DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tackaberry (20200383490) in view of Chapman (20110148155). The reference to Tackaberry teaches structure substantially as claimed including a base having a first pair of legs hingeably connected to a second pair of legs(100, 100), a child support platform(200, 300, 500) extending between the first and second pairs of legs, step platform (at least fig 1), guard rails (400), slider rail (at /around 42a, b) the only difference being that there is not a panel extending between the first and second pair of legs. However, the reference to Chapman (see annotated fig below)
teaches the use of a panel to provide for better support to be old. It would
have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Tackaberry with a reasonable expectation of success, to include a panel/soft goods panel, as taught by Chapman since such are conventional alternative structures used in the same intended purpose and environment and would have been a reasonably predictable result, thereby providing structure as claimed. The use of different materials are matters of desirability and design parameters and would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art and a reasonably predictable result. Note the hinge and slide components of Tackaberry and knockdown capability of the support structures.
Claim(s) 2, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tackaberry in view of Chapman as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Quinn (20100207429). The reference to Tackaberry in view of Chapman teaches structure substantially as claimed as discussed above including panels the only difference being that that the panels do not include integrated pockets. However, the reference to Quinn (at 55, 56) teaches the use of providing integrated pockets to a panel for storage convenience to be old. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Tackaberry in view of Chapman with a reasonable expectation of success, to include integrated pockets at the side panels, as taught by Quinn since such are conventional alternative structures used in the same intended purpose and environment and would have been a reasonably predictable result, thereby providing structure as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited teach structure similar to applicant’s including knockdown foldable child seats.
/JOSE V CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637