DETAILED ACTION
Misc.
Examiner notes a typographical error in the IFW-Index of Claims has been corrected. Claims 18-20 were accidentally identified as rejected instead of non-elected in the column dated 5/27/26 and have been updated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 30, 2026 (hereinafter "Remarks”) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
In the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner notes Choi has been interpreted differently such that different elements read on the claim limitations. Specifically, the interpretation of the first/second sensor insulating layers have been reversed.
Applicant's remaining arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (USPN 2022/0050542).
With respect to claim 1, Choi teaches a display device (Figs. 1A-12D) comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of pixels (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0082] and [0083] teach a display and pixels); and
an input sensor on the display panel (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item TU and paragraph [0067] teach a detection unit),
wherein the input sensor comprises:
a first sensor insulating layer on the display panel (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item TIL3 and paragraphs [0079]-[0081] teach a first sensor/detection insulating layer);
a sensor conductive layer on the first sensor insulating layer and comprising a plurality of conductive patterns (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, items TML1 or TML2 and paragraphs [0079]-[0081] teach a conductive layer pattern);
a second sensor insulating layer configured to cover each of the plurality of conductive patterns and comprising an organic material (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item TIL1 and paragraphs [0079]-[0081] teach a second sensor/detection insulating layer); and
a protective layer on the second sensor insulating layer and comprising an inorganic material (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item LIL and paragraphs [0073]-[0081] teach an inorganic sealing layer on the detection unit TU. Examiner notes a reasonably broad interpretation of the term “on” includes items indirectly located on the top or on the bottom of another item), wherein the sensor conductive layer is between the first sensor insulating layer and the protective layer (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, items TML1 or TML2 are located between items TIL3 and LIL).
With respect to claim 2, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, discussed above, wherein the input sensor further comprises an intermediate sensor insulating layer configured to cover at least a portion of the sensor conductive layer (Choi, Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item TIL2 and paragraphs [0079]-[0081] teach a second sensor/detection insulating layer).
With respect to claim 3, Choi teaches the display device of claim 2, discussed above, wherein the sensor conductive layer comprises:
a first sensor conductive layer on the first sensor insulating layer and comprising a plurality of first sensor conductive patterns (Choi, Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item TML1 and paragraphs [0079]-[0081] teach a first conductive layer on the TIL3 layer); and
a second sensor conductive layer on the intermediate sensor insulating layer and comprising a plurality of second sensor conductive patterns (Choi, Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item TML2 and paragraphs [0079]-[0081] teach a second conductive layer on the TIL2 layer).
With respect to claim 4, Choi teaches the display device of claim 3, discussed above, wherein the protective layer covers each of the plurality of second sensor conductive patterns (Choi, Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item LIL covers the bottom of the second sensor conductive patterns.
With respect to claim 5, Choi teaches the display device of claim 2, discussed above, wherein the intermediate sensor insulating layer comprises an inorganic material (Choi, Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item TIL2 and paragraph [0079]).
With respect to claim 6, Choi teaches the display device of claim 2, discussed above, wherein the intermediate sensor insulating layer comprises an organic material (Choi, Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item TIL2 and paragraph [0079]).
With respect to claim 12, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, discussed above, wherein the sensor conductive layer is provided as a single layer (Choi, Fig. 2B, item TML2 is a single sensor conductive layer), and the second sensor insulating layer is directly on the sensor conductive layer (Choi, Fig. 2B, item TIL3 is directly on TML2).
With respect to claim 13, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, discussed above, wherein the display panel comprises:
a display area in which the plurality of pixels are located (Choi, Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0082]-[0090]); and
a peripheral area adjacent to the display area, wherein the peripheral area comprises a pad area in which a plurality of pads are located, wherein the second sensor insulating layer comprises a pad opening portion overlapping the pad area (Choi, Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 3, items D-PD and paragraphs [0082]-[0090]).
With respect to claim 15, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, discussed above, wherein the display panel comprises:
a pixel defining film in which an emission opening portion is defined (Choi, Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 4B, item PDL and paragraph [0121]);
a light emitting element comprising at least an emission layer in the emission opening portion (Choi, Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 4B, item PDL and paragraph [0121]); and
an encapsulation layer on the light emitting element and the pixel defining film, wherein the first sensor insulating layer is directly on the encapsulation layer (Choi, Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item UIL and paragraphs [0073]-[0081] teach a sealing layer seals/encapsulates the display element layer and the first sensor insulating layer TIL1 is directly on top of UIL).
*Examiner notes the rejections below are organized by 1) number of references followed by 2) numerical order.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (USPN 2022/0050542) in view of Seo et al. (USPN 2021/0405819).
With respect to claim 7, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, discussed above.
However, Choi fails to expressly teach, wherein the display panel comprises a first non-folding area, a folding area, and a second non-folding area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction.
Seo teaches a known technique wherein the display panel comprises a first non-folding area, a folding area, and a second non-folding area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction (Seo, Figs. 1-2B and paragraph [0073]).
Choi teaches a base process/product of a display device which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that the display panel comprises a first non-folding area, a folding area, and a second non-folding area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction. Seo teaches a known technique wherein the display panel comprises a first non-folding area, a folding area, and a second non-folding area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction that is comparable to the base process/product.
Seo’s known technique wherein the display panel comprises a first non-folding area, a folding area, and a second non-folding area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base process/product of Choi and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the display panel comprising a first non-folding area, a folding area, and a second non-folding area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction which results in an improved process/product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 14, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, discussed above. However, Choi fails to expressly teach wherein the display panel comprises a first non-bending area, a bending area, and a second non-bending area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction, wherein the second sensor insulating layer comprises a bending opening portion overlapping the bending area.
Seo teaches a known technique wherein the display panel comprises a first non-bending area, a bending area, and a second non-bending area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction, wherein the second sensor insulating layer comprises a bending opening portion overlapping the bending area (Seo, Figs. 1-2B, 8, 17 and 18 and paragraphs [0073] and [0122], [0123], [0154] and [0171]-[0178]).
Choi teaches a base process/product of a display device which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that the display panel comprises a first non-bending area, a bending area, and a second non-bending area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction, wherein the second sensor insulating layer comprises a bending opening portion overlapping the bending area. Seo teaches a known technique wherein the display panel comprises a first non-bending area, a bending area, and a second non-bending area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction, wherein the second sensor insulating layer comprises a bending opening portion overlapping the bending area that is comparable to the base process/product.
Seo’s known technique wherein the display panel comprises a first non-bending area, a bending area, and a second non-bending area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction, wherein the second sensor insulating layer comprises a bending opening portion overlapping the bending area would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base process/product of Choi and the results would have been predictable and resulted in wherein the display panel comprises a first non-bending area, a bending area, and a second non-bending area, which are arranged in sequence in one direction, wherein the second sensor insulating layer comprises a bending opening portion overlapping the bending area which results in an improved process/product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (USPN 2022/0050542) in view of Lim et al. (USPN 2017/0242549).
With respect to claim 8, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, discussed above. However, Choi fails to expressly teach wherein the second sensor insulating layer comprises a melamine resin.
Lim teaches a known technique using melamine resin as an insulating material (paragraph [0059]).
Choi teaches a base process/product of a display device including a second sensor insulating layer which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that the second sensor insulating layer comprises a melamine resin. Lim teaches a known technique of using melamine resin as an insulating material that is comparable to the base process/product.
Lim’s known technique of using melamine resin as an insulating material would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base process/product of Choi and the results would have been predictable and resulted in wherein the second sensor insulating layer comprises a melamine resin which results in an improved process/product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 16, Choi teaches an electronic device (Figs. 1A-12D) comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of pixels (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0082] and [0083] teach a display and pixels);
an input sensor on the display panel (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item TU and paragraph [0067] teach a detection unit); and
a housing accommodates the display panel and the input sensor (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 1B, item EDC and paragraph [0061] teach a case/housing),
wherein the input sensor comprises:
a first sensor insulating layer on the display panel (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item TIL1 and paragraphs [0079]-[0081] teach a first sensor/detection insulating layer);
a sensor conductive layer on the first sensor insulating layer and comprising a plurality of conductive patterns (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, items TML1 or TML2 and paragraphs [0079]-[0081] teach a conductive layer pattern);
a second sensor insulating layer directly on the plurality of conductive patterns (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item TIL3 and paragraphs [0079]-[0081] teach a second sensor/detection insulating layer); and
a protective layer on the second sensor insulating layer (Figs. 1A-12D. At least Fig. 2B, item LIL and paragraphs [0073]-[0081] teach an inorganic sealing layer on the detection unit TU. Examiner notes a reasonably broad interpretation of the term “on” includes items indirectly located on the top or on the bottom of another item).
However, Choi fails to expressly teach a second sensor insulating layer directly on the plurality of conductive patterns and comprising a low-temperature curable organic material (emphasis added).
Lim teaches a known technique using melamine resin as an insulating material (paragraph [0059]).
Choi teaches a base process/product of a display device including a second sensor insulating layer which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that the second sensor insulating layer comprises a low-temperature curable organic material. Lim teaches a known technique of using melamine resin as an insulating material that is comparable to the base process/product.
Lim’s known technique of using melamine resin as an insulating material would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base process/product of Choi and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the second sensor insulating layer comprising a low-temperature curable organic material which results in an improved process/product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (USPN 2022/0050542) in view of Bok et al. (USPN 2023/0084437).
With respect to claim 10, Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, discussed above. However, Choi fails to expressly teach further comprising an anti-reflective layer on the input sensor and comprising a plurality of color filters and a planarization layer configured to cover the plurality of color filters.
Bok teaches a known technique using a display including an anti-reflective layer on an input sensor including a plurality of color filters and a planarization layer covering the plurality of color filters (Figs. 1-20. At least Fig. 4, items 300, 320 and 330 and paragraphs [0147]-[0151]).
Choi teaches a base process/product of a display including an input sensor which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that the display further comprises an anti-reflective layer on the input sensor and comprising a plurality of color filters and a planarization layer configured to cover the plurality of color filters. Bok teaches a known technique of using a display including an anti-reflective layer on an input sensor including a plurality of color filters and a planarization layer covering the plurality of color filters that is comparable to the base process/product.
Bok’s known technique of using a display including an anti-reflective layer on an input sensor including a plurality of color filters and a planarization layer covering the plurality of color filters would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base process/product of Choi and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the display further comprising an anti-reflective layer on the input sensor and comprising a plurality of color filters and a planarization layer configured to cover the plurality of color filters which results in an improved process/product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 11, Choi in view of Bok teaches the display device of claim 10, discussed above, wherein the planarization layer comprises a same material as the second sensor insulating layer (Choi, paragraph [0079]; and Bok, paragraph [0149] teach both layers may include organic material).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record teaches a display including an input sensor with various insulating and conductive layers (see at least Choi et al. USPN 2022/0050542).
However, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest Applicant’s specifically claimed
“display device of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the second sensor insulating layer is in a range of 2.5 times to 4.5 times a thickness of the sensor conductive layer” (claim 9); and
“electronic device of claim 16, wherein a thickness of the second sensor insulating layer is in a range of 2.5 times to 4.5 times a thickness of the sensor conductive layer” (claim 17).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Antonio Xavier/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622