Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 6/10/26 has been entered. Claims 1-7 are pending in the application. Claim 7 is new.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality:
At the end of line 5, the word “and” should be added.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ageev et al. (US 2014/0027110- cited previously) in view of Bryden (US 2011/0088802- cited previously).
With respect to independent claim 1, Ageev discloses a downhole acoustic stimulation tool (Abstract, [0040], [0120], and Fig. 1) comprising: a pair of electrodes ([0040], [0090], [0130], and Fig. 2; first electrode 38 and second electrode 40);
a feed mechanism arranged to feed a metallic conductor between the pair of electrodes, wherein the metallic conductor is fed between the pair of electrodes without moving the electrodes closer together ([0040], [0091], [0122], [0131], and Figs. 2 and 3; capacitor 46 and storage spool 66); and
a capacitor unit ([0040], [0135] and Fig. 2; capacitor unit 34).
Regarding claim 1, Ageev discloses an acoustic stimulation tool comprising electrodes, metallic conductor, and a capacitor unit to provide electricity (Abstract, [0040], [0046], and [0135]). However, Ageev fails to expressly disclose wherein the capacitor unit comprises a plurality of capacitor units connected in parallel, each comprising at least one capacitor, as instantly claimed. Bryden teaches a plurality of capacitor units connected in parallel, each comprising at least one capacitor ([0012], [0013], [0017], [0021], [0026], [0042], and [0046]-[0058], and Figs. 2 and 3). Replacing the capacitor unit disclosed by Ageev with the capacitor units taught by Bryden is but a simple substitution of one known equivalent capacitor unit for another, performing the same function for the same purpose, i.e., providing electricity to electrodes for acoustic stimulation. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this simple substitution as it has been held “[W]hen a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 US 39, 50-51 (1966)).
With respect to depending claim 2, the combination of Ageev and Bryden teaches a voltage control unit configured to discharge the capacitor units asynchronously to apply a series of pulse voltages across the electrodes ([0012], [0013], [0017], [0021], [0026], [0042], and [0046]-[0058], and Figs. 2 and 3).
With respect to depending claim 3, which depends upon claim 2, the combination of Ageev and Bryden teaches voltage pulses for charging capacitor units ([0012], [0013], [0017], [0021], [0026], [0042], and [0046]-[0058], and Figs. 2 and 3). Although silent to wherein the “duration between successive pulse voltages is less than a charging time of each capacitor unit,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the multiple pulse duration as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
With respect to depending claims 4-6, the combination of Ageev and Bryden teaches a capacitor bank, wherein “the capacitor bank includes ten hybrid capacitors arranged into five in-series pairs with the five pairs connected in parallel ([0058] and Fig. 2). Although silent to the exact arrangments as instantly claimed, nevertheless a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would consider it obvious to arrange and rearrange the same parts in different but known configurations. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
With respect to depending claim 7, Ageev discloses wherein the metallic conductor introduced by the feed mechanism forms a conductive path for plasma generation ([0101] and [0132]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/10/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thomas et al. (US 6,427,774) teaches a downhole acoustic stimulation tool comprising a pair of electrodes, a feed mechanism arranged to feed a conductor between the pair of electrodes, and a capacitor to provide electricity, wherein the conductor introduced by the feed mechanism forms a conductive path for plasma generation.
/AVI T SKAIST/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674