DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are pending. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 10 recite multiple instances of “lactobacillus” and should properly read “Lactobacillus”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etchells (US 3932674) in view of Liao (CN 108048342 A, reference is made to the provided machine translation).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4, and 8, Etchells teaches a method for a lactic acid fermented food (Column 2, Line 53). The method comprises mixing cucumbers (Column 2, Line 62) with brine (which is a salt solution, Column 3, Line 68), subsequently mixing the vegetables with an acid (such as acetic acid, Column 4, Line 43) to a pH of 2.7-3.2 (Column 4, Line 34), and fermenting with a Lactobacillus culture such as Lactobacillus plantarum (Column 3, Line 16).
Etchells teaches the addition of 6 pounds of salt per 100 pounds of cucumbers, which is 6% by mass of the “food raw materials” (Column 8, Line 25).
Etchells teaches the addition of salt in two steps (Column 8, Lines 28-30), with an intermediate acidification step (Column 8, Line 5) and therefore does not specifically teach that the food raw materials are mixed with salt at 6% and then subsequently mixed with acid.
However, selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV C.
Etchells teaches that acetic acid is added at a rate of 6 mL per gallon of cucumbers and brine (Column 8, Line 23-24). Etchells teaches that the cucumbers alone have an approximate density of 50 lbs/bushel, which is 5.3 lbs/gallon (Column 7, Line 57). Etchells therefore teaches that a gallon of cucumbers and brine contains approximately 5.3 lbs (or 2404 grams) of cucumbers. Note that acetic acid has an approximate density of 1.05 g/mL. Additionally, note that adding water (or brine) to cucumbers does not change the density of cucumbers. Therefore, Etchells teaches the addition of 6.3 grams acetic acid to 2404 grams of cucumbers, which is 0.2% of acid, which touches the claimed range.
Etchells teaches that a viable culture is added after salt and acid (Column 5, Lines 16-17), which meets the limitation of inoculation into the “second mixture” (Column 5, Lines 33-34).
Etchells teaches that the initial inoculation strength is 1-10 billion cells per gallon (Column 5, Line 38), which 5.42-6.42 log CFU/mL, which lies within the claimed range. Etchells does not discuss the concentration of Lactobacillus after fermentation. However, given that the prior art is similar to the claimed product, with a similar intended use, composition, and processing, there is an expectation that the product of the prior art have the property of Lactobacillus concentration as claimed.
Etchells teaches sanitizing of the vegetables prior to fermentation to prevent growth of undesired microorganisms (Column 4, Lines 26-29), but does not teach a high pressure treatment of an inoculated mixture prior to fermentation or the specific strain used to inoculate the food.
Liao teaches a probiotic comprising a Lactobacillus plantarum strain (GMC No. 14398) or a Lactobacillus curvatus strain (GMC No. 14397) intended for fermenting food (Abstract). Liao teaches that the strain is added to food to obtain a fermented food (Abstract). The food is inoculated with the probiotic and subsequently subjected to high pressure sterilization (Page 3, Paragraph 5) at 250-600 MPA (Page 2, Step 3)
Liao does not specifically teach a length of pressurization for the inoculated food. However, Liao teaches that teaches that the step of screening for a high-pressure strain is performed for 1-60 minutes (Page 2, Step 3) at 50-600 MPa, and such process conditions are sufficient to reduce survival of non-pressure acclimated organisms to .001-.01%. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the process conditions taught by Liao for the screening for the step of pressure-sterilizing the inoculated food. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Liao teaches that these conditions are effective at reducing organism populations.
Liao teaches that the method produces a high-quality fermented food that is safe and nutritious (Page 3, Paragraph 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Etchells to include the probiotic strains of Liao and the method steps of inoculation and subsequent pressure sterilization as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to create a high quality fermented food that is safe and nutritious.
Regarding Claim 9, Etchells teaches fermentation for 7-12 days (Column 2, Line 66), which overlaps and renders obvious the claimed range. Etchells teaches that the fermentation is in a covered tank (Column 7, Example 1), which is interpreted to meet the limitation of a fermentation performed in a closed container and protected from light.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etchells in view of Liao as applied to Claim 1, above, and further in view of Virginia Cooperative Extension (https://www.pubs.ext.vt.edu/content/dam/pubs_ext_vt_edu/FST/fst-328/FST-328.pdf, hereinafter Virginia)
Regarding Claim 3, Etchells teaches fermented vegetables as claimed but does not discuss crushing vegetables prior to fermentation.
Virginia teaches that crushing vegetables prior to vegetable fermentation releases the juices more quickly (Page 7, “Pounding Tools”) than allowing the juices to be released from the vegetables naturally after brining.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to crush vegetables prior to fermentation. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to release juices quickly and proceed with the fermentation process.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etchells in view of Liao and Liu (“A systematic review on fermented chili pepper products: Sensorial quality, health benefits, fermentation microbiomes, and metabolic pathways”, DOI: 10.1016/j.tifs.2023.104189, November 2023).
Regarding Claim 10, Etchells teaches a method for a lactic acid fermented food (Column 2, Line 53). The method comprises mixing cucumbers (Column 2, Line 62) with brine (which is a salt solution, Column 3, Line 68), subsequently mixing the vegetables with an acid (such as acetic acid, Column 4, Line 43) to a pH of 2.7-3.2 (Column 4, Line 34), and fermenting with a Lactobacillus culture such as Lactobacillus plantarum (Column 3, Line 16).
Etchells teaches the addition of 6 pounds of salt per 100 pounds of cucumbers, which is 6% by mass of the “food raw materials” (Column 8, Line 25).
Etchells teaches the addition of salt in two steps (Column 8, Lines 28-30), with an intermediate acidification step (Column 8, Line 5) and therefore does not specifically teach that the food raw materials are mixed with salt at 6% and then subsequently mixed with acid.
However, selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV C.
Etchells teaches that acetic acid is added at a rate of 6 mL per gallon of cucumbers and brine (Column 8, Line 23-24). Etchells teaches that the cucumbers alone have an approximate density of 50 lbs/bushel, which is 5.3 lbs/gallon (Column 7, Line 57). Etchells therefore teaches that a gallon of cucumbers and brine contains approximately 5.3 lbs (or 2404 grams) of cucumbers. Note that acetic acid has an approximate density of 1.05 g/mL. Additionally, note that adding water (or brine) to cucumbers does not change the density of cucumbers. Therefore, Etchells teaches the addition of 6.3 grams acetic acid to 2404 grams of cucumbers, which is 0.2% of acid.
Note that the disclosed composition is so close in value to the claimed composition that there is an expectation is will provide an identical product. No material difference is expected between a composition comprising 0.2% of acid, as taught by Etchells, and 0.25% as claimed. The Applicant’s claimed range is thus obvious over the prior art range. Note that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Etchells teaches that a viable culture is added after salt and acid (Column 5, Lines 16-17), which meets the limitation of inoculation into the “second mixture” (Column 5, Lines 33-34).
Etchells teaches that the initial inoculation strength is 1-10 billion cells per gallon (Column 5, Line 38), which 5.42-6.42 log CFU/mL, which lies within the claimed range. Etchells does not discuss the concentration of Lactobacillus after fermentation. However, given that the prior art is similar to the claimed product, with a similar intended use, composition, and processing, there is an expectation that the product of the prior art have the property of Lactobacillus concentration as claimed.
Etchells additionally teaches the use of a weak organic acid to the vegetables (Column 4, Line 33) but does not specify the use of citric acid or the amount.
Etchells teaches sanitizing of the vegetables prior to fermentation to prevent growth of undesired microorganisms (Column 4, Lines 26-29), but does not teach a high pressure treatment of an inoculated mixture prior to fermentation or the specific strain used to inoculated the food.
Liao teaches a probiotic comprising a Lactobacillus plantarum strain (GMC No. 14398) or a Lactobacillus curvatus strain (GMC No. 14397) intended for fermenting food (Abstract). Liao teaches that the strain is added to food to obtain a fermented food (Abstract). The food is inoculated with the probiotic and subsequently subjected to high pressure sterilization (Page 3, Paragraph 5) at 250-600 MPA (Page 2, Step 3)
Liao does not specifically teach a length of pressurization for the inoculated food. However, Liao teaches that teaches that the step of screening for a high-pressure strain is performed for 1-60 minutes (Page 2, Step 3) at 50-600 MPa, and such process conditions are sufficient to reduce survival of non-pressure acclimated organisms to .001-.01%. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the process conditions taught by Liao for the screening for the step of pressure-sterilizing the inoculated food. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Liao teaches that these conditions are effective at reducing organism populations.
Liao teaches that the method produces a high-quality fermented food that is safe and nutritious (Page 3, Paragraph 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Etchells to include the probiotic strains of Liao and the method steps of inoculation and subsequent pressure sterilization as claimed. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to create a high quality fermented food that is safe and nutritious.
Modified Etchells teaches the fermentation of any appropriate vegetable (Etchells at Column 6, Lines 52-53), including a high pressure treatment, but does not discuss the fermentation of crushed chilis for a chili sauce.
Liu teaches that chilis fermented with, e.g. lactic acid bacteria (Abstract: Key findings and conclusions) have a distinct taste and desirable nutritional properties (Abstract: Background). Liu teaches that fermented chili products include chopped chilis made into pastes (Page 2, “Production of fermented chili pepper products”). Note that since crushing and chopping are similar processes which have the effect of a comminuted chili with released juices, the chili paste of Liu is interpreted to meet the limitation of a “chili sauce” (Line 1) made with “crushed chili” (Line 2). Liu additionally teaches that organic acids such as citric acid provides a desired “sour taste” to the chili composition (Section 4.1.2, “Sour taste”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the chilis and citric acid of Liu in the method of modified Etchells to produce of a chili sauce. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Etchells teaches the fermentation of any appropriate vegetable, and Liu teaches that chilis are an appropriate substrate for lactic acid fermentation, and additionally since Liu teaches that citric acid imparts a desired flavor to fermented foods. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use support a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 8-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/D.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791