DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority is noted, however, it should be noted that retrieval requests, dated 08/11/2025, were unsuccessful.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-9, 11, 13, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara US-20200307635-A1 in view of Katsuki US-20220057795-A1.
1. Hara US-20200307635-A1 discloses
A vehicle control method executed by a vehicle that includes a sensor that acquires an external situation,
(Hara [0045] object recognition device 16 recognizes the position, type, speed, or the like of an object by performing a sensor fusion process on the results of detection performed by some or all of the camera 10, the radar device 12, and the viewfinder 14. The object recognition device 16 outputs recognition result to the automated driving controller 100. The object recognition device 16 may output the detection results of the camera 10, the radar device 12, and the viewfinder 14, as they are, to the automated driving controller 100. The object recognition device 16 may be omitted from the vehicle system 1.)
an operation device that receives an operation by an occupant,
(Hara [0053] driving operator 80 includes, for example, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, a shift lever, a steering wheel, a variant steering wheel, a joystick, and other operators. A sensor that detects the amount of operation or the presence or absence of operation is installed on the driving operator 80, and the detection results are output to the automated driving controller 100, or some or all of the traveling driving force output device 200, the brake device 210, and the steering device 220.)
a steering device that receives a steering operation by the occupant,
(Hara [0053] driving operator 80 includes, for example, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, a shift lever, a steering wheel, a variant steering wheel, a joystick, and other operators. A sensor that detects the amount of operation…)
a display device that is visually recognizable by the occupant, and
(Hara [0048] HMI 30 presents various types of information to a user of the host vehicle M, and accepts the user's input operation. The HMI 30 includes various display devices, a speaker, a buzzer, a touch panel, a switch, a key, and the like.)
a movement controller that controls at least steering,
(Hara [0070-0071] an autonomous parking controller 142 to be started up in a case where the autonomous parking event is executed. The details of the function of the autonomous parking controller 142 will be described later…. second controller 160 controls the traveling driving force output device 200, the brake device 210, and the steering device 220 so that the host vehicle M passes along the target trajectory generated by the behavior plan generator 140 according to scheduled times.)
Hara: FIG.1
the vehicle holding a teacher route obtained by teacher driving from a predetermined position to a parking target position, wherein
(Hara [0050] The route determiner 53 determines, for example, a route (hereinafter, a route on a map) from the position (or any input position) of the host vehicle M specified by the GNSS receiver 51 to a destination input by a user using the navigation HMI 52 with reference to the first map information 54. The first map information 54 is, for example, information in which a road shape is represented by a link indicating a road and nodes connected by the link. The first map information 54 may include the curvature of a road, point of interest (POI) information, or the like. The route on a map is output to the MPU 60. The navigation device 50 may perform route guidance using the navigation HMI 52 on the basis of the route on a map. The navigation device 50 may be realized by the function of a terminal device such as, for example, a smartphone or a tablet terminal possessed by a user. The navigation device 50 may transmit its current position and destination to a navigation server through the communication device 20, and acquire the same route as the route on a map from the navigation server.)
in a manual driving mode, the vehicle is driven in response to a steering operation on the steering device by the occupant, and when the vehicle is within a predetermined range from the predetermined position (i.e. trajectory points a distance between a parking area and a stop area), and the operation device receives a first operation [0070], switching to an autonomous driving mode is performed,
(Hara [0063] the term “manual driving” refers to the steering and speed of the host vehicle M being controlled in accordance with a user's operation of the driving operator 80)
(Hara [0064] events includes, for example, a parking event of causing the host vehicle M to travel autonomously and be parked in a parking space as in valet parking rather than a user of the host vehicle M parks the host vehicle M in the parking space by himself (or herself),)
(Hara [0083, 0085] In a case where the autonomous parking event is started, the autonomous parking controller 142 controls the communication device 20 and transmits a request for parking toward the parking lot management device 400. The host vehicle M moves from the stop area 310 to the parking area PA in accordance with the guidance of the parking lot management device 400 or while performing sensing by itself… The parking lot map information 432 includes coordinates for each parking space PS.)
(Hara [0068] behavior plan generator 140 determines a plurality of points (trajectory points) at which the host vehicle M will arrive in order as position elements of a target trajectory. The trajectory points are points at which the host vehicle M will arrive after predetermined traveling distances (for example, approximately every several [m]). The predetermined traveling distances may be calculated by, for example, a distance along a road when advancing along a route.)
(Hara [0070, 0082-0083] behavior plan generator 140 includes, for example, an autonomous parking controller 142 to be started up in a case where the autonomous parking event is executed… A start trigger of the autonomous parking event may be, for example, some kind of operation performed by a user, or may be wireless reception of a predetermined signal from the parking lot management device 400. The details of the start trigger of the autonomous parking event will be described later.)
thereafter, in the autonomous driving mode [0063], [[capable of detecting]] an obstacle is detected in front of the vehicle in a moving direction based on an external situation acquired by the sensor during movement from the predetermined position to the parking target position along the teacher route by first autonomous driving controlling at least the steering [0064, 0070], [[temporarily]] switching to a **** manual driving mode **** is performed [0066-67], and the operation device and the steering device receive a manual operation by the occupant [0053],
(Hara [0045] object recognition device 16 recognizes the position, type, speed, or the like of an object by performing a sensor fusion process on the results of detection performed by some or all of the camera 10, the radar device 12, and the viewfinder 14. The object recognition device 16 outputs recognition result to the automated driving controller 100. The object recognition device 16 may output the detection results of the camera 10, the radar device 12, and the viewfinder 14, as they are, to the automated driving controller 100.)
(Hara [0053] driving operator 80 includes, for example, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, a shift lever, a steering wheel, a variant steering wheel, a joystick, and other operators. A sensor that detects the amount of operation or the presence or absence of operation is installed on the driving operator 80, and the detection results are output to the automated driving controller 100, or some or all of the traveling driving force output device 200, the brake device 210, and the steering device 220.)
(Hara [0063] The event of automated driving is a mode of behavior which is taken by the host vehicle M under the above-described automated driving, that is, information in which a traveling mode is specified.)
(Hara [0064-0067] … events includes, for example, a parking event of causing the host vehicle M to travel autonomously and be parked in a parking space as in valet parking rather than a user of the host vehicle M parks the host vehicle M in the parking space by himself (or herself),… events may include, for example, …, an avoidance event of causing the host vehicle M to perform at least one of braking and steering in order to avoid an obstacle which is present in front of the host vehicle M, an overtaking event of terminating automated driving and switching the automated driving to manual driving,… behavior plan generator 140 may change an event already determined with respect to the current section or the next section to another event in accordance with a peripheral situation recognized by the recognizer 130 during traveling of the host vehicle M, or may determine a new event with respect to the current section or the next section.)
(Hara [0070, 0082-0083] behavior plan generator 140 includes, for example, an autonomous parking controller 142 to be started up in a case where the autonomous parking event is executed… A start trigger of the autonomous parking event may be, for example, some kind of operation performed by a user, or may be wireless reception of a predetermined signal from the parking lot management device 400. The details of the start trigger of the autonomous parking event will be described later.)
Katsuki US-20220057795-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for drive control of an autonomous vehicle wherein “…when an obstacle is detected in front of the vehicle in a moving direction based on an external situation acquired by the sensor during movement from the predetermined position … switching to a temporary manual driving mode different from the manual driving mode is performed”;
(Katsuki [0051-0053] The map data includes, for example, travelable ranges, reference paths (lines drawn in the centers of lanes recommended to be followed), traffic rules (road markings, traffic signs, legal speed limits, and positions of traffic lights), and structures… The sensor data includes, for example, states (position, attitude, speed, and acceleration) of the mobile object 10, predicted trajectories of obstacles (such as pedestrians and vehicles), and a state of a signal of a traffic light… The generation unit 21 generates autonomous driving control information for controlling a behavior of the mobile object using the autonomous driving. The autonomous driving control information includes at least one of a driving action such as overtaking, following, or stopping, a trajectory, and a path. The trajectory is data representing a sequence of information (for example, waypoints) representing the positions and the attitudes of the mobile object 10 using time information as a parameter. The path is data obtained by deleting the time information from the trajectory.)
(Katsuki [0056-0057] The determination unit 23 determines a difference between the behavior of the mobile object 10 controlled to be automatically driven using the autonomous driving control information and the behavior of the mobile object 10 when switching to the manual driving is made. The determination unit 23 determines the difference based on at least one of the driving action of the mobile object 10, the path followed by the mobile object 10, and the trajectory of the mobile object 10… The output control unit 24 controls output of output information output to the output unit 10A. The output information includes, for example, an obstacle, a travelable range, the traffic signs, the road markings, and the driving action (for example, the stopping). If the determination unit 23 has determined that the difference is present, the output control unit 24 outputs the output information including, for example, a message prompting a driver of the mobile object 10 to select the autonomous driving or the manual driving and a message recommending the switching to the manual driving to the output unit 10A.)
(Katsuki [0088] Under the situation of, for example, FIG. 10, the mobile object 10 excessively guaranteed for safety may fail to harmonize with surrounding vehicles (for example, vehicles in front or behind that are manually being driven), and may disturb a traffic flow. By outputting the above-described message 202, the switching from the autonomous driving to the manual driving is prompted, and thereby, the mobile object safely controlled to be automatically driven can be prevented from disturbing the traffic flow.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include when an obstacle is detected in front of the vehicle switching to a temporary manual driving mode with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Katsuki, for the benefit of the safely controlling a mobile object so as to prevent from disturbing the traffic flow [0088].
thereafter, in the **** manual driving mode, after the vehicle is moved by the manual operation, ****,
(Hara [0063] The event of automated driving is a mode of behavior which is taken by the host vehicle M under the above-described automated driving, that is, information in which a traveling mode is specified.)
(Hara [0064-0067] … events includes, for example, a parking event of causing the host vehicle M to travel autonomously and be parked in a parking space as in valet parking rather than a user of the host vehicle M parks the host vehicle M in the parking space by himself (or herself),… events may include, for example, …, an avoidance event of causing the host vehicle M to perform at least one of braking and steering in order to avoid an obstacle which is present in front of the host vehicle M, an overtaking event of terminating automated driving and switching the automated driving to manual driving,… behavior plan generator 140 may change an event already determined with respect to the current section or the next section to another event in accordance with a peripheral situation recognized by the recognizer 130 during traveling of the host vehicle M, or may determine a new event with respect to the current section or the next section.)
Katsuki US-20220057795-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for drive control of an autonomous vehicle wherein “…a temporary manual driving mode [0056-0057]… when the obstacle is not detected in front of the vehicle in the moving direction based on the external situation acquired by the sensor, the display device outputs a first screen representing return to the teacher route by autonomous driving [0091]”;
(Katsuki [0056-0057] The determination unit 23 determines a difference between the behavior of the mobile object 10 controlled to be automatically driven using the autonomous driving control information and the behavior of the mobile object 10 when switching to the manual driving is made. The determination unit 23 determines the difference based on at least one of the driving action of the mobile object 10, the path followed by the mobile object 10, and the trajectory of the mobile object 10… The output control unit 24 controls output of output information output to the output unit 10A. The output information includes, for example, an obstacle, a travelable range, the traffic signs, the road markings, and the driving action (for example, the stopping). If the determination unit 23 has determined that the difference is present, the output control unit 24 outputs the output information including, for example, a message prompting a driver of the mobile object 10 to select the autonomous driving or the manual driving and a message recommending the switching to the manual driving to the output unit 10A.)
(Katsuki [0091] Presenting the trajectory of the autonomous driving and the trajectory of the manual driving to the occupant can facilitate the occupant to determine the switching to the manual driving. The output control unit 24 also displays the message 202 that recommends, for example, to manually drive on a manual driving path (green path) instead of driving on an autonomous driving path (red path). Alternatively, for example, the output control unit 24 may output the output information for outputting alternatives for selection of whether to continue the manual driving or to switch to the autonomous driving, and receiving a selection from the occupant.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include a temporary manual driving mode and further when the obstacle is not detected in front of the vehicle in the moving direction based on the external situation acquired by the sensor, the display device outputs a first screen representing return to the teacher route by autonomous driving with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Katsuki, for the benefit of the safely controlling a mobile object so as to prevent from disturbing the traffic flow [0088].
after second autonomous driving is performed to a halfway point between the predetermined position and the parking target position on the teacher route, third autonomous driving is performed along the teacher route from the halfway point to the parking target position (i.e. predetermined distances between target trajectories establishing a route between a starting position and a destination),
(Hara [0064] events includes, for example, a parking event of causing the host vehicle M to travel autonomously and be parked in a parking space as in valet parking rather than a user of the host vehicle M parks the host vehicle M in the parking space by himself (or herself),)
(Hara [0083, 0085] In a case where the autonomous parking event is started, the autonomous parking controller 142 controls the communication device 20 and transmits a request for parking toward the parking lot management device 400. The host vehicle M moves from the stop area 310 to the parking area PA in accordance with the guidance of the parking lot management device 400 or while performing sensing by itself… The parking lot map information 432 includes coordinates for each parking space PS.)
(Hara [0068] behavior plan generator 140 determines a plurality of points (trajectory points) at which the host vehicle M will arrive in order as position elements of a target trajectory. The trajectory points are points at which the host vehicle M will arrive after predetermined traveling distances (for example, approximately every several [m]). The predetermined traveling distances may be calculated by, for example, a distance along a road when advancing along a route.)
in the manual driving mode, the vehicle is driven in response to a steering operation on the steering device by the occupant, and when the vehicle is within a predetermined range from the predetermined position and the operation device does not receive a first operation, ongoingly in the manual driving mode, the vehicle is driven to the parking target position in response to a steering operation on the steering device by the occupant (i.e. a vehicle being driven in a manual mode between a starting position and a destination), and
(Hara [0063] the term “manual driving” refers to the steering and speed of the host vehicle M being controlled in accordance with a user's operation of the driving operator 80)
(Hara [0053] driving operator 80 includes, for example, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, a shift lever, a steering wheel, a variant steering wheel, a joystick, and other operators. A sensor that detects the amount of operation or the presence or absence of operation is installed on the driving operator 80, and the detection results are output to the automated driving controller 100, or some or all of the traveling driving force output device 200, the brake device 210, and the steering device 220.)
in the temporary manual driving mode [0064-67], when the operation device receives a second operation, switching to the manual driving mode is performed, and in the manual driving mode, after the vehicle is moved by the manual operation, when the obstacle is not detected in front of the vehicle in the moving direction based on an external situation acquired by the sensor, the display device does not output the first screen indicating return to the teacher route by autonomous driving (i.e. a vehicle being driven in a manual mode between a starting position and a destination).
(Hara [0064-0067] … events includes, for example, a parking event of causing the host vehicle M to travel autonomously and be parked in a parking space as in valet parking rather than a user of the host vehicle M parks the host vehicle M in the parking space by himself (or herself),… events may include, for example, …, an avoidance event of causing the host vehicle M to perform at least one of braking and steering in order to avoid an obstacle which is present in front of the host vehicle M, an overtaking event of terminating automated driving and switching the automated driving to manual driving,… behavior plan generator 140 may change an event already determined with respect to the current section or the next section to another event in accordance with a peripheral situation recognized by the recognizer 130 during traveling of the host vehicle M, or may determine a new event with respect to the current section or the next section.)
(Hara [0048] HMI 30 presents various types of information to a user of the host vehicle M, and accepts the user's input operation. The HMI 30 includes various display devices, a speaker, a buzzer, a touch panel, a switch, a key, and the like.)
(Hara [0063] the term “manual driving” refers to the steering and speed of the host vehicle M being controlled in accordance with a user's operation of the driving operator 80)
(Hara [0053] driving operator 80 includes, for example, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, a shift lever, a steering wheel, a variant steering wheel, a joystick, and other operators. A sensor that detects the amount of operation or the presence or absence of operation is installed on the driving operator 80, and the detection results are output to the automated driving controller 100, or some or all of the traveling driving force output device 200, the brake device 210, and the steering device 220.)
3. Hara US-20200307635-A1 discloses
The vehicle control method according to claim 1, wherein
the second autonomous driving is performed based on a difference between the teacher route and a position of the vehicle at that time (i.e. predetermined distances between target trajectories and a current position of a vehicle establishing a route between a starting position and a destination).
(Hara [0064] events includes, for example, a parking event of causing the host vehicle M to travel autonomously and be parked in a parking space as in valet parking rather than a user of the host vehicle M parks the host vehicle M in the parking space by himself (or herself),)
(Hara [0083, 0085] In a case where the autonomous parking event is started, the autonomous parking controller 142 controls the communication device 20 and transmits a request for parking toward the parking lot management device 400. The host vehicle M moves from the stop area 310 to the parking area PA in accordance with the guidance of the parking lot management device 400 or while performing sensing by itself… The parking lot map information 432 includes coordinates for each parking space PS.)
(Hara [0068] behavior plan generator 140 determines a plurality of points (trajectory points) at which the host vehicle M will arrive in order as position elements of a target trajectory. The trajectory points are points at which the host vehicle M will arrive after predetermined traveling distances (for example, approximately every several [m]). The predetermined traveling distances may be calculated by, for example, a distance along a road when advancing along a route.)
(Hara [0050] The route determiner 53 determines, for example, a route (hereinafter, a route on a map) from the position (or any input position) of the host vehicle M specified by the GNSS receiver 51 to a destination input by a user using the navigation HMI 52 with reference to the first map information 54. The first map information 54 is, for example, information in which a road shape is represented by a link indicating a road and nodes connected by the link. The first map information 54 may include the curvature of a road, point of interest (POI) information, or the like. The route on a map is output to the MPU 60. The navigation device 50 may perform route guidance using the navigation HMI 52 on the basis of the route on a map. The navigation device 50 may be realized by the function of a terminal device such as, for example, a smartphone or a tablet terminal possessed by a user. The navigation device 50 may transmit its current position and destination to a navigation server through the communication device 20, and acquire the same route as the route on a map from the navigation server.)
8. Hara US-20200307635-A1 discloses
The vehicle control method according to claim 1, wherein when an obstacle is detected in front of the vehicle in the moving direction based on an external situation acquired by the sensor [0058], ****.
(Hara [0058] The periphery recognizer 132 recognizes a stop line, an obstacle, a red light, a tollbooth, and other road events.)
(Hara [0063] The event of automated driving is a mode of behavior which is taken by the host vehicle M under the above-described automated driving, that is, information in which a traveling mode is specified.)
(Hara [0064-0067] … events includes, for example, a parking event of causing the host vehicle M to travel autonomously and be parked in a parking space as in valet parking rather than a user of the host vehicle M parks the host vehicle M in the parking space by himself (or herself),… events may include, for example, …, an avoidance event of causing the host vehicle M to perform at least one of braking and steering in order to avoid an obstacle which is present in front of the host vehicle M, an overtaking event of terminating automated driving and switching the automated driving to manual driving,… behavior plan generator 140 may change an event already determined with respect to the current section or the next section to another event in accordance with a peripheral situation recognized by the recognizer 130 during traveling of the host vehicle M, or may determine a new event with respect to the current section or the next section.)
Katsuki US-20220057795-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for drive control of an autonomous vehicle wherein “…the display device displays a third screen prompting the occupant to perform a manual operation for avoiding the obstacle”;
(Katsuki [0051-0053] The map data includes, for example, travelable ranges, reference paths (lines drawn in the centers of lanes recommended to be followed), traffic rules (road markings, traffic signs, legal speed limits, and positions of traffic lights), and structures… The sensor data includes, for example, states (position, attitude, speed, and acceleration) of the mobile object 10, predicted trajectories of obstacles (such as pedestrians and vehicles), and a state of a signal of a traffic light… The generation unit 21 generates autonomous driving control information for controlling a behavior of the mobile object using the autonomous driving. The autonomous driving control information includes at least one of a driving action such as overtaking, following, or stopping, a trajectory, and a path. The trajectory is data representing a sequence of information (for example, waypoints) representing the positions and the attitudes of the mobile object 10 using time information as a parameter. The path is data obtained by deleting the time information from the trajectory.)
(Katsuki [0056-0057] The determination unit 23 determines a difference between the behavior of the mobile object 10 controlled to be automatically driven using the autonomous driving control information and the behavior of the mobile object 10 when switching to the manual driving is made. The determination unit 23 determines the difference based on at least one of the driving action of the mobile object 10, the path followed by the mobile object 10, and the trajectory of the mobile object 10… The output control unit 24 controls output of output information output to the output unit 10A. The output information includes, for example, an obstacle, a travelable range, the traffic signs, the road markings, and the driving action (for example, the stopping). If the determination unit 23 has determined that the difference is present, the output control unit 24 outputs the output information including, for example, a message prompting a driver of the mobile object 10 to select the autonomous driving or the manual driving and a message recommending the switching to the manual driving to the output unit 10A.)
(Katsuki [0088] Under the situation of, for example, FIG. 10, the mobile object 10 excessively guaranteed for safety may fail to harmonize with surrounding vehicles (for example, vehicles in front or behind that are manually being driven), and may disturb a traffic flow. By outputting the above-described message 202, the switching from the autonomous driving to the manual driving is prompted, and thereby, the mobile object safely controlled to be automatically driven can be prevented from disturbing the traffic flow.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include when an obstacle is detected in front of the vehicle switching to a temporary manual driving mode with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Katsuki, for the benefit of the safely controlling a mobile object so as to prevent from disturbing the traffic flow [0088].
9. Hara US-20200307635-A1 discloses
The vehicle control method according to claim 8, **** perform a manual operation for avoiding an obstacle, ****.
(Hara [0058] The periphery recognizer 132 recognizes a stop line, an obstacle, a red light, a tollbooth, and other road events.)
(Hara [0063] The event of automated driving is a mode of behavior which is taken by the host vehicle M under the above-described automated driving, that is, information in which a traveling mode is specified.)
(Hara [0064-0067] … events includes, for example, a parking event of causing the host vehicle M to travel autonomously and be parked in a parking space as in valet parking rather than a user of the host vehicle M parks the host vehicle M in the parking space by himself (or herself),… events may include, for example, …, an avoidance event of causing the host vehicle M to perform at least one of braking and steering in order to avoid an obstacle which is present in front of the host vehicle M, an overtaking event of terminating automated driving and switching the automated driving to manual driving,… behavior plan generator 140 may change an event already determined with respect to the current section or the next section to another event in accordance with a peripheral situation recognized by the recognizer 130 during traveling of the host vehicle M, or may determine a new event with respect to the current section or the next section.)
Katsuki US-20220057795-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for drive control of an autonomous vehicle wherein “…wherein the third screen includes at least one of a phrase prompting the occupant to perform a manual operation for avoiding an obstacle [0056-0057], and a schematic diagram for prompting the occupant to perform a manual operation for avoiding an obstacle [0091]”;
(Katsuki [0056-0057] The determination unit 23 determines a difference between the behavior of the mobile object 10 controlled to be automatically driven using the autonomous driving control information and the behavior of the mobile object 10 when switching to the manual driving is made. The determination unit 23 determines the difference based on at least one of the driving action of the mobile object 10, the path followed by the mobile object 10, and the trajectory of the mobile object 10… The output control unit 24 controls output of output information output to the output unit 10A. The output information includes, for example, an obstacle, a travelable range, the traffic signs, the road markings, and the driving action (for example, the stopping). If the determination unit 23 has determined that the difference is present, the output control unit 24 outputs the output information including, for example, a message prompting a driver of the mobile object 10 to select the autonomous driving or the manual driving and a message recommending the switching to the manual driving to the output unit 10A.)
(Katsuki [0091] Presenting the trajectory of the autonomous driving and the trajectory of the manual driving to the occupant can facilitate the occupant to determine the switching to the manual driving. The output control unit 24 also displays the message 202 that recommends, for example, to manually drive on a manual driving path (green path) instead of driving on an autonomous driving path (red path). Alternatively, for example, the output control unit 24 may output the output information for outputting alternatives for selection of whether to continue the manual driving or to switch to the autonomous driving, and receiving a selection from the occupant.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include wherein the third screen includes at least one of a phrase prompting the occupant to perform a manual operation for avoiding an obstacle, and a schematic diagram for prompting the occupant to perform a manual operation for avoiding an obstacle with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Katsuki, for the benefit of the safely controlling a mobile object so as to prevent from disturbing the traffic flow [0088].
11. the limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
13. the limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 3 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
18. the limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 8 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
19. the limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 9 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara US-20200307635-A1 and Katsuki US-20220057795-A1, as applied to claim 1 and 11 above and further in view of Perumalla US-20230406363-A1.
2. Hara US-20200307635-A1 discloses
The vehicle control method according to claim 1, wherein the first screen [0048] includes **** indicating **** the teacher route by autonomous driving and a schematic diagram (i.e. map, coordinates) indicating **** the teacher route by autonomous driving.
(Hara [0048] The HMI 30 presents various types of information to a user of the host vehicle M, and accepts the user's input operation. The HMI 30 includes various display devices, a speaker, a buzzer, a touch panel, a switch, a key, and the like.)
(Hara [0085] The controller 420 guides a vehicle to the parking space PS on the basis of information acquired by the communicator 410 and information stored in the storage 430. The parking lot map information 432 is information geometrically indicating the structure of the parking area PA. The parking lot map information 432 includes coordinates for each parking space PS. The parking space state table 434 is, for example, a table in which a state indicating an empty state or a full (parked) state with respect to a parking space ID which is identification information of the parking space PS and a vehicle ID which is identification information of a parked vehicle in the case of a full state are associated with each other.)
(Hara [0050] The route determiner 53 determines, for example, a route (hereinafter, a route on a map) from the position (or any input position) of the host vehicle M specified by the GNSS receiver 51 to a destination input by a user using the navigation HMI 52 with reference to the first map information 54. The first map information 54 is, for example, information in which a road shape is represented by a link indicating a road and nodes connected by the link. The first map information 54 may include the curvature of a road, point of interest (POI) information, or the like. The route on a map is output to the MPU 60. The navigation device 50 may perform route guidance using the navigation HMI 52 on the basis of the route on a map. The navigation device 50 may be realized by the function of a terminal device such as, for example, a smartphone or a tablet terminal possessed by a user. The navigation device 50 may transmit its current position and destination to a navigation server through the communication device 20, and acquire the same route as the route on a map from the navigation server.)
Perumalla US-20230406363-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for systems of an autonomous vehicle wherein a prompt for actuating autonomous control “…includes at least one of a phrase indicating return to … autonomous driving”;
(Perumalla [0043] VS program 110A, 110B may prompt the user to return the autonomous vehicle to an automated drive mode in response to the user's autonomous driving preferences and the current driving context having a threshold level of match. Upon returning the autonomous vehicle to an automated drive mode, the VS program 110A, 110B may cease display any virtual steering wheels.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include at least one of a phrase indicating return to autonomous driving with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Perumalla, for the benefit of prompting a user to interact with autonomous features and controls, increasing user intractability and awareness.
12. the limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 2 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara US-20200307635-A1 and Katsuki US-20220057795-A1, as applied to claim 1 and 11 above and further in view of Perumalla US-20230406363-A1 and Kim US-20230232107-A1.
4. Hara US-20200307635-A1 discloses
The vehicle control method according to claim 1, wherein the display device outputs **** the teacher route during at least a part of the time while the vehicle is performing the second autonomous driving to the halfway point (i.e. predetermined distances between target trajectories establishing a route between a starting position and a destination).
(Hara [0048] The HMI 30 presents various types of information to a user of the host vehicle M, and accepts the user's input operation. The HMI 30 includes various display devices, a speaker, a buzzer, a touch panel, a switch, a key, and the like.)
(Hara [0068] behavior plan generator 140 determines a plurality of points (trajectory points) at which the host vehicle M will arrive in order as position elements of a target trajectory. The trajectory points are points at which the host vehicle M will arrive after predetermined traveling distances (for example, approximately every several [m]). The predetermined traveling distances may be calculated by, for example, a distance along a road when advancing along a route.)
(Hara [0050] The route determiner 53 determines, for example, a route (hereinafter, a route on a map) from the position (or any input position) of the host vehicle M specified by the GNSS receiver 51 to a destination input by a user using the navigation HMI 52 with reference to the first map information 54. The first map information 54 is, for example, information in which a road shape is represented by a link indicating a road and nodes connected by the link. The first map information 54 may include the curvature of a road, point of interest (POI) information, or the like. The route on a map is output to the MPU 60. The navigation device 50 may perform route guidance using the navigation HMI 52 on the basis of the route on a map. The navigation device 50 may be realized by the function of a terminal device such as, for example, a smartphone or a tablet terminal possessed by a user. The navigation device 50 may transmit its current position and destination to a navigation server through the communication device 20, and acquire the same route as the route on a map from the navigation server.)
Perumalla US-20230406363-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for systems of an autonomous vehicle wherein a prompt for actuating autonomous control “…includes at least one of a phrase indicating return to … autonomous driving”;
(Perumalla [0043] VS program 110A, 110B may prompt the user to return the autonomous vehicle to an automated drive mode in response to the user's autonomous driving preferences and the current driving context having a threshold level of match. Upon returning the autonomous vehicle to an automated drive mode, the VS program 110A, 110B may cease display any virtual steering wheels.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include at least one of a phrase indicating return to autonomous driving with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Perumalla, for the benefit of prompting a user to interact with autonomous features and controls, increasing user intractability and awareness.
Kim US-20230232107-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for vehicle communication infrastructure comprising “…a second screen representing that the vehicle is in autonomous driving …;
(Kim [0144] The display 212 may display a current travelling mode, that is, an autonomous driving mode or a manual driving mode.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include a second screen representing that the vehicle is in autonomous driving with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Kim, for the benefit of informing a user of autonomous features and controls, increasing user intractability and awareness.
5. Hara US-20200307635-A1 discloses
The vehicle control method according to claim 4, wherein the **** screen includes **** the teacher route and a schematic diagram indicating that the vehicle is in autonomous driving to **** to the teacher route.
(Hara [0048] The HMI 30 presents various types of information to a user of the host vehicle M, and accepts the user's input operation. The HMI 30 includes various display devices, a speaker, a buzzer, a touch panel, a switch, a key, and the like.)
(Hara [0050] The route determiner 53 determines, for example, a route (hereinafter, a route on a map) from the position (or any input position) of the host vehicle M specified by the GNSS receiver 51 to a destination input by a user using the navigation HMI 52 with reference to the first map information 54. The first map information 54 is, for example, information in which a road shape is represented by a link indicating a road and nodes connected by the link. The first map information 54 may include the curvature of a road, point of interest (POI) information, or the like. The route on a map is output to the MPU 60. The navigation device 50 may perform route guidance using the navigation HMI 52 on the basis of the route on a map. The navigation device 50 may be realized by the function of a terminal device such as, for example, a smartphone or a tablet terminal possessed by a user. The navigation device 50 may transmit its current position and destination to a navigation server through the communication device 20, and acquire the same route as the route on a map from the navigation server.)
Perumalla US-20230406363-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for systems of an autonomous vehicle wherein a prompt for actuating autonomous control “…includes at least one of a phrase indicating return to … autonomous driving”;
(Perumalla [0043] VS program 110A, 110B may prompt the user to return the autonomous vehicle to an automated drive mode in response to the user's autonomous driving preferences and the current driving context having a threshold level of match. Upon returning the autonomous vehicle to an automated drive mode, the VS program 110A, 110B may cease display any virtual steering wheels.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include at least one of a phrase indicating return to autonomous driving with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Perumalla, for the benefit of prompting a user to interact with autonomous features and controls, increasing user intractability and awareness.
Kim US-20230232107-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for vehicle communication infrastructure comprising “…a second screen representing that the vehicle is in autonomous driving …;
(Kim [0144] The display 212 may display a current travelling mode, that is, an autonomous driving mode or a manual driving mode.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include a second screen representing that the vehicle is in autonomous driving with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Kim, for the benefit of informing a user of autonomous features and controls, increasing user intractability and awareness.
14. the limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 4 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
15. the limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 5 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara US-20200307635-A1, Katsuki US-20220057795-A1, Perumalla US-20230406363-A1 and Kim US-20230232107-A1 as applied to claim 4 and 14 above and further in view of Minoura US-20240132094-A1.
6. Hara US-20200307635-A1 discloses
The vehicle control method according to claim 4, wherein the **** includes **** the teacher ****.
(Hara [0048] The HMI 30 presents various types of information to a user of the host vehicle M, and accepts the user's input operation. The HMI 30 includes various display devices, a speaker, a buzzer, a touch panel, a switch, a key, and the like.)
(Hara [0050] The route determiner 53 determines, for example, a route (hereinafter, a route on a map) from the position (or any input position) of the host vehicle M specified by the GNSS receiver 51 to a destination input by a user using the navigation HMI 52 with reference to the first map information 54. The first map information 54 is, for example, information in which a road shape is represented by a link indicating a road and nodes connected by the link. The first map information 54 may include the curvature of a road, point of interest (POI) information, or the like. The route on a map is output to the MPU 60. The navigation device 50 may perform route guidance using the navigation HMI 52 on the basis of the route on a map. The navigation device 50 may be realized by the function of a terminal device such as, for example, a smartphone or a tablet terminal possessed by a user. The navigation device 50 may transmit its current position and destination to a navigation server through the communication device 20, and acquire the same route as the route on a map from the navigation server.)
Minoura US-20240132094-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for drive control of an autonomous vehicle wherein a second “…wherein the second screen includes a first image representing the teacher route and a second image representing a position of the vehicle at that time.”;
(Minoura [0040] FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of a map and a traveling route displayed on the display 105 when any one of the routes 1 to 3 illustrated in FIG. 3 is selected by a driver (or a passenger) of the vehicle 10. In FIG. 4 , P0 represents the present position of the vehicles 10. P5 represents a destination of the vehicle 10. Also. In FIG. 4 , a P4 from P1 represents a point in the middle of the traveling route of the vehicles 10. In FIG. 4 , the traveling route of the vehicle 10 is represented by a solid line, a dashed-dotted line, and a broken line.)
Minoura: FIG.4
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include a first image representing the teacher route and a second image representing a position of the vehicle at that time with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Minoura, for the benefit of displaying positional information to a user, increasing user intractability and awareness.
16. the limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 6 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara US-20200307635-A1, Katsuki US-20220057795-A1, Perumalla US-20230406363-A1, Kim US-20230232107-A1, Minoura US-20240132094-A1, as applied to claim 6 and 16 above and further in view of Nemec US-8688306-B1.
7. Hara US-20200307635-A1 discloses
The vehicle control method according to claim 6, wherein in the temporary manual driving mode, after the vehicle is moved by the manual operation, when the obstacle is not detected in front of the vehicle in the moving direction based on an external situation acquired by the sensor, ****, and the second autonomous driving is performed ****.
(Hara [0045] object recognition device 16 recognizes the position, type, speed, or the like of an object by performing a sensor fusion process on the results of detection performed by some or all of the camera 10, the radar device 12, and the viewfinder 14. The object recognition device 16 outputs recognition result to the automated driving controller 100. The object recognition device 16 may output the detection results of the camera 10, the radar device 12, and the viewfinder 14, as they are, to the automated driving controller 100.)
(Hara [0053] driving operator 80 includes, for example, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, a shift lever, a steering wheel, a variant steering wheel, a joystick, and other operators. A sensor that detects the amount of operation or the presence or absence of operation is installed on the driving operator 80, and the detection results are output to the automated driving controller 100, or some or all of the traveling driving force output device 200, the brake device 210, and the steering device 220.)
(Hara [0063] The event of automated driving is a mode of behavior which is taken by the host vehicle M under the above-described automated driving, that is, information in which a traveling mode is specified.)
(Hara [0064-0067] … events includes, for example, a parking event of causing the host vehicle M to travel autonomously and be parked in a parking space as in valet parking rather than a user of the host vehicle M parks the host vehicle M in the parking space by himself (or herself),… events may include, for example, …, an avoidance event of causing the host vehicle M to perform at least one of braking and steering in order to avoid an obstacle which is present in front of the host vehicle M, an overtaking event of terminating automated driving and switching the automated driving to manual driving,… behavior plan generator 140 may change an event already determined with respect to the current section or the next section to another event in accordance with a peripheral situation recognized by the recognizer 130 during traveling of the host vehicle M, or may determine a new event with respect to the current section or the next section.)
Nemec US-8688306-B1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for system and methods for vehicles wherein “…a return route is generated, and …autonomous driving is performed based on the return route, and the second screen further includes a third image representing the return route”;
(Nemec [c.6 l.5] If the user or the autonomous computer returns the vehicle to the route, the vehicle may continue to follow and/or display the generated, predetermined, or selected route. If the user continues to attempt to or actually deviate from the route, the autonomous computer may again respond by taking control of the vehicle autonomously (if it has not already done so), warning the user, and/or recording a log of the user's actions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include a return route is generated, and autonomous driving is performed based on the return route, and an image representing the return route with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Nemec, for the benefit of returning a vehicle to a predetermined route.
17. the limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 7 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara US-20200307635-A1 and Katsuki US-20220057795-A1, as applied to claim 1 and 11 above and further in view of Matsuda US-20190351900-A1.
10. Hara US-20200307635-A1 discloses
The vehicle control method according to claim 1, wherein in the autonomous driving mode, when an obstacle is detected in front of the vehicle in the moving direction based on an external situation acquired by the sensor during movement from the predetermined position toward the parking target position along the teacher route by first autonomous driving controlling at least the steering, switching to a temporary manual driving mode different from the manual driving mode is performed, and while the operation device receives the manual operation by the occupant, ****.
It should be noted the limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
(Hara [0045] object recognition device 16 recognizes the position, type, speed, or the like of an object by performing a sensor fusion process on the results of detection performed by some or all of the camera 10, the radar device 12, and the viewfinder 14. The object recognition device 16 outputs recognition result to the automated driving controller 100. The object recognition device 16 may output the detection results of the camera 10, the radar device 12, and the viewfinder 14, as they are, to the automated driving controller 100.)
(Hara [0053] driving operator 80 includes, for example, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, a shift lever, a steering wheel, a variant steering wheel, a joystick, and other operators. A sensor that detects the amount of operation or the presence or absence of operation is installed on the driving operator 80, and the detection results are output to the automated driving controller 100, or some or all of the traveling driving force output device 200, the brake device 210, and the steering device 220.)
(Hara [0063] The event of automated driving is a mode of behavior which is taken by the host vehicle M under the above-described automated driving, that is, information in which a traveling mode is specified.)
(Hara [0064-0067] … events includes, for example, a parking event of causing the host vehicle M to travel autonomously and be parked in a parking space as in valet parking rather than a user of the host vehicle M parks the host vehicle M in the parking space by himself (or herself),… events may include, for example, …, an avoidance event of causing the host vehicle M to perform at least one of braking and steering in order to avoid an obstacle which is present in front of the host vehicle M, an overtaking event of terminating automated driving and switching the automated driving to manual driving,… behavior plan generator 140 may change an event already determined with respect to the current section or the next section to another event in accordance with a peripheral situation recognized by the recognizer 130 during traveling of the host vehicle M, or may determine a new event with respect to the current section or the next section.)
(Hara [0070, 0082-0083] behavior plan generator 140 includes, for example, an autonomous parking controller 142 to be started up in a case where the autonomous parking event is executed… A start trigger of the autonomous parking event may be, for example, some kind of operation performed by a user, or may be wireless reception of a predetermined signal from the parking lot management device 400. The details of the start trigger of the autonomous parking event will be described later.)
Hara: FIG.1
Matsuda US-20190351900-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for driving assistance methods comprising “…a fourth screen prompting the occupant to perform an operation indicating avoidance completion when avoidance of the obstacle is completed”;
(Matsuda [0075] When the driving assistance apparatus 1 reaches the safety confirmation position (S19: YES), the vehicle control ECU 24 causes the vehicle 2 to stop, causes the in-vehicle display device 23 to display text prompting the driver to confirm the safety of the surroundings at the vehicle stop position, and arranges a button indicating that safety confirmation has been completed (see a button GP42 in FIG. 9) on the screen.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Hara to include prompting the occupant to perform an operation indicating avoidance completion when avoidance of the obstacle is completed with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Matsuda, for the benefit of confirming operational safety for a user of a vehicle.
20. the limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 10 and are therefore rejected under the same premise.
Conclusion
It should be noted that there exists prior art which is pertinent to significant though unclaimed features of the defined invention or directed to the state of art. The following is a brief description of relevant prior art cited but not applied:
YAMASHITA (US-20170259850-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… [0064] Following the guidance completion notice, the output information determination unit 42 displays a completion confirmation notice for confirming whether the parking assistance may be really completed by the present stop of the subject vehicle 68, that is, the appropriateness of the completion with the user on the screen 12a (S222). In this case, the output information determination unit 42 outputs a signal to the display control unit 14d so as to display the screen 12a as illustrated in FIG. 14, for example. In this case, the first display area 80 displays a message indicating the control state of the subject vehicle 68 such as “Guidance will be completed,” whereas the second display area 82 displays a message that confirms a subsequent operation intention with the user saying “Do you need reguidance?” “Do you need reguidance?” displayed on the second display area 82 may be hidden after a lapse of a certain time such as 5 seconds. The display on the screen 12a is thus limited to “Guidance will be completed” on the first display area 80 alone, whereby the user is caused to easily recognize that the parking assistance will be completed clearly. Along with the hiding of “Do you need reguidance?” on the second display area 82, the display on the first display area 80 may be changed to “Guidance has been completed.” In this case, the user is caused to easily recognize the completion of the parking assistance more clearly. When the processing at S218 has been passed, the display of the completion confirmation notice at S222 may be omitted. In other words, when the user has intentionally completed the parking assistance, the parking assistance processing may be completed without confirmation. In this case, the display at the time of the completion is simplified, and further, the user is easily given an impression that the processing has been quickly completed.”;
PARK (US-20160179092-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… [0085] In the apparatus for switching between the vehicle driving modes and the method of switching between the vehicle driving modes according to embodiments of the present invention, when the object(s) recognized by the advanced driving assist system (ADAS) is in the direction of the driver's gaze as detected by the driver state monitoring (DSM) system, the automatic driving mode is switched to the manual driving mode, thereby enabling the driver to safely switch to driving in the manual driving mode.”;
See PTO-892: Notice of references cited.
Contact
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30.
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663