DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the rectifiers discussed in claim 28 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “treats” on line 2 should be changed to the word “treat.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The recited result of providing OD-ENB without production of irreversible Faradaic reaction products at the neural tissue is not adequately described in the disclosure. The applicant states that using a DC waveform can be used to prevent the reaction via manipulation of the DC waveform (par. 0035), but does not elaborate on what the manipulation of the DC waveform entails. It is noted that the applicant describes the types of materials that may be used to prevent the reaction (par. 0045), but not the type of DC waveform manipulation. If the applicant is ascribing the desired result to the use of the materials cited in claim 32, then the claim fails to further limit claim 32 (see rejections below).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The scope of claim 33 is unclear. Claim 33 merely indicates a desired result to be achieved by the invention. Presumably, the desired feature expressed in claim 33 is the result of the electrode material used and recited in claim 32. If so, then the claim fails to further limit claim 32. If not, then it is unclear what structural feature is being relied upon to bring about this desired result.
Claims 25 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 25, claim 1 already requires a wireless connection between the capsule and the external power source, with the powering/communication component configured to receive a power signal via communication with the external power source. It is therefore unclear what further distinction is being presented in claim 25 which states that the powering/communication component is configured to receive the power signal from the external power source wirelessly. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Regarding claim 33, note the comments made in the rejection of said claim under 112(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,617,884. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, except as specifically indicated below, the present invention's claims are merely broader in scope than the patented claims. Once the applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, he is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention (see In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993)).
Regarding claim 28, while the use of a power transfer rectifier or a shunt rectifier is not recited in the ‘884 invention, Official Notice is taken that power transfer or shunt rectifiers are old and well-known in the art of wireless power transfer. Such means allow for AC signals such as those suitable for wireless communication, to be converted into DC signals, thus enabling the converted signal to be directly applied in any application requiring DC current. To utilize such rectifiers to provide the requisite DC blocking signal in the wireless, battery-less neuromodulation device of the ‘884 invention would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 29, 30, 36 and 37, while the ‘884 patent does not recite the use of DC set points controlled by a controller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control DC set points in order to precisely and safely control stimulation in a consistent, medically appropriate manner.
Regarding claim 34, although it is not explicitly stated that the applied nerve blocking signal of the ‘884 invention is used to treat pain, Official Notice is taken that it is old and well-known to use nerve blocking signals to block pain in the neurostimulation art. Clearly preventing a sensory nerve from transmitting its signal to the brain by using a blocking signal would prevent or reduce any sensations of pain in the brain. Treating pain by blocking sensory nerve transmissions would have therefore been considered obvious by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 38, while the ‘884 invention does not discuss treatment times, those of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the exact time of treatment to depend upon the condition of the patient, the severity of pain, the type of nerve stimulated, the location of the nerve and the expertise of the physician under whose care the patient resides. Routine clinical experimentation would dictate the necessary stimulation times for optimal treatment.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,246,174. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, except as specifically indicated below, the present invention's claims are merely broader in scope than the patented claims. Once the applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, he is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention (see In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993)).
Regarding claim 28, while the use of a power transfer rectifier or a shunt rectifier is not recited in the ‘174 invention, Official Notice is taken that power transfer or shunt rectifiers are old and well-known in the art of wireless power transfer. Such means allow for AC signals such as those suitable for wireless communication, to be converted into DC signals, thus enabling the converted signal to be directly applied in any application requiring DC current. To utilize such rectifiers to provide the requisite DC blocking signal in the wireless, battery-less neuromodulation device of the ‘174 invention would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 29, 30, 36 and 37, while the ‘174 patent does not recite the use of DC set points controlled by a controller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control DC set points in order to precisely and safely control stimulation in a consistent, medically appropriate manner.
Regarding claim 31, while the ‘174 patent indicates that the device is powered from an external power source, it does not explicitly state that the capsule comprises no internal power source. Given that power can be provided by an external source on demand, those of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that an internal power source was optional as it is not necessary to power the device. Further, incentive to make the implantable capsule unobtrusive in size would have led artisans to the obvious conclusion that elimination of any internal power source would be desirable in the pursuit of this art-recognized general goal.
Regarding claim 38, while the ‘174 invention does not discuss treatment times, those of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the exact time of treatment to depend upon the condition of the patient, the severity of pain, the type of nerve stimulated, the location of the nerve and the expertise and experience of the physician under whose care the patient resides. Routine clinical experimentation would ultimately dictate the necessary stimulation times for optimal treatment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-25, 27-31, 34, 36, 37 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Handley et al. (O’Handley: Pub. No. 2009/0062886).
Regarding claim 21 (with related comments applying to similarly worded and patentably indistinct method claim 35), O’Handley discloses a system comprising: an external power source 81; and an implantable capsule (pars. 0020 and 0022, encapsulated implanted ME sensor/transducer with stimulation capabilities in the form of a pellet) located proximal to neural tissue and wirelessly coupled to the external power source (see for example pars. 0017-0020, 0024), the implantable capsule comprising: at least one blocking electrode (any of the opposing electrodes of the system across which the voltage 87 or like voltage is applied and capable of providing the blocking discussed in pars. 0181, 0182); and a powering/communication component (sensor/transducer 86 or the like) configured to communicate with the external power source to receive a power signal to power at least a portion of the implantable capsule (see at least pars. 0012, 0018 and 0022), wherein, when powered, the implantable capsule is configured to deliver a direct current (DC) to at least a portion of the neural tissue (see pars. 0011, 0145) to provide an on- demand electrical nerve block (OD-ENB) to at least partially block a neural signal transmitted through the nervous tissue (stimulation may be provided on an “as need” basis for immediate use without the need for storage batteries, see pars. 0020, 0024, 0147).
Regarding claim 22, see par. 0022. The implantable electrodes used to conduct the stimulation currents used by the invention are considered to inherently comprise a conducting material.
Regarding claim 23, note the comments above regarding nerve blocking and the use of conductive materials. Any stimulation signal applied via the electrodes as described, is considered to constitute a “blocking electrode contact” that is conductive.
Regarding claim 24, a closed loop is required in order for the required stimulation current to be generated. It is therefore inherent that one of the two disclosed electrodes comprise a return electrode.
Regarding claim 25, see at least par. 0018.
Regarding claim 27, note par. 0018 and the use of a magnetostrictive-electroactive (ME) magnetic field element used to wirelessly receive power for generation of DC (see pars. 0011, 0145).
Regarding claim 28, rectifier 72 is considered a power transfer rectifier or a shunt rectifier.
Regarding claims 29, 30, 36 and 37, O’Handley discloses that a controller may be employed to control the various stimulation parameters including current density (which may include DC as discussed above) and thus the power in order to provide stimulation that is safe and efficacious with minimal discomfort to the patient (pars. 0019, 0021 and 0023). Any control feature allowing setting or adjusting of the parameters of the stimulation signal is considered to contain a “set point.”
Regarding claim 31, note par. 0147 wherein the O’Handley system does not require batteries (i.e., an internal power source).
Regarding claim 34, see at least pars. 0024 and 0182.
Regarding claim 40, see the rejection of related claim 34.
Claim(s) 21-30, 32, 33, 35-37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schulman et al. (Schulman: Pat. No. 5,193,539).
Regarding claim 21 (with related comments applying to patentably indistinct method claim 35), Schulman discloses a system comprising: an external power source (element 61 or equivalent structure); and an implantable capsule (see at least Fig. 8) located proximal to neural tissue (col. 4, lines 20-31) and wirelessly coupled to the external power source (see at least Fig. 10), the implantable capsule comprising: at least one blocking electrode (either of electrode 14 or 15; see also text abridging cols. 9 and 10); and a powering/communication component (inductively coupled coil 11 and associated circuitry) configured to communicate with the external power source to receive a power signal to power at least a portion of the implantable capsule (see Figs. 1, 2, 10), wherein, when powered, the implantable capsule is configured to deliver a direct current (DC) (see col. 2, lines 54-65 and the discussion of Fig. 3, with the rectified signal representing a DC signal) to at least a portion of the neural tissue to provide an on-demand electrical nerve block (OD-ENB) to at least partially block a neural signal transmitted through the nervous tissue (see col. 1, line 64- col. 2, line 19 with the stimulation provided through external control and allowing the patient the ability to suppress their disorders or symptoms immediately with no systemic side effects other than inactivation/blocking of the targeted nerve, and the text abridging cols. 9 and 10 with reference to nerve blocking).
Regarding claim 22, see at least Fig. 8 which shows an implantable capsule with external biocompatible shell portion (implantable housing 72 inherently required to be biocompatible), and a conducting portion comprising conductive material (i.e., electrodes).
Regarding claim 23, given that the Schulman device is designed to achieve anodal block of nerve axons using DC as discussed above, any electrode applying the stimulation is considered a blocking electrode.
Regarding claim 24, for a current to be generated as disclosed, one of electrodes 14 or 15 located on either side of the housing must receive a return current.
Regarding claims 25, 26 and 39, see Figs. 2 and 10.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, see the discussion of power rectification associated with the circuit of Fig. 3.
Regarding claims 29, 30, 36 and 37, the device of Schulman may receive “DC set points” via an external controller as discussed in col. 2, lines 5-19, and col. 4, lines 12-35, where the set points are used to dictate stimulation parameters such as amplitude, pulse duration, pulse width, etc.
Regarding claim 32, Schulman discloses that the electrodes by their structure form a capacitor (see Fig. 2; element 20 and associated text). The electrodes are therefore considered to comprise a high charge capacity material.
Regarding claim 33, note the rejection of said claim above under §112. The high charge capacity electrodes of Schulman are considered to avoid irreversible Faradaic reaction products. It is further noted that Schulman teaches that the system is charge balanced and does not cause anodic or cathodic deterioration of the electrodes or damage to body tissue (see col. 2, lines 20-25). Charge balancing is considered to prevent production of irreversible Faradaic reaction products at body tissue locations when implanted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Handley ‘886.
Regarding method claim 38, O’Handley teaches that due to the efficiency of the stimulator, the device may provide continuous stimulation for 2 minutes or more (par. 0193). While such a time period is discussed in relation to bone growth stimulation, artisans of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered the efficiency of the stimulator’s power system to also apply when performing nerve blocking. Clearly the exact length of treatment time would, as already discussed above, depend upon the condition of the patient, the severity of pain, the type of nerve stimulated, the location of the nerve and the expertise and experience of the physician under whose care the patient resides. Routine clinical experimentation would ultimately dictate the necessary stimulation times for optimal treatment. The applicant only references 2 minutes or more as a non-limiting example, along with 5 or more minutes and 10 or more minutes (see par. 0038 of the present specification). The open-ended limitations would include time periods of days, weeks or months –all well-within the capabilities of the O’Handley system (see for example pars. 0113 and 0185 which provides for therapy on an as-needed basis). Those of ordinary skill in the art would have therefore considered the time of 2 minutes or more in nerve blocking applications to be a matter of obvious design.
Conclusion
/KENNEDY SCHAETZLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
KJS
August 22, 2026