DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on January 22, 2026 regarding Application No. 19/075,783. Applicants amended claims 1-4, 7, 11-15, 18, and 20. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). A certified copy of the KR 10-2024-0086046 application filed in Korea on July 1, 2024 has been filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendment to figure 5 and remark regarding objections to drawings (Remarks, p. 7) are acknowledged. In view of the corrected drawings, the objections are moot.
Applicants’ amendments to claims 1-2, 4, 7, 13, 15, and 18 and remark regarding objections to claims (Remarks, p. 7) are acknowledged. In view of the amendments, the objections are moot.
Applicants’ arguments filed on January 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
In response to the arguments regarding newly amended independent claims 1, 12, and 20, Kim, “wherein the compensation controller provides the luminance color compensator with a compensation area position signal which includes an information about positions of the compensation areas”, Lee and cure, claims 1, 12, and 20 and patentable, and claims 8-11 and 19 and allowable (Remarks, p. 9), the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that figures 3A-5 and paragraphs [0076]-[0077] and [0085]-[0087] of Kim teach: wherein the compensation controller 270 provides the luminance color compensator 240 with a compensation area position signal which includes an information corresponding to compensated image data luminance and color coordinates about positions corresponding to, for example, PA and PB, of the compensation areas in 100. Alternatively, citations above and paragraphs [0082]-[0083], [0089], and [0125] of Kim teach: wherein the compensation controller 250 and 255 provides the luminance color compensator 240 with a compensation area position signal which includes an information corresponding to color coordinates about positions, for example, PA and PB, of the compensation areas in 100. Because all features of newly amended independent claims 1, 12, and 20 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references, as discussed above and in the rejections, there is no deficiency, as argued, for which Lee is required to cure and the claims are not allowable. In addition, claims 8-11 and 19 are not allowable by virtue of their individual dependencies from newly amended independent claims 1 or 12, and as discussed in the rejections.
In response to the arguments regarding dependent claims 2-7 and 13-18, Han, cure, “wherein the compensation controller provides the luminance color compensator with a compensation area position signal which includes an information about positions of the compensation areas”, and patentable (Remarks, p. 10), without conceding the arguments, the Office respectfully disagrees and submits that all features of newly amended independent claims 1 and 12 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references, as discussed above and in the rejections. As such, there are no deficiencies, as argued, for which Han, is required to cure and newly amended independent claims 1 and 12 are not allowable. In addition, claims 2-7 and 13-18 are not allowable by virtue of their individual dependencies from newly amended independent claims 1 or 12, and as discussed in the rejections.
For the reasons discussed above and in the rejections, pending claims 1-20 are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in US 2021/0343258 A1 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Lee et al. in US 2015/0243199 A1 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches:
A display device (see FIG. 1), comprising (Kim: FIG. 1 and “[0046] Referring to FIG. 1, the display apparatus includes a display panel 100 and a display panel driver. The display panel driver includes a driving controller 200,… a gamma reference voltage generator 400… [and] a data driver 500….”):
a display panel (100 in FIG. 1) including a plurality of compensation areas (in 100 in FIG. 1), each of the compensation areas including at least one pixel (P in FIG. 3B) (Kim: FIGs. 1 and 3B, “[0048] The display panel 100 includes… a plurality of pixels (not shown) electrically connected to the gate lines GL, the data lines DL and the emission lines EL….”, and “[0072] The display layer 20 [in FIG. 3B] includes the pixels P….”, see also FIGs. 2 and 3C-D and “[0061]… FIG. 3C is a conceptual diagram illustrating a pixel structure of a first display area DA of FIG. 2. FIG. 3D is a conceptual diagram illustrating a pixel structure of a second display area DB of FIG. 2.”);
a driving controller (200 in FIGs. 1 and 5) including a compensation controller (270 in FIG. 5) and a luminance color compensator (240), performing a luminance and color compensation for each of the compensation areas, and generating a voltage code (corresponding to CONT3 in FIG. 1) and a data signal (DATA in FIG. 1) (Kim: see FIGs. 1 and 5, “[0053] The driving controller 200 generates the data signal DATA….”, “[0054] The driving controller 200 generates the third control signal CONT3 for controlling an operation of the gamma reference voltage generator 400….”, “[0081] The driving controller 200 may perform the gamma compensation of the display apparatus. The driving controller 200 may include a gamma setter 240….”, “[0083] The gamma setter 240 may compensate the gamma value of the first image data by adjusting luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data….”, “[0085] The driving controller 200 may further include the compensation verifier 270 determining that the luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data compensated by the gamma setter 240 are in a target luminance range and in a target color coordinate range and the luminance of the second image data and the color coordinates of the second image data compensated by the gamma setter 240 are in the target luminance range and in the target color coordinate range.”, “[0086] When the luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data compensated by the gamma setter 240 exceeds the target luminance range and the target color coordinate range, the gamma setter 240 may adjust the luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data until the luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data to be close to a target luminance and a target color coordinate.”, and “[0087] Similarly, when the luminance of the second image data and the color coordinates of the second image data compensated by the gamma setter 240 exceeds the target luminance range and the target color coordinate range, the gamma setter 240 may adjust the luminance of the second image data and the color coordinates of the second image data until the luminance of the second image data and the color coordinates of the second image data to be close to a target luminance and a target color coordinate.” Alternatively: compensation controller 250 and 255; see citations above, “[0082] The first coordinate calculator 250 may calculate color coordinates of the first image data of the first display area DA. The second coordinate calculator 255 may calculate color coordinates of the second image data of the second display area DB.”, “[0089] The driving controller 200 may further include an image receiver 210 receiving the first image data from the first imaging apparatus CAM1 and the second image data from the second imaging apparatus CAM2 and an image storage 220 storing the first image data and the second image data received from the image receiver 210 and transmitting the first image data to the first coordinate calculator 250 and the second image data to the second coordinate calculator 255.”, and “[0125]… [T]he display apparatus includes the first coordinate calculator 250, the second coordinate calculator 255, the gamma setter 240 and the compensation verifier 270 performing the gamma compensation (gamma correction) of the first image data for the first display area DA… and the second image data for the second display area DB….”);
a gamma reference voltage generator (400 in FIG. 1) receiving the voltage code and generating a gamma reference voltage (VGREF in FIG. 1) based on the voltage code (Kim: FIG. 1 and “[0057] The gamma reference voltage generator 400 generates a gamma reference voltage VGREF in response to the third control signal CONT3 received from the driving controller 200….”); and
a data driver (500 in FIG. 1) connected to the driving controller and the gamma reference voltage generator, and generating a data voltage based on the data signal and the gamma reference voltage (Kim: FIG. 1 and “[0059] The data driver 500 receives… the data signal DATA from the driving controller 200, and receives the gamma reference voltages VGREF from the gamma reference voltage generator 400. The data driver 500 converts the data signal DATA into data voltages having an analog type using the gamma reference voltages VGREF….”),
wherein the compensation controller provides the luminance color compensator with a compensation area position signal which includes an information (corresponding to compensated image data luminance and color coordinates) about positions (corresponding to, e.g., PA and PB in FIG. 4) of the compensation areas (Kim: see FIGs. 3A-5, “[0076] Referring to FIGS. 1 to 5, a first image displayed at a central portion PA of the first display area DA of the display panel 100 may be captured by a first imaging apparatus CAM1 for gamma compensation (gamma correction) of the display apparatus. The captured data by the first imaging apparatus CAM1 may be referred to first image data.”, “[0077] A second image displayed at a central portion PB of the second display area DB of the display panel 100 may be captured by a second imaging apparatus CAM2 for the gamma compensation of the display apparatus. The captured data by the second imaging apparatus CAM2 may be referred to second image data.”, “[0085] The driving controller 200 may further include the compensation verifier 270 determining that the luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data compensated by the gamma setter 240 are in a target luminance range and in a target color coordinate range and the luminance of the second image data and the color coordinates of the second image data compensated by the gamma setter 240 are in the target luminance range and in the target color coordinate range.”, “[0086] When the luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data compensated by the gamma setter 240 exceeds the target luminance range and the target color coordinate range, the gamma setter 240 may adjust the luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data until the luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data to be close to a target luminance and a target color coordinate.” , and “[0087] Similarly, when the luminance of the second image data and the color coordinates of the second image data compensated by the gamma setter 240 exceeds the target luminance range and the target color coordinate range, the gamma setter 240 may adjust the luminance of the second image data and the color coordinates of the second image data until the luminance of the second image data and the color coordinates of the second image data to be close to a target luminance and a target color coordinate.” Alternatively: compensation controller 250 and 255, color coordinates information, and, e.g., PA and PB positions; see citations above, “[0082] The first coordinate calculator 250 may calculate color coordinates of the first image data of the first display area DA. The second coordinate calculator 255 may calculate color coordinates of the second image data of the second display area DB.”, “[0083] The gamma setter 240 may compensate the gamma value of the first image data by adjusting luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data….”, “[0089] The driving controller 200 may further include an image receiver 210 receiving the first image data from the first imaging apparatus CAM1 and the second image data from the second imaging apparatus CAM2 and an image storage 220 storing the first image data and the second image data received from the image receiver 210 and transmitting the first image data to the first coordinate calculator 250 and the second image data to the second coordinate calculator 255.”, and “[0125]… [T]he display apparatus includes the first coordinate calculator 250, the second coordinate calculator 255, the gamma setter 240 and the compensation verifier 270 performing the gamma compensation (gamma correction) of the first image data for the first display area DA… and the second image data for the second display area DB….”),
wherein each of the compensation areas after the luminance and color compensation is close to a target gamma value and a target color coordinate (Kim: “[0083]… [T]he gamma setter 240 may adjust the luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data such that the luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data to be close to a target luminance and a target color coordinate.”, “[0084]… [T]he gamma setter 240 may adjust the luminance of the first image data and the color coordinates of the first image data by changing a grayscale value of the first image data.”, and “[0087]… [T]he gamma setter 240 may adjust the luminance of the second image data and the color coordinates of the second image data until the luminance of the second image data and the color coordinates of the second image data to be close to a target luminance and a target color coordinate.”, see also [0085]-[0086]).
However, it is noted that Kim does not teach:
wherein each of the compensation areas after the luminance and color compensation has the target gamma value and the target color coordinate,
but which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include, such that Kim as modified teaches: wherein each of the compensation areas after the luminance and color compensation has a target gamma value and a target color coordinate, for image luminance and color compensation.
However, it is noted that Kim as modified does not teach:
wherein the compensation areas are shifted while the luminance and color compensation is performed.
Lee teaches:
wherein areas are shifted (Lee: FIGs. 4-5, “[0101] FIG. 4 is a schematic view illustrating an image before and after being shifted. FIG. 5 is a schematic view explaining a process of shifting the image of FIG. 4.”, “[0105] Before pixel-shifting, the first, second, and third pixels represent a first color, and the rest of the pixels represent a second color. For example, the first color is black, and the second color is white.”, “[0108] In the (K+1)-th frame, the first shift start signal SHCONT is applied to the image processor 700. Thus, the previous line data PL_DATA, which corresponds to data before the pixel-shifting, starts to be mixed with the current line data CL_DATA, which corresponds to data after the pixel-shifting in the first direction D1, in each line. Because a ratio of the current line data CL_DATA is less than a ratio of the previous line data PL_DATA in the (K+1)-th frame, the fourth to sixth pixels represent gray close to white in the (K+1)-th frame.”, “[0109] Because the ratio of the current line data CL_DATA is substantially the same as the ratio of the previous line data PL_DATA in the (K+2)-th frame, the fourth to sixth pixels represent gray between black and white in the (K+2)-th frame.”, “[0110] Because the ratio of the current line data CL_DATA is greater than the ratio of the previous line data PL_DATA in the (K+3)-th frame, the fourth to sixth pixels represent gray close to black in the (K+3)-th frame.”, and “[0111] In the (K+4)-th frame, the ratio of the current line data CL_DATA becomes about 100%, and the ratio of the previous line data PL_DATA becomes about 0%. Thus, the fourth to sixth pixels represent black in the (K+4)-th frame.”, see also FIGs. 6A-D and 9-10).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Lee, such that Kim as modified teaches: wherein the compensation areas are shifted while the luminance and color compensation is performed (compensation areas and luminance and color compensation is performed as taught by Kim as modified combined with the areas are shifted as taught by Lee), to prevent an afterimage. (Lee: “[0176]… [A]n afterimage, which is caused when the same image is displayed on a display panel for a long time, can be prevented….”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified by Lee teaches:
The display device of claim 1, wherein a shift direction of the compensation areas is a left-right direction (Lee: a shift direction of the areas is a left-right direction; FIGs. 9-10, “[0158] FIG. 9 is a schematic view illustrating an image before and after being shifted. FIG. 10 is a schematic view illustrating processes of shifting the image of FIG. 9.”, “[0162] Before pixel-shifting, the first, fourth and seventh pixels represent a first color, and the rest of the pixels represent a second color. For example, the first color is black, and the second color is white.”, “[0165] In the (K+1)-th frame, the first shift start signal SHCONT is applied to the image processor 701. Thus, the previous pixel data PP_DATA, which corresponds to data before the pixel-shifting, starts to be mixed with the current pixel data CP_DATA, which corresponds to data after the pixel-shifting in the second direction D2, in each line. Because a ratio of the current pixel data CP_DATA is less than a ratio of the previous pixel data PP_DATA in the (K+1)-th frame, the second, fifth and eighth pixels represent gray close to white in the (K+1)-th frame.”, “[0166] Because the ratio of the current pixel data CP_DATA is substantially the same as the ratio of the previous pixel data PP_DATA in the (K+2)-th frame, the second, fifth and eighth pixels represent gray between black and white in the (K+2)-th frame.”, “[0167] Because the ratio of the current pixel data CP_DATA is greater than the ratio of the previous pixel data PP_DATA in the (K+3)-th frame, the fourth, fifth and sixth pixels represent gray close to black in the (K+3)-th frame.”, and “[0168] In the (K+4)-th frame, the ratio of the current pixel data CP_DATA becomes about 100%, and the ratio of the previous pixel data PP_DATA becomes about 0%. Thus, the second, fifth and eighth pixels represent black in the (K+4)-th frame.”, see also “[0134]… [T]he image processor 701 pixel-shifts the image by at least one pixel over consecutive M frames in the second direction D2 or in a fourth direction opposite to the second direction D2….”; claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified by Lee teaches:
The display device of claim 1, wherein a shift direction of the compensation areas is an up-down direction (Lee: a shift direction of the areas is an up-down direction; FIGs. 4-5, “[0101] FIG. 4 is a schematic view illustrating an image before and after being shifted. FIG. 5 is a schematic view explaining a process of shifting the image of FIG. 4.”, “[0105] Before pixel-shifting, the first, second, and third pixels represent a first color, and the rest of the pixels represent a second color. For example, the first color is black, and the second color is white.”, “[0108] In the (K+1)-th frame, the first shift start signal SHCONT is applied to the image processor 700. Thus, the previous line data PL_DATA, which corresponds to data before the pixel-shifting, starts to be mixed with the current line data CL_DATA, which corresponds to data after the pixel-shifting in the first direction D1, in each line. Because a ratio of the current line data CL_DATA is less than a ratio of the previous line data PL_DATA in the (K+1)-th frame, the fourth to sixth pixels represent gray close to white in the (K+1)-th frame.”, “[0109] Because the ratio of the current line data CL_DATA is substantially the same as the ratio of the previous line data PL_DATA in the (K+2)-th frame, the fourth to sixth pixels represent gray between black and white in the (K+2)-th frame.”, “[0110] Because the ratio of the current line data CL_DATA is greater than the ratio of the previous line data PL_DATA in the (K+3)-th frame, the fourth to sixth pixels represent gray close to black in the (K+3)-th frame.”, and “[0111] In the (K+4)-th frame, the ratio of the current line data CL_DATA becomes about 100%, and the ratio of the previous line data PL_DATA becomes about 0%. Thus, the fourth to sixth pixels represent black in the (K+4)-th frame.”, see also “[0076]… [T]he image processor 700 pixel-shifts the image by at least one pixel, which is one signal line, over consecutive M frames in the first direction D1 or in a third direction opposite the first direction D1….”; claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified by Lee teaches:
The display device of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Kim as modified by Lee does not teach:
wherein a shift degree of the compensation areas varies depending on a resolution of the display panel,
but which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include, such that Kim as modified teaches: wherein a shift degree of the compensation areas varies depending on a resolution of the display panel, to prevent afterimage by shifting compensation areas in a manner that minimizes noticeability to a viewer (i.e., greater and lesser shift degrees respectively corresponding to higher and lower display panel resolutions).
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified by Lee teaches:
The display device of claim 10, wherein the shift degree of the compensation areas becomes greater when the resolution of the display panel increases (see claim 10 above).
Regarding claim 12, Kim is modified in the same manner and for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of claim 1 above. Thus, claim 12 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above.
However, it is noted that claim 12 differs from claim 1 in that the following is recited:
A method of compensating for a luminance and a color of a display device, the method comprising:.
Kim as modified by Lee teaches:
A method of compensating for a luminance and a color of a display device, the method comprising: (Kim: see “[0002]… [E]xample embodiments of the present inventive concept relate to a display apparatus including an electronic module and a method of compensating the gamma value of the display apparatus.”, see also “[0127] [Referring to FIG. 11,] [t]he display apparatus and the method of compensating the gamma value of the display apparatus according to the present example embodiment is substantially the same as the display apparatus and the method of compensating the gamma value of the display apparatus of the previous example embodiment explained referring to FIGS. 1 to 10C….”; see also claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 19, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 20, Kim is modified in the same manner and for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of claim 1 above. Thus, claim 20 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above.
However, it is noted that claim 20 differs from claim 1 above in that the following are recited:
An electronic device, comprising:
a processor configured to control the driving controller.
Kim as modified by Lee teaches:
An electronic device, comprising (Kim: see FIGs. 2-3A and “[0061] FIG. 2 is a conceptual diagram illustrating the display panel 100 of FIG. 1. FIG. 3A is a conceptual diagram illustrating an electronic module CM disposed under the display panel of FIG. 1.”, see also FIG. 11):
a processor configured to control the driving controller (it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the claimed features to display images).
Claims 2-7 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee, in further view of Han et al. in US 2012/0038660 A1 (hereinafter Han).
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified by Lee teaches:
The display device of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Kim as modified by Lee does not teach:
wherein a luminance difference corresponding to a delta voltage code occurs at a compensation boundary when the luminance and color compensation is performed.
Han teaches:
wherein a luminance difference corresponding to a delta voltage (corresponding to a boundary area B between compensation areas interpolation) occurs at a compensation boundary (area B) when luminance and color compensation is performed (Han: see FIGs. 1-3 and 5, “[0048] A non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31… generates a lookup table to convert a color characteristic of an input image on a one to one basis (S31) [in FIG. 5]. The non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 sets a correction level of R, G, and B in each area based on a display characteristic output from a sensing unit 20. Further, the non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 generates a lookup table of a gray scale value to adjust a gamma value and a color coordinate corresponding to each area to be a predetermined target gamma value and a predetermined target color coordinate. The non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 may be realized by a program to generate a lookup table of a color characteristic, that is, a gray scale. When generating the lookup table, unique characteristics of each of the display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 may be reflected. In addition, when generating the lookup table, instead of generating a lookup table of all gray scale, a lookup table of part of a gray scale is generated, and a lookup table of the remaining of the gray scale may be generated by interpolation.”, “[0049] Then, the non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 interpolates a lookup table corresponding to a boundary area B among a lookup table of each area I using a lookup table corresponding to a neighbor area A adjacent to the boundary area B (S41).”, and “[0050] The image signal conversion unit 32 corrects an input image based on the generated and interpolated lookup table and displays the image on the display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 (S51).”, see also FIG. 4, “[0040]… [T]he non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 generates a 3x3 matrix which corresponds to each of the areas I….”, “[0042]… [W]hen a neighbor area A2 of area… B2 of the third display panel 3 includes areas I of the plurality of display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4, generation of a 3x3 matrix by interpolation of the neighbor area A2 is more effective to solve non-uniformity. When the plurality of display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 are disposed adjacently, there is a high possibility of occurrence of non-uniformity on a boundary between the display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 depending on properties of the respective display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4. Thus the non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 generates non-uniformity correction data for the boundary areas B using non-uniformity correction data of different display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 from each other.”, and “[0045]… [A] matrix is not limited to a 3x3 form but may have an mxn (m and n are an integer) shape formed based on sensed display characteristics.”).
Before the effective fling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Han, such that Kim as modified teaches: wherein a luminance difference corresponding to a delta voltage code occurs at a compensation boundary when the luminance and color compensation is performed (voltage code and luminance and color compensation is performed of Kim as modified combined with the luminance difference, delta voltage, compensation boundary, and luminance and color compensation is performed of Han), for luminance and color compensation of boundary areas.
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified by Lee and Han teaches:
The display device of claim 2, wherein the luminance difference corresponding to the delta voltage code becomes greater when the delta voltage code increases (i.e., where a luminance difference between compensating areas adjacent to the compensation boundary area B increases; see also claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified by Lee teaches:
The display device of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Kim as modified by Lee does not teach:
wherein the voltage code changes when the compensation areas are shifted while the luminance and color compensation is performed.
Han teaches:
wherein a voltage (corresponding to a compensation area) changes when compensation areas are changed while luminance and color compensation is performed (Han: i.e., different voltage codes for different compensation areas; see FIGs. 1-3 and 5, “[0048] A non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31… generates a lookup table to convert a color characteristic of an input image on a one to one basis (S31) [in FIG. 5]. The non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 sets a correction level of R, G, and B in each area based on a display characteristic output from a sensing unit 20. Further, the non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 generates a lookup table of a gray scale value to adjust a gamma value and a color coordinate corresponding to each area to be a predetermined target gamma value and a predetermined target color coordinate. The non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 may be realized by a program to generate a lookup table of a color characteristic, that is, a gray scale. When generating the lookup table, unique characteristics of each of the display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 may be reflected….”, and “[0050] The image signal conversion unit 32 corrects an input image based on the generated… lookup table and displays the image on the display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 (S51).”, see also FIG. 4, “[0040]… [T]he non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 generates a 3x3 matrix which corresponds to each of the areas I….”, and “[0045]… [A] matrix is not limited to a 3x3 form but may have an mxn (m and n are an integer) shape formed based on sensed display characteristics.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Han, such that Kim as modified teaches: wherein the voltage code changes when the compensation areas are shifted while the luminance and color compensation is performed (voltage code, compensation areas are shifted, and luminance and color compensation is performed of Kim as modified combined with the voltage, compensation areas are changed, and luminance and color compensation is performed of Han), for compensation of compensation areas.
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Lee and Han teaches:
The display device of claim 4, wherein a degree to which the voltage code changes varies depending on a shift degree of the compensation areas (Lee: a degree to which the voltage changes varies depending on a change degree of the compensation areas; FIGs. 4-5 and “[0076] The image processor 700 pixel-shifts an image of the data signal DATA over a plurality of frames… to generate a first data signal DATA1, and outputs the first data signal DATA1 to the data driver 330. For example, the image processor 700 pixel-shifts the image by at least one pixel, which is one signal line, over consecutive M frames in the first direction D1 or in a third direction opposite the first direction D1 based at least in part on the shift start signal SHCONT.”, see also FIGs. 6A-D and 9-10 and “[0134] The image processor 701 pixel-shifts an image in the data signal DATA over a plurality of frames… to generate a second data signal DATA2, and outputs the second data signal DATA2 to the data driver 330. For example, the image processor 701 pixel-shifts the image by at least one pixel over consecutive M frames in the second direction D2 or in a fourth direction opposite to the second direction D2….”; claims 1 and 4 above).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified by Lee and Han teaches:
The display device of claim 5, wherein the voltage code changes gradually when the shift degree of the compensation areas is large (it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the claimed features to minimize noticeability of areas where compensation is performed to a viewer).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified by Lee teaches:
The display device of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Kim as modified by Lee does not teach:
wherein the voltage code in an area between two adjacent compensation areas is sequentially changed by a delta voltage code.
Han teaches:
wherein a voltage in an area between two adjacent compensation areas (boundary area B) is changed by a delta voltage (corresponding to a boundary area B between compensation areas interpolation) (Han: see FIGs. 1-3 and 5, “[0048] A non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31… generates a lookup table to convert a color characteristic of an input image on a one to one basis (S31) [in FIG. 5]. The non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 sets a correction level of R, G, and B in each area based on a display characteristic output from a sensing unit 20. Further, the non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 generates a lookup table of a gray scale value to adjust a gamma value and a color coordinate corresponding to each area to be a predetermined target gamma value and a predetermined target color coordinate. The non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 may be realized by a program to generate a lookup table of a color characteristic, that is, a gray scale. When generating the lookup table, unique characteristics of each of the display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 may be reflected. In addition, when generating the lookup table, instead of generating a lookup table of all gray scale, a lookup table of part of a gray scale is generated, and a lookup table of the remaining of the gray scale may be generated by interpolation.”, “[0049] Then, the non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 interpolates a lookup table corresponding to a boundary area B among a lookup table of each area I using a lookup table corresponding to a neighbor area A adjacent to the boundary area B (S41).”, and “[0050] The image signal conversion unit 32 corrects an input image based on the generated and interpolated lookup table and displays the image on the display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 (S51).”, see also FIG. 4, “[0040]… [T]he non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 generates a 3x3 matrix which corresponds to each of the areas I….”, “[0042]… [W]hen a neighbor area A2 of area… B2 of the third display panel 3 includes areas I of the plurality of display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4, generation of a 3x3 matrix by interpolation of the neighbor area A2 is more effective to solve non-uniformity. When the plurality of display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 are disposed adjacently, there is a high possibility of occurrence of non-uniformity on a boundary between the display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 depending on properties of the respective display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4. Thus the non-uniformity correction data generation unit 31 generates non-uniformity correction data for the boundary areas B using non-uniformity correction data of different display panels 1, 2, 3, and 4 from each other.”, and “[0045]… [A] matrix is not limited to a 3x3 form but may have an mxn (m and n are an integer) shape formed based on sensed display characteristics.”).
Before the effective fling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Han, such that Kim as modified teaches: wherein the voltage code in an area between two adjacent compensation areas is sequentially changed by a delta voltage code (voltage code and plurality of compensation areas of Kim as modified combined with the voltage, area between two adjacent compensation areas is changed, and delta voltage of Han. Note: Kim as modified teaches changed but does not teach sequentially changed but which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include so that change in an area between two adjacent compensation areas are less noticeable to a viewer.), for luminance and color compensation of boundary areas.
Regarding claim 13, Kim as modified by Lee is further modified in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 2 above. Thus, claim 13 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 15, Kim as modified by Lee is further modified in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 4 above. Thus, claim 15 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 16, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 17, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 18, Kim as modified by Lee is further modified in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 7 above. Thus, claim 18 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 7 above.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 4/28/26