Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlman et al (U.S Pub 2013/0200639) (“Perlman”) in view of Angerer et al (U.S Pub 2023/0081973) (“Angerer”).
Regarding Claim 1, Perlman discloses a suction cup for a handling device (Page 3, paragraph [0025] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Perlman discloses a vacuum cup assembly mountable to a support assembly of a material handling system comprising suction cups), with a suction bowl which is provided with a vacuum connection at a bowl bottom and is connected to an intermediate ring at a bowl mouth (Page 3, paragraph [0027] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Perlman discloses wherein the vacuum passageway terminates at a vacuum cup connection port #27 for connecting the body #20 to the vacuum suction cup #12), the intermediate ring being provided at an axial end region which faces away from the suction bowl with a carrier ring and the carrier ring being provided at an axial end region which faces away from the intermediate ring with a sealing ring for a sealing contact with a handling object (Page 4, paragraph [0039] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Perlman discloses a first sealing element or movable sealing element #154 that comprises a sealing ring #155 positioned at the passageway portion and at an or outward from an upper end of the vacuum passageway #126).
Perlman, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein a plurality of vacuum channels are formed, which vacuum channels are connected to a connection bore of the vacuum connection and which vacuum channels are bounded by a multiplicity of projections which are arranged at a distance from one another and project in an axial direction.
Angerer teaches wherein a plurality of vacuum channels are formed, which vacuum channels are connected to a connection bore of the vacuum connection and which vacuum channels are bounded by a multiplicity of projections which are arranged at a distance from one another and project in an axial direction (Abstract; Page 2, paragraphs [0009] and [0033]; Page 6, paragraph [0084], channel #3 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Angerer teaches wherein the vacuum element comprises a base body with at least one vacuum supply channel #3 that is formed in the direction towards a sealing element when the vacuum is present in the vacuum supply channel) for the purpose of forming a vacuum channel designed for holding a component to be transported when subjected to a vacuum (Abstract; Page 6, paragraph [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Perlman to include a plurality of vacuum channels, as taught by Angerer, because doing so would help to form a vacuum channel for holding a component to be transported.
Regarding Claim 3, Perlman discloses the suction cup according to claim 1, wherein the suction bowl has a first interface at the bowl mouth and the intermediate ring is provided with a second interface and with a third interface at mutually opposite axial end regions (Page 4, paragraph [0039] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Perlman discloses a first sealing element or movable sealing element #154 that comprises a sealing ring #155 positioned at the passageway portion and at an or outward from an upper end of the vacuum passageway #126), wherein the second interface is coupled to the first interface of the suction bowl and wherein the carrier ring is provided at one axial end region with a fourth interface which is coupled to the third interface of the intermediate ring (paragraph [0028] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Perlman discloses a retaining ring #31 positioned at the end of a nozzle #28).
Regarding Claim 4, Perlman in view of Angerer teach the suction cup according to claim 3, wherein the first interface and the second interface and/or the third interface and the fourth interface provide a form-fitting connection from the group: latching connection having a latching groove which is recessed in the radial direction and having a latching projection which projects in the radial direction; bayonet connection having an axial undercut and a supporting projection for axial support on the axial undercut (Angerer: paragraphs [0039] and [0091] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Angerer teaches a spring ring arranged in an annular-groove shaped outer jacket, and wherein a latching and/or clamping effect between a locking coupling #8 and a carrier element #28).
Regarding Claim 5, Perlman in view of Angerer teach the suction cup according to claim 1, wherein the suction bowl has a first interface at the bowl mouth and wherein the intermediate ring is received between the suction bowl and the carrier ring (Page 4, paragraph [0039] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Perlman discloses a first sealing element or movable sealing element #154 that comprises a sealing ring #155 positioned at the passageway portion and at an or outward from an upper end of the vacuum passageway #126), wherein the carrier ring is provided at one axial end region with a fourth interface for coupling to the first interface of the suction bowl, the first interface and the fourth interface forming a form-locking connection from the group: latching connection having a latching groove which runs around at least part of the circumference and is recessed in the radial direction and having a latching projection which runs around at least part of the circumference and projects in the radial direction; bayonet connection having an axial undercut and a supporting projection for axial support on the axial undercut (paragraphs [0039] and [0091] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Angerer teaches a spring ring arranged in an annular-groove shaped outer jacket, and wherein a latching and/or clamping effect between a locking coupling #8 and a carrier element #28).
Regarding Claim 6, Angerer teaches the suction cup according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate ring borders a perforated plate which is penetrated by a multiplicity of bores, wherein each of the bores has a cross-sectional area which is less than 5 percent of a cross-sectional area of an internal diameter of the intermediate ring (paragraph [0030] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Angerer teaches wherein the plate-shaped region of a pin-shaped actuating tool is formed with a vacuum supply line via which vacuum supply line a vacuum can be applied in the sealing element).
Regarding Claim 7, Perlman in view of Angerer teach the suction cup according to claim 1, wherein the axial end region of the carrier ring and the sealing ring form a latching connection having a latching groove which is recessed in the radial direction and has a latching projection which projects in the radial direction, or wherein the sealing ring is fixed in a materially secure manner to the axial end region of the carrier ring by means of an axially aligned end face (Angerer: paragraphs [0039] and [0091] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Angerer teaches a spring ring arranged in an annular-groove shaped outer jacket, and wherein a latching and/or clamping effect between a locking coupling #8 and a carrier element #28).
Regarding Claim 8, Perlman discloses the suction cup according to claim 1, wherein the sealing ring is made of an elastomeric material, in particular silicone or acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber, or a foam, in particular a polyurethane or a chloroprene rubber or an ethylene-propylene-diene rubber (Page 4, paragraph [0039] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Perlman discloses a first sealing element or movable sealing element #154 that comprises an elastomeric and/or rubber sealing ring #155 positioned at the passageway portion and at an or outward from an upper end of the vacuum passageway #126).
Regarding Claim 9, Perlman discloses the suction cup according to claim 1, wherein a peripheral sealing ring is arranged between a circumferential surface of the suction bowl and an oppositely arranged circumferential surface of the intermediate ring and/or wherein a peripheral sealing ring is 2 arranged between a circumferential surface of the intermediate ring and an oppositely arranged circumferential surface of the carrier ring (Page 4, paragraph [0039] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Perlman discloses a first sealing element or movable sealing element #154 that comprises an elastomeric and/or rubber sealing ring #155 positioned at the passageway portion and at an or outward from an upper end of the vacuum passageway #126).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Beaupre-Laflamme et al (U.S Pub 2022/0362947) – discloses an apparatus that comprises a housing including a first opening and a second opening that forms a suction connection with a transportable component; the apparatus further includes a valve connected with the second opening (Abstract; Page 1, paragraphs [0003] and [0004]).
Carter et al (U.S Patent 10,130,846) – discloses a hybrid adhesion system including an adhesion head including at least one suction cup and a handle and a vacuum generator mechanically coupled to the adhesion head (Abstract; Col 1, lines 42-58).
/ASHISH K VARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674