a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings (LTHL1 and LBM; LTHL2 and LBM FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0139] of Sung I teaches for example, as illustrated in FIGS. 8C and 8D, each pair of first and second light transmitting holes LTH1 and LTH2 may have different widths and/or areas and be disposed to overlap with each other, thus forming a pinhole unit PIHU; for example, as illustrated in FIG. 8C, each first light transmitting hole LTH1 may have a width and/or an area less than that of the corresponding second light transmitting hole LTH2 and forms a pinhole PIH; each second light transmitting hole LTH2 may form a light control hole LCH which controls a path of a light ray passing through the corresponding first light transmitting hole LTH1 (e.g., limits the FOV of a reflective light ray to a predetermined angular range); in this case, the first light transmitting array layer LTHL1 may form a pinhole array layer PHL, and the second light transmitting array layer LTHL2 may form a light control layer LBL; for example, as illustrated in FIG. 8D, each first light transmitting hole LTH1 may have a width and/or an area greater than that of the corresponding second light transmitting hole LTH2 and forms a light control hole LCH; each second light transmitting hole LTH2 may form a pinhole PIH; and in this case, the first light transmitting array layer LTHL1 may form a light control layer LBL, and the second light transmitting array layer LTHL2 may form a pinhole array layer PHL, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0088]-[0091], [0103], [0127], [0137]-[0138], [0140]-[0143], and [0152] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I at least in FIG. 8D teaches pinhole array layers, which have pinholes, formed of a black matrix material and disposed between the light emitting element layer and the photo sensor array layer, and even disposed between the first substrate and the light emitting element layer)); but does not expressly teach wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and; (201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou at least in FIG. 3 teaches a light blocking layer that that has openings that overlap anodes on an anode layer on a substrate of an OLED display panel, and has other openings that do not overlap the anodes and pass completely through the light blocking layer, wherein a first insulating layer, a second insulating layer, another second insulating layer, a third insulating layer, a fourth insulating layer, a cathode layer, and a TFE layer are each located between a substrate and a light blocking layer)), wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes (205, 206, 203 and 201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, and wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer)); but the combination of Sung I and Zhou still do not expressly teach a color filter set disposed on the black matrix.
However, Yang teaches a color filter set disposed on the black matrix (CF””, BM1-OP FIG. 19F, paragraph[0185] of Yang teaches referring to FIG. 19F, the touch sensing layer TS-R′″″ includes a first black matrix TS-BM1 and a second black matrix TS-BM2; the first black matrix TS-BM1 is disposed on the second display panel surface BS1-U to cover the first conductive pattern, e.g., the first horizontal portion SP1-L of the first sensing part SP1; a plurality of first transmission openings BM1-OP corresponding to the light emitting areas PXA are defined in the first black matrix TS-BM1; the edge portions CF-E′ of the color filters CF″″″ adjacent to each other may contact and cover the first black matrix TS-BM1; and the color filters CF″″″ adjacent to each other may completely cover the first black matrix TS-BM1, and See also at least paragraphs[0052], and [0126]-[0127] of Yang (i.e., Yang teaches color filters disposed on and extending over first transmission openings of a first black matrix, and even further extending over touch openings that are within the first black matrix)).
Furthermore, Sung I, Zhou, and Yang are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming the display device with a suitable touch sensing layer. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Sung I based on Zhou and Yang wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; the black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising the first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. One reason for the modification as taught by Zhou is to provide and OLED display panel having fingerprint recognition (ABSTRACT and paragraph[0004] of Zhou). Another reason for the modification as taught by Yang is to form a suitable flexible display device having improved flexibility (ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0003], [0007], and [0016] of Yang). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 1 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to each respective dependent claim mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Sung I, Zhou, and Yang teach the display device of claim 1, wherein the optical path transmits reflected light by a finger of a user (FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0073], [0075]-[0076], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer, and wherein paths for light propagation are formed that are capable of transmitting light that is emitted by the organic light emitting layer and reflected by a fingerprint)).
Regarding claim 3, Sung I, Zhou, and Yang teach the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a light blocking layer positioned between the substrate and the pixel layer and comprising a through hole (LTHL1 and LBM; LTHL2 and LBM FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0139] of Sung I teaches for example, as illustrated in FIGS. 8C and 8D, each pair of first and second light transmitting holes LTH1 and LTH2 may have different widths and/or areas and be disposed to overlap with each other, thus forming a pinhole unit PIHU; for example, as illustrated in FIG. 8C, each first light transmitting hole LTH1 may have a width and/or an area less than that of the corresponding second light transmitting hole LTH2 and forms a pinhole PIH; each second light transmitting hole LTH2 may form a light control hole LCH which controls a path of a light ray passing through the corresponding first light transmitting hole LTH1 (e.g., limits the FOV of a reflective light ray to a predetermined angular range); in this case, the first light transmitting array layer LTHL1 may form a pinhole array layer PHL, and the second light transmitting array layer LTHL2 may form a light control layer LBL; for example, as illustrated in FIG. 8D, each first light transmitting hole LTH1 may have a width and/or an area greater than that of the corresponding second light transmitting hole LTH2 and forms a light control hole LCH; each second light transmitting hole LTH2 may form a pinhole PIH; and in this case, the first light transmitting array layer LTHL1 may form a light control layer LBL, and the second light transmitting array layer LTHL2 may form a pinhole array layer PHL, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0088]-[0091], [0103], [0127], [0137]-[0138], [0140]-[0143], and [0152] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I at least in FIG. 8D teaches pinhole array layers, which have pinholes, formed of a black matrix material and disposed between the light emitting element layer and the photo sensor array layer, and even disposed between the first substrate and the light emitting element layer)).
Regarding claim 4, Sung I, Zhou, and Yang teach the display device of claim 3, wherein the second opening overlaps the through hole (FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou at least in FIG. 3 teaches a light blocking layer that that has openings that overlap anodes on an anode layer on a substrate of an OLED display panel, and has other openings that do not overlap the anodes and pass completely through the light blocking layer, wherein a first insulating layer, a second insulating layer, another second insulating layer, a third insulating layer, a fourth insulating layer, a cathode layer, and a TFE layer are each located between a substrate and a light blocking layer)).
Regarding claim 5, Sung I, Zhou, and Yang teach a sensor layer comprising a photo sensor (PSL, PHS FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0117] of Sung I teaches the photo sensor array layer PSL may be attached to the rear surface of the display panel 110 such that the photo sensor array layer PSL overlaps with at least a portion of the display panel 110; for example, at least in the sensing area SA, the photo sensor array layer PSL may be disposed to overlap with the display panel 110; and the photo sensor array layer PSL may include a plurality of photo sensors PHS which are distributed at a predetermined resolution and/or pitch, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0104], and [0137]-[0143] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I at least in FIG. 8D teaches a photo sensor array layer that includes photo sensors));
wherein the substrate is disposed between the sensor layer and the pixel layer (BPL and LDL FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0110] of Sung I teaches the light emitting element layer LDL may be disposed on the first surface of the first substrate SUB1 that includes the circuit element layer BPL; in an exemplary embodiment, the light emitting element layer LDL may include a plurality of light emitting elements LD which are coupled to the circuit elements and/or the lines of the circuit element layer BPL through contact holes or the like; and for example, the light emitting element layer LDL may include a plurality of light emitting elements LD at least one of which is disposed in each pixel area PXA, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0111], and [0137]-[0143] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I at least in FIG. 8D teaches a light emitting element layer coupled to a circuit element layer, which are disposed on the substrate that is on the photo sensor array layer)).
Regarding claim 6, Sung I, Zhou, and Yang teach the display device of claim 1, wherein the pixels comprise a first pixel and a second pixel each emitting first color light, a third pixel emitting second color light, and a fourth pixel emitting third color light (G, R, B FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0071] of Zhou teaches FIG. 2 is a diagram showing a positional relation between light sensitive units and pixels according to the present application. FIG. 2 illustrates a relation between the light sensitive units 202 and OLED pixels for their relative positions on a plane; the light sensitive units 202 constructs an array of light sensitive units; the light sensitive units 202 are located at gaps between the OLED pixels; for example, the OLED display panel 100 includes red pixels R, green pixels G, and blue pixels B; the light sensitive units 202 can be evenly scattered into gaps between these pixels R, G, and B; and the density, specific location, and size of the light sensitive units 202 may be varied as needed (i.e., Zhou at least teaches green pixels opposite each other and spaced apart by light sensitive units, and a red pixel and blue pixel opposite each other and also spaced apart by the light sensitive units)),
wherein the first openings comprise a first opening overlapping the first pixel, a second first opening overlapping the second pixel, a third first opening overlapping the third pixel, and a fourth first opening overlapping the fourth pixel, and wherein at least two of the first first opening, the second first opening, the third first opening, and the fourth first opening are spaced from each other (G_hole, R_hole, B_hole FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0075] of Zhou teaches FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram illustrating an OLED display panel 400 according to a second embodiment of the present application; FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram showing openings of a light blocking layer 401 according to the present application; referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, the differences between the second embodiment and the first embodiment of the present application are that the OLED display panel 400 of the second embodiment of the present application further includes a light blocking layer 401, which is made of an inorganic or organic material that is opaque or having low light transmittance; the light blocking layer 401 is disposed above the organic electroluminescence device 250 and the light sensitive units 202; for example, the light blocking layer 401 is disposed between the thin film encapsulation layer 301 and the dielectric layer 302, but is not limited thereto; the light blocking layer 401 can be formed by patterning the thin film encapsulation layer 301 and filling photoresist material into the pattern; the light blocking layer 401 has a plurality of first regions and a plurality of second regions; the first regions have a first light transmittance and the second regions have a second light transmittance lower than the first light transmittance; the first regions of the light blocking layer 401 are disposed corresponding to light emitting regions of the organic electroluminescence device 250 and the light sensitive units 202; the first regions are openings, for example; as shown in FIG. 4, the first regions can be red pixel openings R_hole, green pixel openings G_hole, blue pixel openings B_hole, and openings Sensing_hole corresponding to the light sensitive units; preferably, the size and position of the openings of the light blocking layer 401 can be consistent with that of the OLED pixels; and of course, it can also change the size and position of the openings as needed, and See also at least paragraphs[0068] and [0071] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches at least green pixel openings, red pixel openings and blue pixel openings that are spaced from each other by the light sensitive units and that overlap and correspond to green pixels, red pixels and blue pixels respectively, and openings (i.e., perforations) of the fourth insulating layer that also overlap the anodes)).
Regarding claim 12, Sung I teaches an electronic device comprising: a sensor layer comprising a photo sensor (100, PSL, PHS FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0104] of Sung I teaches referring to FIGS. 1, 2, 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D, 3E, 4, 5A, 5B, 5C, 5D, and 6, the display device 100 in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may include at least a display panel 110, and a photo sensor array layer PSL disposed on one surface of the display panel 110; in an exemplary embodiment, the display device 100 may include: a first substrate SUB1; a circuit element layer BPL, a light emitting element layer LDL, a first passivation layer PTL1, a first adhesive layer ADL1, and a window WIN which are successively disposed on a first surface (e.g., an upper surface) of the first substrate SUB1; and a second passivation layer PTL2, a second adhesive layer ADL2, and a photo sensor array layer PSL which are successively disposed on a second surface (e.g., a lower surface) of the first substrate SUB1; ad in an exemplary embodiment, the first substrate SUB1, the circuit element layer BPL, the light emitting element layer LDL, and the first and/or second passivation layers PTL1 and/or PTL2 may form the display panel 110, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0103], [0117], and [0137]-[0143] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I teaches at least a display device that includes a display panel and a photo sensor array layer having a plurality of photo sensors));
a substrate (SUB1 FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0143] of Sung I teaches referring to FIG. 9, the circuit element layer BPL may include a first light transmitting hole array layer LTHL1 having a plurality of first light transmitting holes LTH1; a second light transmitting hole array layer LTHL2 overlapping with the first light transmitting hole array layer LTHL1 may be disposed between the first substrate SUB1 and the circuit element layer BPL; in an exemplary embodiment, the second light transmitting hole array layer LTHL2 may have a plurality of second light transmitting holes LTH2 which overlap with the respective first light transmitting holes LTH1; each of the second light transmitting holes LTH2 may have a width different from each of the first light transmitting holes LTH1; for example, the width of each second light transmitting hole LTH2 may be less than that of the corresponding first light transmitting hole LTH1 that overlaps with the second light transmitting hole LTH2; in this case, each pair of first and second light transmitting holes LTH1 and LTH2 may form a pinhole unit PIHU; and furthermore, the first light transmitting array layer LTHL1 may form a light control layer LBL, and the second light transmitting array layer LTHL2 may form a pinhole array layer PHL, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0104], and [0137]-[0143] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I at least in FIG. 8D teaches at least a first substrate disposed on the photo sensor array layer));
a pixel layer disposed on the substrate and comprising pixels, (BPL and LDL FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0110] of Sung I teaches the light emitting element layer LDL may be disposed on the first surface of the first substrate SUB1 that includes the circuit element layer BPL; in an exemplary embodiment, the light emitting element layer LDL may include a plurality of light emitting elements LD which are coupled to the circuit elements and/or the lines of the circuit element layer BPL through contact holes or the like; and for example, the light emitting element layer LDL may include a plurality of light emitting elements LD at least one of which is disposed in each pixel area PXA, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0111], and [0137]-[0143] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I at least in FIG. 8D teaches a light emitting element layer coupled to a circuit element layer, which are disposed on the substrate that is on the photo sensor array layer));
a black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising first openings (LTHL1 and LBM; LTHL2 and LBM FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0139] of Sung I teaches for example, as illustrated in FIGS. 8C and 8D, each pair of first and second light transmitting holes LTH1 and LTH2 may have different widths and/or areas and be disposed to overlap with each other, thus forming a pinhole unit PIHU; for example, as illustrated in FIG. 8C, each first light transmitting hole LTH1 may have a width and/or an area less than that of the corresponding second light transmitting hole LTH2 and forms a pinhole PIH; each second light transmitting hole LTH2 may form a light control hole LCH which controls a path of a light ray passing through the corresponding first light transmitting hole LTH1 (e.g., limits the FOV of a reflective light ray to a predetermined angular range); in this case, the first light transmitting array layer LTHL1 may form a pinhole array layer PHL, and the second light transmitting array layer LTHL2 may form a light control layer LBL; for example, as illustrated in FIG. 8D, each first light transmitting hole LTH1 may have a width and/or an area greater than that of the corresponding second light transmitting hole LTH2 and forms a light control hole LCH; each second light transmitting hole LTH2 may form a pinhole PIH; and in this case, the first light transmitting array layer LTHL1 may form a light control layer LBL, and the second light transmitting array layer LTHL2 may form a pinhole array layer PHL, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0088]-[0091], [0103], [0127], [0137]-[0138], [0140]-[0143], and [0152] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I at least in FIG. 8D teaches pinhole array layers, which have pinholes, formed of a black matrix material and disposed between the light emitting element layer and the photo sensor array layer, and even disposed between the first substrate and the light emitting element layer)); but does not expressly teach wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and; (201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou at least in FIG. 3 teaches a light blocking layer that that has openings that overlap anodes on an anode layer on a substrate of an OLED display panel, and has other openings that do not overlap the anodes and pass completely through the light blocking layer, wherein a first insulating layer, a second insulating layer, another second insulating layer, a third insulating layer, a fourth insulating layer, a cathode layer, and a TFE layer are each located between a substrate and a light blocking layer)), wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes (205, 206, 203 and 201 FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, and wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer)); but the combination of Sung I and Zhou still do not expressly teach a color filter set disposed on the black matrix.
However, Yang teaches a color filter set disposed on the black matrix (CF””, BM1-OP FIG. 19F, paragraph[0185] of Yang teaches referring to FIG. 19F, the touch sensing layer TS-R′″″ includes a first black matrix TS-BM1 and a second black matrix TS-BM2; the first black matrix TS-BM1 is disposed on the second display panel surface BS1-U to cover the first conductive pattern, e.g., the first horizontal portion SP1-L of the first sensing part SP1; a plurality of first transmission openings BM1-OP corresponding to the light emitting areas PXA are defined in the first black matrix TS-BM1; the edge portions CF-E′ of the color filters CF″″″ adjacent to each other may contact and cover the first black matrix TS-BM1; and the color filters CF″″″ adjacent to each other may completely cover the first black matrix TS-BM1, and See also at least paragraphs[0052], and [0126]-[0127] of Yang (i.e., Yang teaches color filters disposed on and extending over first transmission openings of a first black matrix, and even further extending over touch openings that are within the first black matrix)).
Furthermore, Sung I, Zhou, and Yang are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming the display device with a suitable touch sensing layer. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Sung I based on Zhou and Yang wherein the pixels comprise pixel electrodes; the black matrix disposed on the pixel layer, comprising the first openings overlapping the pixel electrodes and a second opening adjacent to the first openings without overlapping the pixel electrodes, wherein the pixel layer is disposed between the substrate and the black matrix; and a color filter set disposed on the black matrix, wherein the pixel layer further comprises a bank layer covering first portions of the pixel electrodes, and the pixels further comprises light emitting layers disposed on second portions of the pixel electrodes, wherein the bank layer comprises third openings overlapping the second portions of the pixel electrodes to accommodate the light emitting layers, and a fourth opening overlapping the second opening to provide an optical path to transmit light passing through the second opening, wherein the bank layer is disposed between the black matrix and the pixel electrodes. One reason for the modification as taught by Zhou is to provide and OLED display panel having fingerprint recognition (ABSTRACT and paragraph[0004] of Zhou). Another reason for the modification as taught by Yang is to form a suitable flexible display device having improved flexibility (ABSTRACT and paragraphs[0003], [0007], and [0016] of Yang). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 12 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to each respective dependent claim mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 14, Sung I, Zhou, and Yang teach the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the optical path transmits reflected light by a finger of a user (FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0073], [0075]-[0076], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches the fourth insulating layer, which is a pixel defining layer disposed on the anode layer and the third insulating layer and with its own openings that overlap the anodes and with its own other openings that do not overlap the anodes, wherein the fourth insulating layer covers the semiconductor devices and surrounds the organic light emitting layers, wherein each of the openings of the fourth insulating layer exposes the third insulating layer, and wherein paths for light propagation are formed that are capable of transmitting light that is emitted by the organic light emitting layer and reflected by a fingerprint)).
Regarding claim 15, Sung I, Zhou, and Yang teach the electronic device of claim 12, further comprising: a light blocking layer positioned between the substrate and the pixel layer and comprising a through hole (LTHL1 and LBM; LTHL2 and LBM FIGS. 1-9, paragraph[0139] of Sung I teaches for example, as illustrated in FIGS. 8C and 8D, each pair of first and second light transmitting holes LTH1 and LTH2 may have different widths and/or areas and be disposed to overlap with each other, thus forming a pinhole unit PIHU; for example, as illustrated in FIG. 8C, each first light transmitting hole LTH1 may have a width and/or an area less than that of the corresponding second light transmitting hole LTH2 and forms a pinhole PIH; each second light transmitting hole LTH2 may form a light control hole LCH which controls a path of a light ray passing through the corresponding first light transmitting hole LTH1 (e.g., limits the FOV of a reflective light ray to a predetermined angular range); in this case, the first light transmitting array layer LTHL1 may form a pinhole array layer PHL, and the second light transmitting array layer LTHL2 may form a light control layer LBL; for example, as illustrated in FIG. 8D, each first light transmitting hole LTH1 may have a width and/or an area greater than that of the corresponding second light transmitting hole LTH2 and forms a light control hole LCH; each second light transmitting hole LTH2 may form a pinhole PIH; and in this case, the first light transmitting array layer LTHL1 may form a light control layer LBL, and the second light transmitting array layer LTHL2 may form a pinhole array layer PHL, and See also at least paragraphs[0057], [0088]-[0091], [0103], [0127], [0137]-[0138], [0140]-[0143], and [0152] of Sung I (i.e., Sung I at least in FIG. 8D teaches pinhole array layers, which have pinholes, formed of a black matrix material and disposed between the light emitting element layer and the photo sensor array layer, and even disposed between the first substrate and the light emitting element layer)).
Regarding claim 16, Sung I, Zhou, and Yang teach the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the second opening overlaps the through hole (FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0064] of Zhou teaches the OLED display panel 100 may include a substrate 101, a semiconductor layer 102, a first insulating layer 103, a gate electrode layer 104, a second insulating layer 105, a source drain metal layer 106, and a third insulating layer 107 that are used to form the semiconductor devices 150, and include an anode layer 201, a fourth insulating layer 203, an organic light emitting layer 205, and a cathode layer 206 that are used to form the organic electroluminescence devices 250 and construct the OLED module functional layer; the organic electroluminescence devices 250 are distributed in the OLED module functional layer; the light sensitive units are also distributed in the OLED module functional layer, and more specifically located on a same film layer where the anode layer 201 is located on; and the OLED display panel 100 may further include a thin film encapsulation (TFE) layer 301 configured to avoid invasion of oxygen and moisture, and a touch electrode layer 303 configured to determine a touch position, and See also at least paragraphs[0067]-[0068], [0075], and [0082] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou at least in FIG. 3 teaches a light blocking layer that that has openings that overlap anodes on an anode layer on a substrate of an OLED display panel, and has other openings that do not overlap the anodes and pass completely through the light blocking layer, wherein a first insulating layer, a second insulating layer, another second insulating layer, a third insulating layer, a fourth insulating layer, a cathode layer, and a TFE layer are each located between a substrate and a light blocking layer)).
Regarding claim 17, Sung I, Zhou, and Yang teach the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the pixels comprise a first pixel and a second pixel each emitting first color light, a third pixel emitting second color light, and a fourth pixel emitting third color light (G, R, B FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0071] of Zhou teaches FIG. 2 is a diagram showing a positional relation between light sensitive units and pixels according to the present application. FIG. 2 illustrates a relation between the light sensitive units 202 and OLED pixels for their relative positions on a plane; the light sensitive units 202 constructs an array of light sensitive units; the light sensitive units 202 are located at gaps between the OLED pixels; for example, the OLED display panel 100 includes red pixels R, green pixels G, and blue pixels B; the light sensitive units 202 can be evenly scattered into gaps between these pixels R, G, and B; and the density, specific location, and size of the light sensitive units 202 may be varied as needed (i.e., Zhou at least teaches green pixels opposite each other and spaced apart by light sensitive units, and a red pixel and blue pixel opposite each other and also spaced apart by the light sensitive units)), wherein the first openings comprise a first first opening overlapping the first pixel, a second first opening overlapping the second pixel, a third first opening overlapping the third pixel, and a fourth first opening overlapping the fourth pixel, and wherein at least two of the first first opening, the second first opening, the third first opening, and the fourth first opening are spaced from each other (G_hole, R_hole, B_hole FIGS. 1-3, paragraph[0075] of Zhou teaches FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram illustrating an OLED display panel 400 according to a second embodiment of the present application; FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram showing openings of a light blocking layer 401 according to the present application; referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, the differences between the second embodiment and the first embodiment of the present application are that the OLED display panel 400 of the second embodiment of the present application further includes a light blocking layer 401, which is made of an inorganic or organic material that is opaque or having low light transmittance; the light blocking layer 401 is disposed above the organic electroluminescence device 250 and the light sensitive units 202; for example, the light blocking layer 401 is disposed between the thin film encapsulation layer 301 and the dielectric layer 302, but is not limited thereto; the light blocking layer 401 can be formed by patterning the thin film encapsulation layer 301 and filling photoresist material into the pattern; the light blocking layer 401 has a plurality of first regions and a plurality of second regions; the first regions have a first light transmittance and the second regions have a second light transmittance lower than the first light transmittance; the first regions of the light blocking layer 401 are disposed corresponding to light emitting regions of the organic electroluminescence device 250 and the light sensitive units 202; the first regions are openings, for example; as shown in FIG. 4, the first regions can be red pixel openings R_hole, green pixel openings G_hole, blue pixel openings B_hole, and openings Sensing_hole corresponding to the light sensitive units; preferably, the size and position of the openings of the light blocking layer 401 can be consistent with that of the OLED pixels; and of course, it can also change the size and position of the openings as needed, and See also at least paragraphs[0068] and [0071] of Zhou (i.e., Zhou teaches at least green pixel openings, red pixel openings and blue pixel openings that are spaced from each other by the light sensitive units and that overlap and correspond to green pixels, red pixels and blue pixels respectively, and openings (i.e., perforations) of the fourth insulating layer that also overlap the anodes)).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11, 13, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome applicable rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) 2nd paragraph, if any, and double patenting rejection(s) indicated above, and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because for each of claims 7-11, 13, and 18-20 the prior art references of record do not teach the combination of all element limitations as presently claimed.
Conclusion
/ABDUL-SAMAD A ADEDIRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621