DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Miyoshi et al. (US 2023/0085078A1).
With respect to claims 1, 2 Miyoshi teaches an etching method comprising: providing a wafer having a natural titanium oxide 5 on a titanium nitride 1; providing etching hydrogen fluoride gas to the wafer to etch the titanium oxide 5 (par 11, 21; fig. 2)
With respect to claim 3, the titanium nitride film 1 would have to be exposed to an oxidizing atmosphere since the natural titanium oxide 5 is formed on it.
With respect to claim 4, the hydrogen fluoride gas would react with the titanium oxide film 5 to generate titanium fluoride since the same gas is being used on the same titanium oxide film 5.
With respect to claim 8, Miyoshi further teaches an apparatus having a processing chamber 7 to house the substrate, a gas supply 50 to supply etching gas including HF gas to the processing chamber 7 and a control unit 80 to control and execute the etching steps described above (para 12, 34; fig. 4).
.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Shinoda et al. (US 2018/0076051A1).
With respect to claim 1, Shinoda teaches a method using a gas mixture including HF and NH3 or claimed basic gas to remove surface oxides of the titanium nitride, which would include titanium oxide that stacks on the titanium nitride (para 40-42, 49).
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Shinoda teaches that the surface oxides is “where slight oxygen caused by surface oxides and the like of the titanium nitride film is included may be present” (para 49), which would provide a natural oxide film by exposing the titanium nitride film to an oxidizing atmosphere.
With respect to claim 4, Shinoda teaches various bonding states of the hydrogen, nitrogen, fluorine, titanium to form TiF4 (para 49), which it is expected to from TiF4 or titanium fluoride by reacting with the titanium oxide film with HF gas.
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Shinoda teaches the reactive species react with the titanium nitride to form ammonium fluorotitanate (para 42). Therefore, it is expected that the reactive species would also react with the titanium oxide on the titanium nitride to generate ammonium hexafluorotitanate because the same gas mixture of HF and NH3 being used. The reaction products are further sublimated with a temperature from 100-250 degrees C (para 55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyoshi as applied to claim 4.
With respect to claim 5, Miyoshi doesn’t teach the step of removing the titanium oxide film 5 is done by maintaining the substrate temperature at 200 to 300 degrees C. however, he teaches that the wafer temperature is 100 degrees C or more (para 36). Overlapping ranges are held obvious. See MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, one skill in the art would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to use ranges including claimed ranges of 200 to 300 degrees C to remove the titanium oxide film with expected results.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinoda as applied to claim 4.
With respect to claim 5, Shinoda doesn’t teach the step of removing the titanium oxide film is done by maintaining the substrate temperature at 200 to 300 degrees C. however, he teaches that the wafer temperature is 100 degrees C or higher including 100-250 degrees C or higher (para 55). Overlapping ranges are held obvious. See MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, one skill in the art would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to use ranges including claimed ranges of 200 to 300 degrees C to remove the titanium oxide film with expected results.
Claim(s) 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyoshi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shinoda et al. (US 2018/0076051A1).
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Miyosha doesn’t teach the titanium oxide is removed with a gas mixture that includes a basic gas to generate ammonium hexafluorotitanate on the titanium oxide and sublimating the ammonium hexafluorotitanate. Shinoda teaches a method using a gas mixture including HF and NH3 or claimed basic gas to remove surface oxides of the titanium nitride, which would include titanium oxide (para 40-42, 49). Shinoda teaches the reactive species react with the titanium nitride to form ammonium fluorotitanate (para 42). Therefore, it is expected that the reactive species would also react with the titanium oxide to generate ammonium hexafluorotitanate because the same gas mixture of HF and NH3 being used. Similar to Miyoshi’s process, the reaction product are sublimated with a temperature from 100-250 degrees C (para 55). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add gases including NH3 because Shinoda shows that it has been successfully used to remove the titanium oxide on the titanium nitride with expected results.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinoda (US 2018/0076051A1) and further in view of Miyoshi et al. (US 2023/0085078A1).
With respect to claim 8, Shinoda teaches the etching method as described above using an apparatus having a chamber 101 to house the substrate, and gas supplies units 109 for supplying gases including HF (fig. 1). Unlike claimed invention, Shinoda doesn’t teach a controller to execute the etching steps. However, it is well known feature for an apparatus to have a controller to execute the processing as shown here by Miyoshi, who teaches a control unit 80 to control and execute the etching steps described above (para 12, 34; fig. 4).
. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a controller in light of Miyoshi in order to carry out the processing steps of removing the titanium oxide film with expected results.
/DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713
10/27/2026