Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-15 are pending and claims 3 and 8-15 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3 and 8-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 4 utilizes axis (a) and axis (b) however the claimed (a) and (b) within the claims are not a proper identifying claimed limitation (the elements within the parentheses do not constitute a difference). The examiner suggests claiming a first axis and a second axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Golden (U.S. 2007/0194157).
With respect to claim 1, Golden discloses an ablutionary nozzle (figure 3, paragraph 0008 discloses being used with aqueous cleaning solutions) assembly for use in an ablutionary fitting (the fitting 21 is attached to), the nozzle assembly comprising:
one or more nozzles (21); and
one or more pairs of electrodes (electrodes 23 and 22),
wherein the nozzles and pairs of electrodes are arranged such that, in use, an electric potential difference applied across the one or more pairs of electrodes controls the deflection of water jets passing through each of the one or more nozzles (paragraphs 0012 and 0062, such that the fluid is deflected into the principal spray, further understood as being a function of the electrodes onto the aqueous jet).
With respect to claim 2, Golden discloses an axis (a) extending between the electrodes of a pair of electrodes (being an axis between 22 and 23) is perpendicular to an axis (b) extending in the direction of water flow through the one or more nozzles (being the axis of 21, where 21 has a central axis that is perpendicular to an axis formed between 22 and 23) and located an equal distance from each aperture of the one or more nozzles (being a single aperture from the one nozzle 21).
With respect to claim 4, Golden discloses
:a) the one or more axis (a) extending between the electrodes of a pair of electrodes intersects with axis (b) such that axis (b) passes between the electrode pairs (as shown in figure 3); and/or
b) the aperture of each of the one or more nozzles has a diameter of from 0.1 mm to 30 mm.
With respect to claim 5, Golden discloses
a) the electrodes are positioned downstream of the one or more nozzles (as shown in figure 3) such that the one or more water jets pass between the two electrodes of each pair of electrodes after exiting the nozzle (as shown in figure 3); and/or
b) the electrodes are physically separated from the one or more water jets formed when the ablutionary nozzle assembly is in use (as shown in figure 3).
With respect to claim 6, Golden discloses
a) the assembly comprises a single nozzle (figure 3, being a single nozzle), or
b) the assembly comprises from two to four nozzles.
With respect to claim 7, Golden discloses an ablutionary fitting (being the fitting of figures 1 or 2, which 21 is utilized/fit within the spray gun comprising:
an ablutionary nozzle (figure 2) assembly including:
one or more nozzles (21); and
one or more pairs of electrodes (electrodes 23 and 22),
wherein the nozzles and pairs of electrodes are arranged such that, in use, an electric potential difference applied across the one or more pairs of electrodes controls the deflection of water jets passing through each of the one or more nozzles (paragraphs 0012 and 0062, such that the fluid is deflected into the principal spray, further understood as being a function of the electrodes onto the aqueous jet).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752